yes, therapy helps!
Anthropology: what it is and what is the history of this scientific discipline

Anthropology: what it is and what is the history of this scientific discipline

June 17, 2024

Anthropology is a discipline that has evolved in an important way for more than three centuries and has contributed very important knowledge for the understanding of what constitutes us as human beings in relation to our social and cultural environment.

Next, we explain what anthropology is and make a brief review of its history, development and background.

  • Related article: "Differences between Psychology and Anthropology"

What is Anthropology?

Anthropology is the discipline that studies the behavior of human beings in relation to the specific culture in which they develop. This last includes study both the physical aspects of human beings and the language and socio-cultural norms where the interaction occurs.


In its origin, anthropology was a science of history and was closely related to a social philosophy. However, and in response to social transformations, it is currently a discipline that has its own field of study and is very important for our societies.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 4 main branches of Anthropology: how they are and what they investigate"

The Enlightenment and other background

The stage we know as the Enlightenment appeared in Europe during the second half of the seventeenth century and ended with the beginning of the French revolution a century later. Among many other things, this was the period in which the modern scientific method originated , both in the natural sciences and the social sciences.


Specifically, it was the seventeenth-century social philosophers who wondered about the possibility of a kind of "laws" that dominated the course of history and societies, as they had proposed for physics and biology.

It was from there when the concept of "culture" began to be discussed (although formally it took place until the 19th century). From this concept, human behavior could be thought beyond the biological aspects, and with this, a specific field of study was gradually formed.

In this process, which lasted many years, even centuries, Darwin's theory of evolution, Freud's psychoanalysis, Saussure's semiotics, Nietzsche's philosophy, Husserl's phenomenology; all this within the framework of a universal, western and Eurocentric vision of the world, which subsequently translated into the intention of understand and compare the societies that were beyond .


That is to say that anthropology arises from the advance of many ambitious theories about the knowledge of being human in relation to social change, historical resources and research methods that were based on live observations.

Contemporary anthropology

Entering the twentieth century, the discussion focused on considering that anthropology could not be speculative, but that we had to review the techniques and methods of data collection and, in general, review the methodology.

In this way, anthropology concentrated more and more on studying not repetitive events but the unique events of history, although always under the tension between the generalization inherited from positivist scientific methods and the ideographic perspective (the understanding of particular phenomena). ).

The first anthropologists and their theories

According to Thomas Hylland (2013) there are four founding fathers of anthropology . Each of them is part of a specific and different tradition of the same discipline (North American, French, German, British). These four founders are Franz Boas, Bronislaw Malinowski, Alfred Reginald Radcliffe-Brown, Marcel Mauss.

While their traditions have been fundamental to the development of contemporary anthropology, we will briefly review some of the ideas they developed.

1. Franz Boas (1858-1942)

Franz Boas was an American of Jewish-German origin, considered the father of American anthropology. He was among the first to question the concept of "race" and the postulates of the scientistic method. He is also one of the pioneers in studies on the phenomenon of migration.

Boas paid attention to cultural and geographical differences. He questioned the talk of "higher cultures" and "inferior cultures," and focused more on describing general laws than individual laws.

2. Bronisław Malinowski (1984-1942)

Malinowski is recognized to this day as the father of social anthropology, because He was a pioneer in the development of "field work" ; which is the key moment of data collection during the investigation.

He is also one of the founders of functionalism (school of anthropology that analyzes social institutions and their relation to the satisfaction of needs). His tradition is British anthropology and he took up many of the postulates of Freudian psychoanalysis to develop his theories and oppose reductionist scientific methods.

3. Alfred Reginald Radcliffe-Brown (1881-1955)

Along with Malinowski, Radcliffe-Brown is one of the founders of the British tradition of anthropology. He developed a large part of structuralist functionalism, retaking proposals from Emile Durkheim , with which, it contributed many of the bases for the theoretical development of the anthropology (whereas Malinowski contributed more towards the methodology).

As these first strands of anthropology did, Radcliffe-Brown studied "primitive" societies and how tribes and non-Western societies were organized.

4. Marcel Mauss (1872-1950)

Marcel Mauss is part of the French tradition of anthropology. He was also a sociologist, and he collaborated in an important way with Durkheim. His works are mainly theoretical (not so practical), and among other important concepts developed the "total social fact", which explains how the set of dimensions that make up social life (institutions, politics, family, religion, etc.) give rise to a concrete reality.

Finally, another of his important concepts has been "body techniques", through which he analyzed how attitudes, postures, forms, gestures, and all bodily habits are constructed between different cultures.

Bibliographic references:

  • Harris, M. (1979). The development of anthropological theory. History of theories of culture. 21st Century: Mexico.
  • Hylland, T. (2013). A history of anthropology. Pluto Press: USA.

An introduction to the discipline of Anthropology (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anthropologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelle est l'histoire de cette discipline scientifique

Anthropologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelle est l'histoire de cette discipline scientifique

Mai 20, 2019

L’anthropologie est une discipline qui a beaucoup évolué. depuis plus de trois siècles et a apporté une connaissance très importante pour la compréhension de ce qui nous constitue en tant qu'êtres humains en relation avec notre environnement social et culturel.

Ensuite, nous expliquons ce qu'est l'anthropologie et faisons un bref survol de son histoire, de son développement et de son contexte.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre psychologie et anthropologie"

Qu'est-ce que l'anthropologie?

L'anthropologie est la discipline qui étudie le comportement des êtres humains en relation avec la culture spécifique dans laquelle ils se développent. Ce dernier comprend étudier à la fois les aspects physiques de l'être humain et la langue et les normes socioculturelles où l'interaction se produit.


L'anthropologie était à l'origine une science de l'histoire étroitement liée à une philosophie sociale. Cependant, et en réponse aux transformations sociales, cette discipline a actuellement son propre domaine d’étude et est très importante pour nos sociétés.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 branches principales de l'anthropologie: comment elles sont et ce qu'elles étudient"

Les Lumières et autres antécédents

Le stade que nous connaissons sous le nom de Lumières est apparu en Europe au cours de la seconde moitié du dix-septième siècle et s’est terminé avec le début de la Révolution française un siècle plus tard. Parmi beaucoup d'autres choses, c'était la période à l'origine de la méthode scientifique moderne , tant dans les sciences naturelles que dans les sciences sociales.


Plus précisément, ce sont les philosophes du XVIIe siècle qui se sont interrogés sur la possibilité d'une sorte de "lois" qui dominent le cours de l'histoire et des sociétés, comme ils l'avaient proposé pour la physique et la biologie.

C'était de là quand le concept de "culture" a commencé à être discuté (bien que formellement, il a eu lieu jusqu'au 19ème siècle). A partir de ce concept, le comportement humain pouvait être pensé au-delà des aspects biologiques, créant ainsi un champ d'étude spécifique.

Dans ce processus qui a duré plusieurs années, voire des siècles, la théorie de l'évolution de Darwin, la psychanalyse de Freud, la sémiotique de Saussure, la philosophie de Nietzsche, la phénoménologie de Husserl; tout cela dans le cadre d'une vision universelle, occidentale et eurocentrique du monde, qui s'est ensuite traduite par l'intention de comprendre et comparer les sociétés qui étaient au-delà .


C’est-à-dire que l’anthropologie découle de l’avancée de nombreuses théories ambitieuses sur la connaissance de l’être humain en relation avec le changement social, les ressources historiques et les méthodes de recherche fondées sur des observations en direct.

Anthropologie contemporaine

À l’arrivée du XXe siècle, la discussion s’est concentrée sur le fait que l’anthropologie ne pouvait être spéculative, mais que nous avons dû revoir les techniques et méthodes de collecte de données et, en général, revoir la méthodologie.

De cette manière, l’anthropologie a de plus en plus concentré ses efforts sur l’étude d’événements non répétitifs mais historiques, bien que toujours sous la tension entre la généralisation héritée des méthodes scientifiques positivistes et la perspective idéographique (la compréhension de phénomènes particuliers). ).

Les premiers anthropologues et leurs théories

D'après Thomas Hylland (2013) il y a quatre pères fondateurs de l'anthropologie . Chacune d'entre elles fait partie d'une tradition spécifique et différente de la même discipline (nord-américaine, française, allemande, britannique). Ces quatre fondateurs sont Franz Boas, Bronislaw Malinowski, Alfred Reginald Radcliffe-Brown et Marcel Mauss.

Bien que leurs traditions aient été fondamentales pour le développement de l'anthropologie contemporaine, nous passerons brièvement en revue certaines des idées qu'elles ont développées.

1. Franz Boas (1858-1942)

Franz Boas était un Américain d'origine juive allemande, considéré comme le père de l'anthropologie américaine. Il fut parmi les premiers à remettre en cause le concept de "race" et les postulats de la méthode scientiste. Il est également l'un des pionniers dans les études sur le phénomène de la migration.

Boas a prêté attention aux différences culturelles et géographiques. Il a remis en question les discours sur les "cultures supérieures" et les "cultures inférieures", et s'est davantage concentré sur la description des lois générales que sur les lois individuelles.

2. Bronisław Malinowski (1984-1942)

Malinowski est reconnu à ce jour comme le père de l'anthropologie sociale, car Il a été un pionnier dans le développement du "travail sur le terrain" ; qui est le moment clé de la collecte de données au cours de l'enquête.

Il est également l'un des fondateurs du fonctionnalisme (école d'anthropologie qui analyse les institutions sociales et leur relation à la satisfaction des besoins). Il est issu de l'anthropologie britannique et a repris de nombreux postulats de la psychanalyse freudienne pour développer ses théories et s'opposer aux méthodes scientifiques réductionnistes.

3. Alfred Reginald Radcliffe-Brown (1881-1955)

Radcliffe-Brown est, avec Malinowski, l’un des fondateurs de la tradition anthropologique britannique. Il a développé une grande partie du fonctionnalisme structuraliste, reprise des propositions d'Emile Durkheim , avec lequel, il a apporté de nombreuses bases pour le développement théorique de l’anthropologie (alors que Malinowski a davantage contribué à la méthodologie).

À l’instar de ces débuts de l’anthropologie, Radcliffe-Brown a étudié les sociétés "primitives" et la manière dont les tribus et les sociétés non occidentales étaient organisées.

4. Marcel Mauss (1872-1950)

Marcel Mauss fait partie de la tradition anthropologique française. C'était aussi un sociologue et il a collaboré de manière importante avec Durkheim. Ses travaux sont principalement théoriques (pas si pratiques), et parmi d'autres concepts importants développés le "fait social total", ce qui explique comment l'ensemble des dimensions qui composent la vie sociale (institutions, politique, famille, religion, etc.) donnent lieu à une réalité concrète.

Enfin, un autre de ses concepts importants est celui des «techniques corporelles», à travers lesquelles il analyse la manière dont les attitudes, les postures, les formes, les gestes et toutes les habitudes corporelles sont construits entre différentes cultures.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Harris, M. (1979). Le développement de la théorie anthropologique. Histoire des théories de la culture. 21ème siècle: le Mexique.
  • Hylland, T. (2013). Une histoire de l'anthropologie. Pluto Press: USA.

Est-ce que tout le monde peut faire de l'Histoire ? feat. Manon Bril (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes