yes, therapy helps!
Milnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug

Milnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug

September 13, 2022

There are a lot of antidepressants in the market, having been synthesizing different substances in order to reduce or eliminate the typical symptomatology of depressive episodes.

The different types interact at different levels and in different ways with one or more neurotransmitters, achieving more or less powerful effects and being more or less effective in certain cases. Among the great variety of these drugs that exist, in this article Let's talk about milnacipran, a very useful antidepressant IRSN .

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is the milnacipran?

Milnacipran is a psychopharmaceutical developed for the purpose of combating depressive symptoms, being a medically part of the group of antidepressants. Within them, it is classified as a specific inhibitor of the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline or IRSN.


This drug is of great help in the treatment of problems such as passivity and the lack of motivation and energy shown by many subjects with depression, as well as when it comes to combating cognitive symptoms. It also allows improving the level of concentration and attention.

Although it is a medicine approved and used in much of the world, it is certain that not all countries have the same approved indications, since the authorities of different regions have considered that there is not enough data on their efficacy in specific disorders. However, it does take into account that it generates benefits in the treatment of both depression and other problems , the main one being fibromyalgia.


  • Maybe you're interested: "IRSN: uses and side effects of these drugs"

Mechanism of action of the drug

Milnacipran is an SNRI, an inhibitor of the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline. This means that its main mechanism of action is based on preventing the presynaptic neurons reabsorb part of the neurotransmitters that have secreted (in this case, specifically serotonin and noradrenaline), so that said neurotransmitter remains more available in the synaptic space. Thus, there are higher brain concentrations of noradrenaline and serotonin.

One aspect of milnacipran that stands out is that it presents a greater performance at noradrenergic level than serotonergic (in a relationship that some studies indicate is 3: 1), something uncommon in most antidepressants. This characteristic is shared with another psychopharmaceutical, which in fact has arisen from milnacipran and is its enantiomer (same chemical components, but rotated): the levomilnacipran .


  • Related article: "Levomilnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug"

Disorders in which it is used

Milnacipran is a psychotropic drug whose properties make it useful in different disorders and pathologies. The properties of this drug make it suitable for the treatment of major depression, in which it has an efficacy similar to that of venlafaxine (another SNRI) or that of SSRIs. It is especially useful in the treatment of subjects who exhibit passivity and with little mobility and energy , used in moderate and severe depressions. It has also been applied to anxious depressions and to disorders such as generalized anxiety disorder.

Likewise, several studies have shown that milnacipran is also very useful in the treatment of medical problems that present with chronic pain, such as fibromyalgia. In the latter disorder, it contributes to an improvement both in reducing pain and in the cognitive symptoms that often accompany fibromyalgia. It also seems to improve the mobility of the subjects who suffer from it.

Depending on the place

Interestingly, although this is a substance with antidepressant effects, In the United States, its application in the treatment of major depressive disorder is not approved . In that country milnacipran is approved only for the treatment of fibromyalgia. On the other hand, in much of Europe (including Spain) milnacipran does not have specific indication for fibromyalgia, but in depression.

Despite these differences, the fact is that those affected by both types of condition (which can also occur jointly) have presented an improvement in the symptomatology, being applied in clinical practice both in one and in another.

Side effects and risks

As with most drugs and psychotropic drugs, the use of milnacipran can be very useful for a large number of people, but sometimes it can generate side effects unpleasant and even pose a risk to some people

Some of the most common side effects are hyperhidrosis or excessive sweating, nausea and vomiting, dizziness and hot flashes, blurred vision, constipation , urinary difficulties or decreased libido. Other more serious side effects are the possibility of tachycardia and hypertension, decreased partner levels and liver problems. It has also been seen that in some severe cases it can cause seizures.

It has also been seen that in some people with bipolar disorder, it can lead to a manic episode, as well as to exacerbate hallucinations and delusions in patients with psychotic disorders. Although some studies seem to indicate that it is not frequent, it can also facilitate the appearance of suicidal thoughts.

Regarding contraindications, should not take milnacipran pregnant or lactating , as well as in minors. It is contraindicated in people with heart problems (especially those who have suffered a heart attack recently) and kidney problems, as well as in narrow-angle glaucoma or urinary problems. Finally, it is contraindicated if the subject follows a treatment with MAOI antidepressants, since their combination could generate a serotonin syndrome.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cording, M .; Derry, S .; Phillips, T .; Moore, R. & Wiffen, P.J. (2015). Milnacipran for fibromyalgia in adults. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 10. Art. No .: CD008244. DOI: 10.1002 / 14651858.CD008244.pub3.
  • Montgomery, S. & Briley, M. (2010). Milnacipran: recent findings in depression. Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment, 6 (Suppl 1): 1-2.

Savella For Fibromyalgia & Warnings⚠ (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Milnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Milnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Septembre 27, 2022

Il y a beaucoup d'antidépresseurs sur le marché, ayant synthétisé différentes substances afin de réduire ou d’éliminer la symptomatologie typique des épisodes dépressifs.

Les différents types interagissent à différents niveaux et de différentes manières avec un ou plusieurs neurotransmetteurs, produisant des effets plus ou moins puissants et plus ou moins efficaces dans certains cas. Parmi la grande variété de ces médicaments qui existent, dans cet article Parlons de milnacipran, un antidépresseur très utile, l’IRSN .

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que le milnacipran?

Le milnacipran est un psychopharmaceutique mis au point dans le but de lutter contre les symptômes dépressifs. Il fait partie du groupe des antidépresseurs sur le plan médical. En leur sein, il est classé comme un inhibiteur spécifique de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline ou IRSN.


Ce médicament est d'une grande aide dans le traitement de problèmes tels que la passivité et le manque de motivation et d'énergie de nombreux sujets souffrant de dépression, ainsi que dans la lutte contre les symptômes cognitifs. Cela permet également d'améliorer le niveau de concentration et d'attention.

Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un médicament approuvé et utilisé dans une grande partie du monde, il est certain que tous les pays n'ont pas les mêmes indications approuvées, car les autorités de différentes régions ont estimé qu'il n'existait pas suffisamment de données sur leur efficacité pour des troubles spécifiques. Cependant, il faut tenir compte du fait que cela génère des avantages dans le traitement de la dépression et d'autres problèmes , le principal étant la fibromyalgie.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "IRSN: usages et effets secondaires de ces médicaments"

Mécanisme d'action du médicament

Le milnacipran est un IRSN, un inhibiteur de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline. Cela signifie que son mécanisme d'action principal est basé sur la prévention des neurones présynaptiques réabsorber une partie des neurotransmetteurs qui ont sécrété (dans ce cas, spécifiquement la sérotonine et la noradrénaline), de sorte que ledit neurotransmetteur reste plus disponible dans l'espace synaptique. Ainsi, les concentrations cérébrales de noradrénaline et de sérotonine sont plus élevées dans le cerveau.

Un aspect du milnacipran qui ressort est qu'il présente une performance plus élevée au niveau noradrénergique que sérotoninergique (dans une relation indiquée par certaines études: 3: 1), ce qui est rare chez la plupart des antidépresseurs. Cette caractéristique est partagée avec un autre psychopharmaceutique, qui provient en fait du milnacipran et qui est son énantiomère (mêmes composants chimiques, mais en rotation): le levomilnacipran .


  • Article connexe: "Levomilnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament"

Les troubles dans lesquels il est utilisé

Le milnacipran est un médicament psychotrope dont les propriétés le rendent utile dans différents troubles et pathologies. Les propriétés de ce médicament le rendent approprié au traitement de la dépression majeure, dans laquelle il a une efficacité similaire à celle de la venlafaxine (un autre IRSN) ou à celle des ISRS. Il est particulièrement utile dans le traitement des sujets passifs, peu mobiles et énergivores , utilisé dans les dépressions modérées et sévères. Il a également été appliqué aux dépressions anxieuses et à des troubles tels que le trouble d'anxiété généralisé.

De même, plusieurs études ont montré que le milnacipran est également très utile dans le traitement de problèmes médicaux présentant une douleur chronique, telle que la fibromyalgie. Dans ce dernier trouble, il contribue à améliorer à la fois la réduction de la douleur et les symptômes cognitifs qui accompagnent souvent la fibromyalgie. Il semble également améliorer la mobilité des sujets qui en souffrent.

Selon l'endroit

Fait intéressant, bien que ce soit une substance avec des effets antidépresseurs, Aux États-Unis, son application dans le traitement du trouble dépressif majeur n’est pas approuvée . Dans ce pays, le milnacipran n’est approuvé que pour le traitement de la fibromyalgie. Par ailleurs, dans la plupart des pays d’Europe (y compris l’Espagne), le milnacipran n’a pas d’indication spécifique de la fibromyalgie, mais est associé à la dépression.

En dépit de ces différences, le fait est que les personnes affectées par les deux types d'affections (qui peuvent également se produire conjointement) ont présenté une amélioration de la symptomatologie, appliquée à la pratique clinique aussi bien à une autre.

Effets secondaires et risques

Comme avec la plupart des drogues et des substances psychotropes, l’utilisation du milnacipran peut être très utile pour un grand nombre de personnes, mais parfois il peut générer des effets secondaires désagréable et même poser un risque pour certaines personnes

L'hyperhidrose ou les effets indésirables sont parmi les effets secondaires les plus courants. transpiration excessive, nausées et vomissements, vertiges et bouffées de chaleur, vision trouble, constipation , difficultés urinaires ou diminution de la libido. Les autres effets indésirables plus graves sont la possibilité de tachycardie et d’hypertension, une diminution du taux du partenaire et des problèmes hépatiques. Il a également été constaté que dans certains cas graves, il peut provoquer des convulsions.

Il a également été constaté que chez certaines personnes atteintes de trouble bipolaire, cela peut entraîner un épisode maniaque, ainsi que l'exacerbation d'hallucinations et de délires chez les patients atteints de troubles psychotiques. Bien que certaines études semblent indiquer que ce n'est pas fréquent, cela peut également faciliter l'apparition de pensées suicidaires.

En ce qui concerne les contre-indications, ne devez pas prendre milnacipran enceinte ou allaitant , ainsi que chez les mineurs. Il est contre-indiqué chez les personnes souffrant de problèmes cardiaques (en particulier ceux ayant récemment subi une crise cardiaque) et de problèmes rénaux, ainsi que dans les cas de glaucome à angle fermé ou de problèmes urinaires. Enfin, il est contre-indiqué si le sujet suit un traitement avec des antidépresseurs MAOI, car leur association pourrait générer un syndrome sérotoninergique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cording, M; Derry, S .; Phillips, T .; Moore, R. & Wiffen, P.J. (2015). Milnacipran pour la fibromyalgie chez les adultes. Base de données des revues systématiques Cochrane, 10. N ° d'article: CD008244. DOI: 10.1002 / 14651858.CD008244.pub3.
  • Montgomery, S. & Briley, M. (2010). Milnacipran: découvertes récentes dans la dépression. Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment, 6 (Suppl 1): 1-2.

Savella For Fibromyalgia & Warnings⚠ (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes