yes, therapy helps!
Suffragettes: the feminist heroines of the first democracies

Suffragettes: the feminist heroines of the first democracies

May 24, 2022

In order to understand the present, we must delve into the past and the first movements that started the movement from despotism to a time when there is much more equality. In the case of gender equality, the first people to push for change were the suffragettes , representatives of one of the first forms of feminism.

But ... who exactly were the suffragettes and what did they defend?

  • Related article: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

What are the suffragettes?

The suffragettes or "suffragettes" in English, were a political-social group that emerged at the end of the 19th century and was consolidated at the beginning of the 20th century. In its beginnings it was headed by the famous Emmeline Pankhurst (1858 - 1928), atypical figure since its inception, fleeing the traditionalist feminine laminate (that is, in part, because it did not receive a "princess" education, as historians point out, but was raised and educated in the bosom of a family claiming civil rights).


It is therefore a political and social movement of organized women that during the nineteenth century they maintained a political pulse with the authorities of male-dominated England, in a context in which women routinely experienced sexual abuse in their jobs on the part of the masters, they were denied the right to study and the husband had the power to punish his wife as he saw fit.

Roughly, Suffragettes distance themselves from conventional peaceful demands or by word to take action: "Deeds, not words" (Facts, not words).

This motto was led by this movement on a permanent basis, suggesting acts that would attract the attention of the British authorities. Well, this guideline was taken to the letter, and therefore the pressure exerted by this political group became impossible to ignore.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

Inspiration and political references

Like any great important and influential figure in history, Emmeline Pankhurst received from childhood a vindication and conscience education with social progress. These values ​​were noted in the movement that he led.

The suffragettes were motivated by the feminist magazine "Women's Suffrage Journal", founded in 1870 by Lydia Becker and Jessie Boucherett. Considered the first activists for the rights of women, Emmeline and her mother Sophia Jane they met Lydia Becker at a meeting that dealt with women's suffrage . "From that meeting I left convinced of being a committed suffragette," said Pankhurst.

Another turning point for the movement of the suffragettes was the fact of seize the values ​​of the French Revolution with a small nuance : equality. Any claim for civil and human rights, protests or other similar demands, were intended exclusively for man, denounced the movement.


Modus operandi of the suffragettes

The rights of women's suffrage date from the beginning of the 19th century, but it was not until the middle of this period that the suffrage movement did not settle in England (around 1855 approximately). Imitating any other type of protest policy, at the beginning the movement was articulated peacefully and democratically, introducing amendments in the English Parliament to expand women's rights .

It was at the end of the 19th century when the Suffragists decided to take another path. When a petition was rejected in the House of Commons by the deputies John Stuart Mill and Henry Fawcett, the famous "Ladies Petition" to change the word "man" to "person" when referring to suffrage, the National Society for the Suffrage of Women was created by the aforementioned Lydia Becker.

The revolution in the streets

After unfulfilled promises, deceptive laws and institutional disregard for everything that had been claimed to date, the first public incidents are recorded by the hand of the suffragettes: uproar, disturbance of order, urban violence, property damage and even some other act terrorist against the finance minister, David Lloyd George, in his own mansion.

One of the victims belonging to suffrage, Emily Wilding Davison, was martyred in 1913 when she assaulted King George V's horse to show him the flag of his organization and give voice to his discontent. "A tragedy would prevent thousands to come," Emily defended until her death.

The legacy of the first feminist struggle

Thanks to the busy but successful career of the suffragettes,several of the greatest achievements in women's rights have been achieved . Everything changed in 1928, when the right to women's suffrage was approved. Later, the entrance of the students to Universities like Oxford or Harvard would be accepted, inclusion of the deputies in the European parliaments, protagonism in the world of the cinema with films that remember the fight of the suffragists.

Another of the major achievements of the movement is the union achieved at the class level, thus absorbing another issue worthy of vindication. Women workers in factories, servants of the nobility and women of that same nobility, fought side by side for a common goal: "freedom or death," as one of the other slogans of suffrage would say.


Diane Atkinson: "Rise Up, Women! The Remarkable Lives of the Suffragettes" | Talks at Google (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Suffragettes: les héroïnes féministes des premières démocraties

Suffragettes: les héroïnes féministes des premières démocraties

Juin 25, 2019

Pour comprendre le présent, nous devons explorer le passé et les premiers mouvements qui ont initié le mouvement du despotisme à une époque où l'égalité est beaucoup plus importante. Dans le cas de l'égalité des sexes, les suffragettes ont été les premières personnes à réclamer le changement , représentants d’une des premières formes du féminisme.

Mais ... qui étaient exactement les suffragettes et que défendaient-elles?

  • Article connexe: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Quels sont les suffragettes?

Les suffragettes ou "suffragettes" en anglais, étaient un groupe politico-social apparu à la fin du XIXe siècle et consolidé au début du XXe siècle. À ses débuts, il était dirigé par la célèbre Emmeline Pankhurst (1858 - 1928), figure atypique depuis sa création, fuyant le stratifié féministe traditionaliste (c’est-à-dire en partie parce qu’il n’a pas reçu une éducation "de princesse", comme le soulignent les historiens, mais a été élevé et éduqué au sein de une famille revendiquant des droits civils).


C'est donc un mouvement politique et social des femmes organisées qu’au cours du XIXe siècle, elles ont maintenu le pouls politique auprès des autorités de l’Angleterre à domination masculine, dans un contexte où les femmes se voyaient régulièrement infliger des abus sexuels dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions, ce qui leur interdisait d'étudier le mari avait le pouvoir de punir sa femme comme il l'entendait.

Grosso modo, Les suffragettes se démarquent des revendications pacifiques conventionnelles ou par mot pour agir: "Des actes, pas des mots" (des faits, pas des mots).

Ce mouvement a été mené de manière permanente par ce mouvement, suggérant des actes susceptibles d'attirer l'attention des autorités britanniques. Eh bien, cette directive a été prise à la lettre, et donc la pression exercée par ce groupe politique est devenue impossible à ignorer.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme de tous les jours"

Inspiration et références politiques

Comme toute grande figure importante et influente de l'histoire, Emmeline Pankhurst a reçu dès son enfance une éducation à la défense et à la sensibilisation accompagnée de progrès social. Ces valeurs ont été notées dans le mouvement qu'il a dirigé.

Les suffragettes étaient motivées par le magazine féministe "Women's Suffrage Journal", fondé en 1870 par Lydia Becker et Jessie Boucherett. Considérées comme les premières militantes pour les droits des femmes, Emmeline et sa mère Sophia Jane ils ont rencontré Lydia Becker lors d'une réunion qui portait sur le suffrage des femmes . "De cette réunion, je suis parti convaincu d'être une suffragette engagée", a déclaré Pankhurst.

Un autre tournant pour le mouvement des suffragettes a été le fait de saisir les valeurs de la Révolution française avec une petite nuance : égalité Toute revendication de droits civils et humains, de manifestations ou d’autres revendications similaires, étaient exclusivement destinées à l’homme, a dénoncé le mouvement.


Modus operandi des suffragettes

Les droits du suffrage des femmes remontent au début du 19e siècle, mais ce n'est qu'au milieu de cette période que le mouvement du suffrage ne s'installe pas en Angleterre (vers 1855 environ). Imitant tout autre type de politique de protestation, au début le mouvement s’exprimait pacifiquement et démocratiquement, présenter des amendements au parlement anglais pour élargir les droits des femmes .

C'est à la fin du 19ème siècle que les Suffragistes ont décidé de prendre un autre chemin. Les députés John Stuart Mill et Henry Fawcett ayant rejeté une pétition à la Chambre des communes, la fameuse "pétition des dames" visant à changer le mot "homme" en "personne" en parlant de suffrage, la Société nationale pour le suffrage des femmes a été créée par la susdite Lydia Becker.

La révolution dans les rues

Après des promesses non tenues, des lois trompeuses et un mépris institutionnel pour tout ce qui avait été prétendu à ce jour, les premiers incidents publics sont enregistrés par la main des suffragettes: tumulte, trouble de l'ordre, violence urbaine, dommages matériels et même un autre acte. terroriste contre le ministre des Finances, David Lloyd George, dans sa propre maison.

L'une des victimes du suffrage, Emily Wilding Davison, a été martyrisée en 1913 lorsqu'elle a agressé le cheval du roi George V pour lui montrer le drapeau de son organisation et exprimer son mécontentement. "Une tragédie empêcherait des milliers de personnes de venir", a défendu Emily jusqu'à sa mort.

L'héritage de la première lutte féministe

Merci à la carrière occupée mais réussie des suffragettes,plusieurs des plus grandes réalisations en matière de droits des femmes ont été réalisées . Tout a changé en 1928, lorsque le droit au suffrage des femmes a été approuvé. Plus tard, l'entrée des étudiants dans des universités comme Oxford ou Harvard serait acceptée, ainsi que l'inclusion des députés aux parlements européens, le protagonisme dans le monde du cinéma avec des films qui rappellent le combat des suffragistes.

Une autre réalisation majeure du mouvement est l’union réalisée au niveau de la classe, absorbant ainsi une autre question digne d’être justifiée. Les travailleuses des usines, les servantes de la noblesse et les femmes de cette même noblesse se sont battues côte à côte pour un objectif commun: "la liberté ou la mort", comme dirait l'un des slogans du suffrage.


La grande histoire des féministes - 01 - Les Pionnières (1789-1918) (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes