yes, therapy helps!
Rhabdomyolysis: symptoms, causes and treatment

Rhabdomyolysis: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 17, 2024

The cult to the body is something common in our days. A large part of the population does some kind of sport. And in many cases, in the gym.

However, sometimes we exercise excessively. And on those occasions it can produce severe alterations such as rhabdomyolysis .

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is rhabdomyolysis?

Rhabdomyolysis is understood as the syndrome caused by the degeneration and destruction of muscle fibers , a destruction that causes some of the components of these fibers to enter the bloodstream. Specifically, highlights myoglobin and various enzymes such as CPK, LDH and GOT, which in high concentrations are toxic to the kidney.


Although the symptoms presented by people with rhabdomyolysis may vary, they usually coincide symptoms such as the presence of weakness and generalized fatigue, muscle pain , decrease in the number of urinations and the presence of red or brownish urine.

In general this condition is often seen in very demanding professions at the physical level, such as those belonging to the military, fire, police or athletes. Although there are more and more cases derived from excessive physical training.

Causes

Rhabdomyolysis it is a very unusual disorder, but it can occur for various reasons . The three most common reasons that lead to the condition of rhabdomyolysis are alcohol consumption, the presence of injuries resulting from accidents and, finally, intense physical exercise.


Other causes of rhabdomyolysis are genetic muscle diseases, seizures and aspects such as an excess of temperature in the body, phosphorus deficiency or dehydration.

  • Maybe you're interested: "7 reasons why you should avoid spending all day sitting"

Complications of the table

The effects and severity may depend on factors such as the amount of muscle destroyed. It may not be symptomatic or it can cause severe kidney failure and even death.

The most frequent thing that usually happens as a complication of the picture is usually the acute renal failure , generated by the excessive presence of myoglobinuria. It can be detected by the presence of urine of dark tones, generally brownish and with the appearance of cola. This affectation is generally produced when more than one hundred grams of muscle are destroyed, which releases so much myoglobinuria that the kidney is not able to filter and is obstructed. Interestingly, in this case it has been reflected that the greater the muscle mass of the subject, the greater the possibility that this complication occurs.


Other possible complications are the presence of arrhythmias derived from the changes and the discharge of cells into the blood. It can also be caused by excesses and Deficits of other components, such as potassium, phosphate and uric acid , which can generate chemical imbalances that can endanger the life of the subject to have the potential to cause heart failure.

How is it treated?

The treatment of rhabdomyolysis can allow full recovery of the painting, but it is essential that it starts as quickly as possible. Continuous hydration of the patient is prioritized to prevent kidney problems, injecting serum. Also, restore diuresis or normal urination.

Glucose is also injected to avoid dangerous potassium elevations that can cause heart problems. If he does not respond to the serum or the patient shows renal failure, hemodialysis is applied.

The prognosis with early treatment is very positive , recovering the great majority of those affected and restoring the normal functioning of the system and the kidneys. However, failure to treat in time can cause the death of the subject.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise"

Recommendations at the sport level

As mentioned throughout the article, one of the most frequent causes of this disorder is the performance of excessive physical exercise.

In this last aspect we can note that it can appear in those people who exercise excessively for their physical condition. Especially highlights cases of people who are initiated in the sport making excessive efforts for a very long period. In general, an excessive rupture of the muscle is caused due to the fact that the musculature is not allowed enough time to adapt to the exercise.

But also occurs in subjects accustomed to exercise , after periods in which they have not exercised or when the demands to which they are subjected exceed what their muscles can support.

This does not imply that high-intensity exercise should not be done, but it should be taken into account that it is advisable to adjust the exercise to one's physical form and recognize its own limits. It should start little by little and progressively progress. Heat the muscles previously With simple exercises and not excessively demanding ones it can be essential to avoid this problem.

Bibliographic references:

  • Clarkson, P.M. (1993). Worst scenarios: rhabdomyolysis due to stress and acute renal failure. Sports Science Exchange 4 (42).
  • Henares, P. (2011). Rhabdomyolysis secondary to physical exercise in a gym. SEMERGEN, 38 (1).
  • Khan, F.Y. (2009). Rhabdomyolysis: a review of the literature. Neth J Med, 67, pp. 272-283.

Rhabdomyolysis - Mayo Clinic (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rhabdomyolyse: symptômes, causes et traitement

Rhabdomyolyse: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 9, 2020

Le culte au corps est quelque chose de commun de nos jours. Une grande partie de la population pratique un sport. Et dans de nombreux cas, au gymnase.

Cependant, nous exerçons parfois de manière excessive. Et à ces occasions il peut produire de graves altérations telles que la rhabdomyolyse .

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Qu'est-ce que la rhabdomyolyse?

La rhabdomyolyse est comprise comme le syndrome provoqué par la dégénérescence et la destruction des fibres musculaires , une destruction qui fait que certains des composants de ces fibres pénètrent dans le sang. Plus précisément, met en évidence la myoglobine et diverses enzymes telles que CPK, LDH et GOT, qui à des concentrations élevées sont toxiques pour les reins.


Bien que les symptômes présentés par les personnes atteintes de rhabdomyolyse puissent varier, ils coïncident généralement symptômes tels que la faiblesse et la fatigue généralisée, douleurs musculaires , diminution du nombre de mictions et de la présence d’urines rouges ou brunâtres.

En général, cette condition est souvent observée dans des professions très exigeantes au niveau physique, telles que celles appartenant à l'armée, aux pompiers, à la police ou aux athlètes. Bien qu'il y ait de plus en plus de cas dérivés d'un entraînement physique excessif.

Les causes

Rhabdomyolyse c'est un trouble très inhabituel, mais il peut se produire pour diverses raisons . Les trois principales causes de la rhabdomyolyse sont la consommation d’alcool, la présence de blessures résultant d’un accident et, enfin, l’exercice physique intense.


Les autres causes de la rhabdomyolyse sont les maladies musculaires génétiques, les convulsions et des facteurs tels qu'un excès de température dans le corps, une carence en phosphore ou la déshydratation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "7 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez éviter de rester assis toute la journée"

Complications de la table

Les effets et la gravité peuvent dépendre de facteurs tels que la quantité de muscle détruit. Il peut ne pas être symptomatique ou il peut provoquer une insuffisance rénale sévère et même la mort.

La chose la plus fréquente qui se produit habituellement en tant que complication de la photo est généralement la insuffisance rénale aiguë , générée par la présence excessive de myoglobinurie. Il peut être détecté par la présence d'urine de tons foncés, généralement brunâtres et d'apparition de cola. Cette affectation se produit généralement lorsque plus de cent grammes de muscle sont détruits, ce qui provoque une myoglobinurie telle que le rein ne peut pas filtrer et est obstrué. Fait intéressant, dans ce cas, on a pensé que plus la masse musculaire du sujet était grande, plus grande était la possibilité que cette complication se produise.


D'autres complications possibles sont la présence d'arythmies dérivées des modifications et de la décharge de cellules dans le sang. Il peut aussi être causé par des excès et Déficits d'autres composants, tels que le potassium, le phosphate et l'acide urique , ce qui peut générer des déséquilibres chimiques pouvant mettre en danger la vie du sujet et potentiellement provoquer une insuffisance cardiaque.

Comment est-il traité?

Le traitement de la rhabdomyolyse peut permettre un rétablissement complet de la peinture, mais il est essentiel qu’elle commence le plus rapidement possible. L'hydratation continue du patient est prioritaire pour prévenir les problèmes rénaux, en injectant du sérum. En outre, rétablir la diurèse ou une miction normale.

Le glucose est également injecté pour éviter les élévations de potassium dangereuses pouvant causer des problèmes cardiaques. L'hémodialyse est appliquée s'il ne répond pas au sérum ou si le patient présente une insuffisance rénale.

Le pronostic avec un traitement précoce est très positif , en récupérant la grande majorité des personnes touchées et en restaurant le fonctionnement normal du système et des reins. Cependant, le fait de ne pas traiter à temps peut entraîner la mort du sujet.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique"

Recommandations au niveau sportif

Comme mentionné tout au long de l'article, l'une des causes les plus fréquentes de ce trouble est la pratique d'exercices physiques excessifs.

Dans ce dernier aspect, nous pouvons noter qu’il peut apparaître chez les personnes qui s’exercent excessivement pour leur condition physique. Souligne particulièrement les cas de les personnes qui sont initiées au sport font des efforts excessifs pour une très longue période. En général, une rupture excessive du muscle est due au fait que la musculature n’a pas le temps de s’adapter à l’exercice.

Mais se produit également chez les sujets habitués à l'exercice , après des périodes au cours desquelles ils ne se sont pas exercés ou lorsque les demandes auxquelles ils sont soumis dépassent ce que leurs muscles peuvent supporter.

Cela ne signifie pas qu'il ne faut pas faire d'exercice de haute intensité, mais il convient de prendre en compte le fait qu'il est conseillé d'ajuster l'exercice à sa forme physique et de reconnaître ses propres limites. Il devrait commencer petit à petit et progresser progressivement. Chauffer les muscles précédemment Avec des exercices simples et pas trop exigeants, il peut être essentiel d'éviter ce problème.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clarkson, P.M. (1993). Pires scénarios: rhabdomyolyse due au stress et à une insuffisance rénale aiguë. Sports Science Exchange 4 (42).
  • Henares, P. (2011). Rhabdomyolyse secondaire à un exercice physique dans un gymnase. SEMERGEN, 38 (1).
  • Khan, F.Y. (2009). Rhabdomyolyse: une revue de la littérature. Neth J Med, 67 ans, p. 272-283.

insuffisance rénal aigue et rhabdomyolyse (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes