yes, therapy helps!
Slow Parenting: a new parenting model

Slow Parenting: a new parenting model

January 26, 2023

Slow Parenting, or Slow Parenthood , is a style of parenting that promotes education based on the natural rhythms of the children themselves, beyond insisting that they acquire knowledge as quickly as possible.

Since it emerged, it has been considered an educational revolution, since it makes critical criticisms of parenting styles based on hyperactivity, and ensures that children are happy and satisfied with their own achievements, even if these will not make them the richest. neither in the most popular nor in the fastest.

  • Related article: "The 4 educational styles: how do you educate your children?"

What is Slow Parenting?

Slow Parenting is also known as Simplicity Parenting. It is a style of parenting based on lifestyles through which daily activities are carried out at appropriate rates , without putting pressure to advance in the development of learning and skills.


That is to say that, far from being a movement that suggests doing all our activities slowly, It is an educational proposal that values ​​quality over speed : suggests that it is more valuable to do things as well as possible, than to do them as quickly as possible. Thus, try that children learn the importance of achieving their own goals, beyond achieving them first.

Slow Parenting arises in response to the negative consequences of parenting styles that are based on speed and hyperactivity; This issue is also part of the Slow Movement, where the tendency of our societies to equate success with speed is discussed.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

A proposal in defense of the slowness

The Slow Parenting proposal is born from a series of books written by Canadian journalist Carl Honoré , who, in fact, never used the term "Slow Parenting", but did question the evident obsession with acceleration that is characteristic of Western societies.

We tend to do things too fast, that is, our habits are strongly based on speed . This is because we consider the latter as a success factor: it is more valuable to arrive first; than the process itself to achieve our goals.

The problem is that this is a lifestyle that in the long run affects our health, our affective relationships, our productivity and our creativity. In other words, excessive haste directly affects our quality of life, which means that we should not transmit these values ​​to children.


Although the author himself says that he has never used the concept of "Slow Parenting", now that it has been extended, he defines it as a way to create balance at home , which is based on the following premise: it is clear that children need to develop and adapt to the different demands that each environment presents, but this does not mean that childhood is a kind of career.

Parents should give children as much time as necessary to explore the world on their own terms. Thus, the proposal of Slow Parenting is to let the little ones work according to their own needs, since they are the reflection of their true potential (and not of what adults want them to be, do, aspire or achieve).

This also means that children they will receive the attention and affection they need without being conditioned to the rhythms that adults mark in our adult activities.

Why did speed become synonymous with success?

Carl Honoré has also explained that our tendency to educate with speed has arisen from the need that adults have to create a "perfect childhood". The problem is that frequently, this perfection is quite focused on consumer ideals .

For example, in the face of the widespread demand for "perfection" in Western societies, we constantly seek to have "the perfect house", "the perfect job", "the perfect car", "the perfect body", and can not miss "children perfect "; What also connects with the new needs generated in globalization: compete is the way to respond to crises and labor uncertainties.

In addition to this, Honoré points out the latest changes in family models, where the number of children who have many couples in developed countries has decreased, giving parents less opportunity to generate experience in parenting.

Likewise, the age at which people become parents significantly transforms educational styles . First of all, it is common for parents to feel distrust and uncertainty about their practices, and not knowing how to create "perfect children", delegate the responsibility to specialists, guardians, etc .; and they end up transmitting among themselves (among the parents of different families) demands for perfection and the idea of ​​childhood as competition.

Some suggestions of Slow Parenting

To begin to counter what we have developed in the previous section, one of the proposals of Slow Parenting is to try to spend more time with the family, but making sure that the main activity is not to go shopping, nor to live around devices that do not facilitate the interaction, like television; but through truly interactive activities, which also leave space for inactivity and rest for everyone.

Another suggestion is enhance the spontaneous play of children , which is the one that starts from their own initiative and their curiosity about the elements of the natural environment in which they operate. The latter to avoid imposing rigid models with contents that often do not promote the creative and curious potential of early childhood.

Finally, Slow Parenting seeks that children develop the ability to cope with the unpredictability of the real world and learn to know themselves from a young age.

In other words, seeks that children recognize that everyday life has risks , and the most appropriate way to do it is to allow them to face them. Only then can they generate strategies to detect their needs, solve their problems and ask for help in the right ways.

Bibliographic references:

  • Eldiario.es (2016). The philosophy of "slow" by Carl Honoré, the "global phenomenon" against haste. Retrieved May 10, 2018. Available at //www.eldiario.es/cultura/filosofia-Carl-Honore-fenomeno-global_0_508499302.html.
  • Belkin, L. (2009). What is Slow-Parenting ?. The New York Times. Retrieved May 10, 2018. Available at //parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/04/08/what-is-slow-parenting/.
  • The Telegraph (2008). Slow parenting part two: hey, parents, leave those kids alone. Retrieved May 10, 2018. Available at //www.telegraph.co.uk/education/3355928/Slow-parenting-part-two-hey-parents-leave-those-kids-alone.html.

LoveParenting: Slow Parenting and what to do about "boredom" (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Slow Parenting: un nouveau modèle parental

Slow Parenting: un nouveau modèle parental

Janvier 22, 2023

Parent lent, ou parent lent , est un style de parentalité qui promeut une éducation basée sur les rythmes naturels des enfants eux-mêmes, au-delà de l’insistance pour qu’ils acquièrent des connaissances le plus rapidement possible.

Depuis qu’elle est apparue, elle a été considérée comme une révolution éducative, dans la mesure où elle critique de manière critique l’hyperactivité des styles parentaux et veille à ce que les enfants soient heureux et satisfaits de leurs réalisations, même si elles ne les rendront pas les plus riches. ni dans le plus populaire ni dans le plus rapide.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 styles éducatifs: comment éduquez-vous vos enfants?"

Qu'est-ce que la parentalité lente?

Slow Parenting est aussi appelé Simplicity Parenting. C’est un style de parentalité basé sur des modes de vie à travers lesquels les activités quotidiennes sont effectuées à des taux appropriés , sans faire pression pour progresser dans le développement de l’apprentissage et des compétences.


C’est-à-dire que, loin d’être un mouvement qui suggère de faire toutes nos activités lentement, C'est une proposition éducative qui valorise la qualité plutôt que la vitesse : suggère qu'il est plus utile de faire les choses aussi bien que possible que de les faire aussi rapidement que possible. Essayez donc que les enfants apprennent l’importance d’atteindre leurs propres objectifs, au-delà de les atteindre d’abord.

La lenteur parentale découle des conséquences négatives des styles parentaux basés sur la vitesse et l'hyperactivité; Cette question fait également partie du Slow Movement, où la tendance de nos sociétés à associer le succès à la rapidité est discutée.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Une proposition en défense de la lenteur

La proposition Slow Parenting est né d'une série de livres écrits par le journaliste canadien Carl Honoré , qui, en fait, n’a jamais utilisé le terme «Slow Parenting», mais remet en question l’obsession évidente de l’accélération qui caractérise les sociétés occidentales.

Nous avons tendance à faire les choses trop vite, c'est-à-dire nos habitudes sont fortement basées sur la vitesse . En effet, nous considérons ce dernier comme un facteur de réussite: il est plus utile d’arriver en premier; que le processus lui-même pour atteindre nos objectifs.

Le problème est qu’il s’agit d’un mode de vie qui, à long terme, affecte notre santé, nos relations affectives, notre productivité et notre créativité. En d'autres termes, une hâte excessive affecte directement notre qualité de vie, ce qui signifie que nous ne devrions pas transmettre ces valeurs aux enfants.


Bien que l’auteur affirme lui-même qu’il n’a jamais utilisé le concept de "Slow Parenting", maintenant qu’il a été étendu, il le définit comme suit: un moyen de créer un équilibre à la maison , qui repose sur le principe suivant: il est clair que les enfants doivent évoluer et s'adapter aux différentes demandes de chaque environnement, mais cela ne signifie pas pour autant que l’enfance est une sorte de carrière.

Les parents devraient donner aux enfants le temps nécessaire pour explorer le monde à leur façon. Ainsi, la proposition de Slow Parenting est de laisser les petits travailler selon leurs propres besoins, car ils sont le reflet de leur potentiel réel (et non de ce que les adultes veulent qu’ils soient, font, aspirent ou réalisent).

Cela signifie également que les enfants ils recevront l'attention et l'affection dont ils ont besoin sans être conditionnés aux rythmes marqués par les adultes dans nos activités pour adultes.

Pourquoi vitesse est-elle devenue synonyme de succès?

Carl Honoré a également expliqué que notre tendance à éduquer rapidement était née de la nécessité pour les adultes de créer une "enfance parfaite". Le problème est que fréquemment, cette perfection est assez axée sur les idéaux du consommateur .

Par exemple, face à la demande généralisée de "perfection" dans les sociétés occidentales, nous cherchons constamment à avoir "la maison parfaite", "le travail parfait", "la voiture parfaite", "le corps parfait", et nous ne pouvons pas rater "les enfants parfait "; Ce qui est également lié aux nouveaux besoins générés par la mondialisation: la concurrence est le moyen de réagir aux crises et aux incertitudes du travail.

En plus de cela, Honoré souligne les derniers changements dans les modèles familiaux, où le nombre d'enfants ayant beaucoup de couples dans les pays développés a diminué, donnant aux parents moins de possibilités de générer de l'expérience dans la parentalité.

De même l'âge auquel les gens deviennent parents transforme de manière significative les styles d'éducation . Tout d’abord, il est fréquent que les parents éprouvent de la méfiance et de l’incertitude quant à leurs pratiques et ne sachent pas comment créer des "enfants parfaits", mais en délèguent la responsabilité à des spécialistes, à des tuteurs, etc. et ils finissent par transmettre entre eux (parmi les parents de différentes familles) des demandes de perfection et l'idée de l'enfance en tant que compétition.

Quelques suggestions de Slow Parenting

Pour commencer à contrer ce que nous avons développé dans la section précédente, l’une des propositions de Slow Parenting est d’essayer de passer plus de temps avec la famille, mais en veillant à ce que l’activité principale ne soit pas de faire des courses, ni de vivre autour d’appareils qui ne facilitent pas la tâche. l'interaction, comme la télévision; mais à travers des activités réellement interactives, qui laissent également de la place pour l’inactivité et le repos pour tous.

Une autre suggestion est améliorer le jeu spontané des enfants , qui est celui qui part de leur propre initiative et de leur curiosité pour les éléments de l’environnement naturel dans lequel ils évoluent. Ces derniers éviteront d’imposer des modèles rigides avec des contenus qui souvent ne valorisent pas le potentiel créatif et curieux de la petite enfance.

Enfin, Slow Parenting cherche à ce que les enfants développent la capacité de faire face à l'imprévisibilité du monde réel et apprennent à se connaître dès leur plus jeune âge.

En d'autres termes, cherche à ce que les enfants reconnaissent que la vie quotidienne comporte des risques et le moyen le plus approprié de le faire est de leur permettre de les affronter. Ce n'est qu'alors qu'ils pourront élaborer des stratégies pour détecter leurs besoins, résoudre leurs problèmes et demander de l'aide de la bonne manière.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Eldiario.es (2016). La philosophie du "lent" de Carl Honoré, le "phénomène global" contre la hâte. Récupéré le 10 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.eldiario.es/cultura/filosofia-Carl-Honore-fenomeno-global_0_508499302.html.
  • Belkin, L. (2009). Qu'est-ce que le Slow-Parenting? Le New York Times. Récupéré le 10 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/04/08/what-is-slow-parenting/.
  • Le télégraphe (2008). Slow Parenting, deuxième partie: hé, parents, laissez ces enfants seuls. Extrait le 10 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/3355928/Slow-parenting-part-two-hey-parents-leave-those-kids-alone.html.

Nintendo Switch Parental Controls - Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017 Trailer (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes