yes, therapy helps!
Phencyclidine (PCP): uses, effects and precautions

Phencyclidine (PCP): uses, effects and precautions

November 29, 2022

The one of the phencyclidine or PCP is a curious case since it is a psychoactive substance that, after being developed as an anesthetic, was discarded due to its side effects. However, some people continue to use it recreationally in various ways. Within the phencyclidine family we find compounds such as thiophene or the better known ketamine.

This recreational drug, in addition to causing a series of pleasant effects, also brings with it numerous adverse effects due to the fact that its active principle is very little selective. Let's see through what mechanism this drug acts and what are its effects .

What is phencyclidine

Phencyclidine is a dissociative drug that can be consumed orally, intravenously, smoked and inhaled . Commonly known as "angel dust", it is usually consumed sporadically and spaced out over time. Normally it is not consumed alone, but is accompanied by other drugs. For example, many people mix it with cocaine or MDMA, modifying or enhancing its effects.


After abandoning its use in humans to see that it produced too many side effects, phencyclidine has been reduced to the veterinary field. In its purest form, PCP is a perfectly crystalline, easily soluble powder. The one that is in the street, nevertheless, can be yellowish or brown forming a species of paste or conglomerate due to the additives and substances that are added to it in their illegal production.

Mechanism of action

Phencyclidine is a non-competitive antagonist of NMDA receptors . This means that it is a substance that prevents the excitation of glutamate receptors, inhibiting them. In addition, it also blocks other receptors such as the ion channels of the nicotinic acetylcholine receptors, and is an opioid gonist.


In this way, the acetylcholine-dependent activity is reduced and also increases the production of amines such as serotonin or dopamine, similar to what occurs with ecstasy or MDMA. In addition, phencyclidine is involved in a large number of intraneuronal processes.

Effects of this drug

The experiences one can expect when taking phencyclidine are multiple. Although it is true that they depend on the dose administered, they also vary from person to person.

Of course, the interaction with other drugs will also produce specific effects that are not achieved only by phencyclidine.

1. Dissociation

The effect that more people look for through phencyclidine and that is more characteristic of these compounds is that of dissociation . You feel as if you are detaching yourself from your surroundings, you feel like your body does not belong to your surroundings. You experience a sense of distance with reality, as if you were seeing life through a screen.


The sensation of unreality characteristic of phencyclidine can be fun for some, but for others it can become a terrifying experience in which the individual does not know if it will ever end or stay in this state forever.

2. Alteration of sensitivity

Due to its analgesic effects, phencyclidine produces numerous alterations of touch and proprioception . After consumption, it is possible that the touch is numb and that sensations that before could be painful become tolerable or even pleasant. It is possible for one to feel that one's own body does not weigh, as if it were made of foam and were just as light.

3. Altered motor skills

The movements of people affected by phencyclidine are slow and slow . Even if you feel that your body does not weigh, it is very difficult to move it and it is done very slowly. Extremities can become numb and speech can become mushy. Consonants are dragged and in general articulating can be very complicated. Many times, because you do not perceive your own weight well and everything seems to go slower, the movement of these people when moving is very exaggerated and it seems that they do it in slow motion.

4. Eye alterations

With the consumption of phencyclidine it is easy to observe eye phenomena that are very characteristic . The usual thing is that the person under the effects of phencyclidine seems to be looking at the void, to have a lost look even if it is actually present. In addition, involuntary and rapid movements of the eyes can appear, similar to those that happen in the REM phase while we sleep, but less frequent and exaggerated.

5. Hallucinations and distortions

At certain doses it is perfectly normal to suffer hallucinations, especially of the auditory type . Voices that speak, voices that talk among themselves, etc., are the hallucinations that characterize schizophrenic patients. Sometimes it is practically impossible to differentiate the hallucinations of these patients with those who have consumed phencyclidine. In addition to hallucinations, visual perceptual distortions can occur.

6Emotional alterations

Consumption can produce high anxiety during and after having the psychoactive effects of the drug . In some cases the person who consumes may experience extreme anxiety that can lead to the edge of an anxiety crisis. In addition, due to the alteration in the production of amines, the mood can also vary. In the same way that you can experience euphoria and a feeling of being invincible, there are periods in which the individual feels such a psychic slump that can recreate the characteristics of an authentic major depressive episode.

7. Undesirable physiological effects

In addition to the described alterations that can be searched or not, phencyclidine causes a series of changes in physiological functioning that can be very unpleasant , especially in high consumption. Blood pressure drops occur that can end in fainting, decreased heart rate and respiratory depression. This can be accompanied by vomiting, dizziness and feeling that everything is spinning, drooling and a complete loss of balance.

In very high doses or dangerous interactions seizures, coma and even death can occur through an accident caused by the effects of phencyclidine, such as motor clumsiness or the sensation of invulnerability.


PCP (Phencyclidine): What You Need To Know (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Phencyclidine (PCP): utilisations, effets et précautions

Phencyclidine (PCP): utilisations, effets et précautions

Juin 27, 2022

Celui de la phencyclidine ou PCP C'est un cas curieux puisqu'il s'agit d'une substance psychoactive qui, après avoir été développée comme anesthésique, a été écartée en raison de ses effets secondaires. Cependant, certaines personnes continuent à l'utiliser de manière récréative de différentes manières. Dans la famille de la phencyclidine, nous trouvons des composés tels que le thiophène ou la kétamine plus connue.

Cette drogue à usage récréatif, en plus de provoquer une série d'effets agréables, entraîne également de nombreux effets indésirables dus au fait que son principe actif est très peu sélectif. Voyons à travers quel mécanisme ce médicament agit et quels sont ses effets .

Quelle est la phencyclidine

La phencyclidine est un médicament dissociatif qui peut être consommé par voie orale, intraveineuse, fumée et inhalée. . Communément appelé "poussière d'ange", il est généralement consommé de manière sporadique et espacé dans le temps. Normalement, il n'est pas consommé seul, mais accompagné d'autres médicaments. Par exemple, beaucoup de gens le mélangent avec de la cocaïne ou de la MDMA, modifiant ou renforçant ses effets.


Après avoir abandonné son utilisation chez l’homme pour constater qu’elle produisait trop d’effets secondaires, la phencyclidine a été réduite au domaine vétérinaire. Dans sa forme la plus pure, le PCP est une poudre parfaitement cristalline et facilement soluble. Celui qui se trouve dans la rue peut néanmoins être jaunâtre ou brun, formant une espèce de pâte ou de conglomérat en raison des additifs et des substances qui y sont ajoutés lors de leur production illégale.

Mécanisme d'action

La phencyclidine est un antagoniste non compétitif des récepteurs NMDA . Cela signifie que c'est une substance qui empêche l'excitation des récepteurs du glutamate, en les inhibant. En outre, il bloque également d'autres récepteurs tels que les canaux ioniques des récepteurs nicotiniques de l'acétylcholine et est un goniste opioïde.


De cette manière, l'activité dépendante de l'acétylcholine est réduite et augmente également la production d'amines telles que la sérotonine ou la dopamine, comme cela se produit avec l'ecstasy ou la MDMA. De plus, la phencyclidine est impliquée dans un grand nombre de processus intraneuronaux.

Effets de ce médicament

Les expériences auxquelles on peut s'attendre en prenant de la phencyclidine sont multiples. Bien qu'il soit vrai qu'ils dépendent de la dose administrée, ils varient également d'une personne à l'autre.

Bien entendu, l’interaction avec d’autres médicaments produira également des effets spécifiques qui ne sont pas atteints uniquement par la phencyclidine.

1. Dissociation

L’effet que plus de gens recherchent à travers la phencyclidine et qui est plus caractéristique de ces composés est celui de la dissociation . Vous vous sentez comme si vous vous détachez de votre environnement, vous sentez que votre corps n'appartient pas à votre environnement. Vous ressentez un sentiment de distance avec la réalité, comme si vous voyiez la vie à travers un écran.


La sensation d'irréalité caractéristique de la phencyclidine peut être amusante pour certains, mais pour d'autres, elle peut devenir une expérience terrifiante dans laquelle l'individu ne sait pas s'il finira ou restera dans cet état pour toujours.

2. Altération de la sensibilité

En raison de ses effets analgésiques, la phencyclidine provoque de nombreuses altérations du toucher et de la proprioception . Après la consommation, il est possible que le toucher soit engourdi et que les sensations douloureuses deviennent tolérables, voire agréables. Il est possible de sentir que son propre corps ne pèse pas, comme s'il était en mousse et tout aussi léger.

3. altération de la motricité

Les mouvements des personnes atteintes de phencyclidine sont lents et lents . Même si vous sentez que votre corps ne pèse pas, il est très difficile de le déplacer et cela se fait très lentement. Les extrémités peuvent devenir engourdies et la parole peut devenir pâteuse. Les consonnes sont traînées et en général, articuler peut être très compliqué. Plusieurs fois, parce que vous ne percevez pas bien votre propre poids et que tout semble aller plus lentement, le mouvement de ces personnes lors de leurs déplacements est très exagéré et il semble qu’ils le fassent au ralenti.

4. altérations oculaires

Avec la consommation de phencyclidine, il est facile d'observer des phénomènes oculaires très caractéristiques . La chose habituelle est que la personne sous les effets de la phencyclidine semble regarder le vide, avoir un regard perdu même s’il est réellement présent. En outre, des mouvements oculaires involontaires et rapides peuvent apparaître, similaires à ceux qui se produisent pendant la phase de sommeil paradoxal pendant le sommeil, mais moins fréquents et exagérés.

5. Hallucinations et distorsions

A certaines doses, il est tout à fait normal de souffrir d'hallucinations, notamment du type auditif . Les voix qui parlent, les voix qui se parlent entre elles, etc., sont les hallucinations qui caractérisent les patients schizophrènes. Parfois, il est pratiquement impossible de différencier les hallucinations de ces patients avec ceux qui ont consommé de la phencyclidine. En plus des hallucinations, des distorsions visuelles de la perception peuvent se produire.

6Altérations émotionnelles

La consommation peut engendrer une forte anxiété pendant et après les effets psychoactifs de la drogue. . Dans certains cas, la personne qui consomme peut faire l'expérience d'une anxiété extrême pouvant mener au bord d'une crise d'anxiété. De plus, en raison de la modification de la production d'amines, l'humeur peut également varier. De la même manière que vous pouvez expérimenter l'euphorie et le sentiment d'être invincible, il existe des périodes au cours desquelles l'individu ressent une telle dépression psychique qui peut recréer les caractéristiques d'un épisode dépressif majeur authentique.

7. Effets physiologiques indésirables

En plus des modifications décrites qui peuvent être recherchées ou non, la phencyclidine provoque une série de modifications du fonctionnement physiologique qui peuvent être très désagréables , surtout en forte consommation. Il en résulte des baisses de tension artérielle qui peuvent entraîner des évanouissements, une diminution du rythme cardiaque et une dépression respiratoire. Cela peut être accompagné de vomissements, de vertiges et du sentiment que tout tourne, de baver et une perte totale d’équilibre.

À des doses très élevées ou des interactions dangereuses, des crises, du coma et même la mort peuvent survenir suite à un accident causé par les effets de la phencyclidine, tel qu'une maladresse motrice ou une sensation d'invulnérabilité.


MDMA (Molly, Ecstasy): What You Need To Know (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes