yes, therapy helps!
The 3 types of bacteria (characteristics and morphology)

The 3 types of bacteria (characteristics and morphology)

October 23, 2020

Microorganisms that are called bacteria can be found everywhere . The immense variety of species has allowed these forms of life to colonize almost anywhere in the world. Neither need to stress that they have been and continue to be essential elements for today's life; for example, they are in charge of organic decomposition.

In addition, some types of bacteria are of special interest to human beings, either for health issues, to develop industrial processes or for their use as markers of environmental quality. For this reason, we have always seen the need to look for criteria to classify them and offer tools for their identification.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of major cells of the human body"

What is a bacterium?

The domain of bacteria is composed of an immense group of living beings that are, in general, unicellular (formed by a single cell) and prokaryotes. A prokaryote is a type of cell that does not contain membranous organelles in its interior and its genetic content is freely found in it. These qualities differentiate them from the cells that form, for example, the animals, since these are eukaryotes .

The general structure of bacteria consists of a cell membrane that separates its interior from the outside. In addition to this, they also have a cell wall that surrounds the membrane, providing greater protection and stability to the bacteria. The sum of the two is known as the bacterial cell envelope, and there are differences in both the composition and the form between the different types of bacteria.


  • Maybe you're interested: "15 recommended medicine books for the curious"

The main types of bacteria

Having criteria to be able to identify bacteria is a very useful tool for their study, even in some essential cases, as for example in the identification of the cause of the infection in a human disease. Because of this importance, throughout the history of microbiology (science that studies microorganisms, including bacteria) have generated many criteria to achieve a good classification of prokaryotic cells.

There are many ways to classify the types of bacteria, such as according to their source of food, according to their breathing , by the presence or absence of certain enzymatic activity (activity of a specific protein), or by its mobility. Moreover, for a correct identification it is convenient to combine different criteria.


One of the most classic and traditional criteria that exist when it comes to differentiating types of bacteria is to do it from morphological characteristics. Although these are only based on the structure visible through a microscope, they have been very important in the taxonomy of bacteria; Even many species of bacteria get their name from the form they present.

Mainly, these classification considers three fundamental forms:

1. Cocos

This type of bacteria is characterized by having a cellular envelope of spherical shape . That is, when they are observed by the microscope they are circular cells. The subtypes that exist within this category are based on how the cells are grouped.

The solitary spherical bacteria are known as coconut form. However, if instead of one they are two connected round cells, then they are known as diplococci. There are more complex unions that originate a chain (streptococci) or irregular shapes that look like a cluster of grapes (staphylococci).

2. Bacilli

The main characteristic in this type of bacteria is that they have the shape of elongated rods . As happened in the coconuts, the subtypes start from how the cells are grouped.

The solitary form is what is called as a bacillus. If two cells are found together, then it is a diplobacillus. In the most multitudinous joints they can be differentiated according to whether they join at the ends forming a chain (streptobacillus) or on the sides, forming a wall (palisade).

There is a form that is between the first two that has been seen; It is not as spherical as a coconut but it does not become as elongated as a bacillus. This is called cocobacilo.

3. Helicoids

In this last type of bacteria are grouped different shapes that have curvatures in its structure . They can be understood as if they were bacilli that have twisted about themselves, reaching a helix shape.

Mainly they are divided in two, rigid spirals (espirilos) or flexible spirals (spiroqueta). The difference is whether the spirals that draw their cell envelope remain the same or can change over time (the spiral moves).

Curiously, there is another form that belongs to this type: the vibrio . This class of bacteria presents a silhouette similar to a bean seed.In spite of not drawing spirals, it is considered that this type of bacteria is within this group, since the curvature of its cellular envelope is representative of a genus of bacteria ("Vibrio") and they are not temporary, as it can occur in the bacilli or coconuts.


Bacteria Shapes: Microbiology Lectures (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 types de bactéries (caractéristiques et morphologie)

Les 3 types de bactéries (caractéristiques et morphologie)

Décembre 9, 2021

Des microorganismes appelés bactéries peuvent être trouvés partout . L'immense variété d'espèces a permis à ces formes de vie de coloniser presque n'importe où dans le monde. Ni besoin de souligner qu'ils ont été et continuent d'être des éléments essentiels dans la vie d'aujourd'hui; par exemple, ils sont responsables de la décomposition organique.

En outre, certains types de bactéries présentent un intérêt particulier pour les êtres humains, que ce soit pour des questions de santé, pour développer des procédés industriels ou pour les utiliser comme indicateurs de la qualité de l'environnement. Pour cette raison, nous avons toujours vu la nécessité de rechercher des critères pour les classer et proposer des outils pour les identifier.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Types de cellules majeures du corps humain"

Qu'est-ce qu'une bactérie?

Le domaine des bactéries est composé d'un immense groupe d'êtres vivants généralement unicellulaires (formés d'une seule cellule) et procaryotes. Un procaryote est un type de cellule qui ne contient pas d'organites membraneuses à l'intérieur et son contenu génétique se trouve librement dans celui-ci. Ces qualités les différencient des cellules qui forment, par exemple, les animaux, puisque ce sont des eucaryotes. .

La structure générale des bactéries consiste en une membrane cellulaire qui sépare son intérieur de l'extérieur. En plus de cela, ils ont également une paroi cellulaire qui entoure la membrane, offrant une protection et une stabilité accrues aux bactéries. La somme des deux est connue sous le nom d'enveloppe de la cellule bactérienne et il existe des différences de composition et de forme entre les différents types de bactéries.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "15 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

Les principaux types de bactéries

Disposer de critères permettant d'identifier les bactéries est un outil très utile pour leur étude, même dans certains cas essentiels, comme par exemple pour identifier la cause de l'infection dans une maladie humaine. En raison de cette importance, tout au long de l’histoire de la microbiologie (les sciences qui étudient les micro-organismes, y compris les bactéries) ont généré de nombreux critères pour parvenir à une bonne classification des cellules procaryotes.

Il existe de nombreuses façons de classer les types de bactéries, par exemple en fonction de leur source de nourriture, en fonction de leur respiration. , par la présence ou l’absence de certaines activités enzymatiques (activité d’une protéine spécifique), ou par sa mobilité. De plus, pour une identification correcte, il est pratique de combiner différents critères.


L'un des critères les plus classiques et traditionnels en matière de différenciation des types de bactéries est de le faire à partir des caractéristiques morphologiques. Bien que ceux-ci ne reposent que sur la structure visible au microscope, ils ont joué un rôle très important dans la taxonomie des bactéries; Même de nombreuses espèces de bactéries tirent leur nom de la forme qu'elles présentent.

Principalement, cette classification considère trois formes fondamentales:

1. Cocos

Ce type de bactérie se caractérise par une enveloppe cellulaire de forme sphérique . C'est-à-dire que, lorsqu'elles sont observées au microscope, ce sont des cellules circulaires. Les sous-types existant dans cette catégorie dépendent de la manière dont les cellules sont regroupées.

Les bactéries sphériques solitaires sont connues sous la forme de noix de coco. Cependant, si au lieu d'un, il s'agit de deux cellules rondes connectées, elles sont appelées diplocoques. Il existe des unions plus complexes à l'origine d'une chaîne (streptocoques) ou de formes irrégulières qui ressemblent à une grappe de raisin (staphylocoques).

2. Bacilli

La caractéristique principale de ce type de bactéries est qu’elles ont la forme de bâtonnets allongés. . Comme dans les noix de coco, les sous-types commencent par la façon dont les cellules sont regroupées.

La forme solitaire est ce qu'on appelle un bacille. Si deux cellules sont trouvées ensemble, alors c'est un diplobacille. Dans les articulations les plus nombreuses, elles peuvent être différenciées selon qu’elles se joignent aux extrémités pour former une chaîne (streptobacillus) ou sur les côtés pour former une paroi (palissade).

Il y a une forme qui est entre les deux premiers qui a été vu; Ce n'est pas aussi sphérique qu'une noix de coco mais elle ne devient pas aussi allongée qu'un bacille. Ceci s'appelle cocobacilo.

3. hélicoïdes

Dans ce dernier type de bactéries sont regroupées différentes formes ayant des courbures dans sa structure . On peut les comprendre comme s’il s’agissait de bacilles qui se sont tordus et ont pris une forme hélicoïdale.

Ils sont principalement divisés en deux spirales rigides (espirilos) ou flexibles (spiroqueta). La différence est de savoir si les spirales qui dessinent leur enveloppe cellulaire restent les mêmes ou peuvent changer avec le temps (la spirale se déplace).

Curieusement, il existe une autre forme qui appartient à ce type: le vibrion . Cette classe de bactéries présente une silhouette semblable à une graine de haricot.Bien que les spirales ne soient pas dessinées, on considère que ce type de bactérie fait partie de ce groupe, car la courbure de son enveloppe cellulaire est représentative d'un genre de bactérie ("Vibrio") et elles ne sont pas temporaires, car cela peut se produire dans l'environnement. bacilles ou noix de coco.


La Structure et Classification Des Bactéries (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes