yes, therapy helps!
The 9 dopaminergic pathways of the brain: types, functions and associated disorders

The 9 dopaminergic pathways of the brain: types, functions and associated disorders

September 29, 2022

Our brain is a complex network of neurons They are grouped into different structures and nerve pathways, and they communicate with each other by means of electrochemical impulses generated and largely mediated by neurotransmitters. These neurotransmitters do not appear from nowhere, but they are also synthesized and received in and by the different structures and pathways of the brain.

Among the neurotransmitters, one of the most studied is regarding the pathways through which circulates is dopamine. In this article let's review the different dopaminergic pathways present in our brain .

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Dopamine

Before talking about the routes that transmit it, it may be useful to remember that it is dopamine. It is a neurotransmitter, a hormone used by the different neurons of our nervous system to communicate with each other.


We are facing One of the most important neurotransmitters for human beings and their survival , since its functions are multiple and of great importance when it comes to allowing us to regulate our behavior: participating in aspects such as the perception of pleasure (in fact, it has often been called the pleasure hormone), influencing emotions and the personality, allowing memory and creativity and being fundamental when regulating behavior and guiding it towards goals.

It is a hormone that is naturally present in our body, although it can also be synthesized artificially. This hormone is a catecholamine , derived from the dopa and before that from the tyrosine. And it can be found in many parts of the brain. One of the major points in which it is synthesized is in the mesencephalon and in the substantia nigra. And there are many ways through which it circulates.


  • Related article: "Catecholamines: types and functions of these neurotransmitters"

The 4 major dopaminergic pathways

Although dopamine can be found in very different nerve pathways, there are four major dopaminergic nerve pathways, which govern the synthesis and transmission of this hormone and in which it has great effects.

1. Via mesolimbic

One of the best known dopaminergic brain pathways is the mesolimbic pathway. And it is that in this way we found much of the brain reward system , that allows us to feel pleasure and motivation before our behavior.

This road connects a large number of areas and regions of great relevance, including the ventral tegmental area (which is also part of the mesocortical path), the nucleus accumbens (area where most drugs act), the amygdala, the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex.


Thanks to it we can feel motivated to do something or approach specific situations or stimuli, learn based on stimulation and make associations that make us repeat our behavioral patterns, learning. It is also linked to the management of emotions.

However, hyperexcitation of this pathway can generate hallucinations and other perceptual alterations and aggression. Also disorganized behaviors or the performance of risky behaviors. In fact, positive symptoms of schizophrenia are associated with an excess of dopamine in this way . The search for their activation, likewise, can lead to the acquisition of addictions and behavioral problems.

  • Related article: "Mesolimbic path (brain): anatomy and functions"

2. Via mesocortical

The mesocortical pathway is especially linked to the cognitive . It is via, which starts in the ventral tegmental area (which as we have said is also part of the mesolimbic pathway), reaches the frontal lobe and the cerebral cortex (especially the dorsolateral and ventromedial cortex of the prefrontal cortex).

Closely linked to the mesolimbic pathway, the mesocortical pathway also has a relationship with affections and emotions, as well as with the capabilities and use of executive functions.

The presence of excessively low levels of dopamine in this way generate profound alterations at the cognitive level producing poverty of thought, difficulties in the use of logic and reasoning and poverty of speech. In fact, it is considered that the negative symptoms of schizophrenia are largely explained by the lack of sufficient dopamine in this brain pathway. It is frequent the appearance of dullness, little expressiveness , incongruity between the lived and the felt, anguish and bradypsychia.

3. Via nigroestriada

The nigrostriatal pathway is one of the main and most important dopaminergic pathways, being in fact the pathway where most of the brain's dopamine is generated.This pathway goes from the substantia nigra to the basal ganglia (specifically the striated nucleus).

The nigrostriatal pathway is especially linked to motor control, its degeneration being the main cause of disorders such as Parkinson's and choreic movements , as in the case of Huntington's Korea.

  • Related article: "Nigrostriatal pathway of the brain: structures and functions"

4. Tuberoinfundibular pathway

This nerve pathway, strongly influenced by dopamine, is found connecting the tuberal region of the middle hypothalamus to the infundibular region thereof. Roughly connects different parts of the hypothalamus and the pituitary gland . This route is of great importance, since it influences the secretion of hormones by the pituitary gland. One of the hormones most affected by the functioning of this pathway is prolactin.

The presence of dopamine in this way inhibits the synthesis of prolactin, in addition to favoring the generation of somatotropin. In fact, before the consumption of neuroleptics we can observe that one of the side effects that can happen before the decrease of dopamine are sexual alterations such as galactorrhea and different Sexual dysfunctions resulting from an increase in the synthesis of prolactin . It greatly affects fertility.

The other dopaminergic pathways

When asked about the dopaminergic pathways, most people with knowledge about the subject only refer to those cited above. But the truth is that although the mesolimbic, mesocortical, nigrostriatal and tuberoinfundibular are the main routes are not the only ones that exist. For other areas of the brain there are other secondary dopaminergic pathways .

Specifically, we can find a nerve pathway that goes from the ventral tegmental area to the amygdala, another that goes from the ventral tegmental area to the hippocampus, another that would again circulate between the ventral and cingulate tegmental area, a connection between the substantia nigra and the subthalamus and a last one that would connect the ventral tegmental area with the olfactory bulb.

Their functions are much less studied and have less importance than the previous ones, which also include some of their processes to some extent. But it would be very useful to analyze its importance in greater depth.

Disorders associated with these neural networks

Dopamine is a neurotransmitter essential for the normative functioning of the human being, as well as other animals. The presence of dysfunctions in the pathways that synthesize and use it can generate diseases and disorders . Among the most relevant are the following.

1. Schizophrenia

As we mentioned earlier, the main symptoms of schizophrenia seem to be linked to alterations in dopamine levels in some of the dopaminergic nerve pathways . Specifically, the positive symptoms seem to correspond to an excess of dopamine in the mesolimbic pathway, while the negative ones would do so with a deficit of this neurotransmitter in the mesocortical pathway. The other two main roads would not, in principle, have any alteration per se.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

2. Parkinson

Parkinson's is another of the disorders that is most linked to the dopaminergic pathways, specifically the nigrostriatal. In fact, it is the degeneration of the dopaminergic neurons of the substantia nigra the one that generates the symptomatology.

  • Related article: "Parkinson: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

3. ADHD

Different investigations have insinuated that there may be influence of alterations in the mesocortical pathway and in the mesolimbic pathway in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, having an effect on the difficulties of individuals with this disorder in terms of motivation, attention span, planning or inhibition of behavior.

4. Addictions

The dopaminergic pathways are deeply associated with the acquisition and maintenance of addictions , being the brain reward circuit in its tracks. This especially includes addictions to substances, but also those of a more behavioral type such as pathological gambling.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

5. Hyperprolactinemia

It has been observed that the decrease in dopamine levels in the tuberoinfundibular pathway generates hyperprolactinemia, which has various effects in areas such as reproductive . Alterations of menstruation and fertility or galactorrhea are some of the most well-known symptoms

6. Other disorders

There are many other problems that have been associated in some way with the malfunctioning of any of the previous routes. For example, have been related to the manifestations of movement disorders such as Tourette's syndrome or tic disorders, and even in some cases with obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. McGraw-Hill. Madrid.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Vallejo, J. (2006). Introduction to psychopathology and psychiatry (6th edition). Elsevier, Spain.

The Chemical Mind - Crash Course Psychology #3 (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 voies dopaminergiques du cerveau: types, fonctions et troubles associés

Les 9 voies dopaminergiques du cerveau: types, fonctions et troubles associés

Novembre 22, 2022

Notre cerveau est un réseau complexe de neurones Elles sont regroupées en différentes structures et voies nerveuses et communiquent entre elles au moyen d’impulsions électrochimiques générées et largement médiées par les neurotransmetteurs. Ces neurotransmetteurs n'apparaissent pas de nulle part, mais ils sont également synthétisés et reçus dans et par les différentes structures et voies du cerveau.

Parmi les neurotransmetteurs, l’un des plus étudiés concerne les voies de circulation de la dopamine. Dans cet article Passons en revue les différentes voies dopaminergiques présentes dans notre cerveau .

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Dopamine

Avant de parler des itinéraires qui le transmettent, il peut être utile de rappeler qu’il s’agit de la dopamine. C'est un neurotransmetteur, une hormone utilisée par les différents neurones de notre système nerveux pour communiquer entre eux.


Nous sommes confrontés L'un des neurotransmetteurs les plus importants pour l'homme et sa survie , car ses fonctions sont multiples et d’une grande importance pour nous permettre de réguler notre comportement: participer à des aspects tels que la perception du plaisir (en fait, on l’appelle souvent l’hormone du plaisir), influencer les émotions et la personnalité, permettant la mémoire et la créativité et étant fondamentale pour réguler le comportement et le guider vers des objectifs.

C'est une hormone naturellement présente dans notre corps, bien qu'elle puisse également être synthétisée artificiellement. Cette hormone est une catécholamine , dérivé de la dopa et avant celui de la tyrosine. Et on peut le trouver dans de nombreuses parties du cerveau. L'un des principaux points de synthèse est le mésencéphale et la substance noire. Et il y a plusieurs façons de le faire circuler.


  • Article connexe: "Catécholamines: types et fonctions de ces neurotransmetteurs"

Les 4 voies dopaminergiques majeures

Bien que la dopamine puisse être trouvée dans des voies nerveuses très différentes, il existe quatre voies nerveuses dopaminergiques principales, qui régissent la synthèse et la transmission de cette hormone et dans lesquelles elle a de grands effets.

1. Via mésolimbique

L'une des voies cérébrales dopaminergiques les mieux connues est la voie mésolimbique. Et c'est que de cette façon nous avons trouvé une grande partie du système de récompense du cerveau , cela nous permet de ressentir du plaisir et de la motivation avant notre comportement.

Cette route relie un grand nombre de zones et de régions de grande importance, y compris la zone tegmentale ventrale (qui fait également partie du trajet mésocortical), le noyau accumbens (zone où la plupart des drogues agissent), l’amygdale, l'hippocampe et le cortex préfrontal.


Grâce à cela, nous pouvons nous sentir motivés pour faire quelque chose ou pour aborder des situations ou des stimuli spécifiques, apprendre à partir de la stimulation et faire des associations qui nous font répéter nos modèles de comportement, l'apprentissage. C'est aussi lié à la gestion des émotions.

Cependant, l'hyperexcitation de cette voie peut générer des hallucinations et d'autres altérations de la perception et de l'agressivité. Également des comportements désorganisés ou la performance de comportements à risque. En fait les symptômes positifs de la schizophrénie sont associés à un excès de dopamine de la sorte . De même, la recherche de leur activation peut conduire à l’acquisition de dépendances et de problèmes de comportement.

  • Article connexe: "Voie mésolimbique (cerveau): anatomie et fonctions"

2. Via mésocortical

La voie mésocorticale est particulièrement liée à la cognitive . C'est via, qui commence dans la région tegmentale ventrale (qui, comme nous l'avons dit, fait également partie de la voie mésolimbique), atteint le lobe frontal et le cortex cérébral (en particulier les cortex dorsolatéral et ventromédial du cortex préfrontal).

Étroitement liée à la voie mésolimbique, la voie mésocorticale a également un rapport avec les affections et les émotions, ainsi qu'avec les capacités et l'utilisation des fonctions exécutives.

La présence de niveaux excessivement bas de dopamine entraîne de ce fait des modifications profondes au niveau cognitif, générant une pauvreté de pensée, des difficultés d’utilisation de la logique et du raisonnement et une pauvreté de la parole. En fait, on considère que les symptômes négatifs de la schizophrénie s'expliquent en grande partie par le manque de dopamine dans cette voie cérébrale. Il est fréquent l'apparition de la matité, peu d'expressivité , incongruité entre vécu et ressenti, angoisse et bradypsychia.

3. Via nigroestriada

La voie nigrostriatale est l’une des voies dopaminergiques principales et les plus importantes, c’est en fait la voie qui génère la plus grande partie de la dopamine du cerveau.Cette voie va de la substance noire aux noyaux gris centraux (spécifiquement le noyau strié).

La voie nigrostriatale est particulièrement liée au contrôle moteur, sa dégénérescence est la principale cause de troubles tels que la maladie de Parkinson et les mouvements chorégiques , comme dans le cas de la Corée de Huntington.

  • Article connexe: "Voie nigrostriatale du cerveau: structures et fonctions"

4. Voie tuberculino-filaire

Cette voie nerveuse, fortement influencée par la dopamine, relie la région tubaire de l'hypothalamus moyen à la région infundibulaire de celle-ci. En gros relie différentes parties de l'hypothalamus et de l'hypophyse . Cette voie est d'une grande importance, car elle influence la sécrétion d'hormones par l'hypophyse. La prolactine est l'une des hormones les plus touchées par le fonctionnement de cette voie.

La présence de dopamine de cette manière inhibe la synthèse de la prolactine, en plus de favoriser la génération de somatotrophine. En fait, avant la consommation de neuroleptiques, nous pouvons observer que l’un des effets secondaires pouvant survenir avant la diminution de la dopamine est constitué par des altérations sexuelles telles que la galactorrhée et différents Dysfonctionnements sexuels résultant d'une augmentation de la synthèse de la prolactine . Cela affecte grandement la fertilité.

Les autres voies dopaminergiques

Lorsqu'on les interroge sur les voies dopaminergiques, la plupart des personnes ayant une connaissance du sujet se réfèrent uniquement à celles citées ci-dessus. Mais la vérité est que, bien que les voies principales mésolimbiques, mésocorticales, nigrostriatales et tuberoinfundibulaires soient les plus importantes, elles ne sont pas les seules. Pour d'autres régions du cerveau il existe d'autres voies dopaminergiques secondaires .

Plus précisément, nous pouvons trouver une voie nerveuse qui va de la région du tegmental ventral à l’amygdale, une autre qui va de la région du tegmental ventral à l’hippocampe, une autre qui circulerait à nouveau entre la région du tegmental ventral et cingul, sous-thalamus et un dernier qui relierait la région tegmentale ventrale avec le bulbe olfactif.

Leurs fonctions sont beaucoup moins étudiées et ont moins d'importance que les précédentes, qui incluent également certains de leurs processus dans une certaine mesure. Mais il serait très utile d'analyser son importance plus en profondeur.

Troubles associés à ces réseaux de neurones

La dopamine est un neurotransmetteur essentiel au fonctionnement normatif de l'être humain, ainsi que des autres animaux. La présence de dysfonctionnements dans les voies qui la synthétisent et l’utilisent peut générer des maladies et des désordres . Parmi les plus pertinents sont les suivants.

1. Schizophrénie

Comme nous l’avons mentionné précédemment, les principaux symptômes de la schizophrénie semblent être liés à la altérations des niveaux de dopamine dans certaines des voies nerveuses dopaminergiques . Plus précisément, les symptômes positifs semblent correspondre à un excès de dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique, tandis que les symptômes négatifs le feraient avec un déficit de ce neurotransmetteur dans la voie mésocorticale. En principe, les deux autres routes principales ne subiraient aucune modification.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

2. Parkinson

La maladie de Parkinson est une autre des maladies les plus liées aux voies dopaminergiques, en particulier la nigrostriatale. En fait, c'est la dégénérescence des neurones dopaminergiques de la substance noire celui qui génère la symptomatologie.

  • Article connexe: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

3. TDAH

Différentes enquêtes ont insinué que des altérations de la voie mésocorticale et de la voie mésolimbique peuvent être influencées dans le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention, ayant un effet sur les difficultés des personnes atteintes de ce trouble en termes de motivation, de capacité d'attention, de planification ou d'inhibition du comportement.

4. Dépendances

Les voies dopaminergiques sont profondément associées à l'acquisition et le maintien de la dépendance , étant le circuit de récompense du cerveau dans ses traces. Cela inclut en particulier les addictions à des substances, mais aussi celles de type plus comportemental telles que le jeu pathologique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

5. Hyperprolactinémie

Il a été observé que la diminution des taux de dopamine dans la voie tubero-fédéribulaire génère une hyperprolactinémie, qui a divers effets dans des domaines tels que la reproduction . Les modifications de la menstruation et de la fertilité ou la galactorrhée sont parmi les symptômes les plus connus

6. Autres troubles

De nombreux autres problèmes ont été associés d'une manière ou d'une autre au dysfonctionnement de l'une des routes précédentes. Par exemple, ont été liés aux manifestations de troubles du mouvement comme le syndrome de Tourette ou les tics, et même dans certains cas avec le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. McGraw-Hill. Madrid
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Vallejo, J. (2006). Introduction à la psychopathologie et à la psychiatrie (6ème édition). Elsevier, Espagne.

Alcoholism - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes