yes, therapy helps!
Systemic therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?

Systemic therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?

June 14, 2024

The systemic approach or is the application of the general theory of systems in any discipline: education, organizations, psychotherapy, etc.

This approach is presented as a systematic and scientific way of approaching and representing reality viewed from a holistic and integrating perspective , where the important thing is the relationships and the components that emerge from them. From there emerges the systemic therapy.

Therefore, its study and practice place special importance on the relationship and communication in any group that interacts, understood as a system. This approach also extends to individual people, taking into account the different systems that make up their context.


Systemic therapy: another way of doing therapy

The systemic therapy understands the problems from contextual framework and focuses on understanding and changing the dynamics of relationships (family, work, etc.) .

The roles and behaviors of people in these contexts are understood to be determined by the unspoken rules of that system and the interaction among its members.

Understanding disorders in a multi-causal way

Until then, in the field of psychotherapy, mental illness was understood in linear terms, with historical and causal explanations of the condition. First, the cause is sought and then the treatment is processed. The systemic therapy model (widely used in family therapy), observe the phenomena in a circular and multicausal manner, therefore, linear markers can not be established . To give an example, within a family, members behave and react in unpredictable ways because each action and reaction continually changes the nature of the context.


Paul Watzlawick was a pioneer in distinguishing linear causality and circular causality, to explain the various repetitive patterns of interaction possible and marking a before and after in the interpretation of difficulties in personal relationships. The circular view of the problems it is marked by how the behavior of one individual influences the actions of another, which in turn also influences the first.

So, Systemic therapy offers a circular, interactive vision, inside the system or group that has its transformation rules and self-controls through feedback phenomena to maintain a state of equilibrium . The components of the system come into contact through communication, one of the keys to this therapy.

The beginnings of systemic therapy

Systemic therapy arises during the thirties as a support to professions from different fields: psychiatry, psychology, pedagogy and sexology. Even though the movement starts in Germany thanks to Hirschfeld, Popenoe is the first to apply it in the United States. Later, Emily Mudd developed the first family therapy assessment program in Philadelphia.


John Bell, his most popular reference

Many claim that the father of modern family therapy is John Bell , a professor of psychology at Clark University in Worcester, Massachusetts, since in 1951 he performed joint therapy with the whole family of a very aggressive young man and obtained excellent results. That is why in many citations mark this moment as the beginning of systemic therapy.

From here, many have applied and spread the principles of systemic therapy in different areas. For example Nathan Ackerman, in child psychiatry, Theodore Lidz specialized in working with families of schizophrenic patients and was the first to explore the role of parents in the schizophrenia process. Bateson, who was an anthropologist and philosopher, and studied the family structure of the tribes of the islands of Bali and New Zealand along with his wife Margaret Mead.

Brief therapy develops from systemic therapy

Since the early 70s, it was suggested that the systemic model could be applied to a single individual even if the whole family did not attend , and that supposes a development of brief therapy of the MRI of Palo Alto.

The Brief Systemic Therapy is a set of procedures and intervention techniques that aim to help individuals, couples, families or groups to mobilize their resources to achieve their objectives in the shortest possible time , and has its origin in systemic therapy.

In the mid-70s, a group formed by Paul Watzlawick, Arthur Bodin, John Weakland and Richard Fisch, established the "Brief Therapy Center". This group developed what is now known throughout the world as the Model of Palo Alto, generating a radical change in psychotherapy, by developing a brief, simple, effective and effective model to help people produce change.

The praxis of systemic therapy

Systemic therapy is characterized as a practical rather than an analytical approach to problem solving. It does not matter so much the diagnosis of who the patient is or who has the problem (for example, who is it that has a problem of aggression), it focuses on identifying dysfunctional patterns within the behavior of the group of people (family, employees, etc.), in order to redirect these patterns of behavior directly.

Systemic therapists help systems find balance. Unlike other forms of therapy, for example psychoanalytic therapy, the objective is to approach in a practical way the current patterns of the relationship, rather than causes, as in this example may be the subconscious impulses of a childhood trauma trauma.


Systemic Family Therapy (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie systémique: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes s'appuie-t-elle?

Thérapie systémique: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes s'appuie-t-elle?

Avril 22, 2019

Le approche systémique o est l'application de la théorie générale des systèmes dans n'importe quelle discipline: éducation, organisations, psychothérapie, etc.

Cette approche est présentée comme une manière systématique et scientifique d'approcher et de représenter la réalité dans une perspective holistique et intégratrice , où l’important est les relations et les composantes qui en émergent. De là émerge le thérapie systémique.

Par conséquent, son étude et sa pratique accordent une importance particulière aux relations et à la communication dans tout groupe qui interagit, compris comme un système. Cette approche s’applique également aux individus, en tenant compte des différents systèmes qui composent leur contexte.


Thérapie systémique: une autre façon de faire de la thérapie

Le thérapie systémique comprend les problèmes du cadre contextuel et se concentre sur la compréhension et l'évolution de la dynamique des relations (famille, travail, etc.) .

Les rôles et les comportements des personnes dans ces contextes sont censés être déterminés par les règles tacites de ce système et par les interactions entre ses membres.

Comprendre les troubles de manière multi-causale

Jusque-là, dans le domaine de la psychothérapie, la maladie mentale était comprise de manière linéaire, avec des explications historiques et causales de la maladie. Tout d'abord, la cause est recherchée puis le traitement est traité. Le modèle de thérapie systémique (largement utilisé en thérapie familiale), observer les phénomènes de manière circulaire et multicausale, par conséquent, les marqueurs linéaires ne peuvent pas être établis . Pour donner un exemple, au sein d'une famille, les membres se comportent et réagissent de manière imprévisible, car chaque action et réaction modifie continuellement la nature du contexte.


Paul Watzlawick a été un pionnier dans la distinction entre causalité linéaire et causalité circulaire, afin d'expliquer les divers schémas d'interactions répétitives possibles et de marquer un avant et un après dans l'interprétation des difficultés des relations personnelles. Le vue circulaire des problèmes il est marqué par la manière dont le comportement d'un individu influence les actions d'un autre, qui influence également le premier.

Pourtant, La thérapie systémique offre une vision circulaire et interactive, à l'intérieur du système ou du groupe, qui applique ses règles de transformation et s'auto-contrôle par le biais de phénomènes de rétroaction afin de maintenir un état d'équilibre. . Les composants du système entrent en contact par la communication, l’une des clés de cette thérapie.

Les débuts de la thérapie systémique

Thérapie systémique se pose pendant les années trente comme support à des professions de différents domaines: psychiatrie, psychologie, pédagogie et sexologie. Même si le mouvement commence en Allemagne grâce à Hirschfeld, Popenoe est le premier à l'appliquer aux États-Unis. Plus tard, Emily Mudd développa le premier programme d'évaluation de thérapie familiale à Philadelphie.


John Bell, sa référence la plus populaire

Beaucoup prétendent que le père de la thérapie familiale moderne est John Bell , professeur de psychologie à la Clark University de Worcester (Massachusetts), depuis 1951, il a effectué une thérapie conjointe avec toute la famille d’un jeune homme très agressif et a obtenu d’excellents résultats. C’est pourquoi, dans de nombreuses citations, ce moment marque le début de la thérapie systémique.

De là, beaucoup ont appliqué et diffusé les principes de la thérapie systémique dans différents domaines. Par exemple, Nathan Ackerman, en psychiatrie infantile, Theodore Lidz s'est spécialisé dans le travail avec les familles de patients schizophréniques et a été le premier à explorer le rôle des parents dans le processus de schizophrénie. Anthropologue et philosophe, Bateson étudia la structure familiale des tribus des îles de Bali et de la Nouvelle-Zélande avec son épouse Margaret Mead.

La thérapie brève se développe à partir de la thérapie systémique

Depuis le début des années 70, il a été suggéré que le modèle systémique pourrait être appliqué à un seul individu même si toute la famille n'était pas présente , et cela suppose un développement de thérapie brève de l'IRM de Palo Alto.

Le Thérapie systémique brève c'est un ensemble de procédures et de techniques d'intervention visant à aider les individus, les couples, les familles ou les groupes à mobiliser leurs ressources pour atteindre leurs objectifs dans les meilleurs délais , et a son origine dans la thérapie systémique.

Au milieu des années 70, un groupe formé de Paul Watzlawick, Arthur Bodin, John Weakland et Richard Fisch, a créé le "Centre de thérapie brève". Ce groupe a développé ce qui est maintenant connu dans le monde entier comme le Maquette de Palo Alto, générant un changement radical dans la psychothérapie, en développant un modèle bref, simple, efficace et effectif pour aider les gens à produire un changement.

La praxis de la thérapie systémique

La thérapie systémique se caractérise par une approche pratique plutôt que analytique de la résolution de problèmes. Peu importe le diagnostic de qui est le patient ou de qui a le problème (par exemple, qui a un problème d’agression), il se concentre sur l'identification de schémas dysfonctionnels dans le comportement du groupe de personnes (famille, employés, etc.), afin de réorienter directement ces comportements.

Les thérapeutes systémiques aident les systèmes à trouver un équilibre. Contrairement aux autres formes de thérapie, par exemple la thérapie psychanalytique, l'objectif est d'aborder de manière pratique les modèles actuels de la relation plutôt que les causes, comme dans cet exemple les impulsions inconscientes d'un traumatisme de l'enfance.


En savoir plus sur la psychanalyse (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes