yes, therapy helps!
Sorority: why solidarity among women is so important

Sorority: why solidarity among women is so important

April 16, 2021

Sorority is one of those words that should necessarily appear in any dictionary of feminism. Both she and her derivatives ("good greetings", "sororear", etc.) tell us about an idea: solidarity and cooperation between women. In other words, it is a term that is becoming increasingly popular because individualism among women is losing its followers.

In this article we will see what exactly does that of sorority refer to , and why the word related to feminism and in general the currents of left activism have appeared.

  • Related article: "What is radical feminism?"

What does sorority mean?

One of the aspects that causes more controversy about feminism has to do with its tendency to, with nuances, give preferential treatment to the feminine, the experiences that only women live. From a non-feminist point of view, the concept of sorority reflects just that: a word of recent creation that is striking because it is apparently a way of avoiding the use of a term "fraternity", because it is masculine and refers to the brothers.


But the interesting thing about this choice of words is that it has the power to make us question things. Instead of thinking that the term sorority is part of a strategy to avoid everything that refers to men, it can make us wonder why there are so few words with feminine connotations that apply to all human beings, men and women .

When we say sorority we are making reference not only solidarity among women , but also we take into account the context in which this solidarity occurs. And that context has to do with the discrimination and historical sexism that are given and have been given for millennia through what in feminist theory is known as patriarchy.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Queen bee syndrome: women who judge, criticize and attack others"

The patriarchal use of language

The fact that "fraternal" comes from "brothers" and that is used indistinctly of the gender of the people to whom it applies can be considered a simple anecdote, something without the greatest political or social importance. Actually, right from the start few people would bother to spend some time thinking about this.

However, it does not stop being strange, if we think about it, that the default word is used interchangeably for male groups or for mixed groups, since this creates situations of ambiguity: when we say "brothers", they are all men or there are also At least one woman in the group?

Simone de Beauvoir, one of the philosophers who laid the foundations of second wave feminism, gave one of the keys to understanding this. She wrote that the meaning of the feminine and the concept of what it is to be a woman is basically what is left over when the human and the masculine are equated. That is, historically, because of a set of unequal power dynamics between man and woman that is known as patriarchy , it is assumed that humanity is equivalent to masculinity, while the feminine is defined as the negation of what is not masculine and, therefore, not human.


Thus, for Beauvoir the reference figure is always a man, and the woman emerges by subtracting him and adding qualities to this "mold". It is what is not masculine, "the other".

For example, some brands offer a line of products that are formed by the women's version of their flagship product, and for that they usually market it playing with the color pink. However, neither the original product can be considered the male version of the product, nor does the color it bears makes it clear that it is for men. Normally the feminine is a subsidiary of the masculine , and sorority is one of the many initiatives that fight against this principle, from language, to influence how we analyze social reality and inequalities between the sexes.

Of course, the idea that modifying language is possible to favor the establishment of equality dynamics has been much debated and criticized, especially from the theoretical positions linked to philosophical materialism, such as Marxism. This is so because it is seen with skepticism, first, that changing the language significantly modify the ideas in the intended sense from the beginning, and second, that the important thing is the change of ideas before there has been a material change in the objective reality in which people live.

Starting from inequality

One of the ideas on which the concept of sorority is based is that women, because they are so, are in a disadvantaged position.That is why they must cooperate to access rights and freedoms that have historically been denied to them.

Such a complicated task it can not be confronted from the individualism , but it needs the joint action of many people, able to break old dynamics of submission: micromachismos, unjust laws, work environments in which women have more difficulties to prosper, etc.

The equivalence between women

As we have seen, the concept of sisterhood is the idea that expresses the importance of cooperation and solidarity between women and men. the awareness of the dehumanization of women . It is understood that, given that the specific problems of women go beyond the individual, they must be addressed not from individualism, but through solidarity among equals.

The word itself, sorority, emphasizes the fact that it only applies to female persons, since "soror" is another way of saying "sister of blood", and at the same time reinforces the idea that women are equal in their disadvantaged situation with men.

Thus, it is not that men are despised, but that it is understood that, since they are not subject to gender, it does not make sense to expect a similar structure of cooperation that is transversal among all men. Such an alliance would have very few goals to achieve, since they have already been achieved from the beginning.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lincoln, B. (2008). Women and public space: construction and exercise of citizenship. Mexico C. F .: Universidad Iberoamericana.
  • Simón Rodríguez, M. E. (2002). Vital democracy: women and men towards full citizenship. Madrid: Narcea.

First Muslim sorority at UT Austin (April 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sorority: pourquoi la solidarité entre femmes est si importante

Sorority: pourquoi la solidarité entre femmes est si importante

Décembre 9, 2021

La sororité est l’un de ces mots qui doivent nécessairement figurer dans n’importe quel dictionnaire du féminisme. Elle et ses dérivés ("salutations", "sororear", etc.) nous parlent d'une idée: la solidarité et la coopération entre les femmes. En d’autres termes, c’est un terme de plus en plus populaire parce que l’individualisme féminin est en train de perdre ses partisans.

Dans cet article, nous verrons qu'est-ce que celui de sororité se réfère exactement et pourquoi le mot lié au féminisme et en général aux courants d’activisme de gauche est apparu.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que le féminisme radical?"

Que signifie sororité?

L'un des aspects qui suscite le plus de controverse au sujet du féminisme tient à sa tendance à donner, avec des nuances, un traitement préférentiel au féminin, à des expériences que seules les femmes vivent. D'un point de vue non féministe, le concept de sororité reflète bien cela: un mot de création récente qui frappe parce qu'il est apparemment une façon d'éviter l'utilisation d'un terme "fraternité", parce qu'il est masculin et renvoie à la frères


Mais ce qui est intéressant avec ce choix de mots, c’est qu’il a le pouvoir de nous faire poser des questions. Au lieu de penser que le terme sororité fait partie d'une stratégie visant à éviter tout ce qui concerne les hommes, cela peut nous amener à nous demander pourquoi il y a si peu de mots à connotation féminine qui s'appliquent à tous les êtres humains, hommes et femmes .

Quand on dit sororité on fait référence non seulement la solidarité entre les femmes , mais nous tenons également compte du contexte dans lequel cette solidarité se produit. Et ce contexte a à voir avec la discrimination et le sexisme historique qui sont et sont donnés depuis des millénaires à travers ce que la théorie féministe appelle le patriarcat.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le syndrome de la reine des abeilles: des femmes qui jugent, critiquent et attaquent les autres"

L'usage patriarcal du langage

Le fait que «fraternel» vienne de «frères» et qu’il est utilisé indifféremment du genre des personnes auxquelles il s’applique peut être considéré comme une simple anecdote, quelque chose qui n’a pas la plus grande importance politique ou sociale. En fait, dès le début, peu de gens se préoccuperaient de cela.

Cependant, si nous y réfléchissons bien, le mot par défaut est utilisé indifféremment pour des groupes d'hommes ou pour des groupes mixtes, car cela crée des situations d'ambiguïté: quand on dit "frères", ce sont tous des hommes ou il y a aussi Au moins une femme du groupe?

Simone de Beauvoir, une des philosophes qui a jeté les bases du féminisme de seconde vague, a donné l'une des clés pour comprendre cela. Elle a écrit que le sens du féminin et le concept de ce qu’est une femme sont fondamentalement ce qui reste lorsque l’humain et le masculin sont assimilés. C'est, historiquement, en raison d'un ensemble de dynamique de pouvoir inégale entre l'homme et la femme appelée patriarcat , on suppose que l’humanité est équivalente à la masculinité, alors que le féminin est défini comme la négation de ce qui n’est ni masculin ni donc humain.


Ainsi, pour Beauvoir, le chiffre de référence est toujours un homme, et la femme émerge en le soustrayant et en ajoutant des qualités à ce "moule". C'est ce qui n'est pas masculin, "l'autre".

Par exemple, certaines marques proposent une gamme de produits constituée de la version féminine de leur produit phare, et pour cela elles la commercialisent généralement en jouant avec la couleur rose. Toutefois, ni le produit original ne peut être considéré comme la version masculine du produit, ni la couleur qu’il porte indique clairement que c’est pour les hommes. Normalement le féminin est une filiale du masculin et la sororité est l’une des nombreuses initiatives qui luttent contre ce principe, à partir de la langue, pour influencer la manière dont nous analysons la réalité sociale et les inégalités entre les sexes.

Bien entendu, l'idée selon laquelle il est possible de modifier le langage pour favoriser l'établissement de dynamiques d'égalité a fait l'objet de nombreux débats et critiques, notamment en raison des positions théoriques liées au matérialisme philosophique, comme le marxisme. En effet, on voit avec scepticisme, premièrement, que le changement de langage modifie considérablement les idées dans le sens voulu du début, réalité objective dans laquelle les gens vivent.

Partir de l'inégalité

L'une des idées sur lesquelles repose le concept de sororité est que les femmes, parce qu'elles le sont, sont dans une position défavorisée.C'est pourquoi ils doivent coopérer pour accéder aux droits et libertés qui leur ont été historiquement refusés.

Une tâche si compliquée il ne peut pas être confronté de l'individualisme , mais il a besoin de l’action conjointe de nombreuses personnes capables de casser les anciennes dynamiques de soumission: micromachismes, lois injustes, environnements de travail dans lesquels les femmes ont plus de difficultés à prospérer, etc.

L'équivalence entre les femmes

Comme nous l'avons vu, le concept de fraternité est l'idée qui exprime l'importance de la coopération et de la solidarité entre femmes et hommes. la prise de conscience de la déshumanisation des femmes . Il est entendu que, étant donné que les problèmes spécifiques des femmes vont au-delà de l’individu, ils ne doivent pas être abordés par l’individualisme, mais par la solidarité entre égaux.

Le terme lui-même, sororité, souligne le fait qu’il ne s’applique qu’aux personnes de sexe féminin, car "soror" est une autre façon de dire "sœur de sang", tout en renforçant l’idée que les femmes sont égales dans leur situation défavorisée avec les hommes.

Ainsi, ce n’est pas que les hommes sont méprisés, mais qu’il est entendu que, comme ils ne sont pas soumis au genre, il n’a aucun sens de s’attendre à une structure de coopération similaire qui soit transversale entre tous les hommes. Une telle alliance aurait très peu d’objectifs à atteindre, car ils ont déjà été atteints depuis le début.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lincoln, B. (2008). Les femmes et l'espace public: construction et exercice de la citoyenneté. Mexique C. F.: Universidad Iberoamericana.
  • Simón Rodríguez, M. E. (2002). Démocratie vitale: femmes et hommes vers la citoyenneté à part entière. Madrid: Narcea.

Plaquettes de frein : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #1 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes