yes, therapy helps!
The 10 types of homosexuality (and characteristics)

The 10 types of homosexuality (and characteristics)

May 1, 2024

We live in a time when sexuality and the high level of diversity in which it can present itself is becoming a valued and increasingly visible part of society.

Over the years, a level of sexual freedom unprecedented in history is being reached . In this way, over the last few decades, it has begun little by little (since in many cases it is still being criminalized or pathologized) to accept the existence, to visualize and to protect the existence of sexual orientations different from the heterosexual one. One of these orientations, the best known and until recently persecuted, is homosexuality or attraction by people of the same sex.


Being gay or lesbian implies the existence of attraction towards people of the same biological sex as their own. However, human sexuality is broad and diverse, and not all people who are attracted to people of the same sex live their sexuality in the same way. That is why throughout this article we are going to see different types of homosexuality and orientations in which there may be attraction for people of the same sex .

  • Related article: "The 10 main types of sexual orientation"

Homosexual, gay, lesbian

At the operational level and in a generic way, we can consider homosexuality as the attraction towards people of the same sex . In other words, if you are a man you are attracted to men and if you are a woman you like women. As a general rule, this interest in individuals of the same sex occurs both sexually and romantically.


While the term gay can be used to talk about both gay men and women, homosexual men are generally called gay while lesbians mean women who are attracted to women.

But as stated above, Sexuality is not something homogeneous that can be labeled in a fixed and restrictive way . Not all gays and lesbians are the same way or live their sexuality in the same way. In fact, same-sex attraction may even appear without the sex of the person being itself the core of sexual interest. Let's see below different typologies.

  • We recommend reading: "The Kinsey scale: are we all bisexual?"

Types of homosexuality according to the experience of one's orientation

The attraction to people of the same sex can be lived in different ways according to the circumstances and personality of each individual.


In this sense we can find two types of homosexuality, depending on whether one's sexuality is lived as something positive or rejected by one's own person. You can also contemplate the possibility that a person does not know their true orientation and ends up discovering it over the years.

1. Egosytonic homosexuality

The majority of the homosexual population lives their sexuality as something egosyntonic, that is, as something with which they are in tune and is part of them .

Your impulses and desires are perceived as positive, pleasurable and satisfying. In other words, they have their sexual orientation well integrated into their lives, viewing homosexuality as something normal that should not be ashamed. It is about the type of individuals who seek or want social integration and the normalization of their orientation.

2. Egodistonic homosexuality

Gays, lesbians and bisexuals can now express their existence and their tastes with relative normality. But nevertheless, throughout history homosexuality has been frowned upon and even persecuted , instilling in the collective imagination the thought that being attracted to someone of your same sex is something negative, despicable and that must be hidden or even eliminated.

This type of thinking has been transmitted through the generations, still current in the thinking of some people. There are countries where gays and lesbians are persecuted and attacked with impunity because of their orientation without them being protected by law, and in others, an accusation of being so may even lead to the death penalty . Even in a society such as ours being homosexual can lead to the rejection of family or friends, difficulties at work, school or work harassment and even assaults.

This set of elements can cause some men and women to live their sexuality in an aversive way, being ashamed of their tastes and desires, hiding that part of themselves and even attacking those who live their orientation as something normal. Because of this, these people have a high level of life dissatisfaction and a high level of frustration. In many cases they decide to lead a typically heterosexual life, sometimes having sporadic relationships with their true object of desire that they live with shame. It is not uncommon for anxiety or mood disorders to appear, as well as substance abuse.

3. Latent homosexuality

Most gays and lesbians have taken some time to discover and assume their sexual orientation . Keep in mind that most of the population is heterosexual and has been educated in a way that heterosexuality is seen as normative.

Therefore, it is not uncommon to think throughout the development that we will like people of the opposite sex. It is usually during adolescence, the stage in which the first romantic and sexual relationships begin, the moment in which the orientation itself is defined towards an object of concrete desire (whether of the opposite sex or of the same sex).

In some cases people assume that they are heterosexual because it is the most usual, without ever questioning their preferences. However, in a given moment a person of the same sex can draw their attention and cause the subject to end up discovering that basically he has preference for people of the same sex. It would be people who have not denied homosexuality, but have never considered it .

Sometimes it can overlap with an egodistonic homosexuality that the subject has tried to hide. The knowledge of one's homosexuality can be a liberating factor for the person, although according to the beliefs and situation of each subject it can also suppose a great pain and feelings of guilt.

Homosexuality according to the level of exclusivity

Often people have to catalog the tastes and preferences of the population in a dichotomous way: either you are heterosexual or you are homosexual. They also put an intermediate point, bisexuality. However, as we have already said, human sexuality is dynamic and fluid, having a lot of intermediate situations .

Throughout the 1940s and the 1950s, Kingsley created a seven-level scale to try to unbundle and de-corset the idea of ​​completely closed and unchanging heterosexuality, homosexuality and bisexuality, developing a continuum between exclusive heterosexuality and homosexuality. .

Next we indicate those scales in which attraction to people of the same sex appears .

5. Exclusive homosexuality

This category refers to the gay population that is only sexually attracted by people of the same sex , people of the opposite sex are not stimulated on a sexual level.

6. Predominantly heterosexual with frequent homosexual contacts

This type of individual is attracted mainly by people of the opposite sex, but he also feels attracted to numerous people of the same as his own . It could be considered a form of bisexuality with a tendency to heterosexual relationships.

7. Mainly herestosexual with sporadic homosexual contacts

These are heterosexual people who feel certain sexual attraction and activation before certain people of the same sex , maintaining carnal relations with them.

Types according to the type of attraction

When we think of a gay man or a lesbian woman, a person who feels physical and emotional attraction towards people of the same sex comes to mind. However, it's not always like that.

Although it is not the most usual, sometimes it is possible to find people who are only attracted in a sexual or affective way by people of the same gender .

8. Emotional-affective attraction

It is the most common type of attraction, and what is usually imagined when talking about homosexuality. In these cases the person will feel an interest in people of the same sex, both at the level of physical desire and at the level of emotional bond .

9. Sexual attraction only

This type of attraction assumes that the person will feel a sexual interest for people of the same sex, but this attraction is not transferred to the affective terrain . The person may be sexually homosexual but affectively heterosexual.

10. Affective attraction only

It is possible to find cases of individuals who feel a romantic inclination towards people of the same sex, but said inclination does not include any type of sexual desire . It can be heterosexual people who fall in love with a person of the same sex without ceasing to be so.

There may also be a widespread interest towards the same sex without feeling sexual desire (as we will see later, it may be the case of asexual people who are romantically attracted to people of the same sex).

Other sexual orientations in which there may be attraction for people of the same sex

Human sexuality is very diverse and varied . That which produces desire and excitement, that makes us fall in love and that makes us choose the beloved person can vary enormously and, as we have seen, it can not be exclusive.

Although it is the essential characteristic of homosexuality, the fact that there is affective-sexual attraction by people of the same sex is not exclusive of this sexual orientation, there being different sexualities in which it can appear. Some of them are the following.

Bisexuality

Considered by many people as a sexual orientation that is at the midpoint between heterosexuality and homosexuality (Although there may be preferences towards one or the other), bisexuality is conceptualized as the sexual attraction towards people of the same or opposite sex. Thus, both men and women can be of interest to these people.

Sporadic heterosexual contacts

This category includes all those bisexual people who, although they are mainly attracted to people of the same sex, occasionally feel desire for some people of the opposite sex.

Frequent heterosexual contacts

There are people who, although as a general rule they are attracted to people of the same sex, also feel stimulated and attracted by people of the opposite sex. It could be considered a form of bisexuality with a tendency to homosexual relationships.

Pansexuality

Pansexuality is defined as sexual attraction to specific people regardless of their gender. Although by its definition can be confused with bisexuality, in the case of pansexuals the attraction ignores the nuance. It is not that these people are attracted to both men and women, but that both sex and gender identity are elements that are not taken into account.

It will be other aspects that will draw the attention of the pansexual, appearing the attraction to other characteristics such as personality. In this way, they can initiate relationships with people of the same or opposite sex.

Polysexuality

This category refers to people who are attracted to people because of their gender identity , not your sex. The attraction is given to groups and groups with a specific gender identity, regardless of whether they are men or women.

Homorromantic heterosexuality / hetero-romantic homosexuality

Although it is not possible to completely consider a type of sexual orientation, to understand this differentiation it is necessary to take into account the difference between sexual orientation and romantic orientation. Although they generally go hand in hand, there are cases in which people who are sexually attracted to a specific sex on an affective and romantic level only feel linked to the opposite.

In other words, sexual desire is directed towards one sex and the romantic one towards the other . It does not refer to a specific infatuation of someone of the opposite sex to that of our sexual preference, but to a continuous condition in which the affective of the instinct is dissociated. Thus, we could find heterosexuals who fall in love with people of the same sex or homosexuals who do the same with people of the opposite sex.

Asexuality

Although asexuality is defined by the absence of sexual desire of any kind, this does not imply that people with this type of sexual orientation can not develop affective romantic bonds.

That is, not being sexually attracted or interested in sexual aspects does not mean that they can not fall in love. And said infatuation can be given to people of both the opposite sex (heterosexual heterosexual) and the same sex as their own (homoromantic asexuality).


LPS: 10 Sexualities & Gender Identities | LGBT PRIDE Month Special (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 types d'homosexualité (et caractéristiques)

Les 10 types d'homosexualité (et caractéristiques)

Juin 23, 2022

Nous vivons à une époque où la sexualité et la grande diversité dans laquelle elle peut se présenter deviennent un élément précieux et de plus en plus visible de la société.

Au fil des ans, un niveau de liberté sexuelle sans précédent dans l'histoire est en train d'être atteint . Ainsi, au cours des dernières décennies, il a commencé petit à petit (car dans de nombreux cas, il est toujours en train d'être criminalisé ou pathologisé) d'accepter l'existence, de visualiser et de protéger l'existence d'orientations sexuelles différentes de celles hétérosexuelles. L'une de ces orientations, la plus connue et jusqu'à récemment persécutée, est l'homosexualité ou l'attirance de personnes du même sexe.


Être gay ou lesbien implique l'existence d'une attirance envers les personnes du même sexe biologique que le leur. Cependant, la sexualité humaine est vaste et diverse et toutes les personnes attirées par des personnes du même sexe ne vivent pas leur sexualité de la même manière. C’est pourquoi tout au long de cet article nous allons voir différents types d'homosexualité et d'orientations susceptibles d'attirer les personnes du même sexe .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle"

Homosexuel, gay, lesbienne

Au niveau opérationnel et de manière générique, on peut considérer l'homosexualité comme un attrait pour les personnes du même sexe. . En d'autres termes, si vous êtes un homme, vous êtes attiré par les hommes et si vous êtes une femme, vous aimez les femmes. En règle générale, cet intérêt chez les personnes du même sexe se manifeste sexuellement et amoureusement.


Bien que le terme gay puisse être utilisé pour parler des hommes et des femmes homosexuels, les hommes homosexuels sont généralement appelés homosexuels, tandis que les lesbiennes désignent les femmes attirées par les femmes.

Mais comme indiqué ci-dessus, La sexualité n'est pas quelque chose d'homogène qui puisse être étiqueté de manière fixe et restrictive . Les gais et les lesbiennes ne sont pas tous pareils et ne vivent pas leur sexualité de la même façon. En fait, l'attirance envers le même sexe peut même apparaître sans que le sexe de la personne soit le centre même de l'intérêt sexuel. Voyons ci-dessous différentes typologies.

  • Nous recommandons de lire: "L’échelle de Kinsey: sommes-nous tous bisexuels?"

Types d'homosexualité en fonction de l'expérience de son orientation

L'attirance pour les personnes du même sexe peut être vécue de différentes manières en fonction des circonstances et de la personnalité de chaque individu.


En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver deux types d'homosexualité, selon que la sexualité est vécue de manière positive ou rejetée par sa propre personne. Vous pouvez également envisager la possibilité qu’une personne ne connaisse pas sa véritable orientation et finisse par la découvrir au fil des ans.

1. L'homosexualité égyptienne

La majorité de la population homosexuelle vit sa sexualité comme quelque chose d’égosyntonique, c’est-à-dire quelque chose avec lequel ils sont à l'écoute et en fait partie .

Vos pulsions et vos désirs sont perçus comme positifs, agréables et satisfaisants. En d'autres termes, leur orientation sexuelle est bien intégrée dans leur vie, considérant l'homosexualité comme quelque chose de normal qui ne devrait pas avoir honte. Il s'agit du type d'individus qui cherchent ou souhaitent une intégration sociale et de la normalisation de leur orientation.

2. Homosexualité égodistonique

Les gais, lesbiennes et bisexuels peuvent maintenant exprimer leur existence et leurs goûts avec une relative normalité. Cependant, à travers l'histoire, l'homosexualité a été mal vue et même persécutée , inculquant à l’imaginaire collectif la pensée qu’être attiré par une personne du même sexe est quelque chose de négatif, d’ignoble et qu’il doit être caché ou même éliminé.

Ce type de pensée a été transmis de génération en génération, toujours d'actualité chez certains. Il existe des pays où les homosexuels et les lesbiennes sont persécutés et attaqués en toute impunité en raison de leur orientation sans que ceux-ci ne soient protégés par la loi. dans d'autres cas, une accusation de l'être peut même entraîner la peine de mort . Même dans une société telle que la nôtre, le fait d'être homosexuel peut entraîner le rejet de la famille ou des amis, des difficultés au travail, du harcèlement à l'école ou au travail et même des agressions.

Cet ensemble d’éléments peut amener certains hommes et femmes à vivre leur sexualité de manière aversive, en ayant honte de leurs goûts et de leurs désirs, en se cachant eux-mêmes et en attaquant ceux qui vivent leur orientation de façon normale. Pour cette raison, ces personnes ont un niveau élevé d'insatisfaction et de frustration. Dans de nombreux cas, ils décident de mener une vie typiquement hétérosexuelle, entretenant parfois des relations sporadiques avec leur véritable objet de désir de vivre dans la honte. Il n'est pas rare que des troubles anxieux ou de l'humeur apparaissent, ainsi que de la toxicomanie.

3. Homosexualité latente

La plupart des gais et des lesbiennes ont mis du temps à découvrir et à assumer leur orientation sexuelle . Gardez à l'esprit que la majorité de la population est hétérosexuelle et a été éduquée de manière à ce que l'hétérosexualité soit considérée comme normative.

Par conséquent, il n'est pas rare de penser tout au long du développement que nous aimerons les personnes du sexe opposé. C'est généralement à l'adolescence, le début des premières relations amoureuses et sexuelles, le moment où l'orientation elle-même est définie vers un objet de désir concret (du sexe opposé ou du même sexe).

Dans certains cas, les gens supposent qu'ils sont hétérosexuels parce que c'est la pratique la plus courante, sans jamais remettre en question leurs préférences. Cependant, à un moment donné, une personne du même sexe peut attirer son attention et faire en sorte que le sujet finisse par découvrir que, fondamentalement, il a une préférence pour les personnes du même sexe. Ce sont des gens qui n'ont pas nié l'homosexualité, mais ne l'ont jamais envisagé .

Parfois, cela peut faire double emploi avec une homosexualité égodistonique que le sujet a tenté de cacher. La connaissance de l'homosexualité peut être un facteur de libération pour la personne, même si, en fonction des croyances et de la situation de chaque sujet, elle peut aussi engendrer une grande douleur et des sentiments de culpabilité.

Homosexualité selon le niveau d'exclusivité

Souvent, les gens doivent cataloguer les goûts et les préférences de la population de manière dichotomique: soit vous êtes hétérosexuel, soit vous êtes homosexuel. Ils ont également mis un point intermédiaire, la bisexualité. Cependant, comme nous l'avons déjà dit, la sexualité humaine est dynamique et fluide, avec beaucoup de situations intermédiaires .

Au cours des années 1940 et 1950, Kingsley a créé une échelle à sept niveaux pour tenter de dissocier et de décoder l’idée d’une hétérosexualité complètement fermée et immuable, de l’homosexualité et de la bisexualité, en développant un continuum entre hétérosexualité exclusive et homosexualité. .

Ensuite nous indiquons ces échelles dans lesquelles l'attirance pour les personnes du même sexe apparaît .

5. Homosexualité exclusive

Cette catégorie se réfère à la population gay qui est seulement attirée sexuellement par des personnes du même sexe , les personnes du sexe opposé ne sont pas stimulées sur le plan sexuel.

6. À prédominance hétérosexuelle avec de fréquents contacts homosexuels

Ce type de personnes est principalement attiré par les personnes du sexe opposé, mais il se sent également attiré par de nombreuses personnes du même genre que le sien . Cela pourrait être considéré comme une forme de bisexualité avec une tendance aux relations hétérosexuelles.

7. Principalement des hétérosexuels avec des contacts homosexuels sporadiques

Ce sont des personnes hétérosexuelles qui ressentent une certaine attirance sexuelle et une activation avant certaines personnes du même sexe , entretenant des relations charnelles avec eux.

Types selon le type d'attraction

Quand nous pensons à un homosexuel ou à une lesbienne, nous pensons à une personne qui ressent une attirance physique et émotionnelle pour les personnes du même sexe. Cependant, ce n'est pas toujours le cas.

Bien que ce ne soit pas le plus habituel, parfois il est possible de trouver des personnes attirées uniquement de manière sexuelle ou affective par des personnes du même sexe .

8. attraction émotionnelle et affective

Il s’agit du type d’attraction le plus répandu et de ce que l’on imagine habituellement quand on parle d’homosexualité. Dans ces cas la personne ressentira un intérêt pour les personnes du même sexe, tant au niveau du désir physique qu'au niveau du lien affectif .

9. Attraction sexuelle seulement

Ce type d’attraction suppose que la personne ressentira un intérêt sexuel pour les personnes du même sexe, mais cette attraction n'est pas transférée sur le terrain affectif . La personne peut être sexuellement homosexuelle mais affectivement hétérosexuelle.

10. Attirance affective seulement

Il est possible de trouver des cas de personnes qui ressentent une inclination romantique pour les personnes du même sexe, mais ladite inclination n'inclut aucun type de désir sexuel . Il peut s'agir de personnes hétérosexuelles qui tombent amoureuses d'une personne du même sexe sans cesser de l'être.

Il peut aussi y avoir un intérêt généralisé pour le même sexe sans ressentir de désir sexuel (comme nous le verrons plus tard, il peut s’agir de personnes asexuées attirées de manière romantique par des personnes du même sexe).

Autres orientations sexuelles susceptibles d'attirer les personnes du même sexe

La sexualité humaine est très diverse et variée . Ce qui produit désir et excitation, qui nous fait tomber amoureux et qui nous fait choisir la personne aimée peut varier énormément et, comme nous l’avons vu, il ne peut être exclusif.

Bien qu’il s’agisse de la caractéristique essentielle de l’homosexualité, le fait qu’il existe une attraction sexuelle affective chez les personnes du même sexe n’exclut pas cette orientation sexuelle, il peut y avoir différentes sexualités. Certains d'entre eux sont les suivants.

Bisexualité

Considéré par beaucoup comme une orientation sexuelle qui est à mi-chemin entre l'hétérosexualité et l'homosexualité (Bien qu’il puisse y avoir des préférences pour l’un ou l’autre), la bisexualité est conceptualisée en tant qu’attraction sexuelle envers des personnes du même sexe ou de sexe opposé. Ainsi, les hommes et les femmes peuvent intéresser ces personnes.

Contacts hétérosexuels sporadiques

Cette catégorie comprend toutes les personnes bisexuelles qui, même si elles sont principalement attirées par des personnes du même sexe, ressentent parfois le désir de certaines personnes du sexe opposé.

Contacts hétérosexuels fréquents

Il y a des gens qui, bien qu'en règle générale attirés par des personnes du même sexe, se sentent également stimulés et attirés par des personnes du sexe opposé. Cela pourrait être considéré comme une forme de bisexualité avec une tendance aux relations homosexuelles.

La pansexualité

La pansexualité est définie comme une attirance sexuelle envers des personnes spécifiques, indépendamment de leur sexe. Bien que sa définition puisse être confondue avec la bisexualité, dans le cas des pansexuels, l’attraction ignore la nuance. Ce n'est pas que ces personnes soient attirées par les hommes et les femmes, mais que le sexe et l'identité de genre sont des éléments qui ne sont pas pris en compte.

Ce seront d’autres aspects qui attireront l’attention du pansexuel, en attirant l’attrait pour d’autres caractéristiques telles que la personnalité. Ils peuvent ainsi initier des relations avec des personnes du même sexe ou de sexe opposé.

Polysexualité

Cette catégorie concerne les personnes attirées par les personnes en raison de leur identité de genre. , pas ton sexe. L'attraction est donnée aux groupes et groupes ayant une identité de genre spécifique, qu'il s'agisse d'hommes ou de femmes.

Hétérosexualité homorromantique / homosexualité hétéro-romantique

Bien qu'il ne soit pas possible de considérer complètement un type d'orientation sexuelle, pour comprendre cette différenciation, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte la différence entre orientation sexuelle et orientation romantique. Même s’ils vont généralement de pair, il existe des cas dans lesquels les personnes sexuellement attirées par un sexe spécifique au niveau affectif et romantique se sentent liées au contraire.

En d'autres termes, le désir sexuel est dirigé vers un sexe et le romantique vers l'autre . Il ne fait pas référence à un engouement spécifique d'une personne du sexe opposé à celui de notre préférence sexuelle, mais à une condition continue dans laquelle l'affect de l'instinct est dissocié. Ainsi, nous pourrions trouver des hétérosexuels qui tombent amoureux de personnes du même sexe ou des homosexuels qui font la même chose avec des personnes de sexe opposé.

Asexualité

Bien que l’asexualité soit définie par l’absence de désir sexuel, cela ne veut pas dire que les personnes ayant ce type d’orientation sexuelle ne peuvent pas développer de liens affectifs romantiques.

Autrement dit, ne pas être attiré sexuellement ou s'intéresser aux aspects sexuels ne signifie pas qu'ils ne peuvent pas tomber amoureux. Et cet engouement peut être donné à des personnes de sexe opposé (hétérosexuel hétérosexuel) et du même sexe que le leur (asexualité homoromantique).


10 différents TYPES de DÉMONS (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes