yes, therapy helps!
The stigmatization of people with psychiatric diagnoses

The stigmatization of people with psychiatric diagnoses

May 10, 2021

Stigmatization is a process by which a person becomes entitled to a set of characteristics that are considered socially undesirable. That's why a process connected with discrimination and social exclusion .

Unfortunately, stigmatization is also a highly frequent process in clinical settings where mental health professionals carry out their work (and not only in mental health). This has had very negative consequences for both people with diagnosis and their families, so it is currently a relevant issue and much discussed in different areas.

In this article we explain what is stigmatization, why does it occur, what consequences has it had and through which proposals mitigation has been tried in different contexts.


  • Related article: "No, mental disorders are not adjectives"

Psychosocial stigmatization: from stigma to discrimination

The use of the word "stigmatization" makes it possible for us to return to the concept of "stigma" and use it as a metaphor in social studies. Stigma in this context refers to a trait or condition that is attributed to a group of people and that causes attitudes or negative responses towards them to be established.

The application of the term "stigma" in sociology It was popularized by Erving Goffman in the 60's, who would define it as a "profoundly discrediting attribute" that is related to a negative stereotype about physical traits, behaviors, ethnic origin or individual conditions understood in terms of danger (eg diseases) , migration, diseases, crime).


Thus, stigmatization is the process through which a group acquires a differential feature or a "mark" of identification, which is valued by other groups as the outstanding feature, which has as a consequence different forms of discrimination towards that group "marked "

The reason why stigmatization causes discrimination is because it is a process in which our attitudes are put into play, understood as a phenomenon of cognitive, affective and behavioral components ; despite being different from each other, they are strongly connected.

It is these attitudes that help us classify or categorize what surrounds us in terms of "good" or "bad", "undesirable" or "desirable", "adequate" or "inadequate", which often also translates into "Normal-abnormal", "healthy-sick", etc.

These categories, being loaded with affective and behavioral components, allow us to establish parameters in interpersonal relationships . For example, that we avoid approaching what we have categorized as "undesirable", etc.


  • Maybe you're interested: "In defense of people with dementia: fight stigmas and prejudices"

Who does it usually affect?

Stigmatization is not a phenomenon that only affects people diagnosed with mental disorder. It can affect a large number of people and for different reasons . Generally, "vulnerable" groups or groups are used to refer to people who are systematically exposed to being stigmatized and to live discrimination.

The "systematically" is important because far from being vulnerable per se, these are people who are constantly being vulnerable as a result of an organization and certain social structures. People who are constantly exposed to situations of exclusion, and who paradoxically have less possibilities of being protected.

In this sense, discrimination is not only an individual phenomenon (which determines how we relate to a specific person), but structural, which it is also found in policies, in manuals, in how public spaces are made up , in the other spheres of social life.

Thus, for example, there may be stigma, negative attitudes towards racialized people, towards people with disabilities, towards people in a situation of poverty, towards people who are not heterosexual, towards people with different medical diagnoses, to mention just a few.

  • Related article: "Stereotypes, prejudice and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?"

Danger as a stigma in "mental disorders"

The social imaginary of dangerousness in relation to "madness" has evolved significantly over time. This evolution has been reinforced in large part by the care structures that still exist in many places.

For example, asylum institutions on the outskirts of cities, which confirm the myth of dangerousness in the social imaginary; as well as with coercive practices without informed consent, or with forced consent.

Danger and violence have become stigmas because they make that we recognize them as the outstanding features of the person who has the diagnosis , with which, the logical consequence is the automatic and generalized exclusion, that is to say, it occurs even if the person has not committed violent acts.

Fear and exclusion: some consequences of this social phenomenon

If the danger is what we evoke more quickly when we think of "disorders" or "mental illnesses", then the closest logical reaction is to establish distance, because with the danger our alarms are activated and with this our fears.

They are activated sometimes so automatically and involuntarily that it does not matter if they are justified fears or not (many times the people who most "fear" feel, are those who have never lived with someone who has a psychiatric diagnosis). The logical consequence of all this, is that people with the diagnosis are exposed to live rejection and exclusion constantly .

And unfortunately, mental health professionals are often not exempt from the above. In fact, in an attempt to understand this phenomenon and counteract it, in the last decades there has been a great amount of scientific studies that analyze the stigmas of health professionals towards the users of services, and how this hinders attention and creates more problems than solutions.

Another consequence of the stigmatization related to psychiatric diagnoses is that, to be understood as something negative, dangerous and synonymous with chronic disease source of constant discomfort , people who may need the attention of a mental health service are limited or stopped when seeking that care.

That is to say, stigmatization provokes a fear and a rejection not only towards the people who have the diagnosis, but towards going to the mental health services, with which, the discomforts intensify, the suffering is not accompanied, the behaviors are they become more problematic, etc.

Alternatives and resistances

Fortunately, given the unpleasant scenario described above, the specific case of people who have a diagnosis of mental disorder has been proposed as an issue that deserves special attention since the people with diagnosis and their families have spoken out against stigma and discrimination.

The latter has been recently supported by many mental health professionals, as well as by many public policies and international organizations. In fact, on October 10 of each year has been established by the UN as the International Mental Health Day .

Also, in different dates and places around the world, people with diagnosis have claimed recognition of the diversity of bodies and experiences, as well as the need to continue fighting against stigma in mental health and seek above all respect for rights .

Bibliographic references:

  • López, M., Laviana, M., Fernández, L. et al. (2008). The fight against stigma and discrimination in mental health. A complex strategy based on the available information. Journal of the Spanish Association of Neuropsychiatry, 28 (101): 43-83
  • Muñoz, A., and Uriarte, J. (2006). Stigma and mental illness. North Mental Health, (26): 49-59.

The Butterfly Effect of Pediatric Mental Illness: Let's Break the Stigmas (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La stigmatisation des personnes atteintes de diagnostics psychiatriques

La stigmatisation des personnes atteintes de diagnostics psychiatriques

Janvier 22, 2022

La stigmatisation est un processus par lequel une personne acquiert le droit de posséder un ensemble de caractéristiques considérées comme socialement indésirables. C'est pourquoi un processus lié à la discrimination et à l'exclusion sociale .

Malheureusement, la stigmatisation est également un processus très fréquent dans les milieux cliniques où les professionnels de la santé mentale effectuent leur travail (et pas seulement en santé mentale). Cela a eu des conséquences très négatives tant pour les personnes diagnostiquées que pour leur famille. Il s'agit donc actuellement d'une question pertinente qui fait l'objet de nombreuses discussions dans différents domaines.

Dans cet article, nous expliquons qu'est-ce que la stigmatisation, pourquoi cela se produit-il, quelles en ont été les conséquences? et à travers lesquelles des propositions d'atténuation ont été essayées dans différents contextes.


  • Article connexe: "Non, les troubles mentaux ne sont pas des adjectifs"

Stigmatisation psychosociale: de la stigmatisation à la discrimination

L'utilisation du mot "stigmatisation" nous permet de revenir au concept de "stigmatisation" et de l'utiliser comme métaphore dans les études sociales. La stigmatisation dans ce contexte fait référence à un trait ou une condition qui est attribué à un groupe de personnes et cela entraîne l'établissement d'attitudes ou de réponses négatives à leur égard.

L'application du terme "stigmatisation" en sociologie Il a été popularisé par Erving Goffman dans les années 60, qui le définirait comme un "attribut profondément discréditant" lié à un stéréotype négatif sur les traits physiques, les comportements, l'origine ethnique ou les conditions individuelles comprises en termes de danger (par exemple, les maladies) , migration, maladies, criminalité).


Ainsi, la stigmatisation est le processus par lequel un groupe acquiert une caractéristique différentielle ou une "marque" d'identification, ce qui est considéré par d'autres groupes comme la caractéristique dominante, ce qui a pour conséquence différentes formes de discrimination à l'égard de ce groupe "marqué "

La stigmatisation cause la discrimination parce qu’il s’agit d’un processus dans lequel nos attitudes sont mises en jeu un phénomène de composantes cognitives, affectives et comportementales ; En dépit d'être différents les uns des autres, ils sont fortement connectés.

Ce sont ces attitudes qui nous aident à classer ou à classer ce qui nous entoure en termes de "bon" ou "mauvais", "indésirable" ou "souhaitable", "adéquat" ou "inadéquat", ce qui se traduit souvent aussi par: "Normal-anormal", "sain-malade", etc.

Ces catégories, chargées de composants affectifs et comportementaux, nous permettent d'établir des paramètres dans les relations interpersonnelles . Par exemple, nous évitons d’approcher ce que nous avons classé comme "indésirable", etc.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pour la défense des personnes atteintes de démence: combattez les stigmates et les préjugés"

Qui affecte-t-il habituellement?

La stigmatisation n'est pas un phénomène qui ne concerne que les personnes diagnostiquées avec un trouble mental. Cela peut toucher un grand nombre de personnes et pour différentes raisons . En règle générale, les groupes ou groupes «vulnérables» sont utilisés pour désigner les personnes systématiquement exposées à la stigmatisation et à la discrimination.

Le "systématiquement" est important car loin d'être vulnérables en soi, il s'agit de personnes qui le sont en permanence du fait d'une organisation et de certaines structures sociales. Des personnes constamment exposées à des situations d'exclusion et qui, paradoxalement, ont moins de possibilités d'être protégées.

En ce sens, la discrimination n’est pas seulement un phénomène individuel (qui détermine notre relation à une personne spécifique), mais elle est structurelle. on le trouve aussi dans les politiques, les manuels, dans la composition des espaces publics , dans les autres domaines de la vie sociale.

Ainsi, par exemple, il peut exister une stigmatisation, des attitudes négatives envers les personnes racialisées, les personnes handicapées, les personnes en situation de pauvreté, les personnes non hétérosexuelles, les personnes ayant des diagnostics médicaux différents, pour ne citer que quelques-unes.

  • Article connexe: "Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?"

Le danger en tant que stigmatisation dans les "troubles mentaux"

L'imaginaire social de la dangerosité face à la "folie" a considérablement évolué au fil du temps. Cette évolution a été renforcée en grande partie par les structures de soins qui existent encore dans de nombreux endroits.

Par exemple, les institutions d’asile à la périphérie des villes, qui confirment le mythe de la dangerosité dans l’imaginaire social; ainsi qu'avec des pratiques coercitives sans consentement éclairé ou forcé.

Le danger et la violence sont devenus des stigmates parce qu'ils font que nous les reconnaissions comme les traits marquants de la personne diagnostiquée avec comme conséquence logique l’exclusion automatique et généralisée, c’est-à-dire qu’elle se produit même si la personne n’a pas commis d’actes violents.

Peur et exclusion: quelques conséquences de ce phénomène social

Si le danger est ce que nous évoquons plus rapidement lorsque nous pensons à des "troubles" ou à des "maladies mentales", la réaction logique la plus proche est d'établir la distance, car avec le danger nos alarmes sont activées et nos craintes.

Elles sont activées parfois de manière tellement automatique et involontaire que peu importe qu’elles soient des craintes justifiées ou non (souvent, ceux qui craignent le plus sont ceux qui n’ont jamais vécu avec une personne qui a reçu un diagnostic psychiatrique). La conséquence logique de tout cela est que les personnes avec le diagnostic sont constamment exposés au rejet et à l'exclusion .

Et malheureusement, les professionnels de la santé mentale ne sont souvent pas exemptés de ce qui précède. En fait, dans le but de comprendre ce phénomène et de le contrer, de nombreuses études scientifiques ont analysé les stigmates des professionnels de la santé à l’égard des utilisateurs de services, et en quoi cela nuit à l’attention et à la crée plus de problèmes que de solutions.

Une autre conséquence de la stigmatisation liée aux diagnostics psychiatriques est que, à comprendre comme quelque chose de négatif, dangereux et synonyme de maladie chronique source d'inconfort constant , les personnes qui peuvent avoir besoin de l'attention d'un service de santé mentale sont limitées ou arrêtées lorsqu'elles sollicitent ces soins.

C’est-à-dire que la stigmatisation suscite une peur et un rejet non seulement envers les personnes qui ont le diagnostic, mais aussi vers les services de santé mentale, avec lesquels, les malaises s’intensifient, les souffrances ne sont pas accompagnées, les comportements sont ils deviennent plus problématiques, etc.

Alternatives et résistances

Heureusement, étant donné le scénario désagréable décrit ci-dessus, le cas spécifique des personnes ayant un diagnostic de trouble mental a été proposé comme une question qui mérite une attention particulière depuis que les personnes diagnostiquées et leurs familles se sont élevées contre la stigmatisation et la discrimination.

Ce dernier a récemment bénéficié du soutien de nombreux professionnels de la santé mentale, ainsi que de nombreuses politiques publiques et organisations internationales. En fait, le 10 octobre de chaque année a été établi par l'ONU comme la Journée internationale de la santé mentale .

De plus, à différentes dates et dans le monde, les personnes diagnostiquées ont revendiqué la reconnaissance de la diversité des corps et des expériences, ainsi que la nécessité de continuer à lutter contre la stigmatisation en matière de santé mentale et de rechercher avant tout le respect des droits. .

Références bibliographiques:

  • López, M., Laviana, M., Fernández, L. et al. (2008). La lutte contre la stigmatisation et la discrimination en matière de santé mentale. Une stratégie complexe basée sur les informations disponibles. Journal de l'Association espagnole de neuropsychiatrie, 28 (101): 43-83
  • Muñoz, A. et Uriarte, J. (2006). Stigmatisation et maladie mentale. North Mental Health, (26): 49-59.

Stigmatisation, poids du diagnostic - Santé mentale (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes