yes, therapy helps!
The 10 most important Sigmund Freud books

The 10 most important Sigmund Freud books

May 6, 2021

Sigmund Freud is as loved as he is hated, but there is no doubt that his theoretical legacy has left marks in our culture and our society .

Although his ideas have been totally out of date with regard to his explanations about the functioning of mental processes, both our way of thinking and our way of creating culture have, in part, their mark.

The most important and influential books of Sigmund Freud

That is why, even decades after his death, the work of the father of psychoanalysis remains of general interest.

Then You can see a small list with the most important Freud books , so you can deepen your ideas and value them with critical sense. The order in which they are listed is chronological, according to their year of publication.


1. Studies on hysteria (1895)

This book, written by Sigmund Freud and his mentor Josef Breuer, is the seed of the psychodynamic theory that Freud would create during the years following the publication of these writings . It is also the set of texts in which the ideas about the unconscious are intuited, which would later give rise to the great theories of psychoanalysis, although in this case the subject has a greater relationship with psychiatry and clinical psychology at the end of the 19th century.

You can buy it by clicking on this link.

2. The interpretation of dreams (1900)

For many people, this is the book with which psychoanalysis was born . In this work Freud develops the idea that dreams could be the field in which unconscious thoughts emerge to consciousness disguised through messages transmitted in a symbolic way. Thus, the dreams would be expressions of repressed desires that take advantage to lean out to meet the conscious mind when we sleep.


You can buy it here.

3. Psychopathology of everyday life (1901)

The theory created by Sigmund Freud not only deals with the causes of the symptoms of serious mental illness . It also tries to explain the fundamental psychological mechanisms that are behind the actions of the human being in general.

This is one of the books written by Freud in which the psychoanalyst explains the way in which, in his view, the functioning of our unconscious gives rise to the appearance of small inconsistencies in our way of behaving: slip, confuse words at the time of expressing ourselves and, in general, what Freud called failed acts. It also explains the possible failures in the functioning of the human psyche that from their perspective could be behind these phenomena.


You can buy it through this link.

4. Three essays on sexual theory (1905)

Sexuality had a very important role in Freudian theory . In fact, some of his students distanced themselves from him, among other things, because of the emphasis with which the father of psychoanalysis defended the centrality of the sexual as part of the unconscious and instinctual machinery that makes us behave as we do.

This is one of Freud's most important books because it contains the ideas that shape the Freudian theory of psychosexual development.

You can buy it here.

5. Totem and Taboo (1913)

Unlike the rest of Freud's books, this selection of essays goes beyond the clinical scope to delve into those phenomena rooted historically in the social and cultural. The conclusions found between the pages of this work have implications on issues such as religion, rituals and even archeology .

The content of this work is more philosophical and anthropological than the rest of Freud's books.

Buy it here

6. Introduction of narcissism (1914)

The content of this book is a review of Freud's theory of drives. In Introduction of narcissism, Freud explains that narcissism is part of the normal functioning of the psyche and that its seed is present from the early stages of psychosexual development.

You can buy it here.

7. Introduction to psychoanalysis (1917)

Who better to give us to know psychoanalysis than the person who created it?

Among the pages of this work, Sigmund Freud explains the main foundations of psychoanalytic theory and points out the fundamental pillars on which the work of the psychoanalyst should be based. It is a good option to get a general idea of ​​what Freud understood by neurosis, unconscious, dreams, repression, etc.

Buy it here

8. Beyond the pleasure principle (1920)

This is Freud's first book in which a distinction appears between the life drives (Eros) and the death drives (Tanathos). In addition, the theory of the instincts of Sigmund Freud is portrayed here with a great level of detail

Buy it through this link.

9. The me and the id (1923)

The theory of ego structures it is of total relevance within Freud's work, and in this book its foundations are well explained. The difference between the It, the Self and the Super-ego, as well as the principles by which they are governed and their role in the human psyche, are analyzed in depth.

Buy it here

10. The malaise in the culture (1930)

Being that Sigmund Freud was very concerned about the tensions between the individual drives of each one and the conflict in which they came into conflict with the norms of behavior, it is not surprising that he dedicated one of his books to examine the fit between the individual and culture . The basic idea that is reflected in the pages of this essay is that, as the interests of civilization and the primary desires of individuals are in constant tension, this generates a chronic feeling of discomfort.

This is one of the most important Freud books from the perspective of social psychology.

Buy it here


Top 10 Insane Facts About Sigmund Freud (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 livres les plus importants de Sigmund Freud

Les 10 livres les plus importants de Sigmund Freud

Février 18, 2019

Sigmund Freud est aussi aimé qu'on le déteste, mais il ne fait aucun doute que son héritage théorique a laissé des traces dans notre culture et notre société .

Bien que ses idées soient totalement dépassées en ce qui concerne ses explications sur le fonctionnement des processus mentaux, notre façon de penser et notre manière de créer une culture ont, en partie, leur marque.

Les livres les plus importants et les plus influents de Sigmund Freud

C'est pourquoi, même des décennies après sa mort, le travail du père de la psychanalyse reste d'intérêt général.

Ensuite Vous pouvez voir une petite liste des livres les plus importants de Freud afin que vous puissiez approfondir vos idées et les valoriser avec un sens critique. L'ordre dans lequel ils sont répertoriés est chronologique, en fonction de l'année de publication.


1. Études sur l'hystérie (1895)

Ce livre, écrit par Sigmund Freud et son mentor Josef Breuer, est le germe de la théorie psychodynamique que Freud créerait dans les années suivant la publication de ces écrits . C’est aussi l’ensemble des textes dans lesquels les idées sur l’inconscient sont intuitives, qui donneront ensuite naissance aux grandes théories de la psychanalyse, bien que dans ce cas le sujet ait une relation plus étroite avec la psychiatrie et la psychologie clinique à la fin du XIXe siècle.

Vous pouvez l'acheter en cliquant sur ce lien.

2. L'interprétation des rêves (1900)

Pour beaucoup de gens c'est le livre avec lequel la psychanalyse est née . Dans ce travail, Freud développe l'idée que les rêves peuvent être le champ dans lequel les pensées inconscientes émergent de la conscience déguisées en messages transmis de manière symbolique. Ainsi, les rêves seraient des expressions de désirs refoulés qui profitent pour se pencher pour rencontrer l'esprit conscient lorsque nous dormons.


Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

3. Psychopathologie de la vie quotidienne (1901)

La théorie créée par Sigmund Freud non seulement traite des causes des symptômes de maladie mentale grave . Il tente également d'expliquer les mécanismes psychologiques fondamentaux à la base des actions de l'être humain en général.

C’est l’un des ouvrages de Freud dans lequel le psychanalyste explique comment, selon lui, le fonctionnement de notre inconscient donne lieu à l’apparition de petites incohérences dans notre comportement: glissement, confusion des mots au moment de nous exprimer et, en général, ce que Freud a appelé actes manqués. Cela explique également les défaillances possibles du fonctionnement de la psyché humaine qui, de leur point de vue, pourraient être à l'origine de ces phénomènes.


Vous pouvez l'acheter via ce lien.

4. Trois essais sur la théorie sexuelle (1905)

La sexualité avait un rôle très important dans la théorie freudienne . En fait, certains de ses étudiants se sont éloignés de lui, entre autres, à cause de l’emphase avec laquelle le père de la psychanalyse a défendu la centralité du sexuel en tant qu’élément de la machinerie inconsciente et instinctive qui nous fait nous comporter comme nous le faisons.

C'est l'un des livres les plus importants de Freud car il contient les idées qui façonnent la théorie freudienne du développement psychosexuel.

Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

5. Totem et Tabou (1913)

Contrairement aux autres livres de Freud, cette sélection d'essais dépasse le cadre clinique pour approfondir ces phénomènes enracinés historiquement dans le social et le culturel. Les conclusions trouvées entre les pages de cet ouvrage avoir des implications sur des questions telles que la religion, les rituels et même l'archéologie .

Le contenu de ce travail est plus philosophique et anthropologique que le reste des livres de Freud.

Achetez-le ici

6. Introduction du narcissisme (1914)

Le contenu de ce livre est une revue de la théorie de Freud sur les lecteurs. Dans Introduction du narcissismeFreud explique que le narcissisme fait partie du fonctionnement normal de la psyché et que son germe est présent dès les premières étapes du développement psychosexuel.

Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

7. Introduction à la psychanalyse (1917)

Qui mieux pourrait nous donner à connaître la psychanalyse que la personne qui l'a créée?

Parmi les pages de ce travail, Sigmund Freud explique les principaux fondements de la théorie psychanalytique et souligne les piliers fondamentaux sur lesquels le travail du psychanalyste devrait être fondé. C'est une bonne option pour avoir une idée générale de ce que Freud a compris par névrose, inconscience, rêves, répression, etc.

Achetez-le ici

8. Au-delà du principe de plaisir (1920)

C’est le premier livre de Freud dans lequel une distinction apparaît entre le pulsions de vie (Eros) et le les pulsions de mort (Tanathos). De plus, la théorie des instincts de Sigmund Freud est décrite ici avec beaucoup de détails.

Achetez-le via ce lien.

9. Le moi et le ça (1923)

Le théorie des structures du moi il est tout à fait pertinent dans le travail de Freud et, dans ce livre, ses fondements sont bien expliqués. La différence entre le Je, le Soi et le Surmoi, ainsi que les principes par lesquels ils sont gouvernés et leur rôle dans la psyché humaine sont analysés en profondeur.

Achetez-le ici

10. Le malaise dans la culture (1930)

Étant donné que Sigmund Freud était très préoccupé par les tensions entre les pulsions individuelles de chacun et le conflit dans lequel ils sont entrés en conflit avec les normes de comportement, il n'est pas étonnant qu'il consacre l'un de ses livres à examiner l'adéquation entre l'individu et la culture . L'idée de base qui est reflétée dans les pages de cet essai est que, dans la mesure où les intérêts de la civilisation et les principaux désirs des individus sont en tension constante, cela génère un malaise chronique.

C'est l'un des livres les plus importants de Freud du point de vue de la psychologie sociale.

Achetez-le ici


Sigmund Freud : l'homme à femmes (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes