yes, therapy helps!
Why do people choose to study Psychology? 10 reasons to understand it

Why do people choose to study Psychology? 10 reasons to understand it

June 24, 2021

The Degree in Psychology is one of the most demanded careers of today, largely because it helps us understand how we behave and think about people.

Psychology is everything, because the mind is everything in our life. Everything goes through our brain before we can be aware of it. Because, Psychology fits into many guilds: organizations, sports, education, etc., and generates so much interest today .

However, the reasons why people decide to study this career are varied, and depend on each of us and our motivations and desires. In addition, sometimes, it may happen that some individuals decide to study psychology having an erroneous vision of what the career is and abandon the first ones of change, when they realize that this science is not what they had thought.


Now, although deciding to study this career is an individual decision, There are some common reasons why many people study psychology , and in this article we tell you.

Is the psychology career difficult?

A question that many people consider when studying the psychology degree is whether it will be easy or difficult to study it. This response has a lot to do with a person's ability, motivation and effort. Obviously, becoming a psychologist requires these three elements and a lot of discipline, because four years can seem like an eternity without a seriousness about studying and if we do not do what we like and fill us as people.


Despite the subjectivity of the answer to this question, in our post "Is the Psychology career difficult? 8 psychologists say "you can find the opinion and opinion of different professionals in this field in terms of their years of university study.

Why do people study psychology?

But, What reasons lead to want to study this race? What reasons make students decide to study the Degree in Psychology? Pay attention to the following lines to discover it.

1. It helps you to understand yourself better

Psychology is an exciting profession and by studying it you learn many fascinating things about yourself : why we behave in a certain way in some situations, what is the power of emotions in our behavior, what is the personality or the influence of culture in our way of thinking.


Although people who are unaware of this profession associate psychology only with mental disorders, this discipline touches on many issues that can help us understand each other better. Not only from the individual point of view, but also social or group.

2. It helps you understand others

People are social beings and having healthy interpersonal relationships has a positive effect on our well-being . Psychology not only helps us to understand ourselves better, but, thanks to subjects such as social or group psychology, we can know more about the interaction with other people. Thanks to this race we can also learn to communicate better.

3. Be a better father

The subjects of developmental psychology, child psychology or educational psychology are usually focused on understanding the behavior and thinking of the youngest ones. There are people who, interested in this subject, see psychology as an opportunity to learn more about how to be better parents.

4. Outings of psychology

Although many people think that when studying psychology it is only possible to practice as a clinical psychologist, the truth is that the scope of application of psychology is very broad: psychology of organizations, social psychology, psychology of human resources, teaching, research

Some students decide to study to become clinical psychologists, while others decide that they want to devote themselves to other areas. The specialty is what attracts them.

  • Know the 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology

5. Help people

Psychology is a profession that, among many alternatives, has a healthcare function . Whether as a clinical psychologist or as a social psychologist, it is possible to help many people. This is the reason why some individuals opt for this career.

6. Gratification

And of course, helping other people is very rewarding . It is something that is born from within oneself and there is no greater retribution than feeling that the other person has improved their quality of life. While some move for money, others do it to help others.

7. It is simply your vocation

The truth is that for some students, studying psychology becomes a yes or a yes , and that is because they feel it from the bottom of their soul.They could not dedicate themselves to something else because, otherwise, they would not be happy. They would not be true to themselves. Sometimes there is no explanation of why you want to study psychology, it just feels that way and fills you up.

8. Complement with other professions

While for some the psychology degree is their vocation and they dedicate their lives to be psychologists, others complement it with other professions knowing the importance of psychology in our lives . For example, a human resources professional who studied the Degree in Labor Relations and wants to delve into the science of behavior and know more about some psychological variables such as communication, emotions or motivation.

9. Feel better

Some people make the mistake of studying psychology to feel better . There is no greater mistake than deciding to study psychology thinking that this will solve personal or psychological problems. In this case, it is necessary to go to therapy, not try to treat oneself.

10. Prepare to be a good psychologist

As has been said, psychologists work in many different fields of application: clinical, organizational, educational, among others. An obvious and necessary reason to be able to practice as a psychologist is to train and acquire the necessary skills to be able to practice as a psychology professional.

  • Recommended article: "10 tips to choose a good psychologist".

5 Things to Know Before Taking Psychology Courses (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi les gens choisissent d'étudier la psychologie? 10 raisons de le comprendre

Pourquoi les gens choisissent d'étudier la psychologie? 10 raisons de le comprendre

Janvier 26, 2023

Le diplôme en psychologie est l’une des carrières les plus demandées aujourd’hui, principalement parce qu’il nous aide à comprendre comment nous nous comportons et pensons aux gens.

La psychologie est tout, parce que le mental est tout dans notre vie. Tout passe par notre cerveau avant que nous puissions en être conscients. Pour cela, La psychologie s’intègre dans de nombreuses guildes: organisations, sports, éducation, etc., et suscite tant d’intérêt aujourd’hui .

Cependant, les raisons pour lesquelles les gens décident d’étudier cette carrière sont variées et dépendent de chacun de nous, ainsi que de nos motivations et de nos désirs. De plus, il peut arriver que certaines personnes décident d’étudier la psychologie en ayant une vision erronée de la carrière et abandonnent les premières modifications, quand elles se rendent compte que cette science n’est pas ce qu’elles avaient pensé.


Maintenant, bien que décider d’étudier cette carrière est une décision individuelle, Il y a quelques raisons communes pour lesquelles beaucoup de gens étudient la psychologie , et dans cet article, nous vous le disons.

La carrière en psychologie est-elle difficile?

Beaucoup de gens se posent la question lorsqu’ils étudient un diplôme en psychologie: est-ce qu’il sera facile ou difficile de l’étudier? Cette réponse a beaucoup à voir avec les capacités, la motivation et les efforts d'une personne. Évidemment, devenir psychologue requiert ces trois éléments et beaucoup de discipline, car quatre ans peuvent sembler une éternité sans être sérieux dans les études et si nous ne faisons pas ce que nous aimons et ne nous remplissons pas en tant que personnes.


Malgré la subjectivité de la réponse à cette question, dans notre article "La carrière de psychologue est-elle difficile?" 8 psychologues disent "vous pouvez trouver l’opinion de différents professionnels de ce domaine en termes d’années d’études universitaires.

Pourquoi les gens étudient la psychologie?

Mais Quelles raisons conduisent à vouloir étudier cette course? Quelles sont les raisons qui poussent les étudiants à choisir le diplôme en psychologie? Faites attention aux lignes suivantes pour le découvrir.

1. Cela vous aide à mieux vous comprendre

La psychologie est un métier passionnant et en l'étudiant, vous apprendrez beaucoup de choses fascinantes sur vous-même. : pourquoi nous nous comportons d’une certaine manière dans certaines situations, quel est le pouvoir des émotions dans notre comportement, quelle est la personnalité ou l’influence de la culture dans notre façon de penser.


Bien que les personnes qui ignorent cette profession associent la psychologie aux seuls troubles mentaux, cette discipline aborde de nombreux problèmes qui peuvent nous aider à mieux nous comprendre. Non seulement du point de vue individuel, mais aussi social ou de groupe.

2. Cela vous aide à comprendre les autres

Les gens sont des êtres sociaux et le fait d'avoir des relations interpersonnelles saines a un effet positif sur notre bien-être. . La psychologie nous aide non seulement à mieux nous comprendre nous-mêmes, mais, grâce à des sujets tels que la psychologie sociale ou de groupe, nous pouvons en savoir plus sur les interactions avec les autres. Grâce à cette course, nous pouvons aussi apprendre à mieux communiquer.

3. être un meilleur père

Les sujets de la psychologie du développement, de la psychologie de l’enfant ou de la psychologie de l’éducation sont généralement axés sur la compréhension du comportement et de la pensée des plus jeunes. Il y a des gens qui, intéressés par ce sujet, voient la psychologie comme une opportunité d'en apprendre plus sur comment devenir de meilleurs parents.

4. Sorties de psychologie

Bien que beaucoup de gens pensent qu'en étudiant la psychologie, il est uniquement possible d'exercer la profession de psychologue clinicien, la vérité est que le champ d'application de la psychologie est très vaste: psychologie des organisations, psychologie sociale, psychologie des ressources humaines, enseignement, recherche

Certains étudiants décident d’étudier pour devenir psychologues cliniciens, alors que d’autres décident de se consacrer à d’autres domaines. La spécialité est ce qui les attire.

  • Connaître les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie

5. Aidez les gens

La psychologie est une profession qui, parmi de nombreuses alternatives, a une fonction de soins de santé . Que ce soit en tant que psychologue clinicien ou psychologue social, il est possible d'aider de nombreuses personnes. C'est la raison pour laquelle certaines personnes optent pour cette carrière.

6. Gratification

Et bien sûr, aider les autres est très gratifiant . C'est quelque chose qui naît de l'intérieur de soi et il n'y a pas de plus grande rétribution que le sentiment que l'autre personne a amélioré sa qualité de vie. Alors que certains partent pour l'argent, d'autres le font pour aider les autres.

7. C'est simplement ta vocation

La vérité est que pour certains étudiants, étudier la psychologie devient un oui ou un oui et c’est parce qu’ils le sentent du fond de leur âme.Ils ne pourraient pas se consacrer à autre chose parce que, sinon, ils ne seraient pas heureux. Ils ne seraient pas fidèles à eux-mêmes. Parfois, il n’ya pas d’explication sur la raison pour laquelle vous souhaitez étudier la psychologie, cela se ressent et vous comble.

8. Complément avec d'autres professions

Pour certains, le diplôme de psychologie est leur vocation et ils consacrent leur vie à la psychologie, d'autres le complètent avec d'autres professions connaissant l'importance de la psychologie dans nos vies . Par exemple, une professionnelle des ressources humaines qui a étudié le diplôme en relations de travail et souhaite approfondir ses connaissances sur la science du comportement et en savoir plus sur certaines variables psychologiques telles que la communication, les émotions ou la motivation.

9. se sentir mieux

Certaines personnes font l'erreur d'étudier la psychologie pour se sentir mieux . Il n’ya pas de plus grande erreur que de décider d’étudier la psychologie en pensant que cela résoudrait des problèmes personnels ou psychologiques. Dans ce cas, il est nécessaire d’aller en thérapie et non d’essayer de se soigner soi-même.

10. Préparez-vous à être un bon psychologue

Comme on l'a dit, les psychologues travaillent dans de nombreux domaines d'application: clinique, organisationnel, éducatif, entre autres. Une raison évidente et nécessaire pour pouvoir exercer la profession de psychologue est de former et d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires. être capable de pratiquer en tant que professionnel de la psychologie.

  • Article recommandé: "10 conseils pour choisir un bon psychologue".

7 jours BFM: faut-il partir pour réussir? - 11/05 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes