yes, therapy helps!
The 20 best healing herbs (effects and health benefits)

The 20 best healing herbs (effects and health benefits)

June 24, 2024

Nowadays and thanks to advances in science, medicine is able to cure a great variety of diseases. But before medicine developed to an acceptable level, the different peoples of the world used the knowledge that tradition and observation of the effects of various products present in nature in order to try to alleviate ailments.

One of the main elements used are the so-called healing or medicinal herbs , which have properties that can help relieve discomfort and various minor alterations. However, it must be borne in mind that these suppose a relief of the symptoms and an aid to the improvement of the wound healing, but they can not substitute the conventional medical treatments nor make disappear serious illnesses.


There is a great variety and diversity of these plants, given the diversity of the species described by botany. Next we will see a selection of the best healing herbs.

  • Related article: "Bee honey: 10 benefits and properties of this food"

What is called a healing herb?

Before commenting on some of the most relevant healing herbs, it is necessary to define what is a curative or medicinal herb, which is often identified as a medicinal plant. Although it is generally used as a synonym for this last concept (including also, for example, trees), technically when we speak of healing herbs we are referring to all that type of plant with stem configured by soft tissue and green (never woody) and that they die once they have produced offspring, usually at the end of the season, which possess medicinal properties beneficial to human health.


Despite this, they should never be used as substitutes for medical treatment , and should be taken should be consulted the possible interactions with drugs and other interventions with which they could have dangerous interferences. In addition, it must be borne in mind that some of the properties attributed to many of these herbs have not been scientifically proven, and in other cases their beneficial effects have been shown to be less efficient than expected.

A selection of the best healing herbs

This is a list of twenty of the best healing herbs, most of them widely known and even in many cases widely used by a large part of the population. Keep in mind that although they have positive effects on health, most of them have some contraindication or it is not advisable in specific situations, and even some of them have abortive properties.


1. Chamomile

The queen of infusions, chamomile or chamomile is one of the best known and used healing herbs when trying to treat and reduce the pain and discomfort of the gastrointestinal tract. It also has a relaxing and anti-inflammatory effect, something that makes it useful to treat muscle or headaches. It also has antibacterial properties that make it also used to clean wounds or as a rinse.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant"

2. Romero

Common seasoning in our kitchens, rosemary is another herb that has relevant medicinal properties. Rich in antioxidants and with a large number of essential components for health , this plant contributes to delay aging and cell death caused by free radicals, in addition to contributing to improve concentration and performance and to alleviate and enhance recovery from respiratory or digestive problems (including the facilitation of the expulsion of gases), facilitating menstruation and increase energy levels.

It also has, among others, antibacterial, protective liver, healing, expectorant and analgesic properties. Of course, like most other exponents of this list, too much can be toxic.

3. Salvia

Another known medicinal herb is sage, which despite having abortive properties and being contraindicated in people with kidney problems or nursing mothers and can become toxic in high amounts, has Antibiotic and antiseptic properties , decreases diarrhea and blood glucose, causes the activation of appetite and increases energy and helps reduce inflammation and intestinal pain. It is also relaxing at the muscular level and seems to facilitate stimulation and cognitive activity.

4. Mint

Probably a product that we have all used in cooking, mint is a herb that is often used in medicinal products. In addition to having diuretic properties , it has been observed that it facilitates the functioning of the digestive system and liver, besides being anti-inflammatory and having expectorant and antitussive properties, contributing to the synthesis of sweat, having analgesic capacity and being stimulating and activating.

5. Valeriana

An herb especially known for its soothing and relaxing properties, similar to linden. Contributes to facilitate sleep and it is especially used by people with insomnia. It also relaxes and calms the anguish, sadness or anxiety while reducing alterations such as headaches, muscle pain, arrhythmias or tachycardia. It is also anti-inflammatory.

  • Related article: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

6. St. John's Wort

St. John's wort is an interesting medicinal herb that is especially known for having properties that help to combat psychic problems as serious as depression, having an antidepressant effect. In addition to this it also helps to alleviate problems of anxiety, pain and insomnia, and is useful when it comes to helping with various health problems linked to the menstrual cycle, stomach problems and even problems linked to insulin.

However, it is important to keep in mind that can interact negatively with drugs , especially with antidepressants.

7. Filipendula ulmaria

Also called queen of meadows, ulmaria is one of the healing or medicinal herbs from which a component of great importance in medicine has been extracted, specifically from its flowers (although it is also present in other plants): salicin .

Maybe this name does not sound, but if we add that acetylsalicylic acid comes out of it quickly we will see that it is the main active principle of aspirin. This component thus has an analgesic effect. In addition it also seems to have antibacterial properties, as well as anticoagulants and anti-inflammatories.

8. Fennel

This plant, widely used in cooking, also has interesting medicinal properties. First it has been observed that it helps to treat digestive problems, such as heaviness or constipation. It also has antispasmodic activity at visceral level, besides being a diuretic and allow the reduction of fluid retention . Although they are not the only ones, other relevant properties are those that contribute to the reduction of blood pressure or that of supporting the regulation of the menstrual cycle or the time of diminishing discomforts of both this and the climacteric.

9. Licorice

Also called licorice, this herb that is widely known in the production of the sweet of the same name has also been attributed medicinal properties. Specifically It has anti-inflammatory and antispasmodic properties, besides reducing the acidity . It also helps reduce body temperature and has an anesthetic effect.

10. Major plantain

This plant, despite not being among the best known, has interesting properties that are useful. Among them we can mention the fact that it helps in the treatment of kidney and bladder problems, intestinal problems such as diarrhea (it is astringent), have antihemorrhagic and antiseptic properties, be anti-inflammatory and satiating and contribute as an expectorant to the recovery of respiratory problems. It is also rich in antioxidants and it seems to help lower blood pressure and blood sugar.

11. Mallow

The mallow is another herbaceous with healing or medicinal properties, in this case also being anti-inflammatory, antitussive and expectorant, diuretic, antiseptic (useful in wounds) and with a very slight hypoglycemic action. As well facilitates intestinal transit, being laxative . Useful in inflammations, arthritis, dental pain, gastroenteritis or constipation, among others.

12. Calendula

This herb has powerful anti-inflammatory, healing and antiseptic properties, being very useful for use on skin wounds. It favors the proper functioning of the menstrual cycle and has calming effects and helps the treatment of dental problems and digestive tract, among others.

13. Marjoram

Another of the considered curative or medicinal herbs is the marjoram, which is sometimes used in cooking but also has antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic, expectorant, antispasmodic, sedative and appetite-generating properties. Useful for respiratory and digestive problems , also reducing the absorption of carbohydrates.

14. Verbena

Verbena is an herbaceous plant of which some of its variants have interesting medicinal properties. One of them, known as Santa Isabel grass, It is characterized by having soothing and relaxing effects , at the same time that they favor a positive state of mind. It is useful to reduce nervousness, insomnia or headaches. It has also been observed that it is an excellent diuretic, as well as an astringent that hinders diarrhea and favors the retraction of tissues. In addition, it is an antioxidant.

15. Oats

When we think of oatmeal, we probably imagine its use at the culinary level in the form of flakes.But in addition to this, this herbaceous has very relevant medicinal properties. First of all, it should be noted that this plant has the capacity to strengthen our immune system and increase energy levels , among other things because of its high number of vitamins. It also helps to decrease bad cholesterol and increase good, in addition to having a laxative effect.

16. Cilantro

Commonly used as a condiment, coriander also has medicinal properties. Among them is the fact that it contributes to reduce cholesterol levels and reduces blood glucose , besides being a diuretic and favoring the elimination of toxins (especially at the level of heavy metals), having an anti-inflammatory, antiseptic and even antispasmodic effect. It also favors the appetite, facilitates the expulsion of gases and can serve as an expectorant.

17. Dandelion

Widely valued for its aesthetic beauty and sometimes also consumed at the culinary level, dandelion is also one of the healing or medicinal herbs. Specifically, it has been observed to be diuretic and stimulant, as well as beneficial for kidneys and liver (helping to filter blood and prevent bleeding). It stimulates the appetite and is anti-inflammatory and healing . However, it can be harmful for pregnant women or people with bipolar disorder.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Dandelion: 9 uses and properties of this medicinal plant"

18. Basil

Again known mainly for its use as a condiment, this herbaceous also possesses medicinal properties. Among them highlights the fact that stimulates appetite, makes vomiting difficult and has antitussive, anti-inflammatory and antibiotic properties, among others . It is also rich in antioxidants, diuretic, slightly anticoagulant and improves our immune system.

19. Herb of San Roberto

Another exponent of curative or medicinal herbs is Geranium robertianum or San Roberto herb. This plant is often used with the purpose of contributing to stop hemorrhages . It is also astringent, both in terms of blood and intestinal level (being useful in diarrhea) and is useful as a diuretic. Curiously and despite the fact that its taste is good, unlike most other exponents of the list, the San Roberto herb generates an aversive smell when pressed.

20. Oregano

We finished the list with a herb widely known and loved in our kitchens: oregano. This plant is known to have a protective effect on the liver, have an antihistamine and anti-inflammatory effect, contribute to the expulsion of gases, strengthen bones and skin, reduce pain, reduce blood glucose in diabetics, expectorant effect, be rich in antioxidants and even prevent cancers like breast cancer.

Bibliographic references:

  • Menghini, L., Genovese, S., Epifano, F., Tirillini, B., Ferrante, C. & Leporini, L. (2010). Antiproliferative, protective and antioxidant effects of artichoke, dandelion, turmeric and rosemary extracts and their formulation. International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, 23 (2): 601-610.
  • Sutton, J. (2004). The Gardener's Guide to Growing Salvias. New York: Workman Publishing Company

Top 20 Healing Herbs for Women and Men (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 20 meilleures plantes médicinales (effets bénéfiques pour la santé)

Les 20 meilleures plantes médicinales (effets bénéfiques pour la santé)

Novembre 26, 2022

De nos jours et grâce aux progrès de la science, la médecine est capable de soigner une grande variété de maladies. Mais avant que la médecine ne se développe à un niveau acceptable, les différents peuples du monde utilisaient la connaissance que la tradition et l'observation des effets de divers produits présents dans la nature afin de tenter de soulager des maux.

Un des principaux éléments utilisés sont les soi-disant herbes médicinales ou cicatrisantes. , qui possèdent des propriétés pouvant aider à soulager l’inconfort et diverses modifications mineures. Cependant, il faut garder à l’esprit que ceux-ci supposent un soulagement des symptômes et une aide à l’amélioration de la cicatrisation de la plaie, mais ils ne peuvent se substituer aux traitements médicaux classiques ni faire disparaître des maladies graves.


Il existe une grande variété et diversité de ces plantes, étant donné la diversité des espèces décrites par la botanique. Nous verrons ensuite une sélection des meilleures plantes médicinales.

  • Article connexe: "Miel d'abeille: 10 avantages et propriétés de cet aliment"

Qu'est-ce qu'on appelle une herbe de guérison?

Avant de commenter certaines des plantes médicinales les plus pertinentes, il est nécessaire de définir ce qu’il convient d’appeler une herbe curative ou médicinale, souvent identifiée comme plante médicinale. Bien qu'il soit généralement utilisé comme synonyme de ce dernier concept (y compris, par exemple, des arbres), techniquement, lorsque nous parlons d'herbes médicinales, nous faisons référence à tout ce type de plante. avec tige configurée par des tissus mous et verte (jamais ligneuse) et qu'ils meurent une fois qu'ils ont créé une progéniture, généralement à la fin de la saison, qui possède des propriétés médicinales bénéfiques pour la santé humaine.


Malgré cela, ils ne doivent jamais être utilisés comme substituts d'un traitement médical , et devrait être pris devrait être consulté les interactions possibles avec des médicaments et autres interventions avec lesquelles ils pourraient avoir des interférences dangereuses. En outre, il convient de garder à l’esprit que certaines des propriétés attribuées à nombre de ces plantes n’ont pas été prouvées scientifiquement et que, dans d’autres cas, leurs effets bénéfiques se sont révélés moins efficaces que prévu.

Une sélection des meilleures herbes médicinales

Voici une liste des vingt meilleures herbes médicinales, la plupart connues et même, dans de nombreux cas, largement utilisées par une grande partie de la population. N'oubliez pas que, même s'ils ont des effets positifs sur la santé, la plupart d'entre eux ont une contre-indication ou il n'est pas conseillé dans des situations spécifiques, et même certaines d'entre elles ont des propriétés abortives.


1. camomille

La reine des infusions, la camomille ou la camomille est l’une des plantes médicinales les plus connues et les plus utilisées lorsqu’on essaie de traiter et de réduire la douleur et l’inconfort du tractus gastro-intestinal. Il a également un effet relaxant et anti-inflammatoire, utile pour traiter les maux de muscles et les maux de tête. Il a également des propriétés antibactériennes qui le rendent également utilisé pour nettoyer les plaies ou comme rinçage.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Camomille: 7 propriétés et les avantages de cette plante"

2. Romero

Assaisonnement courant dans nos cuisines, le romarin est une autre plante qui possède des propriétés médicinales pertinentes. Riche en antioxydants et avec un grand nombre de composants essentiels à la santé , cette plante contribue à retarder le vieillissement et la mort cellulaire causés par les radicaux libres, en plus d’améliorer la concentration et les performances et d’atténuer et d’améliorer le rétablissement en cas de problèmes respiratoires ou digestifs (y compris la facilitation de l’expulsion des gaz), menstruation et augmenter les niveaux d'énergie.

Il possède également, entre autres, des propriétés antibactériennes, hépatiques protectrices, cicatrisantes, expectorantes et analgésiques. Bien sûr, comme la plupart des autres exposants de cette liste, trop peut être toxique.

3. Salvia

La sauge est une autre plante médicinale connue qui, malgré ses propriétés abortives et son contre-indication chez les personnes souffrant de problèmes rénaux ou chez les mères allaitantes, peut devenir toxique en grande quantité. Propriétés antibiotiques et antiseptiques , diminue la diarrhée et la glycémie, provoque l'activation de l'appétit, augmente l'énergie et aide à réduire l'inflammation et les douleurs intestinales. Il est également relaxant au niveau musculaire et semble faciliter la stimulation et l'activité cognitive.

4. Menthe

Probablement un produit que nous avons tous utilisé en cuisine, la menthe est une herbe qui est souvent utilisée dans les médicaments. En plus d'avoir des propriétés diurétiques , il a été observé qu’il facilite le fonctionnement du système digestif et du foie, en plus d’être anti-inflammatoire et possédant des propriétés expectorantes et antitussives, contribuant à la synthèse de la sueur, ayant une capacité analgésique, stimulant et activant.

5. Valeriana

Une herbe particulièrement connue pour ses propriétés apaisantes et relaxantes, similaires au tilleul. Contribue à faciliter le sommeil et il est surtout utilisé par les personnes souffrant d'insomnie. Il détend et calme également l'angoisse, la tristesse ou l'anxiété tout en réduisant les altérations telles que les maux de tête, les douleurs musculaires, les arythmies ou la tachycardie. C'est aussi anti-inflammatoire.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

6. millepertuis

Le millepertuis est une plante médicinale intéressante, connue notamment pour ses propriétés qui aident à combattre des problèmes psychiques aussi graves que la dépression, et qui a un effet antidépresseur. En plus de cela, il aide également à soulager les problèmes d’anxiété, de douleur et d’insomnie, et est utile pour aider à résoudre divers problèmes de santé liés au cycle menstruel, à l’estomac et même à l’insuline.

Cependant, il est important de garder à l'esprit que peut interagir négativement avec les médicaments , en particulier avec les antidépresseurs.

7. Filipendula ulmaria

Également appelée reine des prés, l'ulmarie est l'une des plantes médicinales ou médicinales à partir de laquelle un composant de grande importance en médecine a été extrait, notamment de ses fleurs (bien qu'il soit également présent dans d'autres plantes): salicine .

Ce nom ne sonne peut-être pas, mais si nous ajoutons que l'acide acétylsalicylique en sort rapidement, nous verrons qu'il s'agit du principal principe actif de l'aspirine. Ce composant a donc un effet analgésique. En outre, il semble également avoir des propriétés antibactériennes, ainsi que des anticoagulants et des anti-inflammatoires.

8. fenouil

Cette plante, largement utilisée en cuisine, possède également des propriétés médicinales intéressantes. Tout d'abord, il a été observé qu'il aide à traiter les problèmes digestifs, tels que la lourdeur ou la constipation. Il a également une activité antispasmodique au niveau viscéral, en plus d’être un diurétique et permettre la réduction de la rétention d'eau . Bien qu'ils ne soient pas les seuls, d'autres propriétés pertinentes sont celles qui contribuent à la réduction de la pression artérielle ou à la régulation du cycle menstruel ou au temps de diminution du malaise de celle-ci et du climatère.

9. Réglisse

Aussi appelée réglisse, cette plante largement connue dans la fabrication du bonbon du même nom s'est également vue attribuer des propriétés médicinales. Spécifiquement Il a des propriétés anti-inflammatoires et antispasmodiques, en plus de réduire l'acidité . Il aide également à réduire la température corporelle et a un effet anesthésique.

10. plantain majeur

Cette plante, bien que n'étant pas parmi les plus connues, possède des propriétés intéressantes et utiles. Parmi eux, nous pouvons mentionner le fait qu’il aide dans le traitement des problèmes de reins et de vessie, des problèmes intestinaux tels que la diarrhée (elle est astringente), ont des propriétés antihémorragiques et antiseptiques, est anti-inflammatoire et rassasiant et contribue en tant qu’expectorant au rétablissement des problèmes respiratoires. Il est également riche en antioxydants et cela semble aider à réduire la pression artérielle et la glycémie.

11. mauve

La mauve est un autre herbacé aux propriétés cicatrisantes ou médicinales, dans ce cas également anti-inflammatoire, antitussif et expectorant, diurétique, antiseptique (utile dans les plaies) et avec une très légère action hypoglycémique. Aussi facilite le transit intestinal, étant laxatif . Utile dans les inflammations, l'arthrite, les douleurs dentaires, la gastro-entérite ou la constipation, entre autres.

12. Calendula

Cette herbe possède de puissantes propriétés anti-inflammatoires, cicatrisantes et antiseptiques, très utile pour les plaies cutanées. Il favorise le bon fonctionnement du cycle menstruel, a des effets calmants et aide au traitement des problèmes dentaires et du tube digestif, entre autres.

13. Marjolaine

La marjolaine est une autre des plantes médicinales considérées comme curative ou médicinale. Elle est parfois utilisée en cuisine mais possède également des propriétés antibactériennes, antifongiques, antiseptiques, expectorantes, antispasmodiques, sédatives et génératrices d’appétit. Utile pour les problèmes respiratoires et digestifs , réduisant également l’absorption des glucides.

14. Verveine

La verveine est une plante herbacée dont certaines de ses variantes possèdent des propriétés médicinales intéressantes. L'un d'eux, connu sous le nom d'herbe de Santa Isabel, Il est caractérisé par ses effets apaisants et relaxants , tout en favorisant un état d’esprit positif. Il est utile de réduire la nervosité, l'insomnie ou les maux de tête. Il a également été observé qu’il s’agissait d’un excellent diurétique et d’un astringent qui freine la diarrhée et favorise la rétraction des tissus. De plus, c'est un antioxydant.

15. avoine

Quand on pense à la farine d'avoine, on imagine probablement son utilisation au niveau culinaire sous forme de flocons.Mais en plus de cela, cet herbacé possède des propriétés médicinales très pertinentes. Tout d’abord, il convient de noter que cette usine a la capacité de renforcer notre système immunitaire et augmenter les niveaux d'énergie , entre autres en raison de son grand nombre de vitamines. Il aide également à réduire le mauvais cholestérol et à augmenter le bon, en plus d'avoir un effet laxatif.

16. coriandre

Communément utilisée comme condiment, la coriandre possède également des propriétés médicinales. Parmi eux, le fait qu’il contribue à réduire le taux de cholestérol et réduit la glycémie , en plus d’être un diurétique et de favoriser l’élimination des toxines (notamment au niveau des métaux lourds), ayant un effet anti-inflammatoire, antiseptique et même antispasmodique. Il favorise également l'appétit, facilite l'expulsion des gaz et peut servir d'expectoration.

17. pissenlit

Largement apprécié pour sa beauté esthétique et parfois aussi consommé au niveau culinaire, le pissenlit est également une des herbes médicinales ou cicatrisantes. En particulier, il a été observé qu’il était diurétique et stimulant, ainsi que bénéfique pour les reins et le foie (aide à la filtration du sang et à la prévention des saignements). Il stimule l'appétit et est anti-inflammatoire et cicatrisant . Cependant, il peut être nocif pour les femmes enceintes ou les personnes atteintes de trouble bipolaire.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Pissenlit: 9 utilisations et propriétés de cette plante médicinale"

18. basilic

Encore connu principalement pour son utilisation comme condiment, cet herbacé possède également des propriétés médicinales. Parmi eux, on note le fait que stimule l’appétit, rend les vomissements difficiles et a propriétés antitussives, anti-inflammatoires et antibiotiques, entre autres . Il est également riche en antioxydants, diurétique, légèrement anticoagulant et améliore notre système immunitaire.

19. Herbe de San Roberto

Le Geranium robertianum ou l'herbe San Roberto est un autre représentant d'herbes curatives ou médicinales. Cette plante est souvent utilisée dans le but de contribuer à arrêter les hémorragies . Il est également astringent, tant au niveau sanguin que intestinal (utile en cas de diarrhée) et utile en tant que diurétique. Curieusement et malgré le fait que son goût est bon, contrairement à la plupart des autres exposants de la liste, l'herbe San Roberto génère une odeur aversive lorsqu'on la presse.

20. origan

Nous avons terminé la liste avec une herbe largement connue et appréciée dans nos cuisines: l’origan. Cette plante est connue pour avoir un effet protecteur sur le foie, avoir un effet antihistaminique et anti-inflammatoire, contribuer à l'expulsion des gaz, renforcer les os et la peau, réduire la douleur, réduire la glycémie chez les diabétiques, effet expectorant, être riche en antioxydants et même prévenir les cancers comme le cancer du sein.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Menghini, L., Genovese, S., Epifano, F., Tirillini, B., Ferrante, C. et Leporini, L. (2010). Effets antiprolifératifs, protecteurs et antioxydants des extraits d’artichauts, de pissenlits, de curcuma et de romarin et de leur formulation. Journal international d'immunopathologie et de pharmacologie, 23 (2): 601-610.
  • Sutton, J. (2004). Le guide du jardinier pour la culture de Salvias. New York: Workman Publishing Company

9 Bienfaits Pour La Santé Du Romarin - Sante Naturelle (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes