yes, therapy helps!
Ischemic Hypocampal Ischemic Syndrome Complete: a recently discovered type of amnesia

Ischemic Hypocampal Ischemic Syndrome Complete: a recently discovered type of amnesia

July 29, 2022

In 2012, a 22-year-old boy was taken to a hospital in Massachusetts, suffering from problems in one leg and what at first was considered a high level of confusion. He constantly repeated the same phrases and asked the same questions. After passing several tests, it was soon evident that what was considered confusion was a reality a severe amnesia .

This had appeared suddenly, being associated with consumption, the night before admission, of what the young man believed was heroin. Since then, about 16 similar cases of what has come to be considered a new amnestic syndrome associated with the use of opioids have been detected.


  • Related article: "The different types of amnesia (and its characteristics)"

What is this syndrome?

The complete hippocampal ischemic amnestic syndrome , as it has been called by the doctors who discovered its existence, is characterized by the presence of the sudden appearance of anterograde amnesia, often shortly after consumption or after surviving an overdose of some type of opiate (being the heroin and / or fentanyl the most frequent).

This means that patients lose the ability to record new information and store it in memory. Beyond the memory problems, those who suffer from this syndrome may have other alterations, but they are not definitive of this syndrome. In some cases there has been an improvement over time (as happened with the first of the known cases), recovering to a large extent the memory capacity to record new information.


On a neuropsychological level, the existence of brain damage has been observed in a very specific area , being this aspect what is more striking (since they do not tend to have large brain lesions in other areas): the biggest and most characteristic damage of this evident syndrome is the presence of a lesion of great importance in both hippocampus, being the bilateral injury.

The suffering of an amnesia due to damage to the hippocampus or in different areas is not so unusual, and it is also known that hypoxia and strokes affect the hippocampus to a greater extent that to other regions but it is not so simple that the damages occur in both hippocampus at the same time in such a sudden way and without any kind of trauma that also damages other areas.

Cause?

The causes of the appearance of massive lesions in both hippocampus and the appearance of this type of amnesia are largely unknown. Despite this, the immediate cause, the trigger, seems to be associated with the aforementioned opioid use. In many of the cases, patients had a history of opioid use (especially heroin), suffering from a substance abuse disorder, and in some other cases have been observed by analysis the presence of other drugs such as cocaine, marijuana, amphetamines, hallucinogens or drugs such as benzodiazepines.


Another element to be taken into account is that most of the patients are younger or younger (between the age of 20 and 50), of which around half of known cases suffer from vascular disorders such as hypertension or diabetes. Vascular alterations may facilitate the appearance of ischemia that cause hippocampal damage, but how they are really related is something little known.

The suffering of a dependence or disorder due to substance use, besides being one of the possible causes or triggers, can have different repercussions for your health that can complicate your recovery if you continue consuming after the amnestic episode.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

A little-known amnestic syndrome

Not much is known about this syndrome, but it has been observed that it is undergoing some expansion: since the first case was observed in 2012, a total of 16 cases identified in the United States have been detected that meet the same characteristics.

However, we must bear in mind that there may be more, since there is a possibility that people without resources have not come to the hospital (These 14 cases have been observed in the United States), or that previous cases have been associated with other alterations.

But except for the aforementioned findings, little is known about this syndrome. Much more research is needed to determine the causes of this disorder and establish protocols for action and treatment that are more appropriate to this problem.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barash, J.A .; Somerville, N. & DeMaria, A. (2017).Cluster of an unusual amnestic syndrome - Massachusetts, 2012-2016. MMWR .: 66 (3); 76-79.
  • Duru, U.B .; Pawat, G .; Barash, J.A .; Miller, L.E .; Thiruselvam, I.K. & Haut, M.W. (2018). An Unusual Amnestic Syndrome Associated With Combined Fentanyl and Cocaine Use. Annals of Internal Medicine. American College of Physicians
  • Lim, C .; Alexander, M.P .; LaFleche, G .; Schnyer, D.M .; Verfaellie, M. (2004). The neurological and cognitive sequelae of cardiac arrest. Neurology, 63 (10): 1774-1778.

Hippocampus (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome ischémique ischémique ischémique complet: un type d'amnésie récemment découvert

Syndrome ischémique ischémique ischémique complet: un type d'amnésie récemment découvert

Juin 26, 2022

En 2012, un garçon de 22 ans a été emmené dans un hôpital du Massachusetts, souffrant de problèmes à une jambe et considéré à l'origine comme un haut degré de confusion. Il répétait constamment les mêmes phrases et posait les mêmes questions. Après avoir passé plusieurs tests, il devint vite évident que ce qui était considéré comme une confusion était une réalité une amnésie sévère .

Cela était apparu soudainement, associé à la consommation, la veille de l'admission, de ce que le jeune homme croyait être de l'héroïne. Depuis lors, environ 16 cas similaires de ce qui a été considéré comme un nouveau syndrome amné associé à l'utilisation d'opioïdes ont été détectés.


  • Article connexe: "Les différents types d'amnésie (et ses caractéristiques)"

Quel est ce syndrome?

Le syndrome amnestic ischémique complet de l'hippocampe , comme l’ont appelé les médecins qui ont découvert son existence, se caractérise par la présence soudaine d’une amnésie antérograde, souvent peu de temps après sa consommation ou après avoir survécu à une surdose d’opiacée (l’héroïne et / ou le fentanyl le plus fréquent).

Cela signifie que les patients perdent la possibilité d'enregistrer de nouvelles informations et de les stocker en mémoire. Au-delà des problèmes de mémoire, ceux qui souffrent de ce syndrome peuvent avoir d'autres altérations, mais ils ne sont pas définitifs de ce syndrome. Dans certains cas, il y a eu une amélioration au fil du temps (comme dans le cas du premier des cas connus), récupérant dans une large mesure la capacité de mémoire pour enregistrer de nouvelles informations.


Au niveau neuropsychologique, l'existence de lésions cérébrales a été observée dans une zone très spécifique , étant cet aspect ce qui est plus frappant (puisqu'ils ne tendent pas à avoir de grosses lésions cérébrales ailleurs): le dommage le plus important et le plus caractéristique de ce syndrome évident est la présence d'une lésion d'une grande importance à la fois dans l'hippocampe, la blessure bilatérale.

La souffrance d'une amnésie due à des dommages causés à l'hippocampe ou à différents endroits n'est pas si inhabituelle, et il est également connu que l'hypoxie et les accidents vasculaires cérébraux affectent davantage l'hippocampe Cela n’est pas si simple que les dommages soient subis de manière si soudaine dans les deux hippocampes en même temps et sans aucun type de traumatisme qui endommage également d’autres régions.

Cause?

Les causes de l'apparition de lésions massives dans l'hippocampe et l'apparition de ce type d'amnésie sont en grande partie inconnues. Malgré cela, la cause immédiate, le déclencheur, semble être associée à la consommation d'opioïdes susmentionnée. Dans de nombreux cas, les patients avaient des antécédents d'utilisation d'opioïdes (en particulier l'héroïne), souffrant d'un trouble lié à la toxicomanie, et dans certains autres cas, la présence d'autres drogues telles que la cocaïne, la marijuana, les amphétamines, des hallucinogènes ou des drogues telles que les benzodiazépines a été observée.


Un autre élément à prendre en compte est que la plupart des patients sont plus jeunes ou plus jeunes (entre 20 et 50 ans), dont environ la moitié des cas connus souffrent de troubles vasculaires tels que l'hypertension ou le diabète. Les altérations vasculaires peuvent faciliter l'apparition d'ischémie qui causent des dommages à l'hippocampe, mais leur lien de parenté est quelque chose de peu connu.

La souffrance liée à une dépendance ou à un trouble dû à la toxicomanie, en plus d'être l'une des causes ou déclencheurs possibles, peut avoir des répercussions sur votre santé qui peuvent compliquer votre rétablissement si vous continuez de consommer après l'épisode amnestic.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Un syndrome amné peu connu

On sait peu de choses sur ce syndrome, mais il a été observé qu'il est en expansion. Depuis le premier cas observé en 2012, un total de 16 cas identifiés aux États-Unis ont été détectés et répondent aux critères suivants: mêmes caractéristiques.

Cependant, il ne faut pas oublier qu'il peut y en avoir plus, car il est possible que des personnes sans ressources ne soient pas venues à l'hôpital (Ces 14 cas ont été observés aux États-Unis), ou que des cas précédents ont été associés à d'autres modifications.

Mais, à l'exception des résultats susmentionnés, ce syndrome est mal connu. Beaucoup plus de recherche est nécessaire pour déterminer les causes de ce trouble et établir des protocoles d'action et de traitement plus appropriés à ce problème.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barash, J.A .; Somerville, N. & DeMaria, A. (2017).Grappe d'un syndrome amnésique inhabituel - Massachusetts, 2012-2016. MMWR: 66 (3); 76-79.
  • Duru, UB; Pawat, G .; Barash, J.A .; Miller, L.E .; Thiruselvam, I.K. & Haut, M.W. (2018). Syndrome amnésique inhabituel associé à une utilisation combinée de fentanyl et de cocaïne. Annales de médecine interne. Collège américain des médecins
  • Lim, C; Alexander, M.P .; LaFleche, G .; Schnyer, D.M .; Verfaellie, M. (2004). Les séquelles neurologiques et cognitives de l’arrêt cardiaque. Neurology, 63 (10): 1774-1778.

L'accident vasculaire cérébral (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes