yes, therapy helps!
The 13 types of headaches (and their symptoms and causes)

The 13 types of headaches (and their symptoms and causes)

June 12, 2024

Headache or headache is a very common problem that can become disabling if its intensity or frequency are high.

Although the most common types of headache are not due to disease and therefore not dangerous, others are symptomatic of underlying conditions that require medical treatment.

There are more than 150 types of headaches with their own causes and symptoms. If we want to discover how we can solve our headaches, a first fundamental step is to identify what is the headache that we suffer.

  • Recommended article: "The 7 types of migraine (characteristics and causes)"

What are the causes of pain?

In general, the sensation of pain is caused by injuries in tissues that trigger the cells known as nociceptors. These receptors capture mechanical, thermal and chemical signals that indicate possible damage to the organism.


However, neither the damage to the cells nor the reaction of the nociceptors are direct causes of the sensation of pain, but it is influenced to a large extent by non-biological variables such as experience or emotion.

When it reaches the nervous system, the nociceptive stimulation joins our thoughts, memories and feelings before the pain occurs. A) Yes, the final sensation depends as much on external factors as on our own mind .

The headache in particular is often influenced by factors such as muscle tension, vascular problems or the body's idiosyncratic response to stress, certain substances or medical disorders. However, the causes and characteristics of headaches depend to a large extent on the specific type to which we refer.


Primary headaches

According to the International Classification of Headaches there are more than 150 types of headaches that can be divided into three main categories: primary headaches, secondary headaches and other headaches .

Unlike secondary, primary-type headaches occur in the absence of physical disorder, so they are not dangerous.

1. Tension headache

Tension-type headache is the most common of all . These headaches are caused by muscle tension; This may be due to stress or physical causes, such as intense and continuous contraction of the muscles of the neck or jaw.

This type of headache usually manifests as constant tension or pressure on both sides of the head. In the most intense cases even touching the affected muscles can cause pain.


Tension headaches usually cause milder pain and are therefore less disabling than migraines and other types of headaches, but there is a high risk that episodic tension headache becomes chronic, with all or most of the attacks occurring. days.

2. Migraine

Migraines are headaches caused by the activation of neurons in the cerebral cortex . Some experts also attribute them to the narrowing of encephalic blood vessels, which would mean that blood and oxygen do not reach the brain correctly. However, the vascular hypothesis of migraine has lost support in the recent past.

This type of headache produces more intense pain than that of most tension headaches. Migraines usually consist of sensations similar to punctures or pulsations on one side of the head.

The stimuli that trigger the migraine vary enormously depending on the person: it can be due to stress, effort, lack of sleep, intense lighting, consumption of certain foods ...

We distinguish between migraines with aura and migraines without aura . Migraines without aura are the most frequent and appear suddenly, while migraines with aura are preceded by visual, sensory, linguistic and motor symptoms.

3. Trigemino-autonomic headache

The trigeminal nerve receives the sensations captured by many muscles of the head, such as those of the face, eyes, mouth or jaw. The headaches that mainly involve the trigeminal reflex action are known as "trigeminal-autonomic" . In addition, they are one of the most painful and difficult to manage types of headaches, since they do not have as much to do with circulation as with certain alterations in the nerve.

The symptoms of this type of headache are very similar to those of migraine, so they usually affect only one half of the head and consist of throbbing pain. However, the intensity of pain is greater than that of migraines.

Trigeminal-autonomic headache includes syndromes such as cluster headache, a type of very painful headache that affects the region of the eyes and temples and is associated with symptoms such as nasal congestion, lacrimation and facial sweating.

4. Cusign headache

Although it is uncommon in the general population, The coughing headache occurs in a significant proportion among people who come to the doctor as a result of intense cough .

Some common symptoms of coughing headache are nausea, vertigo and sleep disturbances. These headaches are triggered after coughing fits and can be very brief or last more than an hour.

5. By physical effort

They are classified as "headache by physical effort" those in which the symptoms are not due to any intracranial cause, but simply to practice very intense exercise . The abnormal flow of blood can cause parts of the nervous system to suffer

It occurs more frequently in places where it is very hot or that are at a high altitude, and the pain involved is usually pulsatile.

On the other hand, performing a task that requires a constant effort of the same type can make this symptom appear, which is a way to warn that we should stop as soon as possible.

6. For sexual intercourse

Primary headache associated with sexual activity is attributed to loss of cerebrospinal fluid that causes a decrease in intracranial tension . The pain occurs on both sides of the head and intensifies as the person becomes aroused, reaching its peak when it reaches orgasm.

It is a problem that has to do with the management of attention, the difficulties to relax, and the realization of continuous physical efforts.

7. By cryo stimulation

"Cryostimulus headache" is the official name of the classic headache produced by contact with something very cold , either because it touches the outside of the head, because it is inhaled or because it is swallowed, as is the case with ice cream. The pain of the headache by cryostimulus tends to be sharp, unilateral and of short duration.

8. Hypical headache

"Wake up" headaches appear only during sleep, causing the person to wake up . It usually affects people over 50 and tends to be persistent. They share some characteristics with migraine, such as the feeling of nausea.

Secondary headaches

Secondary headaches are a result of conditions, such as vascular disorders or brain injuries , which have pain as a symptom and may require specific treatment depending on the underlying cause.

1. Due to trauma

Blows in the skull or cervical, such as those caused by traffic accidents, can cause transient or chronic headaches (if they last more than three months since the trauma).

Not only can the blows cause headaches by traumatism, but these can also be due to other causes, such as explosions and the presence of foreign bodies in the head.

In general, these headaches appear together with other symptoms caused by the same trauma, such as problems of concentration or memory, dizziness and fatigue.

2. Due to vascular disorder

This type of headache is a consequence of cerebrovascular problems such as ischemic stroke, cerebral hemorrhage , aneurysm or congenital arteriovenous malformation. In these cases, headache is usually less relevant than other consequences of the vascular accident.

3. For substance use or abstinence

The abusive consumption or inhalation of substances such as alcohol, cocaine, carbon monoxide or nitric oxide It can also cause and aggravate headaches. Also the suppression of substances that are consumed regularly, as can happen with alcohol and drugs, is another frequent cause of headache.

4. By infection

Some common causes of this type of headache are bacterial or viral meningitis and encephalitis , parasitosis and systemic infections. Although in most cases the headache disappears once the infection has healed, in some cases it may persist.

5. For mental disorder

Occasionally, headaches are categorized as secondary to psychiatric disorders if there is a temporal and causal relationship between both phenomena. However, in these cases the pain seems to have a psychogenic rather than biological origin.

In this sense, the International Classification of Headache gives special importance to psychotic disorders and somatization, consisting of the presence of physical symptoms in the absence of identifiable medical pathology.


Complex Migraine - Mayo Clinic (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 types de maux de tête (et leurs symptômes et causes)

Les 13 types de maux de tête (et leurs symptômes et causes)

Septembre 26, 2022

Le mal de tête ou mal de tête est un problème très courant qui peut devenir invalidant si son intensité ou sa fréquence sont élevées.

Bien que les types de maux de tête les plus courants ne soient pas dus à la maladie et donc non dangereux, d'autres sont symptomatiques d'affections sous-jacentes nécessitant un traitement médical.

Il existe plus de 150 types de maux de tête avec leurs propres causes et symptômes. Si nous voulons découvrir comment nous pouvons résoudre nos maux de tête, une première étape fondamentale consiste à identifier quel est le mal de tête que nous souffrons.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 7 types de migraine (caractéristiques et causes)"

Quelles sont les causes de la douleur?

En général, la sensation de douleur est causée par des lésions dans les tissus qui déclenchent les cellules connues sous le nom de nocicepteurs. Ces récepteurs capturent les signaux mécaniques, thermiques et chimiques qui indiquent des dommages possibles à l'organisme.


Cependant, ni les dommages aux cellules ni la réaction des nocicepteurs ne sont des causes directes de la sensation de douleur, mais ils sont influencés dans une large mesure par des variables non biologiques telles que l'expérience ou les émotions.

Quand elle atteint le système nerveux, la stimulation nociceptive rejoint nos pensées, nos souvenirs et nos sentiments avant que la douleur ne survienne. Ainsi, la sensation finale dépend autant de facteurs externes que de notre propre esprit .

Le mal de tête, en particulier, est souvent influencé par des facteurs tels que la tension musculaire, les problèmes vasculaires ou la réponse idiosyncratique du corps au stress, à certaines substances ou à des troubles médicaux. Cependant, les causes et les caractéristiques des maux de tête dépendent dans une large mesure du type spécifique auquel nous nous référons.


Céphalées primaires

Selon la classification internationale des maux de tête il existe plus de 150 types de maux de tête qui peuvent être divisés en trois catégories principales: maux de tête primaires, maux de tête secondaires et autres maux de tête .

Contrairement aux céphalées secondaires, les céphalées de type primaire surviennent en l'absence de désordre physique et ne sont donc pas dangereuses.

1. Céphalée de tension

Le mal de tête de type tension est le plus commun de tous . Ces maux de tête sont causés par une tension musculaire; Cela peut être dû au stress ou à des causes physiques, telles que la contraction intense et continue des muscles du cou ou de la mâchoire.

Ce type de mal de tête se manifeste généralement par une tension ou une pression constante des deux côtés de la tête. Dans les cas les plus intenses, même toucher les muscles affectés peut causer de la douleur.


Les céphalées de tension provoquent généralement des douleurs plus légères et sont donc moins invalidantes que les migraines et autres types de céphalées, mais il existe un risque élevé que les céphalées de tension épisodique deviennent chroniques et que toutes ou la plupart des crises se produisent. jours.

2. migraine

Les migraines sont des maux de tête provoqués par l'activation de neurones dans le cortex cérébral. . Certains experts les attribuent également au rétrécissement des vaisseaux sanguins encéphaliques, ce qui signifie que le sang et l'oxygène ne parviennent pas correctement au cerveau. Cependant, l'hypothèse vasculaire de la migraine a perdu tout soutien au cours des dernières années.

Ce type de mal de tête produit une douleur plus intense que celle de la plupart des céphalées de tension. Les migraines consistent généralement en des sensations similaires à des ponctions ou des pulsations sur un côté de la tête.

Les stimuli qui déclenchent la migraine varient énormément selon les personnes: cela peut être dû au stress, aux efforts, au manque de sommeil, à un éclairage intense, à la consommation de certains aliments ...

Nous distinguons les migraines avec aura et les migraines sans aura . Les migraines sans aura sont les plus fréquentes et apparaissent soudainement, tandis que les migraines avec aura sont précédées de symptômes visuels, sensoriels, linguistiques et moteurs.

3. Céphalée Trigemino-autonome

Le nerf trijumeau reçoit les sensations capturées par de nombreux muscles de la tête, tels que ceux du visage, des yeux, de la bouche ou de la mâchoire. Les maux de tête qui impliquent principalement l'action du réflexe du trijumeau sont appelés «trigeminal-autonome» . En outre, ils constituent l’un des types de maux de tête les plus douloureux et les plus difficiles à gérer, car ils n’ont pas autant à voir avec la circulation qu'avec certaines altérations du nerf.

Les symptômes de ce type de maux de tête sont très similaires à ceux de la migraine. Ils ne touchent donc généralement que la moitié de la tête et consistent en une douleur lancinante. Cependant, l'intensité de la douleur est supérieure à celle des migraines.

Les maux de tête autonomes trijumeaux comprennent des syndromes tels que les céphalées en grappe, un type de mal de tête très douloureux qui affecte la région des yeux et des tempes et est associé à des symptômes tels que congestion nasale, larmoiement et sudation du visage.

4. mal de tête Cusign

Bien qu’il soit rare dans la population générale, La toux maux de tête se produit dans une proportion significative chez les personnes qui consultent le médecin à la suite d'une toux intense .

La nausée, les vertiges et les troubles du sommeil sont des symptômes courants de la toux. Ces maux de tête sont déclenchés après des quintes de toux et peuvent être très brefs ou durer plus d'une heure.

5. Par l'effort physique

Ils sont classés comme "maux de tête par effort physique" ceux dans lesquels les symptômes ne sont pas dus à une cause intracrânienne, mais simplement pour faire de l'exercice très intense . Un écoulement sanguin anormal peut causer des lésions au système nerveux

Il survient plus fréquemment dans des endroits très chauds ou à haute altitude et la douleur est habituellement pulsatile.

D'autre part, l'exécution d'une tâche nécessitant un effort constant du même type peut faire apparaître ce symptôme, ce qui est un moyen d'avertir que nous devons nous arrêter le plus rapidement possible.

6. Pour les rapports sexuels

La céphalée primaire associée à l'activité sexuelle est attribuée à la perte de liquide céphalo-rachidien entraînant une diminution de la tension intracrânienne . La douleur apparaît des deux côtés de la tête et s'intensifie au fur et à mesure que la personne s'active, atteignant son apogée lorsqu'elle atteint l'orgasme.

C’est un problème qui concerne la gestion de l’attention, les difficultés à se détendre et la réalisation d’efforts physiques continus.

7. Par cryo stimulation

"Cryostimulus headache" est le nom officiel du mal de tête classique produit par le contact avec quelque chose de très froid , soit parce qu’il touche l’extérieur de la tête, soit parce qu’il est inhalé, soit parce qu’il est avalé, comme c’est le cas pour la crème glacée. La douleur du maux de tête provoquée par le cryostimulus a tendance à être vive, unilatérale et de courte durée.

8. maux de tête hypical

Les maux de tête «se réveiller» n'apparaissent que pendant le sommeil, provoquant le réveil de la personne . Il affecte généralement les personnes de plus de 50 ans et a tendance à être persistant. Ils partagent certaines caractéristiques de la migraine, telles que le sentiment de nausée.

Céphalées secondaires

Les maux de tête secondaires sont le résultat d'affections telles que des troubles vasculaires ou des lésions cérébrales , qui présentent des symptômes douloureux et peuvent nécessiter un traitement spécifique en fonction de la cause sous-jacente.

1. En raison d'un traumatisme

Des coups dans le crâne ou le col utérin, tels que ceux causés par des accidents de la route, peuvent provoquer des maux de tête transitoires ou chroniques. (si elles durent plus de trois mois depuis le traumatisme).

Des traumatismes peuvent provoquer des maux de tête, mais ils peuvent aussi être dus à d'autres causes, telles que des explosions et la présence de corps étrangers dans la tête.

En général, ces maux de tête apparaissent avec d'autres symptômes provoqués par le même traumatisme, tels que des problèmes de concentration ou de mémoire, des vertiges et de la fatigue.

2. En raison d'un trouble vasculaire

Ce type de mal de tête est une conséquence de problèmes cérébrovasculaires tels qu'un accident vasculaire cérébral ischémique, une hémorragie cérébrale. , anévrisme ou malformation artérioveineuse congénitale. Dans ces cas, le mal de tête est généralement moins important que les autres conséquences de l’accident vasculaire.

3. Pour consommation de substances ou abstinence

La consommation abusive ou l'inhalation de substances telles que l'alcool, la cocaïne, le monoxyde de carbone ou l'oxyde nitrique Il peut également causer et aggraver les maux de tête. La suppression des substances consommées régulièrement, comme cela peut arriver avec l'alcool et les drogues, est une autre cause fréquente de maux de tête.

4. Par infection

Certaines causes courantes de ce type de mal de tête sont la méningite et l'encéphalite bactériennes ou virales. , parasitose et infections systémiques. Bien que dans la plupart des cas, le mal de tête disparaisse une fois l’infection guérie, dans certains cas elle peut persister.

5. Pour trouble mental

Parfois, les maux de tête sont classés comme secondaires aux troubles psychiatriques s'il existe une relation temporelle et causale entre les deux phénomènes. Cependant, dans ces cas, la douleur semble avoir une origine psychogène plutôt que biologique.

En ce sens, la classification internationale des maux de tête accorde une importance particulière aux troubles psychotiques et à la somatisation, qui consistent en la présence de symptômes physiques en l’absence de pathologie médicale identifiable.

Articles Connexes