yes, therapy helps!
The best 10 books by Slavoj Žižek

The best 10 books by Slavoj Žižek

June 24, 2021

The Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Žižek is considered by many people to be the most relevant European philosopher from the actuality.

His way of thinking, which mixes Marxism with the ideas of Jacques Lacan, is a sharp scalpel with which the pages of Žižek's books dissect both the current issues related to geopolitics and the great social phenomena that go marking the rhythm of the story.

The refugee crisis in the Middle East, the emergence of far-right movements, the emergence of forces calling for greater political participation for the popular classes and American invasions in other countries are analyzed by the Slovenian as part of a historical dynamic linked to the cyclical problems that appear in capitalism and, like Noam Chomsky, this philosopher believes that large oligopolies have the strength to influence our thinking schemes.


  • We recommend: "20 phrases by Slavoj Žižek that will make you think"

Books by Slavoj Žižek to understand his philosophy

The work of Slavoj Žižek is especially interesting for those people who want to understand the role of our ideology in our way of thinking, acting and relating, as, for this philosopher, even the person most convinced of being apolitical clings to an ideology politics without being aware of it by not questioning it occasionally.

Let's see what they are the ten most important Slavoj Zizek books .

1. Welcome to the desert of the real

In this book, Žižek analyzes the post-9/11 world to question some of the "great truths" on which the western democracies settle and their diagnosis of the problems of the world. Some of the totems against which he posts in these pages are the speech of the war against terrorism that has prevailed for years in the United States or the supposed privileged position from which we are able to know the problems of non-Western countries from the developed democracies.


  • If you are interested in the book, you can find more information on this link.

2. The year we dreamed dangerously

As in other books by Slavoj Žižek, here we talk about social movements and revolutions . However, here we talk about a period in which they gained special importance to the point of changing the way of thinking of many people: the year 2011, when protest movements such as the 15-M, Occupy Wall Street and when the so-called "Arab springs" gained strength. The philosopher analyzes the way in which these small cultural and political revolutions appeared and ended up mutating into less short-term initiatives.

  • To read more about the book, click on this link.


3. Enjoy your symptom! Lacan in and out of Hollywood

In this book Slavoj Žižek shows his side more related to Lacanian psychoanalysis . With the large doses of humor and provocative mood that characterize him, the philosopher talks about film, psychoanalysis and ways in which our thinking articulates the perception of reality.

  • If you are interested in the book, click here.

4. The new class struggle

The refugee crisis is tackled head on by this philosopher, who dedicates the book to emphasize the need to solve the problem from its root . Limit to manage the collection of refugees are to see further in the reading of the situation involves losing two wars: embrace the speech of the xenophobic extreme right and, on the other hand, legitimize the forms of military intervention in countries outside the welfare state.

  • To read more about this work, click here.

5. Repeat Lenin

In the pages of this book, the Slovenian author describes the state of progressive movements and the way in which they depend on ambiguous principles that are easy to manipulate from the outside. The philosopher looks at the figure of Lenin to rescue principles of elaboration of speech and political argument .

  • If you are interested in the book, click on this link.

6. First as a tragedy, then as a farce

In this book Žižek starts from his Marxist perspective to explain how liberalism, as an ideology, has collapsed , being unable to explain the crises experienced throughout the twentieth century, the way in which the property system serves to impose policies above the popular will and how under the formal freedom can perpetuate and increase inequalities more flagrant.

  • On this page you will find more information about this book.

7. How to read Lacan

One of the best known Žižek books, although its title is somewhat deceptive; more than being a guide about how to interpret the writings and seminars of the French psychoanalyst, is a way to understand the way in which Zizek gives birth to Lacanian thought in his analysis of reality and art.

  • To read more about this book go to this page.

8. In defense of intolerance

Žižek dedicates the pages of this book to criticizing the depoliticization of the economy and moral relativism that for the philosopher does not do more than to feed a system of domination based on the neoliberalism and that, nevertheless, is assumed by movements of lefts.

  • Are you interested in this book? Here is more information about him.

9. The sublime object of ideology

One of Žižek's books that deepens the philosophy of this author. In The sublime object of ideology, this philosopher criticizes ideas deeply rooted in postmodern philosophy and in the relativism to which it is associated through psychoanalytic theory.

  • To read more about this work, click here.

10. The puppet and the dwarf: the perverse core of Christianity

In this work Žižek talks about the religious phenomenon, focusing on the Judeo-Christian tradition and the recent forms of New Age spirituality . Starting from an analysis very focused on the political implications of religious beliefs, he points out the way in which religion is explained through the Lacanian psychoanalytic ideas.

  • If you are interested in the book, you can know more about it here.


10 Jokes by Slavoj Žižek (dirty, sexist, racist, and so on and so on) (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 meilleurs livres de Slavoj Žižek

Les 10 meilleurs livres de Slavoj Žižek

Juin 25, 2019

Le philosophe slovène Slavoj Žižek est considéré par beaucoup comme le philosophe européen le plus pertinent. d'aujourd'hui.

Sa façon de penser, qui mêle le marxisme aux idées de Jacques Lacan, est un scalpel pointu avec lequel les pages des livres de Žižek dissèquent à la fois les problèmes actuels liés à la géopolitique et les grands phénomènes sociaux marquant le rythme de l'histoire.

La crise des réfugiés au Moyen-Orient, l'émergence de mouvements d'extrême droite, l'émergence de forces appelant à une plus grande participation politique des classes populaires et les invasions américaines dans d'autres pays sont analysées par les Slovènes dans le cadre d'une dynamique historique lié aux problèmes cycliques qui apparaissent dans le capitalisme et, comme Noam Chomsky, ce philosophe estime que les grands oligopoles ont la force d'influencer nos schémas de pensée.


  • Nous recommandons: "20 phrases de Slavoj Žižek qui feront réfléchir"

Livres de Slavoj Žižek pour comprendre sa philosophie

Le travail de Slavoj Žižek est particulièrement intéressant pour ceux qui veulent comprendre le rôle de notre idéologie dans notre façon de penser, d’agir et de raconter, car, pour ce philosophe, même la personne la plus convaincue d’être apolitique s’accroche à une idéologie la politique sans en avoir conscience en ne la remettant pas en cause de temps en temps.

Voyons ce qu'ils sont les dix livres les plus importants de Slavoj Zizek .

1. Bienvenue dans le désert du réel

Dans ce livre, Žižek analyse le monde postérieur au 11 septembre pour remettre en question certaines des "grandes vérités". sur lequel se posent les démocraties occidentales et leur diagnostic des problèmes du monde. Certains des totems contre lesquels il écrit dans ces pages sont le discours de la guerre contre le terrorisme qui sévit depuis des années aux États-Unis ou la prétendue position privilégiée à partir de laquelle nous pouvons connaître les problèmes des pays non occidentaux issus des démocraties développées.


  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le livre, vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur ce lien.

2. L'année où nous avons rêvé dangereusement

Comme dans d'autres livres de Slavoj Žižek, on parle ici de mouvements sociaux et de révolutions . Cependant, nous parlons ici d'une période durant laquelle ils ont acquis une importance particulière au point de changer la façon de penser de nombreuses personnes: l'année 2011, lorsque des mouvements de protestation tels que le 15-M, Occupy Wall Street et les soi-disant "sources arabes" ont pris de la vigueur. Le philosophe analyse la manière dont ces petites révolutions culturelles et politiques sont apparues et ont fini par se transformer en initiatives à court terme.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur le livre, cliquez sur ce lien.


3. Profitez de votre symptôme! Lacan dans et hors d'Hollywood

Dans ce livre, Slavoj Žižek montre son côté plus lié à la psychanalyse lacanienne. . Avec les fortes doses d'humour et d'humeur provocante qui le caractérisent, le philosophe parle de film, de psychanalyse et de la manière dont notre pensée articule la perception de la réalité.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le livre, cliquez ici.

4. La nouvelle lutte de classe

La crise des réfugiés est abordée de front par ce philosophe, qui consacre le livre à souligner la nécessité de résoudre le problème à partir de sa racine . Limiter pour gérer le rassemblement de réfugiés est à voir dans la lecture de la situation implique la perte de deux guerres: embrasser le discours de l'extrême droite xénophobe et, d'autre part, légitimer les formes d'intervention militaire dans les pays en dehors de l'Etat providence.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce travail, cliquez ici.

5. Répétez Lénine

L'auteur slovène décrit dans les pages de ce livre l'état des mouvements progressistes et la manière dont ils dépendent de principes ambigus faciles à manipuler de l'extérieur. Le philosophe se penche sur la figure de Lénine pour sauver les principes d'élaboration du discours et l'argument politique .

  • Si le livre vous intéresse, cliquez sur ce lien.

6. D'abord comme une tragédie, ensuite comme une farce

Dans ce livre Žižek part de sa perspective marxiste pour expliquer comment le libéralisme, en tant qu’idéologie, s’est effondré , incapable d'expliquer les crises du XXe siècle, la manière dont le système de la propriété sert à imposer des politiques supérieures à la volonté populaire et comment, dans le cadre de la liberté formelle, peuvent perpétuer et accroître les inégalités plus flagrant.

  • Sur cette page, vous trouverez plus d'informations sur ce livre.

7. Comment lire Lacan

Un des livres les plus connus de Žižek, bien que son titre soit quelque peu trompeur; plus qu'un guide d'interprétation des écrits et des séminaires du psychanalyste français, est un moyen de comprendre la façon dont Zizek a donné naissance à la pensée lacanienne dans son analyse de la réalité et de l'art.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce livre, allez à cette page.

8. En défense de l'intolérance

Žižek dédie les pages de ce livre à la critique de la dépolitisation de l'économie et du relativisme moral celui du philosophe ne fait que nourrir un système de domination basé sur le néolibéralisme et cela, néanmoins, est assumé par des mouvements de gauches.

  • Êtes-vous intéressé par ce livre? Voici plus d'informations sur lui.

9. L'objet sublime de l'idéologie

Un des livres de Žižek qui approfondit la philosophie de cet auteur. Dans L'objet sublime de l'idéologie, ce philosophe critique les idées profondément enracinées dans la philosophie postmoderne et dans le relativisme auquel il est associé par la théorie psychanalytique.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce travail, cliquez ici.

10. La marionnette et le nain: le noyau pervers du christianisme

Dans ce travail Žižek parle du phénomène religieux, en se concentrant sur la tradition judéo-chrétienne et les formes récentes de la spiritualité du Nouvel Âge . Partant d'une analyse très centrée sur les implications politiques des croyances religieuses, il souligne la manière dont la religion est expliquée à travers les idées psychanalytiques lacaniennes.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le livre, vous pouvez en savoir plus ici.


Le meilleurs 10 Livres Anglais Philosophers en 2018 (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes