yes, therapy helps!
Types of psychological therapies

Types of psychological therapies

November 24, 2022

Most people who have not studied the Degree in Psychology, when they hear the word psychotherapy The first thing they imagine is a patient lying on the couch and an older man (the therapist) with a notebook pointing at what he tells him.

There is a great ignorance in the population about psychology and psychotherapy. Many do not know the difference between a psychologist, a psychoanalyst and a psychiatrist, or the difference between a psychologist and a coach, and they do not know the different types of therapi to that exist.

What types of mental health professionals are there?

Regarding this last point, the problem arises when they decide to go to psychological therapy and meet with the different professional categories: psychoanalytic therapist, cognitive-behavioral therapist, systemic therapist... then they ask themselves: "What is that?"


In the world of psychological therapy There are different theoretical and practical perspectives that treat problems differently . For those who would like to know what types of psychotherapy exist, in this article we collect and explain the different psychotherapeutic approaches.

The benefits of going to psychological therapy

Patients go to psychological therapy for different reasons. But it is not easy to make the decision to attend the consultation of a therapist.

Unfortunately, there are still prejudices regarding this practice , especially because of the false beliefs about what psychotherapy is and to whom it is addressed. In addition, many individuals think that going to the psychologist is synonymous with being a weak person, although going to psychological therapy helps to be a stronger emotionally and provides tools for a better adaptation to the complicated situations that may appear on a day to day basis.


In summary, psychological therapy brings these benefits :

  • Improves well-being and helps you feel better
  • Provides tools for better conflict management
  • Help change limiting beliefs
  • It allows to live in harmony
  • The sessions are confidential, so you can tell the secrets
  • The psychologist will provide support and is a person who can be trusted
  • Advise a qualified professional
  • Empowering against life
  • Help to get to know each other better
  • If you are curious to know more about the psychological benefits that psychotherapy provides, You can read the following article or : "The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy"

The reasons why to go to psychological therapy

Psychotherapy is effective to overcome many psychological problems and to improve well-being. Despite the many studies that support its effectiveness, there are people who, even needing help, are not aware that they have the problem or avoid facing reality.


The following list shows some signs that may indicate that it is time to go to the psychologist :

  • Nothing you've done so far seems to work
  • Your friends or family are already tired of listening
  • You start to abuse substances to alleviate negative symptoms
  • Your acquaintances are worried about you
  • Do not stop thinking about the negative
  • You feel an aggressiveness that you can not control and you think that everyone is against
  • It's hard to sleep
  • You do not enjoy things the same and nothing motivates you
  • You can continue reading about the reasons why go to psychotherapy in this article: "The 8 reasons why you should go to the psychologist"

Types of psychological therapy

If you have never attended psychological therapy, the experience can be a bit mysterious at first and even intimidating. Since there are different types of psychotherapy with different ways of solving problems, below we explain the approaches or psychotherapeutic models that exist n .

Psychoanalytic and psychodynamic therapy

The psychoanalytic therapy has its origin in the theoretical model proposed by Sigmund Freud , father of psychoanalysis. His theory explains the behavior of human beings and is based on the analysis of the unconscious conflicts that originate in childhood. To understand dysfunctional thoughts, psychoanalysis emphasizes the instinctual impulses that are repressed by consciousness and remain in the unconscious affecting the subject.

The psychoanalyst is responsible for bringing out unconscious conflicts through the interpretation of dreams, failed acts and free association . The "free association" has to do with emotional catharsis, and is a technique that aims to express the patient, in psychotherapeutic sessions, all their ideas, emotions, thoughts and images as they are presented, without repressing them.Once the patient has expressed himself, the psychoanalyst must determine what factors, within those manifestations, reflect an unconscious conflict.

This model of psychotherapy also focuses on the defense mechanisms , which are incorrect ways of solving the psychological conflict and can lead to disturbances in the mind and behavior, and in the most extreme cases to the somatization of the psychological conflict and the physical dysfunctions that express it.

If you want know more about psychoanalysis , we recommend the following readings:

  • "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"
  • "Defense mechanisms: 10 ways of not facing reality"
  • "The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud"

Psychodynamic Psychotherapy

The psychodynamic therapy follow the line that picks up psychoanalytic thinking of postmodernity . Therefore, it derives from psychoanalysis, albeit with a shorter brevity, through the focus of the intervention in certain conflicts highlighted in the current condition of the patient.

Since it leaves behind the classical vision, it collects contributions such as the analytical approach of the self or the object relations of the Kleiniana current. In addition to the contribution of Melanie Klein, other psychologists such as Adler or Ackerman have participated in the development of psychodynamic therapy.

For the practice of this form of therapy, changes have been proposed in the ways of carrying the therapy, however, the objective remains the same: help the client get "insight" about his reasons and hidden conflicts . Currently, psychodynamic therapies coexist with psychoanalytic therapies, the latter continue to focus on Freud's vision and are called "psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapies".

The clearer differences between the two orientations They may be:

  • In psychodynamic therapy the typical weekly frequency of the sessions is 1 or 2 , whereas in psychoanalytic therapy it is 3 or 4.
  • The therapist assumes an active and direct position in psychodynamic therapy. In the psychoanalytic orientation it is a neutral and non-intrusive approach.
  • The psychodynamic therapist advises and reinforces nonconflicting aspects of the subject . The psychoanalytic therapist avoids giving advice and limits his interventions to interpretations.
  • In the psychodynamic approach, a wide range of interventions including interpretive, educational and support techniques. The psychoanalytic approach emphasizes free association, interpretation and analysis of dreams.

Cognitive-behavioral therapy

From the cognitive-behavioral perspective It is understood that thoughts, beliefs and attitudes affect feelings and emotions and behavior. Therefore, this form of therapy combines different methods derived from cognitive therapy and behavioral therapy. That is, cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) consists of a series of techniques that focus on teaching the patient a series of skills to better deal with different problems .

CBT is based on the idea that what we think about different situations affects the way we feel and behave. For example, if we interpret a situation in a negative way we will experience negative emotions as a result, and that will cause us to behave in a non-adaptive way. It is the treatment par excellence for anxiety disorders such as phobias, it is understood that. In this case, a traumatic situation causes analogous situations to be interpreted as threatening. This causes the patient to avoid exposing himself to these situations due to the intense and irrational fear he feels.

In the CBT the patient works with the therapist to identify and change dysfunctional thought patterns . To identify the problem, the therapist performs what is known as functional analysis of behavior. The functional analysis of the behavior tries to find out the factors responsible for the production or maintenance of the behaviors qualified as maladaptive and the relationship of contingencies established between them.

Once the problem is detected and analyzed, different cognitive-behavioral techniques are used, such as social skills training, expository techniques, problem-solving techniques, cognitive restructuring, etc.

Humanistic therapy

The humanistic psychology it is considered third wave of psychology, contemplating the cognitive-behavioral and psychoanalytic perspectives as the two predominant forces prior to the humanist. This emerged in the mid-twentieth century, through the proposals and work of Abraham Maslow Y Carl Rogers , mainly.

It is strongly influenced by phenomenology and existentialism. From the first, the fact that we are never able to experience "reality in itself" directly, while the opposite is true with those subjective aspects of which we are aware, is highlighted. The legitimate sources of knowledge are the intellectual and emotional experience.From existentialism, this form of therapy reflects the reflection on human existence itself.

Therefore, from this humanist perspective the individual is a conscious, intentional being, in constant development , whose mental representations and subjective states are a valid source of knowledge about oneself. The patient is seen as the main principal actor in his existential search. This search forces you to go through a series of stages or subjective states in which you ask the "why" of what happens to you, the meaning of what you are living, and what you can do to improve your situation.

The humanist therapist has a secondary role as a facilitator of the process, allowing the subject to find the answers that he / she seeks alone. One of the key concepts of this type of therapy is the self-realization of the human being .

The Maslow Pyramid and the self-realization of the human being

Maslow was the author of the Maslow's pyramid , which is a psychological theory that explains human motivation . According to Abraham Maslow, our actions are motivated to cover certain needs. That is, there is a hierarchy of human needs, and argues that as the most basic needs are met, human beings develop higher needs and desires. In the upper part of the pyramid are the needs for self-realization.

  • To learn more about Abraham Maslow's theory, you can read this article: "Maslow's Pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

Carl Rogers and Person Centered Therapy

Another famous humanist psychologist, Carl Rogers , developed what is known as person-centered therapy , whose objective is to allow the patient (whom Rogers prefers to call a client) to have control of his own therapy.

Person-centered therapy allows the client to enter into a process of becoming aware of the real experience and restructuring of their self , through the establishment of a solid therapeutic alliance with the therapist and listening to the deep meanings of his own experience.

To achieve this, the therapist is:

  • Authentic / congruent . The therapist is honest with himself and with the client.
  • Empathic . The therapist is placed on the same level as the client, understanding him not so much as a psychologist but as a person he can trust. The therapist is able to put himself in the place of the other, and through active listening he shows that he understands the client.
  • M Our unconditional positive consideration . The therapist respects the client as a human being and does not judge him.

Gestalt therapy

The Gestalt therapy was developed by Fritz Perls, Laura Perls and Paul Goodman in the 1940s, and it's a kind of humanistic therapy , because it conceives the human being, its goals and its range of needs and potentialities. Therefore, from this position it is understood that the mind is a self-regulating and holistic unit, and is based on the basic principle of Gestalt Psychology that "the whole is more than the sum of the parts".

Gestalt therapists they use experiential and creative techniques to improve self-consciousness, freedom and self-direction of the patient . This is a therapeutic model that not only has its roots in Gestalt Psychology, but is also influenced by psychoanalysis, the analysis of Reich's character, existential philosophy, Oriental religion, phenomenology and Moreno's psychodrama.

For many, Gestalt therapy is more than a therapeutic model, it is an authentic philosophy of life, which contributes positively in the way of perceiving the relations with the world on the part of the individual. The present moment and the self-awareness of the emotional and corporal experience are of great importance, and the individual is seen from a holistic and unifying perspective, integrating at the same time, its sensorial, affective, intellectual, social and spiritual dimensions. That is, he understands this in his global experience.

Therapy sessions revolve around "insight" regarding the patient's experiences, and they encourage him to explore creatively the way to find his own satisfaction in the different areas of his life , and in this way, the patient can live and experience the new solutions. This is a more educational approach than a medical one. The therapist is not directive, that is, does not tell the patient what to do, but uses the educational capacity of the dialogue and is more concerned with the bond of trust with it, with the aim of increasing the authenticity of the relationship for allow the patient to explore the experience in its entirety.

Systemic therapy

Systemic therapy takes into account the representation of reality seen from a holistic and integrating perspective , where the important thing is the relationships and the components that arise from them. In the therapeutic sessions, relationship and communication is very important in any group that interacts and that affects the patient (or patients), understood as a system .

It is applied in the treatment of conceptualized disorders as the expression of the alterations in the interactions, relational styles and communicational patterns of a group, such as couples or families, but also to individual people, taking into account the different systems that make up its context .

It has a focus on solving problems more practical than analytical. It is not so important who has the problem (for example, who is aggressive), but rather focuses on identifying dysfunctional patterns within the behavior of the group of people , in order to redirect those patterns directly. That is, it is about systems finding balance.

Brief therapy (or brief systemic therapy)

The brief therapy it develops from systemic therapy. since at the beginning of the 70s it was suggested that the systemic model could be applied to a single individual even if the whole family did not attend. This it supposed the birth of the short therapy of the MRI of Palo Alto , which is a set of procedures and intervention techniques that aim to help individuals, couples, families or groups to mobilize their resources to achieve their objectives in the shortest possible time.

Brief therapy has generated a radical change in psychotherapy, by developing a brief, simple, effective and effective model to help people produce change.

Other types of psychotherapy

The models of psychotherapy proposed so far are the best known and applied for psychological treatment. But they are not the only ones, because there are other forms of psychological therapy that have recently emerged and others that have evolved from previous ones.

For example, narrative therapy, acceptance and commitment therapy, cognitive-social therapy, hypnotic therapy, etc.

Bonus: Mindfulness Therapy

A model of psychotherapy that is rigorously topical and has generated great interest in scientific circles is Mindfulness Therapy. This includes concepts of Buddhist philosophy and of the Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and is located within what is known as the third generation or the third wave of psychological therapies.

The goal of Mindfulness is that the participants acquire a state of consciousness and calmness that helps them self-regulate their behavior and get to know each other better . In addition to accepting oneself as it is and being in the present. But more than a set of techniques to be in the present moment, it is an attitude towards life. It is a coping style that drives personal strengths.

The Mindfulness Provides patients with a method to learn how to manage emotions, reactions, attitudes and thoughts so that they can face the situations that arise in their life, through the practice and perfection of mindfulness. With progress through the practice of full consciousness in the present moment and with an attitude of compassion towards oneself, certain positive attitudes are developed in relation to mental state and emotions, coming to control them from freedom, knowledge in oneself and acceptance.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ackerman, N. (1970). Theory and practice of family therapy. Buenos Aires: Proteo.
  • Haley, J. (1974). Treatment of the family. Barcelona: Toray.
  • McNamee, S. and Gergen, K.J. (nineteen ninety six). Therapy as social construction. Barcelona: Paidós.
  • O'Hanlon, W.H. (1989). Deep roots. Basic principles of therapy and hypnosis by Milton Erickson. Buenos Aires: Paidós.

Getting Help - Psychotherapy: Crash Course Psychology #35 (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de thérapies psychologiques

Types de thérapies psychologiques

Avril 22, 2019

La plupart des gens qui n’ont pas étudié le diplôme en psychologie, quand ils entendent le mot psychothérapie La première chose qu’ils imaginent, c’est un patient allongé sur le canapé et un homme plus âgé (le thérapeute) avec un cahier indiquant ce qu’il lui dit.

Il y a une grande ignorance de la population sur la psychologie et la psychothérapie. Beaucoup ne connaissent pas la différence entre un psychologue, un psychanalyste et un psychiatre, ni la différence entre un psychologue et un coach, et ils ne connaissent pas la différence. différents types de thérapies un qui existent

Quels types de professionnels de la santé mentale existe-t-il?

Sur ce dernier point, le problème se pose lorsqu'ils décident de suivre une thérapie psychologique et de rencontrer les différentes catégories professionnelles: thérapeute psychanalytique, thérapeute cognitivo-comportemental, thérapeute systémique... alors ils se demandent: "Qu'est-ce que c'est?"


Dans le monde de la thérapie psychologique Il existe différentes perspectives théoriques et pratiques qui traitent les problèmes différemment . Pour ceux qui voudraient savoir quels types de psychothérapie existent, dans cet article, nous collectons et expliquons les différentes approches psychothérapeutiques.

Les avantages d'aller en thérapie psychologique

Les patients suivent une thérapie psychologique pour différentes raisons. Mais il n'est pas facile de prendre la décision d'assister à la consultation d'un thérapeute.

Malheureusement, il y a encore des préjugés concernant cette pratique , en particulier à cause des fausses croyances sur ce qu'est la psychothérapie et à qui s'adresse-t-elle. En outre, de nombreuses personnes pensent que consulter un psychologue est synonyme d’être une personne faible, bien que la thérapie psychologique aide à renforcer son émotion et qu’elle offre des outils pour une meilleure adaptation aux situations compliquées qui peuvent survenir au quotidien.


En résumé, la thérapie psychologique apporte ces avantages :

  • Améliore le bien-être et aide à vous sentir mieux
  • Fournit des outils pour une meilleure gestion des conflits
  • Aidez à changer les croyances limitantes
  • Cela permet de vivre en harmonie
  • Les sessions sont confidentielles, vous pouvez donc dire les secrets
  • Le psychologue fournira un soutien et est une personne de confiance
  • Conseiller un professionnel qualifié
  • Habiliter contre la vie
  • Aide à mieux se connaître
  • Si vous êtes curieux d’en savoir plus sur les avantages psychologiques de la psychothérapie, Vous pouvez lire l'article suivant o : "Les 8 avantages de la thérapie psychologique"

Les raisons pour lesquelles aller en thérapie psychologique

La psychothérapie est efficace pour surmonter de nombreux problèmes psychologiques et améliorer le bien-être. Malgré les nombreuses études soutenant son efficacité, certaines personnes, même ayant besoin d'aide, ne sont pas conscientes du problème ou évitent de faire face à la réalité.


La liste suivante montre certains signes peuvent indiquer qu'il est temps d'aller chez le psychologue :

  • Rien de ce que vous avez fait jusqu'à présent ne semble fonctionner
  • Vos amis ou votre famille sont déjà fatigués d'écouter
  • Vous commencez à abuser de substances pour soulager les symptômes négatifs
  • Vos connaissances s'inquiètent pour vous
  • Ne pas arrêter de penser au négatif
  • Vous ressentez une agressivité que vous ne pouvez pas contrôler et vous pensez que tout le monde est contre
  • C'est dur de dormir
  • Vous n'appréciez pas les mêmes choses et rien ne vous motive
  • Vous pouvez continuer à lire sur le raisons pour lesquelles aller en psychothérapie dans cet article: "Les 8 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez aller chez le psychologue"

Types de thérapie psychologique

Si vous n'avez jamais assisté à une thérapie psychologique, l'expérience peut être un peu mystérieuse au début et même intimidante. Puisqu'il existe différents types de psychothérapies avec différentes manières de résoudre les problèmes, nous expliquons les approches ou les modèles psychothérapeutiques existants n .

Thérapie psychanalytique et psychodynamique

Le thérapie psychanalytique trouve son origine dans le modèle théorique proposé par Sigmund Freud , père de la psychanalyse. Sa théorie explique le comportement des êtres humains et se base sur l'analyse des conflits inconscients d'origine dans l'enfance. Pour comprendre les pensées dysfonctionnelles, la psychanalyse insiste sur les impulsions instinctives qui sont réprimées par la conscience et restent dans l'inconscient du sujet.

Le psychanalyste est responsable de faire ressortir les conflits inconscients à travers l'interprétation de rêves, d'actes manqués et d'association libre . La "libre association" concerne la catharsis émotionnelle et est une technique qui vise à exprimer le patient, lors de séances de psychothérapie, toutes ses idées, émotions, pensées et images telles qu'elles sont présentées, sans les réprimer.Une fois que le patient s’est exprimé, le psychanalyste doit déterminer quels facteurs, au sein de ces manifestations, reflètent un conflit inconscient.

Ce modèle de psychothérapie se concentre également sur la mécanismes de défense , qui sont des moyens incorrects de résoudre le conflit psychologique et peuvent entraîner des troubles de l’esprit et du comportement et, dans les cas les plus extrêmes, une somatisation du conflit psychologique et des dysfonctionnements physiques qui l’expriment.

Si tu veux en savoir plus sur la psychanalyse , nous recommandons les lectures suivantes:

  • "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'oeuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"
  • "Mécanismes de défense: 10 façons de ne pas faire face à la réalité"
  • "La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud"

Psychothérapie psychodynamique

Le thérapie psychodynamique suivez la ligne qui décroche pensée psychanalytique de la postmodernité . Par conséquent, il découle de la psychanalyse, même avec une brièveté plus brève, à travers la focalisation de l'intervention dans certains conflits mis en évidence dans l'état actuel du patient.

Puisqu'il quitte la vision classique, il rassemble des contributions telles que l'approche analytique du soi ou les relations d'objet du Courant de Kleiniana. Outre la contribution de Melanie Klein, d'autres psychologues tels que Adler ou Ackerman ont participé au développement de la thérapie psychodynamique.

Pour la pratique de cette forme de thérapie, des changements ont été proposés dans les manières de mener la thérapie, cependant, l'objectif reste le même: aider le client à avoir un «aperçu» de ses raisons et des conflits cachés . Actuellement, les thérapies psychodynamiques coexistent avec les thérapies psychanalytiques, ces dernières continuent à se concentrer sur la vision de Freud et sont appelées "psychothérapies à orientation psychanalytique".

Le des différences plus claires entre les deux orientations ils peuvent être:

  • En thérapie psychodynamique la fréquence hebdomadaire typique des sessions est de 1 ou 2 , alors qu’en thérapie psychanalytique, il est de 3 ou 4.
  • Le thérapeute assume une position active et directe en thérapie psychodynamique. Dans l'orientation psychanalytique, il s'agit d'une approche neutre et non intrusive.
  • Le thérapeute psychodynamique conseille et renforce les aspects non conflictuels du sujet . Le thérapeute psychanalytique évite de donner des conseils et limite ses interventions à des interprétations.
  • Dans l'approche psychodynamique, un large éventail d'interventions y compris les techniques d'interprétation, d'éducation et de soutien. L'approche psychanalytique met l'accent sur la libre association, l'interprétation et l'analyse des rêves.

Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale

À partir de perspective cognitivo-comportementale Il est entendu que les pensées, les croyances et les attitudes ont une incidence sur les sentiments, les émotions et le comportement. Par conséquent, cette forme de thérapie combine différentes méthodes dérivées de la thérapie cognitive et de la thérapie comportementale. Autrement dit, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC) consiste en une série de techniques visant à enseigner au patient une série de techniques lui permettant de mieux gérer différents problèmes .

La TCC repose sur l’idée que ce que nous pensons de différentes situations a une incidence sur notre façon de nous sentir et de nous comporter. Par exemple, si nous interprétons une situation de manière négative, nous ressentirons des émotions négatives, ce qui nous obligera à nous comporter de manière non adaptative. C’est le traitement par excellence pour les troubles anxieux tels que les phobies, il est bien entendu que. Dans ce cas, une situation traumatique entraîne l'interprétation de situations analogues comme menaçantes. Cela évite au patient de s’exposer à ces situations en raison de la peur intense et irrationnelle qu’il ressent.

Dans le CBT le patient travaille avec le thérapeute pour identifier et modifier les schémas de pensée dysfonctionnels . Pour identifier le problème, le thérapeute effectue ce qu'on appelle analyse fonctionnelle du comportement. L'analyse fonctionnelle du comportement tente de déterminer les facteurs responsables de la production ou du maintien des comportements qualifiés de mésadaptés et du lien de contingence établi entre eux.

Une fois le problème détecté et analysé, différentes techniques cognitivo-comportementales sont utilisées, telles que la formation aux compétences sociales, les techniques d’exposition, les techniques de résolution de problèmes, la restructuration cognitive, etc.

Thérapie humaniste

Le psychologie humaniste il est considéré troisième vague de psychologie, en considérant les perspectives cognitivo-comportementales et psychanalytiques comme les deux forces prédominantes avant l’humaniste. Ceci est apparu au milieu du vingtième siècle, à travers les propositions et les travaux de Abraham Maslow et Carl Rogers principalement.

Il est fortement influencé par la phénoménologie et l'existentialisme. Dès le début, nous soulignons le fait que nous ne pouvons jamais expérimenter directement la "réalité en elle-même", alors que l'inverse est vrai pour les aspects subjectifs dont nous avons conscience. Les sources légitimes de connaissance sont l'expérience intellectuelle et émotionnelle.De l'existentialisme, cette forme de thérapie reflète la réflexion sur l'existence humaine elle-même.

Par conséquent, de cette perspective humaniste l'individu est un être conscient, intentionnel, en développement constant , dont les représentations mentales et les états subjectifs constituent une source valable de connaissance de soi. Le patient est considéré comme le principal acteur de sa recherche existentielle. Cette recherche vous oblige à passer par une série d'étapes ou d'états subjectifs dans lesquels vous demandez le "pourquoi" de ce qui vous arrive, le sens de ce que vous vivez et ce que vous pouvez faire pour améliorer votre situation.

Le thérapeute humaniste joue un rôle secondaire en tant que facilitateur du processus, permettant au sujet de trouver les réponses qu’il / elle cherche seul. L’un des concepts clés de ce type de thérapie est la réalisation de soi de l'être humain .

La pyramide de Maslow et la réalisation de soi de l'être humain

Maslow était l'auteur de la Pyramide de Maslow , qui est une théorie psychologique explique la motivation humaine . Selon Abraham Maslow, nos actions sont motivées pour couvrir certains besoins. Autrement dit, il existe une hiérarchie des besoins humains et soutient que, à mesure que les besoins les plus fondamentaux sont satisfaits, les êtres humains développent des besoins et des désirs plus grands. Dans la partie supérieure de la pyramide se trouvent les besoins de réalisation de soi.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur la théorie d'Abraham Maslow, vous pouvez lire cet article: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

Carl Rogers et la thérapie centrée sur la personne

Un autre psychologue humaniste célèbre, Carl Rogers , développé ce qu'on appelle thérapie centrée sur la personne , dont l’objectif est de permettre au patient (que Rogers préfère appeler un client) de contrôler sa propre thérapie.

Thérapie centrée sur la personne permet au client d'entrer dans un processus de prise de conscience de l'expérience réelle et de la restructuration de son auto , en établissant une solide alliance thérapeutique avec le thérapeute et en écoutant les significations profondes de sa propre expérience.

Pour y parvenir, le thérapeute est:

  • Authentique / congru . Le thérapeute est honnête avec lui-même et avec le client.
  • Empathique . Le thérapeute est placé au même niveau que le client et le comprend moins comme un psychologue que comme une personne en qui il peut avoir confiance. Le thérapeute est capable de se mettre à la place de l'autre et montre par une écoute active qu'il comprend le client.
  • M Notre considération positive inconditionnelle . Le thérapeute respecte le client en tant qu'être humain et ne le juge pas.

Thérapie de Gestalt

Le Thérapie de Gestalt a été développé par Fritz Perls, Laura Perls et Paul Goodman dans les années 1940, et c'est une sorte de thérapie humaniste , parce qu’il conçoit l’être humain, ses objectifs et son éventail de besoins et de potentialités. Par conséquent, à partir de cette position, il est entendu que l'esprit est une unité auto-régulatrice et holistique, basée sur le principe de base de la psychologie de la Gestalt selon lequel "le tout est plus que la somme des parties".

Gestalt thérapeutes ils utilisent des techniques expérientielles et créatives pour améliorer la conscience de soi, la liberté et l'autodétermination du patient . Ce modèle thérapeutique tire ses racines non seulement de la Gestalt Psychology, mais est également influencé par la psychanalyse, l'analyse du caractère de Reich, la philosophie existentielle, la religion orientale, la phénoménologie et le psychodrame de Moreno.

Pour beaucoup, la Gestalt-thérapie est plus qu'un modèle thérapeutique, C’est une philosophie de vie authentique, qui contribue positivement à percevoir les relations avec le monde de la part de l’individu. Le moment présent et la conscience de soi de l'expérience émotionnelle et corporelle revêtent une grande importance, et l'individu est vu dans une perspective holistique et unificatrice, intégrant à la fois ses dimensions sensorielle, affective, intellectuelle, sociale et spirituelle. C'est-à-dire qu'il comprend cela dans son expérience globale.

Les séances de thérapie tournent autour de la "perspicacité" concernant les expériences du patient, et ils l'encouragent à explorer de manière créative le moyen de trouver sa propre satisfaction dans les différents domaines de sa vie. et ainsi, le patient peut vivre et expérimenter les nouvelles solutions. C'est une approche plus éducative que médicale. Le thérapeute n’est pas directif, c’est-à-dire ne dit pas au patient quoi faire, mais utilise la capacité éducative du dialogue et s’intéresse davantage au lien de confiance qu’il entretient avec lui afin permettre au patient d'explorer l'expérience dans son intégralité.

Thérapie systémique

La thérapie systémique prend en compte la représentation de la réalité dans une perspective holistique et intégratrice , où l’important est les relations et les composantes qui en découlent. Dans les séances thérapeutiques, la relation et la communication sont très importantes dans tout groupe qui interagit et qui affecte le patient (ou les patients), compris comme un système .

Il s’applique dans le traitement des troubles conceptualisés comme expression des altérations des interactions, des styles relationnels et des schémas de communication d’un groupe, tels que les couples ou les familles, mais aussi des individus, en tenant compte des différents systèmes qui composent son contexte. .

Il met l'accent sur la résolution de problèmes plus pratiques que analytiques. Il n’est pas très important de savoir qui a le problème (par exemple, qui est agressif), mais plutôt se concentre sur l'identification de modèles dysfonctionnels dans le comportement du groupe de personnes , afin de rediriger ces modèles directement. C'est-à-dire qu'il s'agit de trouver un équilibre entre les systèmes.

Thérapie brève (ou thérapie systémique brève)

Le thérapie brève il se développe à partir d'une thérapie systémique. Depuis le début des années 70, il a été suggéré que le modèle systémique pourrait être appliqué à un seul individu même si toute la famille n'y assistait pas. Cette il supposait la naissance de la thérapie courte de l'IRM de Palo Alto , qui est un ensemble de procédures et de techniques d’intervention visant à aider les individus, les couples, les familles ou les groupes à mobiliser leurs ressources pour atteindre leurs objectifs dans les meilleurs délais.

Une thérapie brève a engendré un changement radical dans la psychothérapie, en développant un modèle bref, simple, efficace et effectif pour aider les gens à produire un changement.

Autres types de psychothérapie

Les modèles de psychothérapie proposés jusqu'à présent sont les plus connus et les plus appliqués pour le traitement psychologique. Mais ils ne sont pas les seuls, car il existe d’autres formes de thérapie psychologique qui ont récemment fait leur apparition et d’autres qui ont évolué à partir de précédentes.

Par exemple, thérapie narrative, thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement, thérapie cognitivo-sociale, thérapie hypnotique, etc.

Bonus: Thérapie de pleine conscience

La Mindfulness Therapy est un modèle de psychothérapie rigoureusement actuel qui suscite un vif intérêt dans les milieux scientifiques. Cela inclut les concepts de Philosophie bouddhiste et du Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT) et se situe dans ce que l’on appelle la troisième génération ou la troisième vague de thérapies psychologiques.

Le but de la pleine conscience est que les participants acquérir un état de conscience et de calme qui les aide à s'autoréguler et à mieux se connaître . En plus de s’accepter tel qu’il est et d’être dans le présent. Mais plus qu’un ensemble de techniques pour être dans le moment présent, c’est une attitude envers la vie. C'est un style d'adaptation qui détermine les forces personnelles.

La pleine conscience Fournit aux patients une méthode pour apprendre à gérer les émotions, les réactions, les attitudes et les pensées afin qu'ils puissent faire face aux situations qui surviennent dans leur vie, à travers la pratique et la perfection de la pleine conscience. Avec le progrès de la pratique de la pleine conscience dans le moment présent et avec une attitude de compassion envers soi-même, certaines attitudes positives se développent en relation avec l’état mental et les émotions, venant les contrôler de la liberté, de la connaissance. en soi et acceptation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ackerman, N. (1970). Théorie et pratique de la thérapie familiale. Buenos Aires: Proteo.
  • Haley, J. (1974). Traitement de la famille. Barcelone: ​​Toray.
  • McNamee, S. et Gergen, K.J. (1996). La thérapie en tant que construction sociale. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.
  • O'Hanlon, W.H. (1989). Racines profondes. Principes de base de la thérapie et de l'hypnose par Milton Erickson. Buenos Aires: Paidós.

Therapeute De Couple - Infidélité (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes