yes, therapy helps!
The psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein

The psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein

July 12, 2024

Disciple of Sigmund Freud and one of the most important authors of psychoanalysis, Melanie Klein is known for her adjustment of the psychoanalytic model to working with children , being one of the main authors in working with minors.

Melanie Klein's psychoanalytic theory, while continuing in many respects with Freud's work, emphasizes expanding and deepening aspects of development throughout childhood and creating a more focused approach to how the individual relates to objects ( generally understood as such other persons), this being the basis of the theory of object relations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Anna Freud: biography and work of the successor of Sigmund Freud"

Melanie Klein and the theory of object relations

The psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein is based primarily on his theory of object relations . In this theory it is established that the subject is related to the medium from the sensations and impulses that he feels and projects on the objects of his impulse. The relationships with these objects generate permanent traces that will mark the future relationship with others, internalizing the lived experiences and originating based on them the psychological structure of the subject.


A) Yes, the psychic configuration of a person it would be based on how it has been related and how it has internalized the interaction with these objects, developing the individual based on it. That is, that past learning is very important for the theory of Melanie Klein, unlike the current biologist of the time, which defended the essence of genes.

The individual and his development

In the psychoanalytic theory of Klein, the human being is from birth in a constant state of conflict between drives of life or love and death or hate . Throughout the development of being, the subject must overcome the stages and conflicts of the life stage that is being lived, forging a balance between the external and the internal through the relations with the different objects and enriching with time your self, personality and character.


During this development the individual will go through different phases, varying the way we capture reality and relate our impulses and desires with it and reaching different milestones and aspects that help us generate an integrated self that allows us to face conflicts between the id's own desires and the censorship of the superego.

The Self in psychoanalysis

While the work of Melanie Klein is largely a follower of Sigmund Freud's, there are some aspects in which divergences can be found.

One of the main ones is that while the father of psychoanalysis considers that at birth the human being is pure, in the psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein it is believed that from birth the infant has a primitive self that allows him to bond with the objects and project upon them his own impulses and unconscious conflicts.


Thus, in the beginning, object relations would be based on the projection of impulses and the introjection of external stimuli , to develop a more or less differentiated I in the different stages or positions.

  • Related article: "The id, the self and the superego, according to Sigmund Freud"

The positions of development

In the psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein it is established that throughout the development the human being goes through a series of stages in which the ego and relationships with the environment develop. Specifically, it establishes the presence of two concrete positions in childhood in which the object relations and the anxieties derived from them are evolving towards an integration of the ego, the paranoid-schizoid position and the depressive position.

The author proposes a moment of appearance of each one, but does not deny the possibility that adult subjects suffer some type of regression and / or fixation in any of them. Thus, the schizo-paranoid position would be more linked to the emergence of psychotic disorders and the depressive neurotic.

1. Schizoid-paranoid position

This position appears to be the first type of object relationship, initiated with birth and tending to last until six months of age. In this initial stage of development, the child is still not able to identify what the "I" is and what is not, having a concrete thought and not being able to distinguish holistic elements.

Not being able to distinguish the self from the non-self, the child can not integrate the joint existence of rewarding and aversive aspects in the same object, with which it reacts by identifying the objects in a partial way, making considers the existence of a good one that takes care of him and another bad one that damages or frustrates him (denominated excision to this defense mechanism), projecting in them their impulses and attempts.The most important and most important example to the infant is that of the mother's breast, which sometimes breastfeeds and sometimes frustrates.

Due to the existence of a bad object, persecutory, the infant will develop anxiety and anguish at the idea that he can attack him. In this way, a paranoid fear develops which in turn awakens aggressive and sadistic instincts towards the object. Likewise, confusion and anguish are frequent in the face of ignorance of the object to be found.

If the child manages to introject the good aspect of the objects (essentially the good breast of the mother) through the experience of more or better positive than negative experiences, he will be able to form a healthy self that allows him to move to the next position.

2. Depressive position

As the child matures, he begins to have a greater development of the self and a better capacity for discernment of what is the self than what is not, being now able to observe that the objects are independent of themselves. This stage arises around six months after birth.

The good aspect of the objects is incorporated and introjected specifically from the mother's breast , and the child is able to integrate the pleasant and unpleasant aspects of the objects. Little by little it has happened to be able to see the objects like a single element that sometimes can be good and in others bad.

Decrease aggressive impulses , and when observing that the object is an independent entity, fear and anxiety arise in the face of the possibility of its loss. Thus, in this position or stage there appear distresses of a depressive type, which are added to those of the previous position. Feelings of guilt and gratitude towards objects are born, and defensive mechanisms such as the repression of instincts and displacement begin to be applied.

The Oedipus complex

One of the most controversial concepts of psychoanalytic theory is the Oedipus complex, which according to Freud appears throughout the phallic stage around three years of age. In the psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein this complex is quite anterior, appearing next to the integration of the partial objects in a total object during the depressive position.

In other words, Klein considers that there is an Oedipus complex from the moment the child is able to discern that his parents are individuals who are alien to him, observing that there is a link between them of which he is not a part. The child projects his wishes in said link , generating envy and provoking ambivalent feelings about it.

Later, the Oedipus complex proposed by Freud will appear, at the moment when the ambivalence is reduced and the choice is made between the desire for one parent and the rivalry and identification with the other.

  • Related article: "The Oedipus Complex: one of the most controversial concepts of Freud's theory"

The symbolic game and the unconscious fantasy

The ability to express oneself verbally and externalize through the word thoughts, emotions, desires and experiences it develops throughout life. This capacity requires a certain level of maturational development and learning, as well as a certain capacity for introspection.

Thus, for a child who has not completed his development it is extremely complex to be able to express his drives, desires and anguish. This is one of the main reasons why the method of free association proper to Freudian psychoanalysis could not be originally applied to children.

However, the instinct elements, the desires and fears that are part of each one, are present from birth. For the psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein, although in childhood these elements may not be conscious can be symbolized in the generation of fantasies. In this way, unconscious fantasies act as a method of expression of basic instincts and anguish , projecting themselves into the game and leading to a great extent the attitude and behavior of children.

In this aspect, one of the contributions most valued by the psychoanalytic theory of Melanie Klein is the introduction of the symbolic game as a method of evaluation and work with minors. For Klein, the game is a method of communication in which the infant externalizes its primitive concerns and desires indirectly. In this way, analyzing the symbolism enclosed in the game process, it is possible to observe the unconscious fantasies that govern the behavior of the child in a way similar to that used in the methods of free association applied in adults.

When it comes to using the symbolic game, it is very important setting or adjustment of the situation, ie take into account that the need for the sessions, the type of furniture and toys are appropriate for the child so that it does not come taxed as he should play. The child must choose those toys that he wants to use by himself, being able through them to freely express their fears, anxieties and desires.

Bibliographic references:

  • Almond, M.T. (2012). Psychotherapies CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Corral, R. (2003).History of Psychology: notes for your study. Editorial Felix Varela. Havana.
  • Klein, M. (1971). Principles of child analysis. Buenos Aires: Paidós.
  • Klein, M. (1988). Envy and gratitude and other jobs. Complete works. Volume 3. Barcelona: Paidós.

PSYCHOTHERAPY - Melanie Klein (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein

La théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein

Novembre 12, 2022

Disciple de Sigmund Freud et l'un des auteurs les plus importants de la psychanalyse, Melanie Klein est connue pour son adaptation du modèle psychanalytique au travail avec les enfants , étant l'un des principaux auteurs travaillant avec des mineurs.

La théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein, tout en continuant à bien des égards avec le travail de Freud, met l'accent sur l'expansion et l'approfondissement des aspects du développement tout au long de l'enfance et sur la création d'une approche plus ciblée de la manière dont l'individu se lie aux objets ( généralement compris comme telles autres personnes), ce qui constitue la base de la théorie des relations d'objet.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Anna Freud: biographie et travail du successeur de Sigmund Freud"

Melanie Klein et la théorie des relations d'objet

La théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein est basé principalement sur sa théorie des relations d'objet . Dans cette théorie, il est établi que le sujet est lié au médium à partir des sensations et des impulsions qu'il ressent et projette sur les objets de son impulsion. Les relations avec ces objets génèrent des traces permanentes qui marqueront la relation future avec les autres, intériorisant les expériences vécues et prenant pour base la structure psychologique du sujet.


Ainsi, la configuration psychique d'une personne il serait basé sur la façon dont il a été mis en relation et comment il a internalisé l'interaction avec ces objets, développant l'individu à partir de celui-ci. C'est-à-dire que l'apprentissage passé est très important pour la théorie de Melanie Klein, contrairement au biologiste actuel de l'époque, qui défendait l'essence des gènes.

L'individu et son développement

Dans la théorie psychanalytique de Klein, l'être humain est depuis la naissance dans une constante état de conflit entre pulsions de vie ou d'amour et mort ou haine . Tout au long du développement de l'être, le sujet doit surmonter les étapes et les conflits de l'étape de la vie vécue, en forgeant un équilibre entre l'extérieur et l'intérieur à travers les relations avec les différents objets et s'enrichissant avec le temps. votre moi, votre personnalité et votre caractère.


Au cours de ce développement, l’individu passera par différentes phases, en modifiant la façon dont nous capturons la réalité, en y associant nos impulsions et nos désirs, et en franchissant différents jalons et aspects nous permettant de générer un moi intégré nous permettant de faire face aux conflits. entre les désirs du id et la censure du surmoi.

Le Soi en psychanalyse

Bien que le travail de Melanie Klein soit en grande partie un disciple de Sigmund Freud, il existe certains aspects dans lesquels des divergences peuvent être trouvées.

L'un des principaux est que, si le père de la psychanalyse considère qu'à la naissance, l'être humain est pur, dans la théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein on croit que, dès la naissance, le nourrisson a un soi primitif cela lui permet de créer des liens avec les objets et de projeter sur eux ses propres impulsions et conflits inconscients.


Ainsi, à l’origine, les relations d’objet seraient basées sur la projection d'impulsions et introjection de stimuli externes , pour développer un I plus ou moins différencié dans les différentes étapes ou positions.

  • Article connexe: "Le ça, le moi et le surmoi, selon Sigmund Freud"

Les positions de développement

Dans la théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein, il est établi que tout au long du développement, l'être humain traverse une série d'étapes dans lequel l'ego et les relations avec l'environnement se développent. Plus précisément, il établit la présence de deux positions concrètes dans l'enfance dans lesquelles les relations d'objet et les angoisses qui en découlent évoluent vers une intégration du moi, la position paranoïde-schizoïde et la position dépressive.

L'auteur propose un moment d'apparition de chacun, mais ne nie pas la possibilité que des sujets adultes subissent un type de régression et / ou de fixation dans aucun d'entre eux. Ainsi, la position schizo-paranoïde serait davantage liée à l'émergence de troubles psychotiques et du dépressif névrotique.

1. Position schizo-paranoïde

Cette position semble être le premier type de relation d'objet, initiée avec la naissance et ayant tendance à durer jusqu'à six mois. Dans cette phase initiale de développement, l'enfant n'est toujours pas en mesure d'identifier ce qu'est le "je" et ce qu'il n'est pas, avoir une pensée concrète et ne pas être capable de distinguer des éléments holistiques.

Ne pouvant pas se distinguer du non-soi, l'enfant ne peut pas intégrer l'existence conjointe d'aspects gratifiants et aversifs dans le même objet, avec lequel il réagit en identifiant les objets de manière partielle, en faisant considère l'existence d'un bon qui prend soin de lui et d'un autre qui le blesse ou le frustre (dénommée excision à ce mécanisme de défense), projetant en eux leurs impulsions et leurs tentatives.L'exemple le plus important et le plus important pour le nourrisson est celui du sein de la mère, qui allaite parfois et parfois frustrant.

En raison de l'existence d'un mauvais objet, persécution, l'enfant va développer de l'anxiété et de l'angoisse à l'idée qu'il peut l'attaquer. De cette manière, une peur paranoïde se développe qui, à son tour, suscite des instincts agressifs et sadiques envers l'objet. De même, la confusion et l'angoisse sont fréquentes face à l'ignorance de l'objet à trouver.

Si l'enfant parvient à introjecter le bon aspect des objets (essentiellement le bon sein de la mère) à travers l'expérience d'expériences plus ou mieux positives que négatives, il sera capable de se former un soi en bonne santé lui permettant de passer à la position suivante.

2. Position dépressive

Au fur et à mesure que l'enfant grandit, il commence à avoir un plus grand développement de soi et une meilleure capacité de discernement de ce qui est soi que ce qui ne l'est pas, étant maintenant capable de constater que les objets sont indépendants d'eux-mêmes. Cette étape survient environ six mois après la naissance.

Le bon aspect des objets est incorporé et introjecté spécifiquement du sein de la mère , et l’enfant est capable d’intégrer les aspects agréables et désagréables des objets. Peu à peu, il a été possible de voir les objets comme un élément unique qui peut être parfois bon ou mauvais.

Diminuer les pulsions agressives et quand on constate que l’objet est une entité indépendante, la peur et l’anxiété surgissent face à la possibilité de sa perte. Ainsi, dans cette position ou ce stade, apparaissent des détresses de type dépressif, qui s’ajoutent à celles de la position précédente. Des sentiments de culpabilité et de gratitude envers les objets naissent, et des mécanismes de défense tels que le refoulement des instincts et le déplacement commencent à être appliqués.

Le complexe d'Œdipe

L'un des concepts les plus controversés de la théorie psychanalytique est le complexe d'Œdipe, qui selon Freud apparaît tout au long du stade phallique, vers trois ans environ. Dans la théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein, ce complexe est tout à fait antérieur et apparaît à côté de l'intégration des objets partiels dans un objet total pendant la position dépressive.

En d'autres termes, Klein considère qu'il existe un complexe d'Œdipe à partir du moment où l'enfant est capable de discerner que ses parents sont des individus qui lui sont étrangers, observant qu'il existe un lien entre eux dont il ne fait pas partie. L'enfant projette ses voeux dans ledit lien , générant de l'envie et provoquant des sentiments ambivalents à ce sujet.

Plus tard, apparaîtra le complexe d'Œdipe proposé par Freud, au moment où l'ambivalence sera réduite et où le choix sera fait entre le désir d'un parent et la rivalité et l'identification à l'autre.

  • Article connexe: "Le complexe d'Œdipe: l'un des concepts les plus controversés de la théorie de Freud"

Le jeu symbolique et le fantasme inconscient

La capacité de s’exprimer verbalement et extérioriser à travers le mot pensées, émotions, désirs et expériences il se développe tout au long de la vie. Cette capacité nécessite un certain niveau de développement et d’apprentissage de la maturation, ainsi qu’une certaine capacité d’introspection.

Ainsi, pour un enfant qui n’a pas achevé son développement, il est extrêmement complexe de pouvoir exprimer ses pulsions, ses désirs et son angoisse. C'est l'une des principales raisons pour lesquelles la méthode d'association libre propre à la psychanalyse freudienne n'a pas pu être appliquée à l'origine aux enfants.

Cependant, les éléments instinctifs, les désirs et les peurs qui font partie de chacun sont présents depuis la naissance. Pour la théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein, bien que dans l’enfance, ces éléments puissent ne pas être conscients peuvent être symbolisés par la génération de fantasmes. De cette façon, les fantasmes inconscients agir comme une méthode d'expression des instincts de base et de l'angoisse , se projetant dans le jeu et entraînant dans une large mesure l’attitude et le comportement des enfants.

À cet égard, l’un des apports les plus précieux de la théorie psychanalytique de Melanie Klein est l’introduction du jeu symbolique comme méthode d’évaluation et de travail avec les mineurs. Pour Klein, le jeu est un moyen de communication dans lequel le nourrisson extériorise indirectement ses préoccupations et ses désirs primitifs. De cette manière, en analysant le symbolisme inclus dans le processus de jeu, il est possible d'observer les fantasmes inconscients qui régissent le comportement de l'enfant d'une manière similaire à celle utilisée dans les méthodes de libre association appliquées chez l'adulte.

Quand il s’agit d’utiliser le jeu symbolique, il est très important mise ou l’ajustement de la situation, c’est-à-dire que le besoin de séances, le type de mobilier et de jouets conviennent à l’enfant afin que celui-ci ne soit pas taxé comme il le devrait. L'enfant doit choisir les jouets qu'il veut utiliser par lui-même, en étant capable d'exprimer librement ses peurs, ses angoisses et ses désirs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amande, M.T. (2012). Psychothérapies Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Corral, R. (2003).Histoire de la psychologie: notes pour votre étude. Éditorial Félix Varela. Havana.
  • Klein, M. (1971). Principes de l'analyse de l'enfant. Buenos Aires: Paidós.
  • Klein, M. (1988). Envie et gratitude et autres emplois. Travaux complets. Volume 3. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.

Mélanie Klein et la position schizo-paranoïde (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes