yes, therapy helps!
The 4 psychological changes in old age (memory, attention, intelligence, creativity)

The 4 psychological changes in old age (memory, attention, intelligence, creativity)

September 24, 2022

Most people think that old age is a stage characterized by the decline in all the functions of the organism, including cognitive ones. However, the investigation reveals that the psychological changes in memory, intelligence, attention or creativity proper to aging Not pathological are less than we think.

  • Related article: "Prejudices and stereotypes about old age"

Psychological changes that occur in old age

During the old age changes take place in most psychological functions and processes. However, in general terms we can affirm that these changes do not occur in an equivalent way in all people, but rather that are influenced in a key way by factors such as physical health, genetics or the level of intellectual and social activity.


We will focus on the analysis of development during the third age of four of the most studied psychological aspects in this field: attentional abilities, the different components of memory, intelligence (both fluid and crystallized) and creativity.

1. Attention

Although it has been clearly identified decline in the functioning of attentional processes throughout old age , these changes do not occur equally in all types of care. To understand the deterioration proper to this life stage, it is necessary to describe what sustained, divided and selective attention consists of.

We speak of sustained attention when a task requires that we keep the focus fixed on a single stimulus for a relatively long period of time. Older people are less precise when initiating tasks, but their degree of success is not reduced more than that of young people as time passes.


On the other hand, the deterioration of divided attention is much more marked, consisting of alternating the attentional focus between different stimulatory sources or tasks. The degree of effectiveness is lower the greater the difficulty and the number of tasks through which this type of care is evaluated.

Selective attention allows us to give priority attention to certain stimulus components, above other less relevant perceptual experiences. The differences between young and old people only appear when tasks are difficult and when it is necessary to ignore a significant amount of irrelevant information.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Selective attention: definition and theories"

2. Memory

Sensory memory, the most immediate of memory stores, generally shows a slight decline as a result of aging. Passive short-term memory does not seem to be affected by age except for a small decrease in the speed of information retrieval .


On the other hand, several longitudinal studies reveal that working or working memory does worsen in old age, especially after 70 years of age. This is associated with the difficulties in handling the attention processes that we have described in the previous section.

Regarding long-term memory, When the material is procedural or declarative, deficits do not occur associated with old age. On the other hand, episodic or autobiographical memories deteriorate clearly as age advances, although those of the second decade of life remain more than those of the rest.

In summary, we can affirm that memory impairment is not associated with old age directly but through the appearance of cognitive deficits of pathological intensity, which does not happen in all people. On the other hand, when memory problems are light, it is relatively easy to compensate them with behavioral strategies.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

3. Intelligence

Although differences in intelligence have been found as a function of age, these are different depending on whether they are investigated transversally (comparing two different age groups at the same time) or longitudinal (over time) in the same individuals). Another key aspect is the distinction between fluid and crystallized intelligence.

Crystallized intelligence, which refers to accumulated knowledge and its management, does not stop increasing throughout life, except if you suffer from a mnesic disorder. Instead fluid intelligence, associated with the efficiency of neuronal transmission and other biological factors, shows an intense deterioration at least from 70 years .

In this sense, special mention should be made of the phenomenon of terminal loss, which consists of a very intense deterioration in IQ scores in the last 5-10 months of life due to physical decline.Like the rest of intellectual deficits derived from old age, the terminal loss is associated to a greater extent to the fluid intelligence that to the crystallized.

  • Related article: "Fluid Intelligence and Crystallized Intelligence: what are they?"

4. Creativity

Creativity is defined as the human capacity to generate new ideas and original solutions through the association between existing mental contents. In psychology, the concept of "divergent thinking" or "lateral thinking" is often used to refer to this capacity, as opposed to convergent or vertical thinking, based on logic.

Although research on the evolution of creativity based on age is scarce, its results suggest that it stays and even improves with the passage of time in the people who exercise it . However, among those who are not especially creative such capacity is lower in old age than in younger ages.


Controversy of Intelligence: Crash Course Psychology #23 (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 changements psychologiques de la vieillesse (mémoire, attention, intelligence, créativité)

Les 4 changements psychologiques de la vieillesse (mémoire, attention, intelligence, créativité)

Juillet 9, 2020

La plupart des gens pensent que la vieillesse est une étape caractérisée par le déclin de toutes les fonctions de l'organisme, y compris les fonctions cognitives. Cependant, l’enquête révèle que le changements psychologiques de la mémoire, de l'intelligence, de l'attention ou de la créativité propres au vieillissement Pas pathologiques sont moins que nous pensons.

  • Article connexe: "Préjugés et stéréotypes sur la vieillesse"

Les changements psychologiques qui surviennent dans la vieillesse

Au cours de la vieillesse, la plupart des fonctions et des processus psychologiques se modifient. Cependant, en termes généraux, nous pouvons affirmer que ces changements ne se produisent pas de manière équivalente chez tout le monde, mais plutôt que: sont influencés de manière déterminante par des facteurs tels que la santé physique, la génétique ou le niveau d'activité intellectuelle et sociale.


Nous nous concentrerons sur l’analyse du développement au cours de la troisième année de quatre des aspects psychologiques les plus étudiés dans ce domaine: capacités d’attention, différentes composantes de la mémoire, intelligence (à la fois fluide et cristallisée) et créativité.

1. Attention

Bien qu'il ait été clairement identifié déclin du fonctionnement des processus attentionnels chez les personnes âgées , ces changements ne se produisent pas de manière égale dans tous les types de soins. Pour comprendre la détérioration propre à ce stade de la vie, il est nécessaire de décrire en quoi consiste une attention soutenue, divisée et sélective.

Nous parlons d'attention soutenue lorsqu'une tâche nécessite de rester concentré sur un seul stimulus pendant une période relativement longue. Les personnes âgées sont moins précises au début des tâches, mais leur degré de réussite ne diminue pas plus que celui des jeunes avec le temps.


D'autre part, la détérioration de l'attention divisée est beaucoup plus marquée et consiste à alterner l'attention de l'attention entre différentes sources ou tâches de stimulation. Le degré d’efficacité est d'autant plus faible que la difficulté et le nombre de tâches augmentent. à travers lequel ce type de soins est évalué.

L’attention sélective nous permet d’accorder une attention prioritaire à certaines composantes du stimulus, par rapport à d’autres expériences perceptuelles moins importantes. Les différences entre les jeunes et les personnes âgées n'apparaissent que lorsque les tâches sont difficiles et qu'il est nécessaire d'ignorer une quantité importante d'informations non pertinentes.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Attention sélective: définition et théories"

2. mémoire

La mémoire sensorielle, la plus proche des mémoires, montre généralement un léger déclin en raison du vieillissement. La mémoire passive à court terme ne semble pas être affectée par l'âge, sauf pour un petit diminution de la vitesse de récupération de l'information .


D'autre part, plusieurs études longitudinales révèlent que le travail ou la mémoire de travail s'aggrave à la vieillesse, en particulier après 70 ans. Ceci est associé aux difficultés de traitement des processus d'attention décrits dans la section précédente.

En ce qui concerne la mémoire à long terme, Lorsque le matériel est procédural ou déclaratif, les déficits ne se produisent pas associé à la vieillesse. En revanche, les souvenirs épisodiques ou autobiographiques se détériorent clairement avec l’âge, bien que ceux de la deuxième décennie de vie restent plus importants que ceux des autres.

En résumé, nous pouvons affirmer que altération de la mémoire n'est pas directement liée à la vieillesse mais par l'apparition de déficits cognitifs d'intensité pathologique, ce qui n'arrive pas chez tout le monde. Par contre, lorsque les problèmes de mémoire sont légers, il est relativement facile de les compenser par des stratégies comportementales.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

3. Intelligence

Bien que des différences d'intelligence aient été trouvées en fonction de l'âge, elles diffèrent selon qu'elles sont étudiées de manière transversale (comparant deux groupes d'âge différents en même temps) ou longitudinale (dans le temps). chez les mêmes individus). Un autre aspect clé est la distinction entre intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée.

L'intelligence cristallisée, qui fait référence aux connaissances accumulées et à leur gestion, ne cesse de croître tout au long de la vie, sauf si vous souffrez d'un trouble mnésique. L’intelligence fluide, associée à l’efficacité de la transmission neuronale et d’autres facteurs biologiques, montre une détérioration intense au moins de 70 ans .

À cet égard, il convient de mentionner en particulier le phénomène de perte terminale, qui consiste en une détérioration très intense du QI au cours des 5 à 10 derniers mois de la vie, en raison du déclin physique.Comme le reste des déficits intellectuels provenant de la vieillesse, la perte finale est associée dans une plus grande mesure à l'intelligence fluide que pour le cristallisé.

  • Article connexe: "Intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée: de quoi s'agit-il?"

4. Créativité

La créativité est définie comme la capacité humaine à générer de nouvelles idées et des solutions originales à travers l’association des contenus mentaux existants. En psychologie, le concept de "pensée divergente" ou "pensée latérale" est souvent utilisé pour désigner cette capacité, par opposition à la pensée convergente ou verticale, basée sur la logique.

Bien que les recherches sur l’évolution de la créativité fondée sur l’âge soient rares, ses résultats suggèrent que il reste et améliore même avec le passage du temps chez les personnes qui l'exercent . Cependant, parmi ceux qui ne sont pas particulièrement créatifs, cette capacité est plus faible chez les personnes âgées que chez les plus jeunes.


1947 ou la nouvelle réalité du monde moderne (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes