yes, therapy helps!
Types of physical disability (and characteristics)

Types of physical disability (and characteristics)

September 22, 2022

Look around. The entrance to your house or a public building, the streets, public transport such as buses and metro ... all this has been thought for a majority of the population which is able to move , perceive and interact with the environment in a normative way.

However, there is a part of citizenship that for various reasons does not have the same capabilities, its options being reduced. This part corresponds to those who suffer some type of physical, mental or sensory disability. Disability is a barrier for many people, who see their lives limited.

In the case of physical disability, these barriers are sometimes literal, and freedom of movement is highly restricted. That is why exploring the different types of physical disability can be a way to understand the needs of the people who present them and to make it easier to adapt to the environment.


  • Related article: "Types of intellectual disability and their characteristics"

Deficiency and disability: distinguishing between concepts

There is a wide diversity in the abilities and abilities of the different individuals that make up society. We can have more or less stature, light or brown eyes or skin of different color. There are also people with more artistic sensitivity than others, or with greater mathematical abilities.

There are people who see very well at a long distance while another has a sense of hearing much more developed than the rest. These differences between us do not prevent us from enjoying a more or less similar life, having or having the same opportunities to develop and seek our own and others' happiness while we thrive and participate in the world.


However, for some people this is much more complicated due to the existence of some deficiency. Some of them present a physical or psychic configuration different from the usual , a part of them being affected or not working in the same degree as that which is habitual in the individual or in relation to the rest.

These deficiencies can cause the subject who suffers a disability, if the characteristics of their state limit or prevent the person from carrying out in a normative way one or more of a daily activity. This does not imply not being able to do the same things, but it does mean that they will need support or access roads that take into account their difficulties.

A) Yes, while the deficiency is that organ or aspect that does not work correctly, the disability is that which can not or costs more to do due to this malfunction . In the case at hand, the physical disability, the affected functionality is movement.


Concept of physical disability

We understand physical disability to that situation or state in which there is a circumstance that prevents or hinders to a large extent that the person suffering from it can move freely and in a way that has full functionality. This type of disability affects the locomotor system, being especially visible in the case of the extremities although it can affect so that the skeletal muscles can not be moved voluntarily.

The limitations present in people with physical disabilities make it really difficult to lead a normal life unless they have certain external help. These limitations can be permanent or temporary, depending on whether the deficiency is treated that provokes them or grants sufficient aids so that there is no reduction in functionality.

Most frequent causes

There are a variety of reasons why a person may have a physical disability. However, as a general rule we can consider that the deficiencies that cause disability are usually due to a problem or damage either in the muscles or in the nervous system (either at the level of the nerves that innervate the areas in question, in the medulla spinal or at some point in the motor cortex).

Some of the causes of these injuries can be found in the suffering of diseases such as multiple sclerosis, tumors, infections or inflammations of muscular or nervous tissues or traumatisms of different types. They also cause cases of physical disability some congenital malformations, such as spina bifida.

Classification of physical disability

As we have said, the reasons why a person can have a physical disability are multiple and varied. When classifying the different types of physical disability, these causes or the areas that have limited or limited movement or its causes are usually taken into account.

So that, we can find that in general the types of physical disability are going to be the following .

Types according to their cause

  • Motors with or without brain involvement
  • Due to illness
  • Mixed

Types according to the affected area

  • Motor disability of the lower extremities
  • Motor disability of the upper extremities, trunk, neck and face
  • Other motor disabilities

Some of the main types of physical disability

Entering on matter, The different types of disability or physical disability are the following .

1. Monoplejia

Paralysis of a single limb , usually produced by damage to the nerve that innervates the area in question.

2. Paraplegia

This affectation due to a medullary lesion in the dorsal area supposes the paralysis or inability of movement of the lower half of the body. It basically affects the legs and feet . The subject loses the ability to walk. It may or may not affect the sexual response capacity.

3. Tetraplegia

Alteration due to a cervical spinal cord injury whose repercussion is observed in the total loss of movement capacity of the lower extremities and total or partial loss of movement capacity of the upper limbs .

Depending on the position of the lesion, the difficulties will be greater or less, implying, in general, a greater affectation and disability associated with those damages in the vertebrae closest to the skull. In fact, it can lead to the need to use artificial ventilators in order to keep the patient's breathing.

4. Hemiplegia

It is an alteration or injury in the nervous system that produces the paralysis of the opposite or contralateral to the damaged part . It is usually due to cerebrovascular accidents or traumatic brain injuries.

4. Spina bifida

It is a type of congenital malformation in which the neuronal tube and the spinal column do not close completely during the formation of the fetus, producing damage to the nerves and the spinal cord. can impede or hinder the movement of the person .

5. Muscular dystrophy

The group of disorders encompassed within muscular dystrophy cause the presence of a weak muscle tone that loses tissue over time , making movement difficult and causing a disability. It is one of the most frequent types of physical disability.

6. Cerebral palsy

Cerebral palsy is a chronic medical condition due to problems during the brain development of the fetus or child, which produces serious effects on the motor . These effects can range from difficulties and slowness of movement, rigidity, agitation, convulsions or even a complete paralysis of the voluntary musculature.

7. Amputation

The loss of limbs or parts of the body can cause a physical disability by limiting the person's usual functioning .


EDC1200 - Physical Disabilities (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de handicap physique (et caractéristiques)

Types de handicap physique (et caractéristiques)

Septembre 8, 2022

Regarde autour de toi L’entrée de votre maison ou d’un bâtiment public, les rues, les transports en commun tels que les bus et le métro ... tout cela a été pensé pour une majorité de la population capable de se déplacer , percevoir et interagir avec l'environnement de manière normative.

Cependant, il existe une partie de la citoyenneté qui, pour diverses raisons, n’a pas les mêmes capacités, ses options étant réduites. Cette partie correspond aux personnes souffrant d'un handicap physique, mental ou sensoriel. Le handicap est un obstacle pour beaucoup de gens qui voient leur vie limitée.

Dans le cas d'un handicap physique, ces barrières sont parfois littérales et la liberté de mouvement est extrêmement limitée. C'est pour ça que explorer les différents types de handicap physique peut être un moyen de comprendre les besoins des personnes qui les présentent. et pour faciliter l’adaptation à l’environnement.


  • Article connexe: "Types de déficience intellectuelle et leurs caractéristiques"

Déficience et handicap: distinguer les concepts

Il existe une grande diversité dans les capacités et les aptitudes des différents individus qui composent la société. Nous pouvons avoir plus ou moins une stature, des yeux clairs ou bruns ou une peau de couleur différente. Il y a aussi des gens avec plus de sensibilité artistique que d'autres, ou avec de plus grandes capacités en mathématiques.

Il y a des gens qui voient très bien de loin, tandis que d'autres ont un sens de l'ouïe beaucoup plus développé que les autres. Ces différences ne nous empêchent pas de mener une vie plus ou moins similaire, d'avoir ou d'avoir les mêmes opportunités de se développer et de rechercher notre bonheur et celui des autres, tout en nous développant et en participant au monde.


Cependant, pour certaines personnes, cela est beaucoup plus compliqué en raison de l’existence d’une carence. Certains présentent une configuration physique ou psychique différente de celle habituelle. , une partie d’eux affecté ou ne travaillant pas au même degré que ce qui est habituel chez l’individu ou par rapport au reste.

Ces déficiences peuvent causer un handicap au sujet si les caractéristiques de son État limitent ou l’empêchent d’exercer de manière normative une ou plusieurs activités quotidiennes. Cela ne signifie pas qu'ils ne peuvent pas faire la même chose, mais cela signifie qu'ils auront besoin de soutien ou de routes d'accès tenant compte de leurs difficultés.

Ainsi, alors que la déficience est cet organe ou aspect qui ne fonctionne pas correctement, le handicap est celui qui ne peut pas ou coûte plus cher à faire en raison de ce dysfonctionnement . Dans le cas présent, le handicap physique, la fonctionnalité affectée est le mouvement.


Notion de handicap physique

Nous comprenons le handicap physique dans cette situation ou cet état dans lequel il existe des circonstances qui empêchent ou empêchent dans une large mesure que la personne qui en souffre puisse se déplacer librement et de manière pleinement fonctionnelle. Ce type d'incapacité affecte le système locomoteur, étant particulièrement visible dans le cas des extrémités, bien qu'il puisse en être affecté de sorte que les muscles squelettiques ne puissent pas être déplacés volontairement.

Les limitations présentes chez les personnes ayant une déficience physique rendent très difficile la vie normale à moins de bénéficier d'une aide extérieure. Ces limitations peuvent être permanentes ou temporaires, selon que la déficience est traitée ou non qui les provoque ou accorde des aides suffisantes pour qu’il n’y ait aucune réduction de fonctionnalité.

Causes les plus fréquentes

Une personne peut avoir un handicap physique pour diverses raisons. Cependant, en règle générale, on peut considérer que les déficiences à l’origine de l’invalidité sont généralement dues à un problème ou à une lésion soit des muscles, soit du système nerveux (au niveau des nerfs qui innervent les zones en question, dans la rachidien ou à un moment donné du cortex moteur).

Certaines des causes de ces blessures peuvent être trouvées dans la souffrance de maladies tels que la sclérose en plaques, des tumeurs, des infections ou des inflammations de tissus musculaires ou nerveux ou des traumatismes de types différents. Ils provoquent également des déficiences physiques, certaines malformations congénitales, telles que le spina bifida.

Classification du handicap physique

Comme nous l'avons dit, les raisons pour lesquelles une personne peut avoir un handicap physique sont multiples et variées. Lors de la classification des différents types de handicap physique, il est généralement tenu compte de ces causes ou des zones où les mouvements sont limités ou limités.

Donc, nous pouvons constater qu'en général, les types de handicap physique vont être les suivants .

Types selon leur cause

  • Moteurs avec ou sans implication cérébrale
  • Pour maladie
  • Mixte

Types en fonction de la zone touchée

  • Handicap moteur des membres inférieurs
  • Handicap moteur des membres supérieurs, du tronc, du cou et du visage
  • Autres handicaps moteurs

Certains des principaux types de handicap physique

Entrer dans la matière, Les différents types de handicap ou handicap physique sont les suivants .

1. Monoplejia

Paralysie d'un seul membre , habituellement provoquée par des dommages au nerf qui innerve la région en question.

2. paraplégie

Cette affectation due à une lésion médullaire de la région dorsale suppose une paralysie ou une incapacité de mouvement de la moitié inférieure du corps. Il affecte essentiellement les jambes et les pieds . Le sujet perd la capacité de marcher. Cela peut ou non affecter la capacité de réponse sexuelle.

3. Tétraplégie

Altération due à une lésion de la moelle épinière cervicale dont la répercussion est observée dans perte totale de la capacité de mouvement des membres inférieurs et perte totale ou partielle de la capacité de mouvement des membres supérieurs .

Selon la position de la lésion, les difficultés seront plus ou moins importantes, ce qui implique en général une affectation et une invalidité plus importantes associées à ces dommages dans les vertèbres les plus proches du crâne. En fait, il peut être nécessaire d'utiliser des ventilateurs artificiels pour maintenir la respiration du patient.

4. hémiplégie

C'est une altération ou une lésion du système nerveux qui produit la paralysie de l'opposé ou controlatéral de la partie endommagée . Cela est généralement dû à des accidents cérébrovasculaires ou à des lésions cérébrales traumatiques.

4. Spina bifida

Il s’agit d’un type de malformation congénitale dans lequel le tube neuronal et la colonne vertébrale ne se ferment pas complètement pendant la formation du fœtus, ce qui entraîne des lésions des nerfs et de la moelle épinière. peut gêner ou gêner le mouvement de la personne .

5. Dystrophie musculaire

Le groupe de troubles inclus dans la dystrophie musculaire provoquer la présence d'un faible tonus musculaire qui perd du tissu au fil du temps , rendant le mouvement difficile et causant un handicap. C'est l'un des types de handicap physique les plus fréquents.

6. Infirmité motrice cérébrale

La paralysie cérébrale est une affection médicale chronique due à des problèmes de développement du cerveau du fœtus ou de l’enfant, qui produit des effets graves sur le moteur . Ces effets peuvent aller de difficultés et lenteur de mouvement, rigidité, agitation, convulsions ou même paralysie complète de la musculature volontaire.

7. Amputation

La perte de membres ou de parties du corps peut causer un handicap physique en limitant le fonctionnement habituel de la personne .


Contre jeu (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes