yes, therapy helps!
Thoughts that sabotage us: this is how they act in our minds

Thoughts that sabotage us: this is how they act in our minds

September 24, 2022

Who has not ever had a thought like "I'm not going to be able to pass that test", "I'm never going to get a good job", "I'm not worth anything", "I'm sure I fall ill table companion "or" I will not find a partner ever "? These kinds of thoughts are known, in psychology, under the name of irrational beliefs .

These thoughts may sometimes appear in isolation, but they become a problem when they are repeated and so constant that they limit and block the person in certain facets and activities of daily life. As for example: in the workplace, when establishing social relationships, speaking in public or even in the care of children.


Thus, the worst of these beliefs is not just the fact that they are irrational, but that they act as blockers, as thoughts that sabotage us and limit .

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Emotional Intelligence? Discovering the importance of emotions"

The limiting thoughts

Since we came into the world, through receiving education and established relationships, we developed a way of thinking and we create some thought schemes in relation to the experiences and situations lived. Through these schemes we will interpret the information received from each situation we live, being for us an objective interpretation based on reality. However, the simple fact of devising certain thought patterns and not others makes us always experience what happens to us in a subjective way.


That does not mean that our way of thinking is totally "detached" from reality, of course. Some of our beliefs, although they do not correspond perfectly with reality, are realistic enough to work for us. However, others are largely irrational.

These irrational beliefs are misinterpretations of what happens around us. They are negative and automatic thoughts, which are beyond our control, it is as if our mind were boycotting us. It is these thoughts that can lead us to develop dysfunctional moods and generate great discomfort, without being aware of it, since for us our thoughts are reality.

  • Related article: "Intrusive thoughts: why they appear and how to manage them"

The magnetism of thoughts that sabotage

Interestingly, although the limiting thoughts are based on irrational beliefs, that does not mean that we end up rejecting them because they do not conform to reality. This is so because, by believing in them, they become, in part, a reality.


In fact, the discomfort generated by these beliefs, as well as the tendency to attribute success to luck and failures to our attributes, make Whatever happens, let's keep believing in these irrational ideas , which in turn makes us more likely to fail or fail to reach our goals because of fear and anxiety.

An example

From a specific stimulus a thought will be activated, and from this a chain of events will be generated. Thought is generator of emotion and emotion will lead to behavior.

For example, think of a person who goes by subway when suddenly the subway stops in the tunnel due to a breakdown and passengers spend more than thirty minutes locked in the car. Once past this episode, this person the next day will go up to the subway, again, to go to his work.

Once inside the car begin to shoot constant negative and automatic thoughts of the type "sure that the meter today is left standing", "as it comes back to stand up to me it gives me something", "I can not stand it here and over with so much people".

These thoughts begin to generate great discomfort in him, he begins to feel that the lack of air, that he can not breathe, the heart is accelerated, symptoms which make him worry more and that these "self-boosting thoughts" increase at times becoming a circle that is unstoppable for the person.

The man decides that the best idea will be to get off the car at the next stop, even if it is not his, once he is outside he finds himself much better and the thoughts diminish. This is avoidance behavior , seeing in this example to what extent these thoughts can be limiting.

  • Related article: "What is the control locus?"

Learned helplessness

If we get used to feeding this type of irrational beliefs, we fall into the trap; the limiting thoughts end up dominating us , that is, we lose control over them and become a real time bomb for us. We let ourselves be totally carried away by them. Why? Because for us it is our reality, it is what we have learned to interpret from a certain situation.

And is that our brain always goes further to turn this situation into something catastrophic and unsolvable. When we are at this point we can act in a passive way, that is, we see that there is nothing to do. This in psychology is known as learned helplessness ; The person is inhibited in certain situations due to the feeling he has of not being able to do anything and does not respond even though there are opportunities to change the situation which he avoids.

This can happen for example before a type of cognitive error known as divination of thought, for example, someone will have thought more than once "so that I will study if I always suspend this subject". There is a real possibility that the person can do something in this situation, perhaps you need to study or try harder than with other subjects, but your thinking is that you will never get to approve it.

This idea will have appeared from previous experiences where it has been able to suspend several times, probably appearing the catastrophic type of cognitive distortion "I will never approve this subject, I will go to September, but in September I will not approve and finally I will never be able to get my degree". This passive position we adopted in the face of the situation can lead to a deep sadness and even to develop depressive feelings, so you can see the force that our thoughts can have on ourselves.

  • Related article: "Learned helplessness: delving into the psychology of the victim"

What to do? Possible solutions

It is important that little by little learn to identify your own cognitive distortions and the emotions that are triggered by these thoughts. If you detect them you will have a greater capacity to control them and prevent them from limiting you and dominating in different areas of our lives.

Writing about these thoughts and feelings is also very beneficial. It helps us to externalize and put out of our discomfort, it allows us to give it a shape and a sense and for a moment we can cut that circle that feeds itself again and again.

If these types of thoughts constantly assail you, it is because something is not right inside you: maybe you have a damaged self-esteem or you have been going through a difficult situation that you do not know how to face. Pay attention to the signals and alarms that your mind and body put into operation and perhaps they are warning you that it is time to ask for help. We can help you.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Des pensées qui nous sabotent: voici comment elles agissent dans notre esprit

Des pensées qui nous sabotent: voici comment elles agissent dans notre esprit

Janvier 22, 2021

Qui n'a jamais eu une pensée du genre "je ne vais pas être capable de passer ce test", "je ne vais jamais avoir un bon travail", "je ne vaux rien", "je suis sûr de tomber malade compagnon de table "ou" Je ne trouverai jamais de partenaire "? Ce genre de pensées est connu, en psychologie, sous le nom de croyances irrationnelles .

Ces pensées peuvent parfois apparaître isolément, mais ils deviennent un problème quand ils sont répétés et si constants qu'ils limitent et bloquent la personne dans certaines facettes et activités de la vie quotidienne. Par exemple, sur le lieu de travail, lors de l'établissement de relations sociales, en public ou même sous la garde de vos enfants.


Ainsi, la pire de ces croyances n’est pas simplement le fait qu’elles sont irrationnelles, mais elles agissent en tant que bloqueurs, comme des pensées qui nous sabotent et limitent .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle? Découvrir l'importance des émotions"

Les pensées limitantes

Depuis que nous sommes venus au monde, en recevant une éducation et en établissant des relations, nous avons développé une façon de penser et nous créons des schémas de pensée en relation avec les expériences et les situations vécues. A travers ces schémas, nous allons interpréter les informations reçues de chaque situation dans laquelle nous vivons, ce qui constitue pour nous une interprétation objective basée sur la réalité. Cependant, le simple fait de concevoir certains schémas de pensée, et non d’autres, fait que nous faisons toujours l'expérience de ce qui nous arrive de manière subjective.


Cela ne signifie pas que notre façon de penser est totalement "détachée" de la réalité, bien sûr. Certaines de nos croyances, bien qu’elles ne correspondent pas parfaitement à la réalité, sont suffisamment réalistes pour fonctionner pour nous. Cependant, d'autres sont en grande partie irrationnels.

Ces croyances irrationnelles sont des interprétations erronées de ce qui se passe autour de nous. Ce sont des pensées négatives et automatiques, qui échappent à notre contrôle, c'est comme si notre esprit nous boycottait. Ce sont ces pensées qui peuvent nous amener à développer des humeurs dysfonctionnelles et à générer un grand inconfort, sans en avoir conscience, puisque nos pensées sont pour nous une réalité.

  • Article connexe: "Pensées intrusives: pourquoi elles apparaissent et comment les gérer"

Le magnétisme des pensées qui sabotent

Fait intéressant, bien que les pensées limitantes soient basées sur des croyances irrationnelles, cela ne signifie pas que nous finissons par les rejeter car elles ne sont pas conformes à la réalité. En effet, en y croyant, ils deviennent en partie une réalité.


En fait, le malaise généré par ces croyances, ainsi que la tendance à attribuer le succès à la chance et les échecs à nos attributs, en font Quoi qu'il arrive, continuons à croire en ces idées irrationnelles , ce qui nous rend plus susceptibles d'échouer ou non d'atteindre nos objectifs en raison de la peur et de l'anxiété.

Un exemple

À partir d'un stimulus spécifique, une pensée sera activée et une chaîne d'événements sera générée. La pensée est génératrice d'émotion et l'émotion mènera au comportement.

Par exemple, imaginez une personne qui passe en métro lorsque le métro s’arrête brusquement dans le tunnel en raison d’une panne et que les passagers passent plus de trente minutes dans la voiture. Une fois passé cet épisode, le lendemain, cette personne montera dans le métro pour se rendre à son travail.

Une fois à l’intérieur de la voiture, des pensées négatives et automatiques du type «Assurez-vous que le compteur est laissé debout» commencent à apparaître. personnes".

Ces pensées commencent à générer un grand inconfort en lui, il commence à sentir que le manque d'air, qu'il ne peut pas respirer, que le cœur est accéléré, que les symptômes le rendent plus inquiet et que un cercle qui est imparable pour la personne.

L’homme décide que la meilleure idée sera de descendre de la voiture au prochain arrêt, même si ce n’est pas le sien. Une fois dehors, il se trouvera beaucoup mieux et les pensées diminueront. C'est un comportement d'évitement , en voyant dans cet exemple dans quelle mesure ces pensées peuvent être limitantes.

  • Article connexe: "Quel est le locus de contrôle?"

Impuissance acquise

Si nous nous habituons à nourrir ce type de croyances irrationnelles, nous tombons dans le piège. les pensées limitantes finissent par nous dominer c’est-à-dire que nous en perdons le contrôle et devenons une véritable bombe à retardement pour nous. Nous nous sommes laissé totalement emporter par eux. Parce que? Parce que pour nous c'est notre réalité, c'est ce que nous avons appris à interpréter à partir d'une certaine situation.

Et est-ce que notre cerveau va toujours plus loin pour transformer cette situation en quelque chose de catastrophique et insoluble. Lorsque nous en sommes à ce stade, nous pouvons agir de manière passive, c'est-à-dire que nous voyons qu'il n'y a rien à faire. Ceci en psychologie est connu comme impuissance acquise ; La personne est inhibée dans certaines situations en raison du sentiment qu’elle a de ne pouvoir rien faire et ne répond pas même s’il existe des possibilités de changer la situation qu’elle évite.

Cela peut se produire par exemple avant un type d'erreur cognitive appelée divination de la pensée, par exemple, quelqu'un aura réfléchi plus d'une fois "afin que j'étudie si je suspends toujours ce sujet". Il existe une possibilité réelle que la personne puisse faire quelque chose dans cette situation. Peut-être devez-vous étudier ou essayer plus fort qu'avec d'autres matières, mais vous pensez que vous ne pourrez jamais l'approuver.

Cette idée sera apparue d'expériences précédentes où il a été capable de suspendre plusieurs fois, apparaissant probablement le type catastrophique de distorsion cognitive "Je n'approuverai jamais ce sujet, j'irai en septembre, mais en septembre je n'approuverai pas et je ne pourrai jamais obtenir mon diplôme". Cette position passive que nous avons adoptée face à la situation peut conduire à une profonde tristesse et même pour développer des sentiments dépressifs, afin que vous puissiez voir la force que nos pensées peuvent avoir sur nous-mêmes.

  • Article connexe: "Impuissance acquise: plonger dans la psychologie de la victime"

Que faire? Des solutions possibles

Il est important que petit à petit apprendre à identifier ses propres distorsions cognitives et les émotions déclenchées par ces pensées. Si vous les détectez, vous aurez une plus grande capacité à les contrôler et à les empêcher de vous limiter et de dominer dans différents domaines de notre vie.

Écrire sur ces pensées et ces sentiments est également très bénéfique. Cela nous aide à extérioriser et à sortir de notre inconfort, cela nous permet de lui donner une forme et un sens et pour un moment, nous pouvons couper ce cercle qui se nourrit encore et encore.

Si ces types de pensées vous assaillent constamment, c'est que quelque chose ne va pas en vous: vous avez peut-être une mauvaise estime de vous-même ou vous traversez une situation difficile que vous ne savez pas comment affronter. Faites attention aux signaux et aux alarmes que votre corps et votre esprit mettent en marche et peut-être vous avertissent-ils qu'il est temps de demander de l'aide. Nous pouvons vous aider.


Sabotez-vous votre vie? Comment arrêter nos pensées destructrices? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes