yes, therapy helps!
What happens in your brain when you listen to your favorite music?

What happens in your brain when you listen to your favorite music?

December 4, 2020

It is more or less easy to predict what kind of movies will please most of the audience, and it is not complicated to do the same with books or video games.

However, with music it seems that this does not happen so much: we all have musical pieces in mind that, although they do not look anything like what we usually prefer to listen to, they trap us. That's why it's curious that favourite songs , in all their variety and whatever they may be, produce a similar effect in the brain of the listener.

In fact, music can define, in a certain way, how we are and how we think, as we saw in the articles:

"What music do intelligent people listen to?" Y,,,


"Music and personality: what link do they have?"

Music and memory

Thanks to brain activity monitoring systems, nowadays we know a little more about what happens in our nervous system when listening to songs that we like. The results show typical activation patterns and that are repeated every time you go through that experience.

No matter the gender or practically the duration : the music that we find enjoyable has certain and relatively predictable effects on the patterns of neuronal activity in our body.

What happens in our brain when we listen to our favorite music?

Specific, strong electrical connections are established between the auditory areas of the brain and the hippocampus , a part related to memory and emotionality. That means that the neural processes that a fan of Turbonegro are very similar to those that occur in the head of an amateur Chopin when both are listening to what they like, no matter how different the vibrations that reach the eardrums.


The finding would also help explain why totally different pieces of music can trigger very similar emotional states in different people and the role of music in the remembrance of memories. In addition, it is further evidence of how closely related memories and emotions are linked to the moment of recovery.

However, the fundamental of the study is that it shows how our brain is able to turn over any series of sound stimuli to awaken moods to some extent unpredictable, related to the musical taste of the listener. In this sense, we have also seen that we are capable of making music something pleasant by identifying with what we hear relating it to our memories and thus helping to give them a satisfactory meaning or to use it for better regulate our emotions .


Different stimuli, same result

Of course, every moment has its potential "ideal music" and we probably would not get the same results if we forced someone to listen to their favorite subject for longer than desired, for example, or at a time when they do not want to hear anything.

See, for example, The Mechanical Orange. However, in most cases there seems to be a paradox that very complex and changing processes (adapting the brain for the enjoyment of practically any musical piece) result in a stereotypical and predictable pattern of activation. Is a test of the brain's ability to reach the same results from different start situations , and memory plays a fundamental role in this process.

Beyond laboratory experiments, it is clear that the sensation of listening to music of our liking is unique and to some extent indescribable. However, if we raise the hood of our nervous system and observe what happens in it during this experience, we will realize that after such subjective sensations there is a network of neurons acting with sense.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kawakami, A., Furukawa, K., Katahira, K. and Okanoya, Kazuo. (2013). Sad music induces pleasant emotion. Frontirs in Psychology, 4 (311).
  • Van den Tol, A.J.M., Edwards, J. (2014). Listening to sad music in adverse situations: How music selection strategies relate to self-regulatory goals, listening effects, and mood enhancement. Psychology of Music.
  • Wilkins, R. W., Hodges, D.A., Laurienti, P.J., Steen, M. and Burdette, J.H. (2014) .Network Science and the Effects of Music Preference on Functional Brain Connectivity: From Beethoven to Eminem. Scientific Reports, 4. doi: 10.1038 / srep06130

Exploring the Impact of Music on Brain Function (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que se passe-t-il dans votre cerveau lorsque vous écoutez votre musique préférée?

Que se passe-t-il dans votre cerveau lorsque vous écoutez votre musique préférée?

Mai 20, 2022

Il est plus ou moins facile de prédire quel type de film plaira à la plupart des spectateurs, et il n’est pas compliqué de faire la même chose avec des livres ou des jeux vidéo.

Cependant, avec la musique, il semble que cela ne se produise pas tellement: nous avons tous en tête des morceaux musicaux qui, s'ils ne ressemblent en rien à ce que nous préférons écouter, nous emprisonnent. Voilà pourquoi il est curieux que chansons préférées , dans toute leur variété et quels qu’ils soient, produisent un effet similaire dans le cerveau de l’auditeur.

En fait, la musique peut définir, d'une certaine manière, comment nous sommes et comment nous pensons, comme nous l'avons vu dans les articles:

"Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?" et ,,,


"Musique et personnalité: quel lien ont-ils?"

Musique et mémoire

Grâce aux systèmes de surveillance de l'activité cérébrale, nous en savons aujourd'hui un peu plus sur ce qui se passe dans notre système nerveux lorsque nous écoutons des chansons que nous aimons. Les résultats montrent modèles d'activation typiques et cela se répète chaque fois que vous vivez cette expérience.

Peu importe le sexe ou pratiquement la durée : la musique que nous trouvons agréable a des effets certains et relativement prévisibles sur les modèles d’activité neuronale de notre corps.

Que se passe-t-il dans notre cerveau lorsque nous écoutons notre musique préférée?

En particulier de fortes connexions électriques sont établies entre les zones auditives du cerveau et de l'hippocampe , une partie liée à la mémoire et à l’émotion. Cela signifie que les processus neuronaux qu'un fan de Turbonegro sont très similaires à ceux qui se produisent dans la tête d'un amateur Chopin quand les deux écoutent ce qu'ils veulent, peu importe la différence des vibrations qui atteignent les tympans.


Cette découverte aiderait également à comprendre pourquoi des morceaux de musique totalement différents peuvent déclencher des états émotionnels très similaires chez différentes personnes et le rôle de la musique dans la mémoire des souvenirs. En outre, cela prouve à quel point les souvenirs et les émotions sont étroitement liés au moment du rétablissement.

Cependant, l’essentiel de l’étude est de montrer à quel point notre cerveau est en mesure de transformer toute série de stimuli sonores afin d’éveiller des ambiances imprévisibles, liées au goût musical de l’auditeur. En ce sens, nous avons également constaté que nous sommes capables de rendre la musique agréable en identifiant ce que nous entendons en la rapportant à nos mémoires et en aidant ainsi à leur donner un sens satisfaisant ou à l’utiliser pour mieux réguler nos émotions .


Différents stimuli, même résultat

Bien entendu, chaque moment a son potentiel de "musique idéale" et nous ne pourrions probablement pas obtenir les mêmes résultats si nous obligions quelqu'un à écouter son sujet favori plus longtemps que souhaité, par exemple, ou à un moment où il ne veut rien entendre.

Voir par exemple Orange mécanique. Cependant, dans la plupart des cas, il semble exister un paradoxe selon lequel des processus très complexes et changeants (adaptation du cerveau à la jouissance de pratiquement n'importe quel morceau de musique) aboutissent à un schéma d'activation stéréotypé et prévisible. C'est un test de la capacité du cerveau à atteindre les mêmes résultats dans différentes situations de départ et la mémoire joue un rôle fondamental dans ce processus.

Au-delà des expériences en laboratoire, il est clair que la sensation d'écouter de la musique à notre goût est unique et, dans une certaine mesure, indescriptible. Cependant, si nous soulevons le capot de notre système nerveux et observons ce qui s'y passe pendant cette expérience, nous nous rendrons compte qu'après de telles sensations subjectives, il existe un réseau de neurones agissant avec sens.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kawakami, A., K. Furukawa, K., Katahira et Kazuo, Okanoya. (2013). La musique triste induit une émotion agréable. Frontirs in Psychology, 4 (311).
  • Van den Tol, A.J.M., Edwards, J. (2014). Écoute de musique triste dans des situations défavorables: liens entre les stratégies de sélection musicale et les objectifs d'autorégulation, les effets d'écoute et l'amélioration de l'humeur. Psychologie de la musique.
  • Wilkins, R. W., Hodges, D.A., Laurienti, P., Steen, M. et Burdette, J.H. (2014). Rapports scientifiques, 4. doi: 10.1038 / srep06130

10 choses insensées que votre cerveau sait faire sans e-penser - Ep.20 - e-penser (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes