yes, therapy helps!
11 symptoms of mental illness in children

11 symptoms of mental illness in children

December 3, 2022

Childhood is the stage of life in which health is a major cause for concern. The little ones do not always know how to express very well what kind of discomfort they are feeling, and also, as childhood is the time when more disorders and diseases emerge in general, it is very important to pay attention in case symptoms are detected.

The same goes for mental health. The appearance of most of the disorders and neurological disorders most frequent occurs during the first years of life, and is very important know how to detect mental illness in boys and girls to intervene as soon as possible so that there are less chances that their negative effects gain strength and pose a threat to the well-being of the child.


Detecting symptoms of mental illness in childhood

It must be clear that knowing how to detect signs of mental illness is a task that always has to lead to medical and psychological examinations. The diagnoses of mental disorders can only be made by professionals accredited , and neither the concern of the parents nor the child's complaints are a valid reason to start improvised treatments outside the health system.

At the same time, we must also bear in mind that it is normal for children to feel bad from time to time or perform behaviors that may seem strange to us from time to time. The odds of this having to do with mental illnesses have to do with:


  • If the appearance of these behaviors is more or less abrupt .
  • If it matches a traumatic or stressful event or injury .
  • The intensity of these symptoms and the degree to which they move away from what is considered to be normal .
  • If these behaviors can be a wear on the well-being of the boy or girl or of someone around him .

When considering whether the small or small can be developing a mental illness is important to apply common sense and be clear that the last word always have the clinical psychologists and psychiatrists.

Some of the symptoms to consider are:

1. Tendency to self-harm

The fact that a boy or girl try to injure yourself or hit your head against hard objects It is reason to go to a specialist. However, it is necessary to reflect before on the extent to which wounds occur is the final intention of a behavior. For example, if a baby tries to climb down stairs on all fours, it does not mean that he wants to fall down on them; he simply does not know that this can be dangerous.


Self-injury usually has to do with an inability to manage stress properly, which leads to pain to distract from other thoughts that are even more unpleasant.

  • Related article: "Non Suicidal Self-injury: Who does it affect and why is it produced?"

2. Sudden mood swings

Very sudden mood swings are also indicators of mental illness, especially if it is not possible to relate them to objective events that occur around them and occur erratically. However, we must also consider that the little ones cry very easily, since that is part of their level of neurological maturation.

3. The rejection of one's appearance

The non-acceptance of one's body at an early age can be a symptom of mental illness in boys and girls. However, in cases such as gender dysphoria, it is considered that the causes are fundamentally biopsychosocial and are not caused by discomfort that has to do with the functioning of your body in itself.

Complaints about one's weight may also be indications of developing eating disorders if they are persistent and have implications for the amount of food that is allowed.

4. Irregularities at lunchtime

Eat very little or binge eating it can be a sign of psychological functions that function abnormally if this poses a risk to the child's health. As of puberty, the pressure to build an identity that is socially acceptable can push young people to make great sacrifices to look good.

5. Explosions of violence

Frequent bursts of anger can be the result of a neurochemical maladjustment in the nervous system that affects the mood, or, seen from another perspective, can be the result of a pattern of behavior that has been learned inadvertently despite not being useful or effective.

6. The tendency to hurt others

Inflicting bullying or injuring or killing animals is also a cause for concern, and it is necessary to implement corrective programs so that this behavior can not be further developed.It may be due to an inability to empathize with the rest, or there may also be some problem that generates so much stress that leads the person to act impulsively.

7. Symptoms of disconnection with reality

This is a group of symptoms that are difficult to detect, since children tend to show magical thinking and enjoy fantasizing about fictitious situations . The key here is to know if that magical thought that will disappear as your brain matures poses a risk to your well-being or someone else's, and if the fantasies you use to play are something more than that or not.

In the case of imaginary friends , it is easy for the child to refuse to admit that he does not really exist despite being aware of the truth, simply so as not to break with the appearance of fantasy. In these cases it is good to inquire about whether the imaginary friend does things that the little one or the little one finds unexpected, that cause problems that can not be controlled.

8. Trend to isolation

Many children prefer to play alone, but some of them do so not because of shyness, but because they feel bad if there are people nearby, in any context. These cases can be a reason for psychological consultation, since it could be a sign of Autism Spectrum Disorders.

9. Serious difficulties at school

Having difficulties in school may have to do with learning disorders such as dyslexia or dyscalculia, or it can be the consequence of serious mental illness (Although, of course, in many cases it is a false alarm in this regard). Childhood is a stage in which developmental disorders can leave a very negative impression on the subsequent evolution of the person if they are not addressed in an effective way.

10. Lack of motivation

The existence of an extremely passive attitude and a clear lack of initiative to carry out very elementary actions It can be a sign of mental illness. Specifically, it is associated with depressive disorders.

11. Constant complaints about pain or discomfort

Of course, pain is an element that has a lot to say in the detection of diseases. Sometimes they may refer to a headache that may be caused by an abnormal functioning of certain psychological functions related to perception or concentration .


Schizophrenia Symptoms : Signs of Schizophrenia in Children With ADHD (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
11 symptômes de maladie mentale chez les enfants

11 symptômes de maladie mentale chez les enfants

Septembre 21, 2021

L’enfance est l’étape de la vie où la santé est un sujet de préoccupation majeur. Les petits ne savent pas toujours très bien exprimer le malaise qu'ils ressentent et, comme l'enfance est le moment où davantage de troubles et de maladies se manifestent, il est très important d'être vigilant au cas où des symptômes seraient détectés.

La même chose vaut pour la santé mentale. L'apparition de la plupart des troubles et des troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents survient au cours des premières années de la vie et est très importante savoir détecter la maladie mentale chez les garçons et les filles pour intervenir le plus rapidement possible de sorte qu'il y ait moins de chances que leurs effets négatifs prennent de la force et menacent le bien-être de l'enfant.


Détecter les symptômes de maladie mentale chez les enfants

Il doit être clair que savoir détecter les signes de maladie mentale est une tâche qui doit toujours conduire à des examens médicaux et psychologiques. Les diagnostics de troubles mentaux ne peuvent être faits que par des professionnels accrédité et ni la préoccupation des parents ni les plaintes de l'enfant ne constituent une raison valable pour commencer des traitements improvisés en dehors du système de santé.

Dans le même temps, nous devons également garder à l’esprit qu’il est normal que les enfants se sentent de temps en temps mal ou adoptent des comportements qui peuvent nous sembler étranges de temps en temps. Les probabilités que cela concerne les maladies mentales concernent:


  • Si l'apparence de ces comportements est plus ou moins brusque .
  • Si cela correspond un événement ou une blessure traumatique ou stressant .
  • L’intensité de ces symptômes et la mesure dans laquelle ils s'éloignent de ce qui est considéré comme normal .
  • Si ces comportements peuvent être un porter sur le bien-être du garçon ou de la fille ou de quelqu'un autour de lui .

Il est important d’appliquer le bon sens et de préciser que le dernier mot revient toujours aux psychologues cliniciens et aux psychiatres.

Certains des symptômes à considérer sont:

1. Tendance à s'automutiler

Le fait qu'un garçon ou une fille essayez de vous blesser ou de vous cogner la tête contre des objets durs C'est une raison d'aller chez un spécialiste. Cependant, il est nécessaire de réfléchir avant sur la mesure dans laquelle les blessures se produisent est l’intention finale du comportement. Par exemple, si un bébé essaie de descendre des escaliers à quatre pattes, cela ne veut pas dire qu'il veut tomber dessus; il ne sait tout simplement pas que cela peut être dangereux.


L'automutilation est généralement liée à une incapacité à gérer correctement le stress, ce qui conduit à une douleur qui détourne l'attention d'autres pensées encore plus désagréables.

  • Article connexe: "Automutilation non suicidaire: qui est-ce qui affecte et pourquoi est-ce produit?"

2. sautes d'humeur soudaines

Les sautes d'humeur très soudaines sont également des indicateurs de maladie mentale, en particulier s'il est impossible de les relier à des événements objectifs qui se produisent autour d'eux et se produisent de manière erratique. Cependant, il faut aussi considérer que les plus petits pleurent très facilement, car cela fait partie de leur niveau de maturation neurologique.

3. Le rejet de son apparence

La non acceptation de son corps à un âge précoce peut être un symptôme de maladie mentale chez les garçons et les filles. Cependant, dans des cas tels que la dysphorie de genre, on considère que les causes sont fondamentalement biopsychosociales et ne sont pas causées par un inconfort lié au fonctionnement de votre corps en soi.

Des plaintes au sujet de son poids peuvent également indiquer des troubles de l’alimentation, s’ils sont persistants et ont une incidence sur la quantité de nourriture autorisée.

4. Irrégularités à l'heure du déjeuner

Manger très peu ou une frénésie alimentaire il peut s'agir d'un signe de fonctions psychologiques anormales si cela présente un risque pour la santé de l'enfant. À partir de la puberté, la pression pour construire une identité socialement acceptable peut pousser les jeunes à faire de grands sacrifices pour bien paraître.

5. Explosions de violence

Des éclats de colère fréquents peuvent être le résultat d'une inadaptation neurochimique dans le système nerveux qui affecte l’humeur ou, vu sous un autre angle, peut être le résultat d’un comportement qui a été appris par inadvertance même s’il n’est ni utile ni efficace.

6. La tendance à blesser les autres

Infliger des brimades ou blesser ou tuer des animaux est également un sujet de préoccupation et il est nécessaire de mettre en œuvre des programmes correctifs afin que ce comportement ne puisse pas être développé davantage.Cela peut être dû à une incapacité à faire preuve d'empathie envers les autres ou à un problème générant tant de stress qui pousse la personne à agir de manière impulsive.

7. Symptômes de déconnexion avec la réalité

C’est un groupe de symptômes difficiles à détecter, car les enfants ont tendance à montrer des pensées magiques et à fantasmer à propos de situations fictives . La clé ici est de savoir si cette pensée magique qui disparaîtra à mesure que votre cerveau mûrit pose un risque pour votre bien-être ou celui de quelqu'un d’autre, et si les fantasmes que vous utilisez pour jouer sont plus que cela ou non.

Dans le cas d'amis imaginaires , il est facile pour l’enfant de refuser d’admettre qu’il n’existe pas réellement alors qu’il est conscient de la vérité, tout simplement pour ne pas rompre avec l’apparence de la fantaisie. Dans ces cas, il est bon de demander si un ami imaginaire fait des choses que le petit ou le petit trouve de manière inattendue, qui causent des problèmes qui ne peuvent pas être contrôlés.

8. Tendance à l'isolement

De nombreux enfants préfèrent jouer seuls, mais certains le font non pas par timidité, mais parce qu'ils se sentent mal s'il y a des gens à proximité, dans n'importe quel contexte. Ces cas peuvent constituer un motif de consultation psychologique, dans la mesure où ils pourraient indiquer des troubles du spectre autistique.

9. Graves difficultés à l'école

Avoir des difficultés à l’école peut être lié à des troubles de l’apprentissage tels que la dyslexie ou la dyscalculie, ou cela peut être la conséquence d'une maladie mentale grave (Bien que, bien sûr, dans de nombreux cas, il s’agisse d’une fausse alerte à cet égard). L'enfance est une étape au cours de laquelle les troubles du développement peuvent laisser une impression très négative sur l'évolution ultérieure de la personne s'ils ne sont pas traités efficacement.

10. Manque de motivation

L’existence d’une attitude extrêmement passive et d’une manque évident d'initiative pour mener des actions très élémentaires Cela peut être un signe de maladie mentale. Plus précisément, il est associé à des troubles dépressifs.

11. Plaintes constantes au sujet de la douleur ou de l'inconfort

Bien sûr, la douleur est un élément qui a beaucoup à dire dans la détection des maladies. Parfois, ils peuvent faire référence à un mal de tête pouvant être causé par un fonctionnement anormal de certains fonctions psychologiques liées à la perception ou à la concentration .


Reconnaitre les premiers signes de problèmes de santé mentale (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes