yes, therapy helps!
The myth of ADHD: what did Leon Eisenberg really say before he died?

The myth of ADHD: what did Leon Eisenberg really say before he died?

May 9, 2021

On September 15, 2009 Leon Eisenberg, an American psychiatrist of great fame and prestige, died due to his cancer.

Later, specifically in the year 2012, the newspaper Der Spiegel would unleash a great controversy to publish an article derived from the last interview offered by mr. Eisenberg, identifying the professional as the discoverer of ADHD and indicating in the article that the famous psychiatrist had recognized that Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder or ADHD was an invented disease.

Before focusing attention on the controversy raised by such a supposed statement, remember what we are talking about when referring to ADHD.


Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder: what are we talking about?

It is understood by ADHD a set of diverse symptoms grouped around inattention, hyperactivity and impulsivity , presenting itself in a stable way during a period of at least six months.

The symptoms of ADHD

For the diagnosis of ADHD, it has been established that there must be at least six or more symptoms of inattention (carelessness of details, difficulties in maintaining attention, busy mind that does not listen, no completion or follow-up of tasks or instructions for distraction, difficulties of organization, loss of elements, avoidance of tasks sustained over time, easy distraction, forgetting of daily activities) and / or six symptoms of hyperactivity and impulsivity (constant play, getting up in circumstances where you should remain seated, motor restlessness, speech excessive, difficulty waiting for the shift, interruption of the activities of others, anticipation of the response of the other in a conversation, ending the sentences of others, inability to play quietly, running in inappropriate situations).


Some of these symptoms may seem normal at certain ages, but for the diagnosis of ADHD requires that they be maintained for six months to a degree that does not correspond to the level of development of the subject, taking into account the age and intellectual level of the subject . That is to say, in the diagnosis it is or should be taken into account that the symptoms occur abnormally or exaggeratedly. It is also taken into account that the symptomatology does not occur in a single environment or situation, but rather occurs in a generalized way in at least two different environments (discarding therefore that only occurred in the school) and producing a clear deterioration of the activities of the individual.

Although for its diagnosis it is necessary that there have been some symptoms before the age of seven, the attention deficit hyperactivity disorder can be diagnosed at any age, including in the adult stage.


In this last aspect we must bear in mind that while some aspects of ADHD seem to be corrected with age (as cerebral maturation of the frontal is occurring, which in this disorder is usually slowed down), especially in the case of symptoms of hyperactivity , In many untreated cases, some symptoms persist, such as reduced attention span and a certain sense of internal restlessness.

Leon Eisenberg: Why is he called the discoverer of ADHD?

Numerous publications seem to indicate that the Mr. Eisenberg was the discoverer of ADHD . This consideration is not entirely correct: although Dr. Eisenberg had great relevance in the study of this disorder, ADHD is a disorder known since ancient times, having references to symptoms and trying to be explained by previous authors, although it was denominated as different. shapes. In fact, the "discoverer of ADHD" himself indicated on occasion that the disorder was already well known before he worked on it: there are references to children with the same symptoms since 1902 by George Still (who would classify them as children with a deficit of moral control) and even descriptions prior to this one.

Despite this, Mr. Eisenberg did have a very important role in the consideration of this disorder : was a pioneer in giving due importance to the genetic factors in the etiology of this disorder (before he and other authors advanced their research from a more biological and neuroanatomical perspective, some of the etiological explanations of the disorder focused on the absence of a correct socio-emotional link with the parents, especially with the mother, with which the parents of the disorder of their child were partly blamed), as well as introducing the ADHD in the reference manual of American psychiatry and psychology, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders or DSM.This last fact is what has probably caused Leon Eisenberg to be sometimes called the discoverer of ADHD.

The article of discord

That said, let's focus again on the origin of this article: the alleged confession of its nonexistence. In the article appeared in the newspaper Der Spiegel the words of the interviewee seem clear, but they appear decontextualized, being easy to distort the meaning they had in their initial context. In fact, part of the problem is based on a misinterpretation of the meaning of words in their English-German translation. The interview in question also focused on examining the increase in diagnoses of mental disorders in recent times.

With a more contextualized review of the interview situation, it is possible to observe that the criticism of the so-called discoverer of ADHD was focused on the spectacular increase in the number of supposed new cases of the problem.

A) Yes, the well-known psychiatrist made reference to the overdiagnosis of this disorder , in many cases being pharmacologically cases in which the disorder does not exist and in which of having symptoms these can be due to psychosocial factors, such as the divorce of the parents, changes of locality or lifestyles or other personal losses (in which case ADHD should not be discussed unless it was a problem unrelated to the life events in question).

Another critical point is the excessive tendency to prescribe medication, since although it can be a great help for those who suffer it, it can be a disadvantage if it is administered in individuals without this disorder. In addition, it is necessary to take into account the fact that it is usually about minors, with which it is necessary to take special care when administering psychotropic drugs. In addition, in the same interview indicated that even if there is evidence of a certain genetic predisposition to this disorder, it was overvalued, requiring more research on psychosocial causes.

A critique of overdiagnosis

In conclusion, it can be considered that the article that indicated that Dr. Eisenberg had denied the existence of ADHD is the result of a misinterpretation of his words , not having indicated the psychiatrist that the disorder does not exist but that it is diagnosed with excessive urgency, making the diagnosis in cases that do not suffer it.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Barkley, R. (2006) .Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Third Edition: A Handbook for Diagnosis and Treatment, Guildford Publications. New York
  • Eisenberg, L. (2007). Commentary with a Historical Perspective by a Child Psychiatrist: When "ADHD" Was the "Brain-Damaged Child". Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology, 17 (3): 279-283.
  • Grolle, J. & Samiha S. (2012). "'What About Tutoring Instead of Pills?" Der Spiegel. 02.10.2012
  • Miranda, A., Jarque, S., Soriano, M. (1999) Hyperactivity disorder with attention deficit: current controversies about its definition, epidemiology, etiological bases and approaches to intervention. REV NEUROL 1999; 28 (Suppl 2): ​​S 182-8.
  • Von Blech, J. (2012). "Schwermut ohne Scham." Der Spiegel. 06.02.2012.

Deathbed Confession: ADHD Is A Fictitious Disease (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le mythe du TDAH: qu'est-ce que Leon Eisenberg a réellement dit avant de mourir?

Le mythe du TDAH: qu'est-ce que Leon Eisenberg a réellement dit avant de mourir?

Juillet 16, 2024

Le 15 septembre 2009, Leon Eisenberg, psychiatre américain reconnu et reconnu, mourut des suites de son cancer.

Plus tard, en particulier en 2012, le journal Der Spiegel déchaînerait une grande controverse en publiant un article tiré de la dernière interview offerte par m. Eisenberg, identifiant le professionnel comme étant le découvreur du TDAH et indiquant dans l'article que le célèbre psychiatre avait reconnu que le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention ou le TDAH était une maladie inventée.

Avant d’attirer votre attention sur la controverse suscitée par une telle affirmation, rappelez-vous de ce dont nous parlons en parlant du TDAH.


Trouble déficitaire de l'attention et de l'hyperactivité: de quoi parle-t-on?

Il est compris par le TDAH un ensemble de symptômes divers regroupés autour d'inattention, d'hyperactivité et d'impulsivité , se présentant de manière stable pendant une période d’au moins six mois.

Les symptômes du TDAH

Pour le diagnostic du TDAH, il a été établi qu'il doit y avoir au moins six symptômes d'inattention (insouciance des détails, difficultés à maintenir l'attention, esprit occupé qui n'écoute pas, pas d'achèvement ou du suivi de tâches ou d'instructions de distraction, difficultés d’organisation, perte d’éléments, évitement des tâches subies au fil du temps, distraction facile, oubli des activités quotidiennes) et / ou six symptômes d’hyperactivité et d’impulsivité (jeu constant, se lever dans des circonstances où il faut rester assis, agitation motrice, élocution excessive, difficulté à attendre le quart de travail, interruption des activités des autres, anticipation de la réaction de l'autre dans une conversation, fin des phrases des autres, incapacité de jouer en silence, course dans des situations inappropriées).


Certains de ces symptômes peuvent sembler normaux à certains âges, mais pour le diagnostic du TDAH, ils doivent être maintenus pendant six mois à un degré qui ne correspond pas au niveau de développement du sujet, en tenant compte de l'âge et du niveau intellectuel du sujet. . C'est-à-dire que, dans le diagnostic, il est ou devrait être pris en compte que les symptômes apparaissent anormalement ou exagérément. Il est également tenu compte du fait que la symptomatologie ne se produit pas dans un seul environnement ni dans une seule situation, mais se présente plutôt de manière généralisée dans au moins deux environnements différents (le fait de ne pas le faire n’a donc été observé qu’à l’école), ce qui entraîne une nette détérioration de la activités de l'individu.

Bien que, pour le diagnostic, il soit nécessaire qu'il y ait eu des symptômes avant l'âge de sept ans, le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention peut être diagnostiqué à tout âge, y compris au stade adulte.


Dans ce dernier aspect, nous devons garder à l’esprit que, même si certains aspects du TDAH semblent être corrigés avec l’âge (la maturation cérébrale du frontal se produisant, elle est généralement ralentie dans ce trouble), en particulier en cas de symptômes d’hyperactivité. , Dans de nombreux cas non traités, certains symptômes persistent, tels qu'une capacité d'attention réduite et un certain sentiment d'inquiétude interne.

Leon Eisenberg: Pourquoi est-il appelé le découvreur du TDAH?

De nombreuses publications semblent indiquer que M. Eisenberg était le découvreur du TDAH . Cette considération n’est pas tout à fait correcte: bien que le Dr Eisenberg ait eu une grande pertinence dans l’étude de ce trouble, le TDAH est un trouble connu depuis l’antiquité, faisant référence aux symptômes et cherchant à être expliqué par des auteurs précédents, bien qu’il ait été qualifié de différent. des formulaires. En fait, le «découvreur du TDAH» a lui-même indiqué à l'occasion que le trouble était déjà bien connu avant d'y avoir travaillé: il existe des références aux enfants présentant les mêmes symptômes depuis 1902 par George Still (qui les classerait comme enfants déficitaires). contrôle moral) et même des descriptions antérieures à celle-ci.

Malgré cela, M. Eisenberg a joué un rôle très important dans la prise en compte de ce trouble : était un pionnier dans l'importance accordée aux facteurs génétiques dans l'étiologie de ce trouble (avant de poursuivre ses recherches avec d'autres auteurs dans une perspective plus biologique et neuroanatomique, certaines des explications étiologiques du trouble étaient centrées sur l'absence d’un lien socio-affectif correct avec les parents, en particulier avec la mère, avec laquelle les parents du trouble de leur enfant ont été partiellement blâmés), ainsi que par l’introduction du TDAH dans le manuel de référence de la psychiatrie et de la psychologie américaines, Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux ou DSM.Ce dernier fait est probablement ce qui a parfois valu à Leon Eisenberg le titre de découvreur du TDAH.

L'article de discorde

Cela dit, concentrons-nous à nouveau sur l'origine de cet article: la confession présumée de sa non-existence. Dans l'article paru dans le journal Der Spiegel les mots de la personne interrogée semblent clairs, mais ils semblent décontextualisés, car ils sont faciles à déformer le sens qu'ils avaient dans leur contexte initial. En fait, une partie du problème repose sur une interprétation erronée du sens des mots dans leur traduction anglais-allemand. L'interview en question visait également à examiner l'augmentation du nombre de diagnostics de troubles mentaux au cours des dernières années.

Avec un examen plus contextualisé de la situation de l’entretien, il est possible d’observer que la critique du soi-disant découvreur du TDAH était axée sur l’augmentation spectaculaire du nombre de nouveaux cas supposés du problème.

Ainsi, le psychiatre bien connu a fait référence au surdiagnostic de ce trouble , dans de nombreux cas pharmacologiques dans lesquels le désordre n’existe pas et dans lesquels des symptômes peuvent survenir peuvent être dus à des facteurs psychosociaux, tels que le divorce des parents, des changements de localité ou de mode de vie ou d’autres pertes personnelles (auquel cas TDAH ne devrait pas être discuté sauf s’il s’agissait d’un problème sans rapport avec les événements de la vie en question).

Un autre point critique est la tendance excessive à prescrire des médicaments, car bien que cela puisse être d'une grande aide pour ceux qui en souffrent, il peut être désavantageux de l'administrer à des personnes ne présentant pas ce trouble. En outre, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte le fait qu’il s’agit généralement de mineurs, avec lesquels il est nécessaire de faire particulièrement attention lors de l’administration de psychotropes. En outre, lors du même entretien, il a été indiqué que même s’il existait des signes d’une prédisposition génétique à ce trouble, il était surévalué et nécessitait davantage de recherches sur les causes psychosociales.

Une critique du surdiagnostic

En conclusion, on peut considérer que l'article qui indique que le Dr Eisenberg a nié l'existence du TDAH est le produit d'une interprétation erronée de ses propos , n'ayant pas indiqué au psychiatre que le trouble n'existait pas mais qu'il était diagnostiqué avec une urgence excessive, faisant le diagnostic dans les cas qui ne le souffrent pas.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Barkley, R. (2006). Trouble de l'hyperactivité de l'attention / déficit, troisième édition: manuel de diagnostic et de traitement, Guildford Publications. New York
  • Eisenberg, L. (2007). Commentaire d'un psychiatre pour enfant présentant une perspective historique: Quand "TDAH" était-il "l'enfant endommagé par le cerveau". Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology, 17 (3): 279-283.
  • Grolle, J. & Samiha S. (2012). "Qu'en est-il du tutorat au lieu des pilules?" Der Spiegel. 02.10.2012
  • Miranda, A., S. Jarque, M. Soriano (1999): Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention: controverses actuelles concernant sa définition, épidémiologie, bases étiologiques et approches en matière d'intervention. REV NEUROL 1999; 28 (Suppl 2): ​​S 182-8.
  • Von Blech, J. (2012). "Schwermut ohne Scham." Der Spiegel. 06.02.2012.

Zeitgeist: Moving Forward (2011) (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes