yes, therapy helps!
The explanatory model of stress (factors, causes and effects)

The explanatory model of stress (factors, causes and effects)

May 9, 2021

To this day, there is still no consensus to offer a concrete and universal definition of the concept of stress. Even so, there seems to be some agreement when defining it as the set of psychophysiological changes that occur in the organism in response to a situation of over demand, which mobilizes the activation of the organism.

If this situation is perpetuated in excess of time, the organism ends up being damaged, since it is unable to maintain this level of activation permanently due to the extra effort it entails.

Thus, you can differentiate between a stress response or positive (which is adaptive and allows you to face the possible adversities of everyday life) and a chronic stress response (which is the cause of certain alterations in the body, both physical and psychological ). Let's see what are the fundamentals of this phenomenon.


Explaining stress

There have been many attempts to give a theoretical explanation of the concept of stress. Below is the most accepted and the one that offers a more complete explanation at present: the Procedural Stress Model .

This integrative model highlights the enormous complexity of the concept of stress, arguing that there are multiple variables that are related to each other in the response that the body emits. As reflected in the following lines, you can differentiate up to seven types of factors that affect the way people issue this type of response .

Determinants in the stress response

These are the situations and variables (contextual and psychological) that can cause a stressful response.


1. Psychosocial demands

This factor refers to external environmental stressors , both natural (for example, temperature) and artificial (pollution) and also psychosocial (interpersonal relationships). Regarding this last phenomenon, it has been observed that their association with a low socioeconomic status may involve the experience of less social support.

2. Cognitive evaluation

The cognitive assessment of the situation that the person does also influences the stress reaction. In particular, there are usually five situational aspects that are evaluated when a person is faced with a stressful event:

  • The type of threat what is the demand: loss, danger or challenge.
  • The Valencia that the person grants to the threat: the evaluation as something positive or negative.
  • The dependency-independence of the actions of the person to meet the demand.
  • The predictability : if the demand is expected or not.
  • The controllability : if the person perceives or can not control the demand.

3. Physiological stress response

When there is a stress response in the body a series of physiological changes occur that allow the person to increase their alertness in reaction to the stressor . Let's see some examples in the proposal of Olivares and Méndez.


Physiological changes Benefits
Increase in heart rate and blood pressure.More blood is pumped to the brain, lungs, arms and legs, providing more fuel to the brain.
Increase of breathingThe breathing becomes deeper and faster to supply more oxygen to the muscles.
Muscle tension.The muscles tense, preparing for action.
Secretion of carbohydrates and lipids into the bloodstream.It provides fuel to quickly provide energy.
Increase of perspiration.Refrigerates excess muscle heat.
Release of coagulation factors.Faster clotting of the wounds, which results in the loss of blood.
Delay of digestion.Increased blood supply to the brain and muscles.

On the other hand, at the same time, certain changes in the person at an emotional level also occur. First, there is a feeling of emotional distress called distress , which basically consists of a set of negative emotions such as anxiety, anger, fear, etc.

The emotional expression linked to the stress response depends on the person's assessment of the situation. Thus, the specific circumstances of the situation mark both the thoughts that are faced with the demand and the feelings aroused subsequently.

4. Coping

On a practical level, it is one of the most important elements of the scheme, since it will depend on the coping style that is set in motion that the mental and emotional discomfort produced by the external stressor can be reduced.

The coping style refers to the general way of thinking and acting of the person more or less stable before the different stressful situations of your daily life. Coping depends on the person's belief that he can do something or not to change the situation.

According to the proposal of Lazarus and Folkman, the multiple forms of coping can be included within the following typologies:


Dimension Description
ConfrontationDirect actions directed towards the situation, for example, expressing anger towards the person causing the problem.
RemotenessTry to forget about the problem, refuse to take it seriously.
Self controlSave problems for oneself.
Search for social supportAsk for advice or help from a friend, talk to someone who can do something in particular.
Acceptance of responsibilityApologize, criticize yourself.
Escape or avoidanceWait for the occurrence of a miracle, avoid contact with people.
Problem solving planningEstablish an action plan and follow it.
Positive reevaluationAssign a more positive meaning to the situation, for example: "Experience teaches, there are good people", etc.

These authors have classified these coping styles into two categories: Problem-oriented style (Confrontation and Problem Solving Planning) and Emotion-oriented style (the six remaining types). In several studies it has been observed that people with higher rates of depression, anxiety and emotional distress often put into practice the styles oriented to emotion.

Thus, it is concluded that, on an emotional level, the latter do not become adaptive and satisfactory ways in coping with stress . On the other hand, it seems to be demonstrated that the establishment of an informed action plan and the subsequent realization of all the steps that compose it is a more effective methodology of personal psychological coping.

5. Personal characteristics

Experts have observed that certain personality traits can influence the type of reaction that expresses a person facing stress.

Hardiness

Kobasa has described the concept of Hardiness ("Resistance" or "hardness") as a protective factor against stress. The Hardiness is composed of three elements: commitment (believing and recognizing one's own values), challenge (assessing situations as a challenge instead, for example, as a threat) and control (sense of control of the situation) .

Sense of coherence

Antonovsky, similar to Kobasa, has defined this phenomenon as a stable personality disposition that serves as a resource for coping with stress, as a protective factor for the person . It consists of comprehensibility (cognitive control over the environment), management (to what extent the person considers that he has the resources to face the situation) and significance (evaluating the situation as a challenge and if it is worth facing).

In addition, it has been possible to verify the relationship of other personality traits with the type of reaction to stress, such as the following:

  • People with a neurotic tendency (anxious and emotionally unstable) tend to assess the situation in a more threatening way than other groups with less variable emotional functioning.
  • People with a high level of hostility tend to experiment with a frequency much higher than the rest of the population, anger and high cardiovascular reactivity.
  • People with repressive style they may have inhibition of their immune response.
  • Optimistic people, with high self-esteem, locus of internal control (high perception that the person has about the ability of the person to control the environment) and Hardiness are associated with a style of confrontament adequate or "problem-oriented".

6. Type of reaction to stress

This concept has been proposed by a group of researchers (Eysenck, Grossarth and Maticek) who They wanted to explain the causes of coronary heart disease and cancer .

It consists of a classification that differentiates six types of personal characteristics that tend to be associated with the development of certain physical diseases. More specifically, in the following classification, the six types and the disease with which they are related are observed:


KIND Disorder or illness
1Propensity to cancer: Dependent conformity, inhibition to establish interpersonal intimacy.
2Propensity to coronary heart disease: Reactions of anger, aggression of chronic irritation. Hyperexcitation.
3Hysterical: Protection against 1 and 2. Expression of alternate answers between 1 and 2.
4Healthy: Protector against diseases in general. Autonomous behavior Appropriate and realistic confrontation.
5Rational / Anti-emotional: Propensity to depression and cancer. Suppression of emotional expression.
6Antisocial: Psychopathic profile. Propensity to drug addiction.

7. Social characteristics

One of the main elements that relates the social characteristics and the stress response is social support . More concretely, we have studied the evidence of the influence of variables of this phenomenon, such as the address (if it is provided or received), the disposition (quantity and quality), the description / evaluation that the person makes of the support perceived, the content (emotional, instrumental, informative or evaluative) and social networks as a source of social support.

Numerous investigations highlight the importance of social support in the maintenance of good physical and mental health. Studies show how social support favors health by inhibiting the onset of the disease (reducing the impact of the stressor) or facilitating the recovery of it (strengthening the person's ability to cope with the disease). On the other hand, it should be noted that the absence of social support can have very negative consequences , since its lack becomes a very important risk factor for the subsequent development of depression.

For example, married people who enjoy a healthy marriage have a much lower risk than single, divorced or married people in a conflictive marriage.

8. Health status

Most factors that have been shown so far (cognitive assessment of the situation, coping style, personal characteristics, etc.) also are related to the physical health status of the person .

It has been observed, for example, that the fact of assessing the event very negatively or applying a wrong coping style produces a decrease in the body's immune response (a reduction in the defenses available to the body to deal with external pathogens). ), thus increasing the vulnerability of suffering certain diseases associated with the immune system (cancer, infections, etc.).

In conclusion

From the beginning of the investigations that have tried to shed some light on the concept of stress and the factors that explain it, science has managed to highlight the enormous complexity associated with this phenomenon . We discard, therefore, the idea that there is a single element that determines the appearance of this type of symptomatology so present in today's society.

Therefore, it is essential to banish the idea that pathological stress (punctual stress, as it is exposed in the article does not present adverse psychological consequences) is derived exclusively from the external environment or situations beyond the person.

Definitely, the individual himself also has a very relevant role in the type of experience and how it acts to overcome the perceived daily stress.

Bibliographic references:

  • Amigo, I, Fernández, C. and Pérez, M. (2009). Psychological manual of health. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Belloch, A., Sandín, B. and Ramos, F. (2008). Manual of psychopathology. Revised edition (Vol I and II). Madrid. McGraw Hill.
  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Behavior modification techniques. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Olivares, J. and Méndez, F. X. (2008). Behavior modification techniques. Madrid: New library.

Addiction (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le modèle explicatif du stress (facteurs, causes et effets)

Le modèle explicatif du stress (facteurs, causes et effets)

Novembre 4, 2022

À ce jour, il n'y a toujours pas de consensus pour proposer une définition concrète et universelle du concept de stress. Même dans ce cas, il semble exister un certain accord pour le définir comme l’ensemble des changements psychophysiologiques qui se produisent dans l’organisme en réponse à une situation de demande excessive, qui mobilise l’activation de l’organisme.

Si cette situation se perpétue au fil du temps, l’organisme finit par être endommagé, car il n’est pas en mesure de maintenir ce niveau d’activation de façon permanente en raison des efforts supplémentaires que cela implique.

Ainsi, vous pouvez différencier une réponse au stress ou positive (qui est adaptative et vous permet de faire face aux éventuelles adversités de la vie quotidienne) et une réponse au stress chronique (qui est la cause de certaines altérations du corps, tant physiques que psychologiques. ). Voyons quels sont les fondements de ce phénomène.


Expliquer le stress

Il y a eu beaucoup de tentatives pour donner une explication théorique au concept de stress. Ci-dessous, le plus accepté et celui qui offre une explication plus complète à l’heure actuelle: le Modèle de stress procédural .

Ce modèle d'intégration met en évidence l'énorme complexité du concept de stress, en faisant valoir qu'il existe de multiples variables liées les unes aux autres dans la réponse émise par le corps. Comme indiqué dans les lignes suivantes, vous pouvez différencier jusqu’à sept types de facteurs qui affectent la façon dont les gens émettent ce type de réponse .

Déterminants dans la réponse au stress

Ce sont les situations et les variables (contextuelles et psychologiques) qui peuvent provoquer une réaction stressante.


1. Exigences psychosociales

Ce facteur fait référence aux facteurs de stress environnementaux externes , à la fois naturels (par exemple, la température) et artificiels (pollution) ainsi que psychosociaux (relations interpersonnelles). En ce qui concerne ce dernier phénomène, il a été observé que leur association avec un statut socio-économique bas pouvait impliquer l'expérience d'un soutien social moindre.

2. Évaluation cognitive

L'évaluation cognitive de la situation que la personne fait influence également la réaction de stress. En particulier, cinq aspects de la situation sont généralement évalués lorsqu'une personne est confrontée à un événement stressant:

  • Le type de menace quelle est la demande: perte, danger ou défi.
  • Le Valencia que la personne accorde à la menace: l'évaluation en tant que quelque chose de positif ou négatif.
  • Le dépendance-indépendance des actions de la personne pour répondre à la demande.
  • Le prévisibilité : si la demande est attendue ou non.
  • Le contrôlabilité : si la personne perçoit ou ne peut pas contrôler la demande.

3. Réponse au stress physiologique

Lorsqu'il y a une réaction de stress dans le corps une série de changements physiologiques se produisent qui permettent à la personne d'augmenter sa vigilance en réaction à l'agent de stress . Voyons quelques exemples dans la proposition de Olivares et Méndez.


Changements physiologiques Les avantages
Augmentation du rythme cardiaque et de la pression artérielle.Plus de sang est pompé dans le cerveau, les poumons, les bras et les jambes, fournissant plus de carburant au cerveau.
Augmentation de la respirationLa respiration devient plus profonde et plus rapide pour fournir plus d'oxygène aux muscles.
Tension musculaireLes muscles se contractent, se préparent à l'action
Sécrétion de glucides et de lipides dans le sang.Il fournit du carburant pour fournir rapidement de l'énergie.
Augmentation de la transpiration.Réfrigère l'excès de chaleur musculaire.
Libération des facteurs de coagulation.Coagulation plus rapide des plaies, ce qui entraîne une perte de sang.
Retard de digestion.Augmentation de l'apport sanguin au cerveau et aux muscles.

D'autre part, parallèlement, certains changements affectant la personne au niveau émotionnel se produisent également. En premier lieu, il y a un sentiment de détresse émotionnelle appelé détresse , qui consiste essentiellement en un ensemble d’émotions négatives telles que l’anxiété, la colère, la peur, etc.

L'expression émotionnelle liée à la réponse au stress dépend de l'évaluation de la situation par la personne. Ainsi, les circonstances spécifiques de la situation marquent à la fois les pensées face à la demande et les sentiments suscités par la suite.

4. S'adapter

Sur le plan pratique, il s’agit de l’un des éléments les plus importants du schéma car il dépend du style d’adaptation mis en place que l’inconfort mental et émotionnel produit par le facteur de stress externe peut être réduit.

Le style d'adaptation fait référence à la manière générale de penser et d'agir de la personne plus ou moins stable avant les différentes situations stressantes de votre vie quotidienne. L'adaptation dépend de la conviction de la personne qu'elle peut faire quelque chose ou ne pas changer la situation.

Selon la proposition de Lazarus et Folkman, les multiples formes d'adaptation peuvent être incluses dans les typologies suivantes:


Dimension Description
La confrontationActions directes dirigées vers la situation, par exemple, exprimant de la colère envers la personne à l'origine du problème.
EnlèvementEssayez d'oublier le problème, refusez de le prendre au sérieux.
Maîtrise de soiEnregistrer les problèmes pour soi-même.
Recherche de soutien socialDemandez conseil ou aide à un ami, parlez à quelqu'un qui peut faire quelque chose de particulier.
Acceptation de la responsabilitéExcuse-toi, critique-toi.
Évasion ou évitementAttendez qu'un miracle se produise, évitez tout contact avec les gens.
Planification de résolution de problèmesÉtablissez un plan d’action et suivez-le.
Réévaluation positiveAttribuez un sens plus positif à la situation, par exemple: "L’expérience enseigne, il y a des gens bien", etc.

Ces auteurs ont classé ces styles d’adaptation en deux catégories: Style orienté problème (Planification de la confrontation et de la résolution de problèmes) et Style axé sur les émotions (les six types restants). Dans plusieurs études, il a été observé que les personnes présentant des taux de dépression, d'anxiété et de détresse émotionnelle plus élevés appliquent souvent les styles orientés vers l'émotion.

Ainsi, on conclut que, sur le plan émotionnel, ces derniers ne deviennent pas des moyens adaptatifs et satisfaisants de faire face au stress . D'autre part, il semble être démontré que la mise en place d'un plan d'action éclairé et la réalisation ultérieure de toutes les étapes qui le composent constituent une méthode plus efficace d'adaptation psychologique personnelle.

5. Caractéristiques personnelles

Les experts ont observé que certains traits de personnalité peuvent influer sur le type de réaction qui exprime une personne confrontée au stress.

La rusticité

Kobasa a décrit le concept de La rusticité ("Résistance" ou "dureté") comme facteur de protection contre le stress. La rusticité est composée de trois éléments: engagement (croire et reconnaître ses propres valeurs), défi (évaluer les situations en tant que défi au lieu, par exemple, en tant que menace) et contrôle (sens de contrôle de la situation) .

Sentiment de cohérence

Antonovsky, semblable à Kobasa, a défini ce phénomène comme une disposition stable de la personnalité qui sert de ressource pour faire face au stress, de facteur de protection pour la personne . Il comprend la compréhensibilité (contrôle cognitif de l'environnement), la gestion (dans quelle mesure la personne estime avoir les ressources nécessaires pour faire face à la situation) et l'importance (évaluer la situation comme un défi et si elle vaut la peine d'être relevée).

En outre, il a été possible de vérifier la relation entre d’autres traits de personnalité et le type de réaction au stress, tels que:

  • Les personnes à tendance névrotique (anxieuses et émotionnellement instables) ont tendance à évaluer la situation de manière plus menaçante que d'autres groupes au fonctionnement émotionnel moins variable.
  • Personnes très hostiles ont tendance à expérimenter avec une fréquence beaucoup plus élevée que le reste de la population, la colère et une réactivité cardiovasculaire élevée.
  • Les gens avec un style répressif ils peuvent avoir une inhibition de leur réponse immunitaire.
  • Les personnes optimistes, avec une haute estime de soi, un locus de contrôle interne (perception élevée que la personne a de la capacité de la personne à contrôler l'environnement) et la rusticité sont associées à un style de confrontation adéquat ou «orienté problème».

6. Type de réaction au stress

Ce concept a été proposé par un groupe de chercheurs (Eysenck, Grossarth et Maticek) qui ont Ils voulaient expliquer les causes de la maladie coronarienne et du cancer .

Elle consiste en une classification différenciant six types de caractéristiques personnelles généralement associées au développement de certaines maladies physiques. Plus précisément, dans la classification suivante, les six types et la maladie avec laquelle ils sont liés sont observés:


TYPE Trouble ou maladie
1Propension au cancer: conformité dépendante, inhibition d'établir une intimité interpersonnelle.
2Propension à la maladie coronarienne: réactions de colère, agression d'irritation chronique. Hyperexcitation.
3Hystérique: Protection contre 1 et 2. Expression de réponses alternatives entre 1 et 2.
4Sain: Protecteur contre les maladies en général. Comportement autonome Une confrontation appropriée et réaliste.
5Rationnel / Anti-émotionnel: Propension à la dépression et au cancer. Suppression de l'expression émotionnelle.
6Antisocial: Profil psychopathique. Propension à la toxicomanie.

7. Caractéristiques sociales

Un des principaux éléments qui relie les caractéristiques sociales et la réponse au stress est le soutien social . Plus concrètement, nous avons étudié la preuve de l’influence des variables de ce phénomène, telles que l’adresse (si elle est fournie ou reçue), la disposition (quantité et qualité), la description / évaluation que la personne fait du support. perçue, le contenu (émotionnel, instrumental, informatif ou évaluatif) et les réseaux sociaux en tant que source de soutien social.

De nombreuses enquêtes soulignent l’importance du soutien social dans le maintien d’une bonne santé physique et mentale. Des études montrent en quoi le soutien social favorise la santé en inhibant l'apparition de la maladie (réduisant l'impact du facteur de stress) ou en facilitant la guérison de celle-ci (renforçant la capacité de la personne à faire face à la maladie). il convient de noter que l'absence de soutien social peut avoir des conséquences très négatives , puisque son absence devient un facteur de risque très important pour le développement ultérieur de la dépression.

Par exemple, les personnes mariées qui jouissent d'un mariage en bonne santé ont un risque beaucoup plus faible que les personnes célibataires, divorcées ou mariées dans un mariage conflictuel.

8. Etat de santé

La plupart des facteurs mis en évidence jusqu'à présent (évaluation cognitive de la situation, style d'adaptation, caractéristiques personnelles, etc.) sont liés à l'état de santé physique de la personne .

Il a été observé, par exemple, que le fait d’évaluer l’événement de manière très négative ou d’appliquer un style de gestion inadéquat entraîne une diminution de la réponse immunitaire du corps (une réduction des défenses disponibles du corps pour faire face aux agents pathogènes externes). ), augmentant ainsi la vulnérabilité de certaines maladies associées au système immunitaire (cancer, infections, etc.).

En guise de conclusion

Depuis le début des enquêtes qui ont tenté d’éclairer la notion de stress et les facteurs qui l’expliquent, la science a réussi à mettre en évidence l'énorme complexité associée à ce phénomène . Nous écartons donc l’idée qu’il existe un élément unique qui détermine l’apparition de ce type de symptomatologie si présent dans la société actuelle.

Par conséquent, il est essentiel de bannir l'idée que le stress pathologique (stress ponctuel, comme il est exposé dans l'article ne présente pas de conséquences psychologiques défavorables) provient exclusivement de l'environnement extérieur ou de situations extérieures à la personne.

Finalement, l'individu lui-même a également un rôle très important dans le type d'expérience et comment il agit pour surmonter le stress quotidien perçu.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amigo, I, Fernández, C. et Pérez, M. (2009). Manuel de psychologie de la santé. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Belloch, A., Sandín, B. et Ramos, F. (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Edition révisée (Vol I et II). Madrid McGraw Hill.
  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Olivares, J. et Méndez, F. X. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: Nouvelle bibliothèque.

10 signes qui vous indiqueront si votre organisme ne va pas bien à cause du stress (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes