yes, therapy helps!
Valley Theory Disturbing: aversion to what seems human

Valley Theory Disturbing: aversion to what seems human

June 12, 2024

If when observing a robot with almost human appearance you experience a series of unpleasant sensations, it is possible that you find yourself under a phenomenon explained by The Valley Theory Disturbing .

This theory tries to give an explanation to the reactions that a person lives in the presence of a figure or image that is excessively human, but that on the other hand is not enough .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

What is the Disturbing Valley Theory?

The Disturbing Valley Theory, as well as the term Distressing Valley itself, are concepts related to the world of robotics and 3D animation that refer to a curve of the reaction of people in the presence of an anthropomorphic figure. That is, in the presence of a figure or object not alive, but with a great appearance of person. These anthropomorphic figures can refer to android robots or 3D animations of great realism.


The term "Disturbing Valley" It was created by professor and robotics specialist Masahiro Mori in the year 1970, and his name in Japanese was Bukimi no Tani Gensho. Under the translation known as Valle Inquietante, there is a metaphor that attempts to clarify the reactions that people experience in the presence of a robot with a human form.

According to this theory, the reaction of a person to an anthropomorphic robot is increasingly positive and empathetic as the appearance of the figure becomes more and more human. However, there is a turning point in which this reaction changes completely; becoming an aversion response due to the excess of similarity .


The name "valley" refers to the inclination of the curve present in the graph elaborated by Mori, which calculates how favorable the human response is in the presence of an anthropomorphic figure: it ascends as its human appearance also grows, until it reaches a point where the first one falls down when the second one is very high.

On the other hand, the term "disturbing" refers to the feeling of surprise or aversion that causes the perception of something that seems human but in reality it is not.

What causes this aversion?

Although it has not yet been possible to reach a completely valid conclusion about the causes of this sensation, there are several theories that try to explain the reason of this phenomenon.

1. Hypothesis of rejection of the disease

A hypothesis developed by the psychologist Thalia Wheatley indicates that, after centuries of evolution, human beings have developed the ability to detect any type of distortion in other humans and identify it or associate it with any type of physical or mental illness .


Therefore, the feeling of aversion to something that seems human, but that shows clear signs that it is not, would be no more than a natural defense of our brain to the idea of ​​disease and even death.

This means that all those distortions or rarities that we perceive before an anthropomorphic figure are directly associated, by our brain, with the idea or image of people who are considerably ill or even dead, thus originating an aversion or disgust response.

2. The paradox sorites

Also known as the heap paradox. Although this explanation is not directly related to the Disturbing Valley Theory, many experts and theorists have used it to try to find the cause of it.

This paradox manifests itself when a person tries to use common sense on a vague, imprecise or unclear concept. In the case of the disturbing Valley, figures with a human aspect they end up undermining our sense of identity when trying to find a logical explanation to what it is that we are observing. This generates a negative feeling and rejection of what we do not understand.

3. Hypothesis of the violation of human norms

According to this hypothesis, if a figure or robot has an appearance that could be identified with the human one, it generates a certain degree of empathy. However, when this figure only partially resembles a human, possessing remarkable non-human characteristics (such as a lack of clear expression of feelings or unnatural body movements) generating a feeling of uncertainty and a reaction of repulsion .

4. Hypothesis of the religious definition of person

In some societies strongly influenced by religious standards and concepts about the human being , the existence of artificial and anthropomorphic objects or figures poses a threat to the idea of ​​being human as it was conceived by different religions.

5. Hypothesis of "specialism"

The American psychiatrist Irvin Yalom explains that human beings, faced with the fear of death, create a series of psychological defenses that stop the anxiety caused by the certainty that one day we will die. One of these defenses is "specialism". This is an irrational and unconscious belief by which we assume that death is something inherent in life but that it is something that only applies to others, not to ourselves.

Therefore, the confrontation with an object or robot with a high human face can become so intense that it causes a discrepancy between the "specialism" and the existential defenses, generating a sensation of vital anguish.

Criticisms of Mori's model

As in most theories not scientifically proven, the Disturbing Valley Theory has not escaped criticism. A part of the experts in the world of robotics reject the idea of ​​Mori under the justification that there is no basis to justify the reaction curve created by it.

In addition, they rely on the fact that for the moment it is only possible to create robots partially similar to humans , so the theory would not have sufficient grounds. Instead, they claim that in any case could generate a kind of cognitive dissonance by which our brain generates expectations about what a human should be, expectations that with this type of humanoid figures would not be covered.


Hot Robot At SXSW Says She Wants To Destroy Humans | The Pulse (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Vallée de la théorie dérangeante: aversion pour ce qui semble humain

Vallée de la théorie dérangeante: aversion pour ce qui semble humain

Janvier 17, 2023

Si vous observez une série de sensations désagréables lorsque vous observez un robot d'aspect presque humain, il est possible que vous vous trouviez sous un phénomène expliqué par La théorie de la vallée troublante .

Cette théorie tente de donner une explication aux réactions qu’une personne vit en présence de une figure ou une image excessivement humaine, mais cela ne suffit pas .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

Quelle est la théorie dérangeante de la vallée?

La théorie dérangeante de la vallée, ainsi que le terme «vallée en détresse», sont concepts liés au monde de la robotique et de l'animation 3D qui se réfèrent à une courbe de la réaction des personnes en présence d'une figure anthropomorphique. C'est-à-dire en présence d'une figure ou d'un objet qui n'est pas vivant, mais avec une grande apparence de personne. Ces figures anthropomorphes peuvent faire référence à des robots androïdes ou à des animations 3D d'un grand réalisme.


Le terme "Vallée troublante" Il a été créé par le professeur et spécialiste en robotique Masahiro Mori en 1970, et son nom en japonais était Bukimi no Tani Gensho. Sous la traduction de Valle Inquietante, il existe une métaphore qui tente de clarifier les réactions des personnes face à la présence d'un robot à la forme humaine.

Selon cette théorie, la réaction d'une personne à un robot anthropomorphique est de plus en plus positive et empathique à mesure que l'apparence de la figure devient de plus en plus humaine. Cependant, il y a un tournant dans lequel cette réaction change complètement; devenir une réaction d'aversion due à l'excès de similitude .


Le nom "vallée" fait référence à l'inclinaison de la courbe présente dans le graphe élaboré par Mori, qui calcule à quel point la réponse humaine est favorable en présence d'une figure anthropomorphique: elle monte à mesure que son apparence humaine grandit, jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne un point où le premier tombe lorsque le second est très haut.

D'autre part, le terme "perturbant" désigne le sentiment de surprise ou d'aversion qui provoque la perception de quelque chose qui semble humain mais qui en réalité ne l'est pas.

Qu'est-ce qui cause cette aversion?

Bien qu'il n'ait pas encore été possible de tirer une conclusion tout à fait valable sur les causes de cette sensation, plusieurs théories tentent d'expliquer la raison de ce phénomène.

1. Hypothèse de rejet de la maladie

Une hypothèse développée par la psychologue Thalia Wheatley indique qu'après des siècles d'évolution, l'homme a développé la capacité de détecter tout type de distorsion chez d'autres êtres humains et l'identifier ou l'associer à tout type de maladie physique ou mentale .


Par conséquent, le sentiment d'aversion pour quelque chose qui semble humain, mais qui montre clairement que ce n'est pas le cas, ne serait que la défense naturelle de notre cerveau contre l'idée de maladie et même de mort.

Cela signifie que toutes les distorsions ou raretés que nous percevons avant une figure anthropomorphique sont directement associées, de notre cerveau, à l'idée ou à l'image de personnes considérablement malades ou même mortes, générant ainsi une réaction d'aversion ou de dégoût.

2. Le paradoxe sorite

Aussi connu sous le paradoxe du tas. Bien que cette explication ne soit pas directement liée à la théorie de la vallée troublante, de nombreux experts et théoriciens l'ont utilisée pour tenter d'en trouver la cause.

Ce paradoxe se manifeste lorsqu'une personne tente d'utiliser le bon sens sur un concept vague, imprécis ou peu clair. Dans le cas de la vallée troublante, des personnages à l'aspect humain ils finissent par miner notre sens de l'identité en essayant de trouver une explication logique à ce que nous observons. Cela génère un sentiment négatif et un rejet de ce que nous ne comprenons pas.

3. Hypothèse de la violation des normes humaines

Selon cette hypothèse, si une figure ou un robot a une apparence identifiable à celle de l'homme, il génère un certain degré d'empathie. Cependant, lorsque cette figure ne ressemble que partiellement à un humain, elle présente des caractéristiques non humaines remarquables (telles que le manque d'expression claire des sentiments ou des mouvements de corps non naturels). générer un sentiment d'incertitude et une réaction de répulsion .

4. Hypothèse de la définition religieuse de la personne

Dans certaines sociétés fortement influencé par des normes religieuses et des concepts sur l'être humain , l’existence d’objets ou de figures artificiels et anthropomorphes menace l’idée d’être humain telle que la concevaient différentes religions.

5. Hypothèse de "spécialisation"

Le psychiatre américain Irvin Yalom explique que les êtres humains, confrontés à la peur de la mort, créent une série de défenses psychologiques cela arrête l'angoisse causée par la certitude qu'un jour nous mourrons. L'une de ces défenses est la "spécialisation". C’est une croyance irrationnelle et inconsciente par laquelle nous supposons que la mort est quelque chose d’inhérent à la vie mais que c’est quelque chose qui ne s’applique qu’aux autres, pas à nous-mêmes.

Par conséquent, la confrontation avec un objet ou un robot avec un visage humain élevé peut devenir si intense qu'elle provoque un décalage entre le "spécialisme" et les défenses existentielles, générant une sensation d'angoisse vitale.

Critiques du modèle de Mori

Comme dans la plupart des théories non scientifiquement prouvées, la théorie de la dérangement dans la vallée n'a pas échappé à la critique. Une partie des experts de la robotique rejette l’idée de Mori sous prétexte que rien ne justifie la courbe de réaction créée par celle-ci.

En outre, ils s'appuient sur le fait que pour le moment, il est seulement possible de créer des robots partiellement similaires à l'homme , donc la théorie n'aurait pas de motifs suffisants. Au lieu de cela, ils prétendent que dans tous les cas, cela pourrait générer une sorte de dissonance cognitive par laquelle notre cerveau génère des attentes sur ce qu'un humain devrait être, des attentes selon lesquelles ce type de figures humanoïdes ne serait pas couvert.


Isolation - Mind Field (Ep 1) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes