yes, therapy helps!
What is the scientific method and how does it work?

What is the scientific method and how does it work?

May 10, 2021

Without science we would not have reached the current level of development. Thanks to the scientific method humanity has been creating great medical and technological advances , and even the field of psychology, a side of reality that seemed too confused and ambiguous to be analyzed, has developed to the point of allowing us to know well what is behind our acts and thoughts.

What is the importance of the scientific method?

However, What is the real reason why science has such prestige? Where exactly is its value? And why is it necessary to use the scientific method for science to progress?


I will try to shed some light on the issue in question starting with the root of the matter: the birth of science .

The origins of science and its epistemology

During the sixth century, in Ionia (a part of ancient Greece located in what is now Turkey), a world full of mysteries was presented to the Hellenes. The starting point was a situation of almost total uncertainty, but little by little, from the observation of nature, the ideas of an orderly and rational Universe, capable of being analyzed, were emerging .

At first, many of the Greeks believed that reality was formed by a matter composed of an essence that was barely known, governed by the action of equal and opposite forces that were maintained in dramatic struggle, always staying in an eternal Balance. In that historical moment and from these concepts arises a primitive science (or proto, rather than experiencing theorized) properly Greek.


The Renaissance brings the paradigm shift

It was not until the sixteenth century, with the arrival of the Renaissance in Europe, when a qualitative leap in scientific-technical knowledge that culminated in the eighteenth century AD began. with the Enlightenment .

In this scientific revolution many medieval prejudices were abandoned that were already dragged (some) from antiquity, and it came to consolidate a concrete and effective method to find out the truth: the scientific method, which It would allow to examine all aspects of nature in the best possible way .

And why "scientist"?

The science and its method were not reached by chance, but by survival . The primitive human civilization always found itself challenged by hecatombs of great magnitude (wars, floods, epidemics, etc.) that required a protocol that could give us reliability in the production of new knowledge to be able to face these adversities satisfactorily.


Thanks to the scientific method we could abandon the eternal paralysis produced by not understanding what is happening or what may happen in the future, because we begin to have good reasons to think that something is false or true ... although, ironically speaking, doubting is part of the scientific method and the skeptical spirit that accompanies it. In the words of the American physicist Robert Oppenheimer:

"A scientist should take the liberty of raising any question, of doubting any claim, of correcting errors."

The role of the brain

But not only catastrophes are the cause of the scientific method. One of the reasons for his birth is none other than our ability to reason, a miracle of evolution that enables us to avoid and solve errors of logic, cognitive biases and errors in perception. In summary, we can see the logic of things because our brain structured so that it allows to examine premises and arguments seeking consistency and coherence in them.

However, as relatively instinctive and emotional animals that we are, the level of cognitive abilities necessary to be absolutely skeptical and rational (someone who can recognize and order ideas and theories perfectly to detect defects in them) is impossible even for the more cultured and intelligent people. That is why science is, in part, a shared project and based on the consensus of many experts and specialists who offer their different points of view.

The scientific procedure

From the above it follows that science is not made by four geniuses or enlightened individually (the opposite would be to make scientific knowledge rely entirely on a fallacy of authority). Conversely, is the result of collective cooperation: the call scientific community .

Scientific knowledge is built on a previous one, investing decades of research along which numerous experiments are carried out (the test of double-blind, for example) and hypotheses and theories are proposed.In fact, scientific procedure is so and so collective that scientists often ask their colleagues (the scientific community) to review possible errors in their studies (even if this implies that their alleged discoveries are denied). This has the advantage that the more scientists researching, the more likely they are to find errors in previous research and conclusions. .

Pursuing scientific objectivity

It is clear that absolute objectivity does not exist even in the hard sciences , but that does not mean that it can not be taken as a reference or an ideal. That is why another of the pragmatic characteristics of scientific procedure is to delegate responsibilities in the research and development of hypotheses in auxiliary scientists who are not emotionally involved in the project.

In this way a greater objectivity is assured; essential feature of all science. These auxiliary scientists repeat the experiments and compare and analyze the information obtained , because any statement or sentence that claims to have the infallible seal of scientific quality must be able to be refuted or demonstrated by someone outside the project.

Would anyone believe a doctor who claims to have found the gift of immortality without giving the option for others to check if he is right? In a way, it's a matter of common sense.

The role of the media

The media have a great importance in the scientific future . When television, for example, tells us that researchers from some university have actually discovered something that they want to express (perhaps in a non-pedagogical way), this research is not finished much less, because its conclusions must be subject to repeated checks before having a good level of acceptance.

It is at this point that other professional colleagues must verify the certainty of such claims. After an exhaustive selection and a correct arbitration, if the study is still valid, it will be considered that the empirical evidence in favor of the hypothesis that has been raised are robust and serve to explain a phenomenon well.

In this way humanity will have advanced one more step. A step that may need to be revised in the future to continue advancing, because the scientific method always leaves the door open to a reformulation of the theories; the opposite would be to fall into a dogma.

Pseudosciences, sciences that really are not

Unfortunately, sometimes we fall into the error of developing pseudoscientific hypotheses , that as they are raised can not be worked through the scientific method.

And what is a pseudoscience? Pseudoscience is a belief or practice that is presented as a science but does not follow a reliable scientific method Ergo can not be checked. Usually characterized by ambiguous, contradictory and unspecific statements where the use of fallacies and exaggerations is the order of the day.

In the pseudosciences there is a dependence on confirmation but never proof of refutation, not to mention the lack of willingness to collaborate with the scientific community so that it can evaluate the situation. In short, if we already sometimes fall into propositions pseudoscientific without wanting to, imagine what level of development we would have if our knowledge about nature was only based on this type of assertions. It is in this comparison that all the value of science resides: in its usefulness .


The Scientific Method: Steps, Terms and Examples (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelle est la méthode scientifique et comment ça marche?

Quelle est la méthode scientifique et comment ça marche?

Avril 1, 2020

Sans la science, nous n'aurions pas atteint le niveau de développement actuel. Grâce à la méthode scientifique, l'humanité a créé de grandes avancées médicales et technologiques Et même le domaine de la psychologie, un aspect de la réalité qui semblait trop confus et ambigu pour être analysé, s'est développé au point de nous permettre de bien savoir ce qui se cache derrière nos actes et nos pensées.

Quelle est l'importance de la méthode scientifique?

Cependant, Quelle est la vraie raison pour laquelle la science a un tel prestige? Où est exactement sa valeur? Et pourquoi est-il nécessaire d'utiliser la méthode scientifique pour faire avancer la science?


Je vais essayer de faire la lumière sur le problème en question en commençant par le fond du problème: la naissance de la science .

Les origines de la science et son épistémologie

Au Ie siècle, en Ionie (une partie de la Grèce antique située dans l'actuelle Turquie), un monde rempli de mystères a été présenté aux Hellènes. Le point de départ était une situation d'incertitude presque totale, mais peu à peu, à partir de l'observation de la nature, les idées d'un Univers ordonné et rationnel, susceptible d'être analysé, émergeaient .

Au début, beaucoup de Grecs croyaient que la réalité était formée par une matière composée d’une essence à peine connue, régie par l’action de forces égales et opposées qui se maintenaient dans une lutte dramatique, restant toujours dans une éternité. équilibre Dans ce moment historique et de ces concepts découle une science primitive (ou proto, plutôt que de faire l'expérience théorisée) proprement grec.


La Renaissance apporte le changement de paradigme

Ce n’est qu’au XVIe siècle, avec l’arrivée de la Renaissance en Europe, que un saut qualitatif dans les connaissances scientifiques et techniques qui a culminé au dix-huitième siècle a commencé. avec les Lumières .

Au cours de cette révolution scientifique, de nombreux préjugés médiévaux, déjà tirés de l’Antiquité, ont été abandonnés et il s’est agi de consolider une méthode concrète et efficace pour découvrir la vérité: la méthode scientifique Cela permettrait d’examiner de la meilleure façon possible tous les aspects de la nature. .

Et pourquoi "scientifique"?

La science et sa méthode n'ont pas été atteintes par hasard, mais par survie . La civilisation humaine primitive s'est toujours trouvée confrontée à des hécatombes de grande ampleur (guerres, inondations, épidémies, etc.) qui nécessitaient un protocole capable de nous permettre de produire de nouvelles connaissances avec une fiabilité suffisante pour pouvoir faire face de manière satisfaisante à ces difficultés.


Grâce à la méthode scientifique, nous pourrions abandonner l'éternelle paralysie résultant de l'incompréhension de ce qui se passe ou de ce qui pourrait se produire à l'avenir, car nous commençons à avoir de bonnes raisons de penser que quelque chose est faux ou vrai ... même si, ironiquement, le doute fait partie du méthode scientifique et l'esprit sceptique qui l'accompagne. Selon le physicien américain Robert Oppenheimer:

"Un scientifique devrait se permettre de soulever toute question, de douter de toute prétention, de corriger des erreurs."

Le rôle du cerveau

Mais les catastrophes ne sont pas les seules causes de la méthode scientifique. L’une des raisons de sa naissance n’est autre que notre capacité de raisonnement, un miracle de l’évolution qui nous permet d’éviter et de résoudre les erreurs de logique, les biais cognitifs et les erreurs de perception. En résumé, nous pouvons voir la logique des choses parce que notre cerveau est structuré de manière à permettre d’examiner les prémisses et les arguments en recherchant la cohérence et la cohérence.

Cependant, en tant qu’animaux relativement instinctifs et émotifs, le niveau de capacités cognitives nécessaire pour être absolument sceptique et rationnel (quelqu'un qui sait reconnaître et ordonner parfaitement les idées et les théories pour en détecter les défauts) est impossible, même pour les des gens plus cultivés et intelligents. C’est pourquoi la science est, en partie, un projet partagé et repose sur le consensus de nombreux experts et des spécialistes qui offrent leurs différents points de vue.

La procédure scientifique

Il découle de ce qui précède que la science n’est ni faite par quatre génies ni éclairée individuellement (au contraire, il faudrait faire en sorte que les connaissances scientifiques reposent entièrement sur une erreur d’autorité). Au contraire, est le résultat d'une coopération collective: l'appel communauté scientifique .

Les connaissances scientifiques sont bâties sur des connaissances antérieures, investissant des décennies de recherche au cours desquelles sont menées de nombreuses expériences (le test de double aveugle, par exemple) et des hypothèses et théories sont proposées.En fait, la procédure scientifique est tellement collective que les scientifiques demandent souvent à leurs collègues (la communauté scientifique) d’examiner les erreurs possibles dans leurs études (même si cela implique que leurs prétendues découvertes sont refusées). Cela a pour avantage que plus les scientifiques effectuant des recherches sont nombreux, plus ils sont susceptibles de trouver des erreurs dans leurs recherches et conclusions précédentes. .

Poursuivre l'objectivité scientifique

Il est clair que l'objectivité absolue n'existe même pas dans les sciences fondamentales , mais cela ne signifie pas que cela ne peut pas être pris comme référence ou comme idéal. C’est la raison pour laquelle une autre caractéristique pragmatique de la procédure scientifique est de déléguer des responsabilités dans la recherche et le développement d’hypothèses chez des scientifiques auxiliaires qui ne sont pas impliqués émotionnellement dans le projet.

De cette manière, une plus grande objectivité est assurée; caractéristique essentielle de toute science. Ces scientifiques auxiliaires répètent les expériences et comparent et analysent les informations obtenues. , car toute déclaration ou phrase prétendant avoir le sceau infaillible de qualité scientifique doit pouvoir être réfutée ou démontrée par une personne extérieure au projet.

Quelqu'un croirait-il un médecin qui prétend avoir trouvé le cadeau de l'immortalité sans donner la possibilité aux autres de vérifier s'il a raison? D'une certaine manière, c'est une question de bon sens.

Le rôle des médias

Les médias ont une grande importance dans l'avenir scientifique . Lorsque la télévision, par exemple, nous dit que des chercheurs d’une certaine université ont réellement découvert quelque chose qu’ils veulent exprimer (peut-être de manière non pédagogique), cette recherche n’est pas encore beaucoup terminée, car ses conclusions doivent contrôles répétés avant d'avoir un bon niveau d'acceptation.

C’est à ce stade que d’autres collègues professionnels doivent vérifier la certitude de telles réclamations. Après une sélection exhaustive et un arbitrage correct, si l’étude est toujours valable, on considérera que les preuves empiriques en faveur de l’hypothèse évoquée sont solides et permettent d’expliquer correctement un phénomène.

De cette façon, l'humanité aura avancé d'un pas de plus. Une étape qu'il faudra peut-être revoir à l'avenir pour continuer à avancer, car la méthode scientifique laisse toujours la porte ouverte à une reformulation des théories; l'inverse serait de tomber dans un dogme.

Pseudosciences, des sciences qui ne sont vraiment pas

Malheureusement, nous tombons parfois dans l’erreur de développer des hypothèses pseudoscientifiques , comme ils sont élevés ne peuvent pas être travaillés par la méthode scientifique.

Et qu'est-ce qu'une pseudoscience? La pseudoscience est une croyance ou une pratique présentée comme une science mais ne suit pas une méthode scientifique fiable. Ergo ne peut pas être vérifié. Habituellement caractérisé par des déclarations ambiguës, contradictoires et non spécifiques où l’utilisation d’illusions et d’exagérations est à l’ordre du jour.

Dans les pseudosciences, il y a une dépendance à la confirmation, mais jamais une preuve de réfutation, sans parler du manque de volonté de collaborer avec la communauté scientifique afin qu'elle puisse évaluer la situation. pseudoscientifique sans le vouloir, imaginez le niveau de développement que nous aurions si notre connaissance de la nature ne reposait que sur ce type d’affirmations. C’est dans cette comparaison que réside toute la valeur de la science: dans son utilité .


La démarche scientifique (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes