yes, therapy helps!
Toxic brothers: 10 conflicts between problematic brothers

Toxic brothers: 10 conflicts between problematic brothers

November 27, 2021

It is known that l The family is extremely important in our lives. It is a socializing agent essential for our development. In fact, at early ages, the family is vital for survival, because humans need the help of adults for a relatively long period of time.

In addition, its relevance does not end there; the role of parents is essential to be able to grow up healthy and prepared to face the problems that may arise throughout our lives, even when we are already largely self-employed.

But parents are not the only important family figure for us; When they are present, the brothers are also usually there in the good times and the bad times. However, there are times when this fraternal relationship can become toxic. In this article, we will talk about the entrenched conflicts that may arise between brothers, and the concept of "toxic brothers" .


  • You may be interested: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

A brother is a friend given by nature

The brothers not only share our genes, culture, education or social class, they also share the vast majority of experiences that happen to us within the family and live the same events as us.

However, Each person is unique and has his own personality. Two brothers raised under the same roof can develop different ways of behaving, however, both share the same memories and experiences.

Siblings are people you trust, who will rarely turn their backs on you; They can become our best friends. As the French poet and writer, Ernest Legouve says, "a brother is a friend given by nature."


When the relationship between siblings is not good

But Fraternal relationships can also be complicated . From small, the fights can be frequent, and of adults, some brothers can finish badly by different reasons, for example, by economic subjects. The complicated relationships between siblings can become very intense and generate situations in which hostility, rivalry, competitiveness, jealousy and sometimes hatred can manifest.

When a brother thinks that he is treated differently by the parents, when he thinks he is the black sheep of the family or when he receives a shared inheritance and does not have the same opinion as his other brother about what they should do with a property they have inherited, the battle can be very destructive.

Reasons for conflicts between brothers

Whether in childhood or in adulthood, there are many reasons for these fraternal disputes. Below you can find a list of reasons why siblings have toxic relationships:


1. Economic reasons

In adulthood, the brothers may stop speaking for different economic reasons. Some brothers fight because they share a company, and when the liquidity problems arrive, the relationship is affected. Others, however, experience a patrimonial fight (especially, by inheritance). The economic reasons they are a frequent source of family breakdown if you do not know how to manage these conflicts.

2. Search for attention

At early ages, siblings may be continuously fighting because they seek the attention of parents . Generally, they are usually tantrums that do not reach more, but in other occasions, the relationship can become conflictive, because the accumulation of conflicts can generate greater conflicts.

3. Comparisons of parents

Sometimes it is the parents who generate unsafe children. Children who, in one way or another, will seek the attention of the elderly to feel loved. One of the children may be very good at school, because they are good at the subjects taught at the school, whether it is mathematics or social science. In contrast, the other child may have great talent, for example, drawing or dancing.

This last brother will need the love of the parents to develop that passion that he treasures, but, as it happens many times, some parents only contemplate school grades when assessing the success of a child . That child may feel very frustrated, which may cause some rivalry with his other brother to feel underestimated.

4. Unfair parental treatment

Comparisons between siblings are not good, but it is not positive either to not treat children equitably. This can happen, for example, with the clothes that their parents buy them, the amount of money that they give them for the weekly pay or even the amount of love samples (hugs, kisses, etc.) that the parents distribute. Children are especially sensitive to this type of behavior of parents Therefore, care must be taken not to treat one child better than another.

5. Age difference

It seems that the difference in age can determine conflicts. Research shows that Children who are less than two years apart from each other they often have more conflicts than children with a greater age difference.

The older brother, whether a boy or girl, is usually more caring and understanding towards the younger. If the older brother is quite different in age, he may come to understand some of the reasons why his little brother is reacting in a certain way.

6. The stage of development

The stage of development can also influence when generating conflicts. For example, the brothers may have a better relationship in school age, but when they reach high school and the stage of change, the older brother may be a little disinterested in his relationship with his younger brother. The younger brother, in this case, can seek elder brother's attention through disputes .

7. Personal possessions

Another reason that fights between brother begin is when someone touches the other person's personal possessions. At younger ages it can be a toy, but in adolescence it is a piece of clothing. This can generate conflicts, especially if the object that they have borrowed without warning is damaged .

8. Different personalities

We all have different personalities and interests and this can generate many conflicts. Some people get irritated more easily than others, some are introverted, others extroverted, etc. The clash of personalities can cause serious disputes in fraternal relationships.

9. Deficit of social skills

If in some occasions it is the personality that causes the conflict, in others, it is the lack of social skills. Conflicts can arise in any interpersonal relationship, but A good command of social skills can help that conflict to be solved correctly . Otherwise, it may even end worse.

The ability to resolve their own problems and conflicts, empathy or the ability to negotiate and dialogue, among others, are factors that influence how family problems are resolved. Here parents have a lot to say.

  • Related article: "The 14 main social skills to succeed in life"

10. Jealousy and envy

Jealousy and envy can be a source of conflict in the relationships of siblings at any age . Sometimes it is the insecurity of one of the brothers that causes this situation, because this can feel a tremendous sense of frustration to see that his brother has a better job or a spectacular partner.


10 Ways to Deal With a Toxic Sibling (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Frères toxiques: 10 conflits entre frères problématiques

Frères toxiques: 10 conflits entre frères problématiques

Juin 24, 2022

On sait que l La famille est extrêmement importante dans nos vies. C'est un agent de socialisation essentiel à notre développement. En fait, à un âge précoce, la famille est vitale pour la survie, car les humains ont besoin de l'aide des adultes pendant une période relativement longue.

De plus, sa pertinence ne s’arrête pas là; le rôle des parents est essentiel pour pouvoir grandir en bonne santé et être prêt à faire face aux problèmes qui peuvent survenir tout au long de notre vie, même lorsque nous sommes déjà largement indépendants.

Mais les parents ne sont pas la seule figure familiale importante pour nous; Quand ils sont présents, les frères sont aussi généralement présents aux bons et aux mauvais moments. Cependant, il y a des moments où cette relation fraternelle peut devenir toxique. Dans cet article, nous allons parler des conflits enracinés qui peuvent survenir entre frères, et le concept de "frères toxiques" .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Familles toxiques: 4 façons de provoquer des troubles mentaux"

Un frère est un ami donné par la nature

Les frères partagent non seulement nos gènes, notre culture, notre éducation ou notre classe sociale, mais partagent également la grande majorité des expériences vécues au sein de la famille et vivent les mêmes événements que nous.

Maintenant bien, Chaque personne est unique et a sa propre personnalité. Deux frères élevés sous le même toit peuvent développer des comportements différents. Ils partagent cependant les mêmes souvenirs et les mêmes expériences.

Les frères et soeurs sont des personnes de confiance, qui te tourneront rarement le dos; Ils peuvent devenir nos meilleurs amis. Comme le dit le poète et écrivain français Ernest Legouve, "un frère est un ami de la nature".


Quand la relation entre frères et soeurs n'est pas bonne

Mais Les relations fraternelles peuvent aussi être compliquées . De petite taille, les combats peuvent être fréquents, et chez les adultes, certains frères peuvent finir mal pour différentes raisons, par exemple par des sujets économiques. Les relations compliquées entre frères et soeurs peuvent devenir très intenses et générer des situations dans lesquelles l'hostilité, la rivalité, la compétitivité, la jalousie et parfois la haine peuvent se manifester.

Quand un frère pense qu'il est traité différemment par les parents, quand il pense qu'il est le mouton noir de la famille ou lorsqu'il reçoit un héritage partagé et qu'il n'a pas la même opinion que son autre frère sur ce qu'ils devraient faire avec une propriété dont ils ont hérité, la bataille peut être très destructrice.

Raisons des conflits entre frères

Que ce soit dans l'enfance ou à l'âge adulte, ces disputes fraternelles ont de nombreuses raisons. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des raisons pour lesquelles les frères et soeurs ont des relations toxiques:


1. Des raisons économiques

À l'âge adulte, les frères peuvent cesser de parler pour différentes raisons économiques. Certains frères se disputent parce qu’ils partagent une entreprise et lorsque les problèmes de liquidité se présentent, la relation en souffre. D'autres, cependant, connaissent un combat patrimonial (en particulier par héritage). Les raisons économiques ils sont une source fréquente de rupture familiale si vous ne savez pas comment gérer ces conflits.

2. Recherche d'attention

Au tout jeune âge, les frères et sœurs peuvent être continuellement se battre parce qu'ils recherchent l'attention des parents . Généralement, ce sont des crises qui n'atteignent pas davantage, mais à d'autres occasions, la relation peut devenir conflictuelle, car l'accumulation de conflits peut générer des conflits plus importants.

3. Comparaisons des parents

Parfois, ce sont les parents qui génèrent des enfants peu sûrs. Les enfants qui, d'une manière ou d'une autre, vont attirer l'attention des personnes âgées pour se sentir aimées. L'un des enfants peut être très bon à l'école, parce qu'il est bon dans les matières enseignées à l'école, que ce soit en mathématiques ou en sciences sociales. En revanche, l’autre enfant peut avoir un grand talent, par exemple dessiner ou danser.

Ce dernier frère aura besoin de l’amour des parents pour développer cette passion qu’il chérit, mais, comme il arrive souvent, certains parents ne considèrent que les résultats scolaires lorsqu'ils évaluent le succès d'un enfant . Cet enfant peut se sentir très frustré, ce qui peut entraîner une certaine sous-estimation de la rivalité avec son autre frère.

4. Traitement parental injuste

Les comparaisons entre frères et soeurs ne sont pas bonnes, mais il n'est pas non plus positif de ne pas traiter les enfants de manière équitable. Cela peut arriver, par exemple, avec les vêtements que leurs parents leur achètent, la somme d'argent qu'ils leur donnent pour le salaire hebdomadaire ou même la quantité d'échantillons d'amour (câlins, bisous, etc.) que les parents distribuent. Les enfants sont particulièrement sensibles à ce type de comportement des parents Par conséquent, il faut prendre soin de ne pas traiter un enfant mieux qu'un autre.

5. Différence d'âge

Il semble que la différence d'âge puisse déterminer les conflits. La recherche montre que Enfants séparés de moins de deux ans ils ont souvent plus de conflits que les enfants avec une différence d'âge plus grande.

Le frère aîné, garçon ou fille, est généralement plus attentionné et compréhensif envers les plus jeunes. Si le frère aîné a un âge assez différent, il comprendra peut-être certaines des raisons pour lesquelles son petit frère réagit d'une certaine manière.

6. Le stade de développement

Le stade de développement peut également influer sur la génération de conflits. Par exemple, les frères ont peut-être une meilleure relation à l’âge scolaire, mais lorsqu’ils atteignent l’école secondaire et le stade du changement, le frère aîné peut être un peu désintéressé de sa relation avec son frère cadet. Le frère cadet, dans ce cas, peut solliciter l'attention de son grand frère à travers des disputes .

7. possessions personnelles

Une autre raison pour laquelle les combats commencent entre frères est lorsque quelqu'un touche les biens personnels de l'autre personne. Plus jeune, cela peut être un jouet, mais à l'adolescence, c'est un vêtement. Cela peut générer des conflits, surtout si l'objet qu'ils ont emprunté sans avertissement est endommagé .

8. Différentes personnalités

Nous avons tous des personnalités et des intérêts différents, ce qui peut générer de nombreux conflits. Certaines personnes s'irritent plus facilement que d'autres, certaines sont introverties, d'autres extraverties, etc. Le choc des personnalités peut provoquer de graves conflits dans les relations fraternelles.

9. Déficit de compétences sociales

Si dans certaines occasions, c'est la personnalité qui cause le conflit, dans d'autres, c'est le manque de compétences sociales. Des conflits peuvent survenir dans toute relation interpersonnelle, mais Une bonne maîtrise des compétences sociales peut aider à résoudre correctement ce conflit . Sinon, cela pourrait même finir pire.

La capacité de résoudre leurs propres problèmes et conflits, l'empathie ou la capacité de négocier et de dialoguer, entre autres, sont des facteurs qui influencent la manière dont les problèmes familiaux sont résolus. Ici, les parents ont beaucoup à dire.

  • Article connexe: "Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"

10. Jalousie et envie

La jalousie et l'envie peuvent être une source de conflit dans les relations des frères et sœurs à tout âge . Parfois, c'est l'insécurité de l'un des frères qui est à l'origine de cette situation, car le fait de voir son frère occuper un meilleur travail ou un partenaire spectaculaire peut susciter un vif sentiment de frustration.


La problématique du célibat, quelles solutions ? - Ali Habibbi (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes