yes, therapy helps!
Schizoaffective disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment

Schizoaffective disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment

May 6, 2021

The Schizoaffective disorder It is a controversial disorder at the theoretical level, but a clinical reality that affects 0.3% of the population. Knowing their symptoms, effects and characteristics that can explain their causes is to know this diagnostic category.

What is Schizoaffective Disorder?

Broadly speaking, we can understand Schizoaffective Disorder as a mental disorder that combines psychotic symptoms (delusions, hallucinations, disorganized discourse, very disorganized behavior or negative symptoms such as diminished emotional expression or apathy) and mood disorders (mania -depression).

Thus, the Schizoaffective Disorder affects fundamentally emotional perception and psychological processes.


Symptoms and Diagnosis of Schizoaffective Disorder

The Schizoaffective Disorder is usually diagnosed during the period of psychotic illness, due to the complexity of its symptomatology. Episodes of depression or mania are present for most of the duration of the illness.

Due to the great variety of psychiatric and medical conditions that can be associated with psychotic symptoms and mood symptoms, in many occasions the schizoaffective disorder can be confused with other disorders, such as bipolar disorder with psychotic characteristics. , major depressive disorder with psychotic features ... In a way, the limits of this diagnostic category are confusing , and this is what causes a debate about whether it is an independent clinical entity or the coexistence of several disorders.


To distinguish it from other disorders (such as bipolar disorder), psychotic features, delusions or hallucinations must be present for at least 2 weeks in the absence of a major episode of mood (depressive or manic). Thus, the criterion that is used to distinguish between Schizoaffective Disorder and other types of mental disorders is, fundamentally, time (duration, frequency of appearance of symptoms, etc).

The difficulty in diagnosing this disorder lies in knowing if mood symptoms have been present during most of the total active and residual duration of the disease, determining when there were significant mood symptoms accompanied by psychotic symptoms. To know these data, the health professional must know exhaustively the clinical history of the subject .


Who suffers this type of psychopathology?

The prevalence of Schizoaffective Disorder in the population is 0.3%. It is estimated that its frequency is one third of the population affected by schizophrenia .

Its incidence is higher in the female population. This is mainly due to the higher incidence of depressive symptoms among women compared to men, something that may have genetic but also cultural and social causes.

When does it usually start to develop?

There is consensus in affirming that the age of onset of Schizoaffective Disorder usually occurs in early adult life, although this does not prevent it from occurring during adolescence or in the later stages of life.

In addition, there is a pattern of differentiated appearance according to the age of the person who begins to experience the symptoms. Bipolar disorder Schizoaffective disorder usually prevails in young adults, while Schizoaffective Depressive Disorder usually prevails in older adults.

How does Schizoaffective Disorder influence people who suffer it?

The way in which the Schizoaffective Disorder leaves a mark on the day to day of those who experience it has to do with practically all areas of life. But nevertheless, some main aspects can be highlighted :

  • The ability to continue functioning at the work level is normally affected , although, unlike what happens with schizophrenia, this is not a determining factor as a defining criterion.
  • Social contact is diminished for the Schizoaffective Disorder. The ability to self-care is also affected although, as in the previous cases, the symptoms are usually less severe and persistent than in schizophrenia.
  • Anosognosia or absence of introspection it is common in Schizoaffective Disorder, being less severe than in schizophrenia.
  • There is a possibility of being associated with alcohol-related disorders or other substances.

Forecast

Schizoaffective disorder usually has a better prognosis than schizophrenia. On the contrary, its forecast is usually worse than mood disorders , among other things because the symptoms related to the perception problems suppose a very abrupt qualitative change to what would be expected in a person without this disorder, while the alterations of the state of mind can be understood as a problem of rather quantitative type .

In general, the improvement that occurs is understood from a functional and neurological point of view. We can then place it in an intermediate position between the two.

A higher prevalence of psychotic symptoms, more chronicity of the disorder . The duration of the course of the disease also affects. The longer it lasts, the more chronic it is.

Treatment and psychotherapy

To date there are no tests or biological measures that can help us to diagnose Schizoaffective Disorder. There is no certainty as to whether there is a neurobiological basis difference between Schizoaffective Disorder and schizophrenia in terms of their associated characteristics (such as brain, structural or functional anomalies, cognitive deficits and genetic factors). Thus, In this case, planning highly effective therapies is very difficult .

The clinical intervention, therefore, focuses on the possibility of mitigating symptoms and training patients in the acceptance of new standards of life and management of their emotions and self-care and social behaviors.

For the pharmacological treatment of Schizoaffective Disorder, antipsychotics, antidepressants and mood stabilizers are usually used, while the psychotherapy of the Schizoaffective Disorder most indicated would be the cognitive-behavioral type. In order to implement this last action, the two pillars of the disorder must be treated.

  • On the one hand, the treatment of mood disorder, helping the patient to detect and work on depressive or manic symptoms .
  • On the other hand, the treatment of psychotic symptoms could help reduce and control delusions and hallucinations . It is known that the conviction in these fluctuates with time and that they can be modified and diminished by cognitive-behavioral interventions. To address delirium, for example, it can help to clarify the way in which the patient builds their reality and gives meaning to their experiences based on cognitive errors and their life history. This approach can be done in a similar way with hallucinations.

Schizoaffective Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble schizo-affectif: causes, symptômes et traitement

Trouble schizo-affectif: causes, symptômes et traitement

Août 21, 2019

Le Trouble schizoaffectif C'est un trouble controversé au niveau théorique, mais une réalité clinique qui touche 0,3% de la population. Connaître leurs symptômes, leurs effets et leurs caractéristiques pouvant expliquer leurs causes revient à connaître cette catégorie de diagnostic.

Qu'est-ce que le trouble schizoaffectif?

De manière générale, nous pouvons comprendre le trouble schizo-affectif en tant que trouble mental associant des symptômes psychotiques (délires, hallucinations, discours désorganisé, comportement très désorganisé ou symptômes négatifs tels que diminution de l'expression émotionnelle ou apathie) et des troubles de l'humeur (manie). -Dépression).

Ainsi, le trouble schizo-affectif affecte fondamentalement la perception émotionnelle et les processus psychologiques.


Symptômes et diagnostic du trouble schizoaffectif

Le trouble schizo-affectif est généralement diagnostiqué pendant la période de la maladie psychotique, en raison de la complexité de sa symptomatologie. Des épisodes de dépression ou de manie sont présents pendant la majeure partie de la maladie.

En raison de la grande variété de problèmes psychiatriques et médicaux pouvant être associés à des symptômes psychotiques et à des troubles de l'humeur, le trouble schizo-affectif peut souvent être confondu avec d'autres troubles, tels que le trouble bipolaire présentant des caractéristiques psychotiques. , trouble dépressif majeur avec des caractéristiques psychotiques ... En quelque sorte, les limites de cette catégorie de diagnostic prêtent à confusion , et c’est ce qui suscite un débat quant à savoir s’il s’agit d’une entité clinique indépendante ou de la coexistence de plusieurs troubles.


Pour le distinguer d'autres troubles (tels que le trouble bipolaire), des caractéristiques psychotiques, des idées délirantes ou des hallucinations doivent être présents pendant au moins deux semaines en l'absence d'un épisode d'humeur important (dépressif ou maniaque). Ainsi, le critère utilisé pour distinguer le trouble schizo-affectif des autres types de troubles mentaux est, fondamentalement, le temps (durée, fréquence d'apparition des symptômes, etc.).

La difficulté à diagnostiquer ce trouble consiste à savoir si des symptômes de l'humeur ont été présents pendant la majeure partie de la durée active et résiduelle totale de la maladie, ce qui permet de déterminer à quel moment il existait des symptômes de l'humeur significatifs accompagnés de symptômes psychotiques. Pour connaître ces données, le professionnel de la santé doit connaître de manière exhaustive l’historique clinique du sujet. .


Qui souffre de ce type de psychopathologie?

La prévalence du trouble schizo-affectif dans la population est de 0,3%. On estime que sa fréquence est d'un tiers de la population touchée par la schizophrénie .

Son incidence est plus élevée dans la population féminine. Cela est principalement dû à la plus grande incidence de symptômes dépressifs chez les femmes par rapport aux hommes, ce qui peut avoir des causes génétiques mais aussi culturelles et sociales.

Quand commence-t-il habituellement à se développer?

Il existe un consensus pour affirmer que l'âge d'apparition du trouble schizo-affectif se produit généralement au début de la vie adulte, bien que cela ne l'empêche pas de se produire à l'adolescence ou aux derniers stades de la vie.

En outre, il existe un schéma d’apparence différenciée selon l’âge de la personne qui commence à ressentir les symptômes. Trouble bipolaire Le trouble schizo-affectif prévaut généralement chez les jeunes adultes, tandis que le trouble dépressif schizo-affectif prévaut chez les adultes plus âgés.

Comment le trouble schizo-affectif influence-t-il les personnes qui en souffrent?

La manière dont le trouble schizo-affectif marque quotidiennement les personnes qui en font l'expérience concerne pratiquement tous les domaines de la vie. Cependant, certains aspects principaux peuvent être soulignés :

  • La capacité de continuer à fonctionner au niveau du travail est normalement affectée Bien que, contrairement à ce qui se passe avec la schizophrénie, ce n’est pas un facteur déterminant en tant que critère déterminant.
  • Le contact social est diminué pour le trouble schizoaffectif. La capacité à prendre soin de soi est également affectée bien que, comme dans les cas précédents, les symptômes soient généralement moins graves et persistants que dans la schizophrénie.
  • Anosognosie ou absence d'introspection il est courant dans les troubles schizo-affectifs, étant moins grave que dans la schizophrénie.
  • Il est possible d’être associé à des troubles liés à l’alcool. ou d'autres substances.

Prévisions

Le trouble schizo-affectif a généralement un meilleur pronostic que la schizophrénie. Au contraire, ses prévisions est généralement pire que les troubles de l'humeur , entre autres parce que les symptômes liés aux problèmes de perception supposent un changement qualitatif très abrupt par rapport à ce que l’on attendrait d’une personne ne présentant pas ce trouble, alors que les altérations de l’esprit peuvent être comprises comme un problème de type plutôt quantitatif .

En général, l'amélioration qui se produit est comprise d'un point de vue fonctionnel et neurologique. On peut alors le placer en position intermédiaire entre les deux.

Une prévalence plus élevée de symptômes psychotiques, plus de chronicité du trouble . La durée de l'évolution de la maladie affecte également. Plus cela dure longtemps, plus c'est chronique.

Traitement et psychothérapie

À ce jour, aucun test ou mesure biologique ne peut nous aider à diagnostiquer un trouble schizo-affectif. Il n'y a aucune certitude quant à savoir s'il existe une différence de base neurobiologique entre le trouble schizo-affectif et la schizophrénie en termes de caractéristiques associées (telles que des anomalies cérébrales, structurelles ou fonctionnelles, des déficits cognitifs et des facteurs génétiques). Donc, Dans ce cas, il est très difficile de planifier des thérapies très efficaces .

L’intervention clinique se concentre donc sur la possibilité d’atténuer les symptômes et de former les patients à l’acceptation des nouvelles normes de vie et à la gestion de leurs émotions et de leur comportement personnel et social.

Pour le traitement pharmacologique du trouble schizoaffectif, on utilise généralement des antipsychotiques, des antidépresseurs et des stabilisateurs de l'humeur, tandis que la psychothérapie du trouble schizoaffectif la plus indiquée serait du type cognitivo-comportemental. Afin de mettre en œuvre cette dernière action, les deux piliers de la maladie doivent être traités.

  • D'une part, le traitement des troubles de l'humeur, aider le patient à détecter et à traiter les symptômes dépressifs ou maniaques .
  • D'un autre côté, le traitement des symptômes psychotiques pourrait aider à réduire et à contrôler les idées délirantes et les hallucinations . On sait que la conviction en ces choses fluctue avec le temps et qu’elles peuvent être modifiées et diminuées par des interventions cognitivo-comportementales. Pour lutter contre le délire, par exemple, cela peut aider à clarifier la manière dont le patient construit sa réalité et donne un sens à ses expériences en se basant sur des erreurs cognitives et son histoire de vie. Cette approche peut être faite de manière similaire avec des hallucinations.

Trouble schizo-affectif : histoire, symptômes et traitement (partie 1) (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes