yes, therapy helps!
Walter Mischel: biography of this psychologist and researcher

Walter Mischel: biography of this psychologist and researcher

September 12, 2022

Walter Mischel (1930-2018) was a psychologist of Austrian origin who developed important research on stimulus control, delayed reinforcement and self-control, especially in childhood and adolescence. He is considered one of the main psychologists in the clinic of cognitive behavioral approach and one of the most cited authors of the twentieth century.

We'll see now a biography of Walter Mischel , as well as some of his main contributions to psychology.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Walter Mischel: life and work of this clinical psychologist

Walter Mischel was born on February 22, 1930 in Vienna, Austria. Eight years later, he and his family moved to the United States due to the recent Nazi occupation. He was the youngest of three brothers, children of businessman Solomon Mischel and Lola Leah Schreck who was a housewife.


Mischel grew up in Brooklyn, New York from the year 1940, where she studied high school, as well as university education at the state university, while working in the business of his family. Despite having started her medical studies, Mischel ended up taking an interest in psychology, especially in its clinical application.

Thus, in 1956, Mischel earned a doctoral degree in clinical psychology from Ohio State University , where he was trained by one of the most recognized psychologists in cognitive behavioral clinic, George Kelly. Likewise, Julian Rotter, a psychologist remembered for laying the foundations of control locus theories, was a determining factor in his professional training.


Thereafter he served for two years as a professor and researcher at the University of Colorado, for two years at Harvard University and during the same time at Stanford University.

International recognitions

In 1983, Mischel was a professor at Columbia University, and in 1991 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Subsequently, in 2004, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, and from 2007 to 2008 he was president of the Association for Psychological Science .

Finally, in 2011 he received the Grawemeyer Psychology Award from the University of Louisville, for his work in stimulus control, retarded reinforcement, self-control and willpower. In the year 2002, Mischel was classified by the American Psychological Association in the 25th place of the list of the most cited psychologists in this discipline during the 20th century.


The marshmallow experiment (Marshmallow Test)

At the end of the 60's, Mischel conducted an experiment through which he wanted to observe the effects of retarded reinforcement, also called delayed gratification .

The latter is the ability to abstain from receiving a rewarding element immediately, in order to receive another more desired element even though it implies a longer wait. We will see below what this experiment was about and the implications it had for cognitive-behavioral psychology.

Does self-control influence learning?

This experiment consisted of the following: children between four and six years of age were selected and taken to a room where there was only one table and one chair. On the table there was a marshmallow, an oreo cookie or some other treat previously selected by the child.

The researchers left the child alone inside the room, after giving him the following options: ring a bell to call the researcher and on his return eat the candy, or, wait until the volunteer return of the researcher, and receive one more treat. Obviously, the second option implied an immediate gratifying experience, while the second implied a gratifying experience. For this reason, the terms "delayed gratification" or "delayed reinforcement" are used.

As a result of the experiment, some children decided to wait up to 20 minutes and receive two treats instead of one. These were called "high retarders". Further, to hold the wait they developed several distraction techniques , like covering your eyes with your hands, singing or shouting, looking around the chair to avoid turning towards the marshmallow, among others. In contrast, other children decided to avoid the long wait (they waited less than 1 minute to call the researcher) and preferred to eat only one. The latter were called "low retarders".

But the experiment did not end there.Under a longitudinal design, which allowed to know the effects of waiting through time, the same children (now adolescents) were studied again. In this new study, he found a relationship between the ability to wait (retarded reinforcement) and better school performance in numerical terms (ie, better scores or grades in academic tests). Similarly delayed gratification it was linked to greater resistance to substance abuse and greater satisfaction in interpersonal relationships.

Not only that, but further research with the same participants have linked the high retarded reinforcement with increased activity of the prefrontal cortex, which is the anterior part of the frontal lobes of the brain and is related to complex planning, decision making and the social adequacy.

Broadly speaking, these studies show the conclusion that self-control and willpower are one of the keys to academic and personal achievement. The test or experiment of the marshmallows has been subsequently replicated with some variants that allow to analyze in depth the mechanisms of self-control and its implications for learning.

They have also allowed to analyze some dilemmas and complexities of self-control related to the immediate pleasures offered by impulsive decisions, and the difficulties that are planned when prolonged waiting times are not finally gratified.

  • You may be interested: "The delay of gratification and the ability to resist impulses"

Some gender differences in the Marshmallow Test

Another issue that has been possible to analyze through this experiment and some of its replicas, is the cultural interpretation of delayed gratification according to gender .

When a girl decided to wait to receive gratification, such behavior was interpreted by adults as "a great intellectual capacity", "high competence", "ingenuity". On the other hand, those who opted for immediate gratification were understood as "emotionally labile," "moody" or "complaining" (Conti, 2018).

In contrast, children who delayed gratification were described as "shy," "reserved," "obedient," or "anxious," while those who decided to obtain reinforcement immediately were described as "vital," "energetic," "Animated", "self-affirming" (ibid.).

The foregoing may reflect the values ‚Äč‚Äčassociated with self-control within the American culture. For example, it may indicate a greater acceptance of impulsivity among children, and a greater approval of tolerant behaviors among girls . The latter can generate guidelines to explain learning and behavioral patterns differentially reinforced by gender.

Bibliographic references:

  • Conti, R. (2018). Delay of gratification Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved September 18, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/science/delay-of-gratification#ref1206154.
  • Rohrich, R. (2015). So ... are you failing the Marshmallow Test? Connecting and Disconnecting in Our Information-Rich World. Journal of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, 135 (6): 1751-1754.
  • Walter Mischel (2018). Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Retrieved September 18. Available at //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Mischel.

Walter Mischel - The Marshmallow Test (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Walter Mischel: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur

Walter Mischel: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur

Août 10, 2022

Walter Mischel (1930-2018) était un psychologue d'origine autrichienne qui avait développé d'importantes recherches sur le contrôle des stimuli, le renforcement retardé et la maîtrise de soi, en particulier pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence. Il est considéré comme l'un des principaux psychologues de la clinique de l'approche cognitivo-comportementale et l'un des auteurs les plus cités du XXe siècle.

Ensuite nous verrons une biographie de Walter Mischel , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions à la psychologie.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Walter Mischel: vie et travail de ce psychologue clinicien

Walter Mischel est né le 22 février 1930 à Vienne, en Autriche. Huit ans plus tard, lui et sa famille ont déménagé aux États-Unis en raison de la récente occupation nazie. Il était le plus jeune de trois frères, les enfants de l'homme d'affaires Solomon Mischel et Lola Leah Schreck qui était une femme au foyer.


Mischel a grandi à Brooklyn, dans l'État de New York, à partir de l'année 1940, où elle a étudié au lycée et à l'université, tout en travaillant dans les affaires de sa famille. Bien qu'elle ait commencé ses études de médecine, Mischel a fini par s'intéresser à la psychologie, en particulier à son application clinique.

Ainsi, en 1956, Mischel a obtenu un doctorat en psychologie clinique de l'Ohio State University , où il a été formé par l’un des psychologues les plus reconnus de la clinique cognitivo-comportementale, George Kelly. De même, Julian Rotter, un psychologue reconnu pour avoir jeté les bases des théories du locus de contrôle, a joué un rôle déterminant dans sa formation professionnelle.


Par la suite, il a été professeur et chercheur pendant deux ans à l’Université du Colorado, pendant deux ans à l’Université de Harvard et au même moment à l’Université de Stanford.

Reconnaissances internationales

En 1983, Mischel était professeur à l'Université Columbia et en 1991, il a été élu à l'Académie américaine des arts et des sciences. Par la suite, en 2004, il a été élu à la National Academy of Sciences, et de 2007 à 2008, il était président de l'Association for Psychological Science .

Enfin, en 2011, il a reçu le prix de psychologie Grawemeyer de l'Université de Louisville pour ses travaux sur le contrôle de stimulation, le renforcement retardé, la maîtrise de soi et la volonté. En 2002, l'American Psychological Association classait Mischel à la 25e place de la liste des psychologues les plus cités de cette discipline au cours du 20e siècle.


L'expérience de la guimauve (test de la guimauve)

À la fin des années 60, Mischel a mené une expérience par laquelle il souhaitait observer les effets du renforcement retardé. aussi appelé gratification différée .

Ce dernier est la capacité de s’abstenir de recevoir immédiatement un élément enrichissant, afin de recevoir un autre élément plus souhaité, même si cela implique une attente plus longue. Nous verrons ci-dessous en quoi consistait cette expérience et ses implications pour la psychologie cognitivo-comportementale.

La maîtrise de soi influence-t-elle l'apprentissage?

Cette expérience consistait en ce qui suit: les enfants âgés de quatre à six ans ont été sélectionnés et emmenés dans une pièce où il n'y avait qu'une table et une chaise. Sur la table il y avait une guimauve, un biscuit Oreo ou une autre friandise précédemment sélectionné par l'enfant.

Les chercheurs ont laissé l'enfant seul dans la pièce, après lui avoir donné les options suivantes: sonner une cloche pour appeler le chercheur et à son retour manger le bonbon, ou, attendre le retour volontaire du chercheur et recevoir une friandise supplémentaire. De toute évidence, la deuxième option impliquait une expérience gratifiante immédiate, tandis que la seconde impliquait une expérience gratifiante. Pour cette raison, les termes "gratification différée" ou "renforcement différé" sont utilisés.

À la suite de l'expérience, certains enfants ont décidé d'attendre 20 minutes et de recevoir deux friandises au lieu d'une. Celles-ci étaient appelées "retardateurs élevés". En outre, pour attendre, ils ont développé plusieurs techniques de distraction , comme se couvrir les yeux avec les mains, chanter ou crier, regarder autour de la chaise pour éviter de se tourner vers la guimauve, entre autres. En revanche, d’autres enfants ont décidé d’éviter la longue attente (ils ont attendu moins d’une minute pour appeler le chercheur) et ont préféré en manger une seule. Ces derniers ont été appelés "retardateurs faibles".

Mais l'expérience ne s'est pas arrêtée là.Dans une conception longitudinale, qui permettait de connaître les effets de l’attente dans le temps, les mêmes enfants (maintenant des adolescents) ont été à nouveau étudiés. Dans cette nouvelle étude, il a trouvé un lien entre la capacité d'attendre (renforcement retardé) et une meilleure performance scolaire en termes numériques (c.-à-d. De meilleurs scores ou de meilleures notes aux tests académiques). De même la gratification différée il était lié à une plus grande résistance à la toxicomanie et une plus grande satisfaction dans les relations interpersonnelles.

Non seulement cela, mais de nouvelles recherches avec les mêmes participants ont associé le renforcement retardé élevé à une activité accrue du cortex préfrontal, qui est la partie antérieure des lobes frontaux du cerveau et est liée à la planification complexe, la prise de décision et l'adéquation sociale.

D'une manière générale, ces études montrent que le contrôle de soi et la volonté sont l'une des clés de la réussite scolaire et personnelle. Le test ou l’expérience des guimauves a ensuite été reproduit avec certaines variantes qui permet d'analyser en profondeur les mécanismes de maîtrise de soi et ses implications pour l'apprentissage.

Ils ont également permis d’analyser certains dilemmes et complexités de la maîtrise de soi liés aux plaisirs immédiats offerts par des décisions impulsives, ainsi que les difficultés envisagées lorsque les temps d’attente prolongés ne sont finalement pas comblés.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le retard de la gratification et la capacité de résister aux impulsions"

Quelques différences de genre dans le test de guimauve

Un autre problème qui a pu être analysé à travers cette expérience et certaines de ses répliques est: l'interprétation culturelle de la gratification différée selon le sexe .

Lorsqu'une fille décide d'attendre pour recevoir une gratification, un tel comportement est interprété par les adultes comme "une grande capacité intellectuelle", "une compétence élevée", "une ingéniosité". Par contre, ceux qui optaient pour une gratification immédiate étaient compris comme «émotionnellement labiles», «déprimés» ou «se plaindre» (Conti, 2018).

En revanche, les enfants qui ont différé la gratification ont été décrits comme "timides", "réservés", "obéissants" ou "anxieux", tandis que ceux qui ont décidé d'obtenir immédiatement un renforcement ont été décrits comme "vitaux", "énergiques". "Animé", "auto-affirmant" (ibid.).

Ce qui précède peut refléter les valeurs associées à la maîtrise de soi au sein de la culture américaine. Par exemple, cela peut indiquer une plus grande acceptation de l’impulsivité chez les enfants et une plus grande approbation des comportements tolérants chez les filles . Ce dernier peut générer des lignes directrices pour expliquer les schémas d'apprentissage et de comportement renforcés de manière différenciée par le genre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Conti, R. (2018). Retard de gratification Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 18 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/science/delay-of-gratification#ref1206154.
  • Rohrich, R. (2015). Alors ... échouez-vous au test de guimauve? Se connecter et se déconnecter dans notre monde riche en informations. Journal de la société américaine des chirurgiens plasticiens, 135 (6): 1751-1754.
  • Walter Mischel (2018). Wikipedia, l'encyclopédie gratuite. Récupéré le 18 septembre. Disponible à l'adresse //fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Mischel.

Austrian born American psychologist Walter Mischel Died at 88 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes