yes, therapy helps!
The 4 most important types of logic (and features)

The 4 most important types of logic (and features)

June 12, 2024

Logic is the study of reasoning and inferences . It is a set of questions and analyzes that have allowed us to understand how valid arguments differ from fallacies and how we arrive at them.

For this, the development of different systems and forms of study has been indispensable, which have led to four major types of logic. We will see below what each of them is about.

  • Recommended article: ["The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies"] (The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies)

What is logic?

The word "logic" comes from the Greek "logos" which can be translated in different ways: word, thought, argument, principle or reason are some of the main ones. In this sense, logic is the study of principles and reasoning.


This study has the purpose of understanding different criteria of inferences and how we arrive at valid demonstrations, in contrast to the invalid demonstrations. So, the basic question of logic is what is the correct thinking and how can we differentiate between a valid argument and a fallacy?

To answer this question, logic proposes different ways of classifying statements and arguments, whether they occur in a formal system or in natural language. Specifically, it analyzes propositions (declarative sentences) that can be true or false, as well as fallacies, paradoxes, arguments that involve causality and, in general, the theory of argumentation.


In general terms, to consider a system as logical, they must meet three criteria:

  • Consistency (there is no contradiction between the theorems that make up the system)
  • Solidity (the test systems do not include false inferences)
  • Completud (all true sentences must be able to be proved)

The 4 types of logic

As we have seen, logic uses different tools to understand the reasoning we use to justify something. Traditionally, four major types of logic are recognized, each with some subtypes and specificities. We will see below what each one is about.

1. Formal logic

Also known as traditional logic or philosophical logic, it is about the study of inferences with purely formal and explicit content . It is about analyzing the formal statements (logical or mathematical), whose meaning is not intrinsic but its symbols have meaning because of the useful application they are given. The philosophical tradition from which the latter derives is called precisely "formalism".


In turn, a formal system is one that is used to extract a conclusion from one or more premises. The latter may be axioms (self-evident propositions) or theorems (conclusions of a fixed set of rules of inferences and axioms).

2. Informal logic

For its part, informal logic is a more recent discipline, which study, evaluate and analyze the arguments displayed in the natural or everyday language . Hence, it receives the category of "informal". It can be either spoken or written language or, any type of mechanism and interaction used to communicate something. Unlike formal logic, which for example would apply to the study and development of computer languages; formal language refers to languages ​​and languages.

Thus, informal logic can analyze from personal reasoning and arguments to political debates, legal arguments or premises disseminated by the media, such as newspapers, television, the Internet, and so on.

3. Symbolic logic

As the name implies, symbolic logic analyzes the relationships between symbols. Sometimes it uses complex mathematical language, since it is responsible for studying problems that traditional formal logic finds complicated or difficult to address. It is usually divided into two subtypes:

  • Predicative logic or first order : it is a formal system composed of formulas and quantifiable variables
  • Propositional : it is a formal system composed of propositions, which are able to create other propositions through connectors called "logical connective". In this there are almost no quantifiable variables.

4. Mathematical logic

Depending on the author who describes it, mathematical logic can be considered a type of formal logic. Others consider that mathematical logic includes both the application of formal logic to mathematics, and the application of mathematical reasoning to formal logic.

Broadly speaking, the application of mathematical language in the construction of logical systems makes it possible to reproduce the human mind. For example, this has been very present in the development of artificial intelligence and in the computational paradigms of the study of cognition.

It is usually divided into two subtypes:

  • Logicism : it is about the application of logic in mathematics. Examples of this type are the theory of proof, model theory, set theory and the theory of recursion.
  • Intuition : argues that both logic and mathematics are methods whose application is consistent to perform complex mental constructions. But, he says that in themselves, logic and mathematics can not explain deep properties of the elements they analyze.

Inductive, deductive and modal reasoning

On the other hand, There are three types of reasoning that can also be considered logical systems . These are mechanisms that allow us to draw conclusions from premises. Deductive reasoning makes such extraction from a general premise to a particular premise. A classic example is that proposed by Aristotle: All humans are mortal (this is the general premise); Socrates is a human (it is the major premise), and finally, Socrates is mortal (this is the conclusion).

For its part, an inductive reasoning is the process by which a conclusion is drawn in the opposite direction: from the particular to the general. An example of this would be "All the crows I can see are black" (particular premise); then, all the crows are black (conclusion).

Finally, reasoning or modal logic is based on probabilistic arguments, that is, they express a possibility (a modality). It is a formal logic system that includes terms such as "could", "can", "should", "eventually".

Bibliographic references:

  • Groarke, L. (2017). Informal Logic. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved October 2, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/logic-informal/
  • Logic (2018). The basics of philosophy. Retrieved October 2, 2018. Available at //www.philosophybasics.com/branch_logic.html
  • Shapiro, S. and Kouri, S. (2018). Classical Logic. Retrieved October 2, 2018. Available in Logic (2018). The basics of philosophy. Retrieved October 2, 2018. Available at //www.philosophybasics.com/branch_logic.html
  • Garson, J. (2018). Modal Logic. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved October 2, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/logic-modal/

16 FAMOUS LOGOS WITH A HIDDEN MEANING (That We Never Even Noticed) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 principaux types de logique (et fonctionnalités)

Les 4 principaux types de logique (et fonctionnalités)

Janvier 22, 2022

La logique est l'étude du raisonnement et des inférences . C’est un ensemble de questions et d’analyses qui nous ont permis de comprendre en quoi des arguments valables diffèrent des erreurs et comment nous y arrivons.

Pour cela, le développement de différents systèmes et formes d'étude a été indispensable, ce qui a conduit à quatre types principaux de logique. Nous verrons ci-dessous en quoi consiste chacun d’entre eux.

  • Article recommandé: ["Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives"] (Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives)

Quelle est la logique?

Le mot "logique" vient du grec "logos" qui peut être traduit de différentes manières: mot, pensée, argument, principe ou raison en sont les principaux. En ce sens, la logique est l’étude des principes et du raisonnement.


Cette étude a pour but de comprendre différents critères d'inférences et la façon dont nous aboutissons à des démonstrations valides, par opposition aux démonstrations non valides. Donc, la question fondamentale de la logique est de savoir quelle est la pensée correcte et comment pouvons-nous différencier un argument valable d'une erreur?

Pour répondre à cette question, la logique propose différentes manières de classer les déclarations et les arguments, qu'ils se produisent dans un système formel ou en langage naturel. Plus précisément, il analyse des propositions (phrases déclaratives) pouvant être vraies ou fausses, ainsi que des sophismes, des paradoxes, des arguments impliquant la causalité et, en général, la théorie de l'argumentation.


De manière générale, pour considérer un système comme logique, ils doivent répondre à trois critères:

  • La cohérence (il n'y a pas de contradiction entre les théorèmes composant le système)
  • La solidité (les systèmes de test n'incluent pas de fausses inférences)
  • Completud (toutes les phrases vraies doivent pouvoir être prouvées)

Les 4 types de logique

Comme nous l'avons vu, la logique utilise différents outils pour comprendre le raisonnement que nous utilisons pour justifier quelque chose. Traditionnellement, quatre types principaux de logique sont reconnus, chacun avec des sous-types et des spécificités. Nous verrons ci-dessous en quoi consiste chacun.

1. Logique formelle

Aussi appelé logique traditionnelle ou logique philosophique, il s'agit de l'étude d'inférences avec un contenu purement formel et explicite . Il s’agit d’analyser les énoncés formels (logiques ou mathématiques), dont la signification n’est pas intrinsèque mais dont les symboles ont une signification en raison de l’application utile qui leur est donnée. La tradition philosophique dont dérive cette dernière est appelée précisément "formalisme".


À son tour, un système formel est un système utilisé pour extraire une conclusion d'un ou de plusieurs prémisses. Ces derniers peuvent être des axiomes (propositions évidentes) ou des théorèmes (conclusions d'un ensemble fixe de règles d'inférences et d'axiomes).

2. Logique informelle

Pour sa part, la logique informelle est une discipline plus récente, qui étudier, évaluer et analyser les arguments affichés dans le langage naturel ou courant . Par conséquent, il reçoit la catégorie "informel". Il peut s'agir d'un langage parlé ou écrit ou de tout type de mécanisme et d'interaction utilisé pour communiquer quelque chose. Contrairement à la logique formelle, qui s’appliquerait par exemple à l’étude et au développement de langages informatiques; langue formelle fait référence aux langues et aux langues.

Ainsi, la logique informelle peut analyser un raisonnement personnel et des arguments en débats politiques, des arguments juridiques ou des locaux diffusés par les médias, tels que les journaux, la télévision, Internet, etc.

3. Logique symbolique

Comme son nom l'indique, la logique symbolique analyse les relations entre les symboles. Parfois, il utilise un langage mathématique complexe, car il est chargé d'étudier des problèmes que la logique formelle traditionnelle trouve compliqués ou difficiles à résoudre. Il est généralement divisé en deux sous-types:

  • Logique prédicative ou premier ordre : c'est un système formel composé de formules et de variables quantifiables
  • Propositionnel : c'est un système formel composé de propositions, qui sont capables de créer d'autres propositions par le biais de connecteurs appelés "connectif logique". En cela, il n'y a presque pas de variables quantifiables.

4. Logique mathématique

Selon l'auteur qui la décrit, la logique mathématique peut être considérée comme un type de logique formelle. D'autres considèrent que la logique mathématique inclut à la fois l'application de la logique formelle aux mathématiques et l'application du raisonnement mathématique à la logique formelle.

De manière générale, l'application du langage mathématique dans la construction de systèmes logiques permet de reproduire l'esprit humain. Par exemple, cela a été très présent dans le développement de l'intelligence artificielle et dans les paradigmes informatiques de l'étude de la cognition.

Il est généralement divisé en deux sous-types:

  • Logique : il s'agit de l'application de la logique en mathématiques. Des exemples de ce type sont la théorie de la preuve, la théorie des modèles, la théorie des ensembles et la théorie de la récursivité.
  • L'intuition : soutient que la logique et les mathématiques sont des méthodes dont l'application est cohérente pour effectuer des constructions mentales complexes. Mais, dit-il, la logique et les mathématiques ne peuvent en elles-mêmes expliquer les propriétés profondes des éléments analysés.

Raisonnement inductif, déductif et modal

D'un autre côté, Il existe trois types de raisonnement qui peuvent également être considérés comme des systèmes logiques . Ce sont des mécanismes qui nous permettent de tirer des conclusions de prémisses. Le raisonnement déductif rend cette extraction d'un lieu général à un lieu particulier. Un exemple classique est celui proposé par Aristote: tous les humains sont mortels (c'est la prémisse générale); Socrate est un humain (c'est la prémisse majeure), et finalement, Socrate est mortel (c'est la conclusion).

Pour sa part, un raisonnement inductif est le processus par lequel une conclusion est tirée dans la direction opposée: du particulier au général. Un exemple de ceci serait "Tous les corbeaux que je peux voir sont noirs" (prémisse particulière); alors, tous les corbeaux sont noirs (conclusion).

Enfin, le raisonnement ou la logique modale repose sur des arguments probabilistes, c'est-à-dire qu'ils expriment une possibilité (une modalité). C'est un système logique formel qui inclut des termes tels que "pourrait", "peut", "devrait", "éventuellement".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Groarke, L. (2017). Logique informelle. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Extrait le 2 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/logic-informal/.
  • Logique (2018). Les bases de la philosophie. Extrait le 2 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.philosophybasics.com/branch_logic.html.
  • Shapiro, S. et Kouri, S. (2018). Logique classique. Récupéré le 2 octobre 2018. Disponible dans Logic (2018). Les bases de la philosophie. Extrait le 2 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.philosophybasics.com/branch_logic.html.
  • Garson, J. (2018). Logique modale. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Extrait le 2 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/logic-modal/.

Leçon_15 - Les propositions principales et subordonnées (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes