yes, therapy helps!
10 tips to relieve sadness

10 tips to relieve sadness

June 17, 2024

Everyone, at some time or stage of our life, we have felt sadness . Sometimes, it is impossible not to feel it, because some environmental events can cause (bereavement process, lack of love, having to change homes, etc.).

However, sometimes sadness is the cause of our way of thinking or our way of behaving, especially when it lasts a long period of time.

  • Related article: "The 6 differences between sadness and depression"

Tips to overcome sadness

Since sadness is an emotion we all experience, in this article I have prepared a list of tips that will help you alleviate it when it manifests , pay attention to the following lines because they can be useful to you.


1. Cry if necessary

We usually think that it is not good to cry, because socially it is not well seen and it makes us weak people in the eyes of others; However, some studies indicate that crying can be relaxing and can help you release endorphins , which are hormones related to pleasure. Some scientists claim that crying activates the parasympathetic system, and helps you recover from the stress and traumatic experiences you may experience.

It is not about forcing the weeping, but about feeling the emotion without avoiding it, because a rebound effect can occur, and thus experience greater pain. Also, crying is good for the health of the body, because it helps to release toxins, according to the theory of Dr. William Frey.


  • Related article: "Endorphins (neurotransmitters): functions and characteristics"

2. Accept sadness

As I said in the previous point, avoiding emotions can cause a rebound effect and cause them to increase. That's why today, every time more psychotherapeutic models are applied that revolve around the acceptance of the experience . An example of this is the therapy of acceptance and commitment, which if you want to know in depth you can deepen this methodology in the article "Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT): principles and characteristics"

Self-acceptance means treating ourselves with love and recognizing that we are valuable. It is recognizing that we should love ourselves because if we do not respect ourselves, sorrow may appear. If you want to know more about how to accept sadness in the article "Self-acceptance: 5 psychological tips to achieve it" we explain it to you.


3. Find your purpose

When we do not find meaning in our life, we are likely to feel great sadness and live immersed in an existential vacuum. A place where we do not see clearly the future and we do not know ourselves .

Therefore, to be happy and to fight for the personal development of oneself, it is necessary work self-knowledge and find out what motivates us. On that path to goals is where our happiness lies.

4. Fight for your goals

Therefore, fighting for goals helps us overcome sadness and enjoy greater well-being, because when we are in contact with ourselves and our desires, our self-motivation increases .

Now, these desires must be realistic, and not only should we have long-term goals in mind, but short-term goals are just as important to keep us active throughout the process.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 tips to achieve your goals"

5. Do sport

Physical exercise is one of the activities that most favor the well-being of people. Not only is it healthy at the cardiovascular level or to improve physical appearance, but also produces happiness chemicals such as endorphins or serotonin , which are associated with a positive mood and greater emotional well-being.

Studies suggest that sports and physical activity help us to be happier, reduce stress and improve our self-esteem. In the article "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise" you can find more information about these advantages.

6. Go outside

Studies suggest that going outside is good for our mental health. Vitamin D that is stimulated by sunlight favors the activation of the enzyme hydroxylase 2 (TPH2) converts tryptophan to serotonin in our brain .

Other studies suggest that going out on the street is key for patients with depression, since it produces significant improvements in their recovery.

7. Do something that you like

Whether reading, swimming or playing cards, the activities we like do make us release dopamine and many other neurotransmitters related to pleasure and happiness (endorphins, serotonin, etc.). The activities that we like the most allow us to stop for a while and open the door to sadness.

8. Socialize

If going out and doing what we like is good, even better if we do it in company. Studies suggest that you socialize and have friends it is imperative for our mental health . To meet new people, you can simply go to yoga classes in your town or to the gym, and you'll see how you get new friendships.

9. Practice Mindfulness

Mindfulness is an oriental practice that has been applied in recent years in the clinical and psychotherapeutic field for its benefits for mental health. Use meditation as a technique to be in the present moment, accept our internal and external experience, improve the capacity for self-awareness and adopt a non-judgmental mentality .

To learn to practice Mindfulness you can attend any of the courses that we present in our article "The 5 best Mindfulness courses and workshops"

10. Go to a professional

If the sadness is lasting and you do not know how to overcome this situation, you may need psychological help to overcome this adverse situation. There are many professionals that can help you improve your wellbeing and your quality of life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy"

6 Ways To CURE DEPRESSION (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 astuces pour soulager la tristesse

10 astuces pour soulager la tristesse

Janvier 16, 2023

Tout le monde, à un moment ou à un stade de notre vie, nous avons ressenti de la tristesse . Parfois, il est impossible de ne pas le ressentir, car certains événements environnementaux peuvent en causer (processus de deuil, manque d'amour, nécessité de changer de maison, etc.).

Cependant, la tristesse est parfois la cause de notre façon de penser ou de notre comportement, surtout quand elle dure longtemps.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 différences entre tristesse et dépression"

Conseils pour vaincre la tristesse

La tristesse étant une émotion que nous vivons tous, dans cet article, j’ai préparé une liste de conseils qui vous aideront à le soulager quand il se manifeste , faites attention aux lignes suivantes car elles peuvent vous être utiles.


1. Cry si nécessaire

Nous pensons généralement qu'il n'est pas bon de pleurer, parce que socialement, cela n'est pas bien vu et cela nous rend faibles aux yeux des autres; Cependant, certaines études indiquent que pleurer peut être relaxant et peut vous aider à libérer des endorphines , qui sont des hormones liées au plaisir. Certains scientifiques affirment que les pleurs activent le système parasympathique et vous aident à récupérer du stress et des expériences traumatiques que vous pourriez vivre.

Il ne s’agit pas de forcer les pleurs, mais de ressentir l’émotion sans l’éviter, car un effet de rebond peut se produire et provoquer ainsi une plus grande douleur. De plus, selon la théorie du Dr William Frey, pleurer est bon pour la santé du corps, car il aide à libérer les toxines.


  • Article connexe: "Endorphines (neurotransmetteurs): fonctions et caractéristiques"

2. Accepter la tristesse

Comme je l'ai dit au point précédent, éviter les émotions peut provoquer un effet de rebond et les faire augmenter. C'est pourquoi aujourd'hui, chaque fois que plus de modèles psychothérapeutiques sont appliqués qui tournent autour de l'acceptation de l'expérience . Un exemple de ceci est la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement, qui, si vous voulez en savoir plus, peut approfondir cette méthodologie dans l'article "Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT): principes et caractéristiques".

L'acceptation de soi signifie se traiter avec amour et reconnaître que nous avons de la valeur. C'est reconnaître que nous devons nous aimer parce que si nous ne nous respectons pas, le chagrin peut apparaître. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la manière d’accepter la tristesse dans l’article "Acceptation de soi: 5 astuces psychologiques pour l’atteindre", nous vous l'expliquons.


3. Trouvez votre but

Lorsque nous ne trouvons pas de sens dans notre vie, nous sommes susceptibles de ressentir une grande tristesse et de vivre immergés dans un vide existentiel. Un endroit où nous ne voyons pas clairement l’avenir et nous ne nous connaissons pas .

Par conséquent, pour être heureux et se battre pour son développement personnel, il est nécessaire travailler la connaissance de soi et découvrez ce qui nous motive. Notre bonheur réside dans le cheminement vers les objectifs.

4. Battez-vous pour vos objectifs

Par conséquent, nous battre pour des objectifs nous aide à surmonter la tristesse et à jouir d’un plus grand bien-être, car lorsque nous sommes en contact avec nous-mêmes et nos désirs, notre auto-motivation augmente .

Maintenant, ces désirs doivent être réalistes, et non seulement nous devrions avoir des objectifs à long terme, mais des objectifs à court terme sont tout aussi importants pour rester actif tout au long du processus.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 conseils pour atteindre vos objectifs"

5. Faire du sport

L’exercice physique est l’une des activités les plus favorables au bien-être des personnes. Non seulement est-il sain au niveau cardiovasculaire ou pour améliorer l’apparence physique, mais aussi produit des produits chimiques de bonheur tels que les endorphines ou la sérotonine , qui sont associées à une humeur positive et à un plus grand bien-être émotionnel.

Des études suggèrent que le sport et l'activité physique nous aident à être plus heureux, à réduire le stress et à améliorer notre estime de soi. Dans l'article "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique", vous trouverez plus d'informations sur ces avantages.

6. sortir

Des études suggèrent que sortir est bon pour la santé mentale. La vitamine D stimulée par la lumière du soleil favorise l’activation de l’enzyme hydroxylase 2 (TPH2) convertit le tryptophane en sérotonine dans notre cerveau .

D'autres études suggèrent que sortir dans la rue est essentiel pour les patients souffrant de dépression, car cela améliore considérablement leur rétablissement.

7. Faites quelque chose que vous aimez

Qu'il s'agisse de lire, de nager ou de jouer aux cartes, les activités que nous aimons nous font libérer de la dopamine et de nombreux autres neurotransmetteurs liés au plaisir et au bonheur (endorphines, sérotonine, etc.). Les activités que nous aimons le plus nous permettent de nous arrêter un moment et d’ouvrir la porte à la tristesse.

8. socialiser

S'il est bon de sortir et de faire ce qu'on aime, c'est encore mieux si on le fait en entreprise. Des études suggèrent de socialiser et d'avoir des amis il est impératif pour notre santé mentale . Pour rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, vous pouvez simplement assister à des cours de yoga dans votre ville ou à la salle de sport, et vous verrez comment vous nouer de nouvelles amitiés.

9. Pratiquer la pleine conscience

La pleine conscience est une pratique orientale qui a été appliquée ces dernières années dans le domaine clinique et psychothérapeutique pour ses avantages pour la santé mentale. Utiliser la méditation comme une technique pour être dans le moment présent, accepter notre expérience interne et externe, améliorer la capacité de conscience de soi et adopter une mentalité sans jugement .

Pour apprendre à pratiquer la pleine conscience, vous pouvez suivre l’un des cours que nous présentons dans notre article "Les 5 meilleurs cours et ateliers de pleine conscience".

10. Aller chez un professionnel

Si la tristesse dure et que vous ne savez pas comment surmonter cette situation, vous aurez peut-être besoin d'une aide psychologique pour surmonter cette situation difficile. De nombreux professionnels peuvent vous aider à améliorer votre bien-être. et votre qualité de vie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 avantages de la psychothérapie"

Comment sortir de la tristesse et être heureux ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes