yes, therapy helps!
5 myths about homosexuality disassembled by science

5 myths about homosexuality disassembled by science

July 18, 2024

In nature, relationships and sexuality between individuals of the same sex do not represent any anomaly, in fact it is a relatively frequent practice . It was the men who, in different cultures, considered these practices as anomalous, denatured, etc. So, the homosexuality in humans it is condemned in different degrees of intensity by almost all the societies of the planet.

But, What are the most widespread myths about the gay community?

What does science tell us about gays? Uncovering some myths about homosexuality

The homophobia and cultural abuse towards homosexuals is not usually news, and among the many myths and falsehoods that have been uttered against homosexuality, prejudices abound based on their supposed inability to be fathers or mothers, their promiscuity, or the correlation between homosexuality and pedophilia / pedophilia.


However, a good number of studies dismantle this string of Myths

5. Homosexuality goes against nature

It should be noted that, in the animal kingdom, homosexuality is well present . It is something much more common than one might suppose. There are many species that have sex with individuals of the same sex, practices related to survival, the strengthening of social and affective ties, biological adaptation and factors associated with the evolution of species.

The recurrent myth that homosexuality is something that goes against the laws of nature and that we only have to maintain relations with individuals of the other sex, is not supported from a natural perspective. Besides the human being, there are 1,500 animal species that maintain homosexual relationships , like for example the penguins, the swans, the chimpanzees, giraffes ... In this sense, the scientific community that studies the animal biology agrees in affirming that not every sexual act has as its purpose the reproductive function.


4. Homosexual relationships are promiscuous and short-lived

One of the most repeated clichés about homosexuals is that which states that their sentimental relationships are more superficial, or less lasting, or less "romantic" than heterosexual relationships. This idea does not seem to make much sense either. Several investigations developed by the University of Washington overturned the stereotype with contrasted data.

They collected data for 12 years about the development, relationship and activity of homosexual couples, finding that 20% of them had ended the relationship during this period. By contrast, the progression of this percentage of ruptures data was lower than that of heterosexual couples . Several researchers pointed out that the conclusions should begin to consolidate greater respect towards same-sex couples, away from topics and phobias.


3. Many pedophiles are homosexual

Many people agree that pedophilia is one of the most macabre and reprehensible crimes that exist, and point out that homosexual men are the ones who tend to be the protagonists of these infamous acts. Of course, this generalization leaves homosexuals in a terrible place.

For this reason, many researchers have studied this topic to see to what degree this cliché was true, and the results have concluded that such a relationship is non-existent. For example, an investigation by the Institute of Psychiatry in Clark, Canada, showed photographs of children and adolescents of both sexes to homosexual and heterosexual men, while recording data of sexual arousal of the subjects. The results resolved that heterosexual men tended to become more aroused than homosexuals, particularly when viewing photos of girls .

Years later, at the University of Denver, Colorado, 265 children who had been victims of sexual abuse by adults were studied. In 82% of the participants, the aggressor was a heterosexual person and close to the child. Only two cases (out of a total of 265) were recorded in which the criminal was a homosexual person. As a result, the researchers concluded that the link between homosexuality and pedophilia not only lacked empirical support, but was a much weaker relationship than in people hetero.

2. Homosexuals can not raise children well

Opponents of gay marriage are often against the adoption of children by homosexual couples. They claim that homosexual parents can negatively influence the child, because "the child needs a mother and a father to be able to grow properly". However, the data reveal again that these claims have no basis in reality.

In 2011, a study was conducted that explored a total of 90 adolescents. Half of them, 45, lived with parents of the same sex, while the remaining 45 were children of traditional families. Some factors of his daily life and his academic and social performance were analyzed, and it was reported that both groups obtained symmetrical results , with the point that the children of homosexual parents had slightly higher academic qualifications.

Other studies concluded that Children raised in homoparental families were less likely to participate in vandalism or criminals that the children of heterosexual parents. "The data suggest that children raised with same-sex parents are equally valid and equal (or even somewhat superior) to children raised with heterosexual parents," said Tim Biblarz, a sociologist at the University of California.

1. Homosexuality is a pathology that can be cured

In somewhat retrograde environments, homosexuality is often referred to as 'disease'. This idea comes from people who argue that homosexuality is an inclination that can be "cured if an appropriate path is followed." However, the human, biological and especially genetic sciences have indicated that same-sex attraction part of a genetic characteristic, and therefore has a biological foundation .

To test whether genetic material was linked to homosexuality, scientists have observed and compared identical twins (who share all the genes) and fraternal twins (who share approximately 50%). The results showed that almost all identical twins shared the same sexual inclination, but the same did not happen with fraternal twins. This suggested that there is a genetic factor responsible for determining the sexual orientation of the individual.

Other investigations have provided data indicating that Some biological factors, such as the exposure of certain hormones in the uterus, can also influence the sexual orientation of the subject . It seems that certain physiological differences, such as some forms of the inner ear between heterosexual and lesbian women, contribute to reinforce this idea. "The data support the theory that asymmetries in the central nervous system exist between individuals with different sexual orientations, and that these differences may be linked to early factors in brain development," explains Sandra Witelson, professor of neurosciences at the University of California. McMaster, Canada.


Baal is Back! Demons in the Deep State (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 mythes sur l'homosexualité démontée par la science

5 mythes sur l'homosexualité démontée par la science

Mai 24, 2024

Dans la nature, les relations et la sexualité entre personnes du même sexe ne représentent aucune anomalie, en fait c'est une pratique relativement fréquente . Ce sont les hommes qui, dans différentes cultures, ont considéré ces pratiques comme anormales, dénaturées, etc. Alors, le l'homosexualité chez l'homme, il est condamné à différents degrés d'intensité par presque toutes les sociétés de la planète.

Mais Quels sont les mythes les plus répandus sur la communauté gay?

Que nous dit la science sur les homosexuels? Découvrir des mythes sur l'homosexualité

Le l'homophobie et les abus culturels envers les homosexuels ne sont généralement pas d'actualité, et parmi les nombreux mythes et mensonges proférés à l'encontre de l'homosexualité, les préjugés abondent en raison de leur supposée incapacité d'être pères ou mères, de leur promiscuité ou de la corrélation entre l'homosexualité et pédophilie / pédophilie.


Cependant, bon nombre d’études démontent cette chaîne de Les mythes

5. L'homosexualité va contre la nature

Il convient de noter que, dans le règne animal, l'homosexualité est bien présente . C'est quelque chose de beaucoup plus commun qu'on pourrait le supposer. De nombreuses espèces ont des relations sexuelles avec des personnes du même sexe, des pratiques liées à la survie, le renforcement des liens sociaux et affectifs, l'adaptation biologique et des facteurs associés à l'évolution des espèces.

Le mythe récurrent selon lequel l'homosexualité va à l'encontre des lois de la nature et que nous n'avons qu'à entretenir des relations avec des personnes de l'autre sexe ne s'appuie pas sur une perspective naturelle. Outre l'être humain, il y a 1 500 espèces d'animaux qui entretiennent des relations homosexuelles , comme par exemple les manchots, les cygnes, les chimpanzés, les girafes ... En ce sens, la communauté scientifique qui étudie la biologie animale s’accorde à dire que tout acte sexuel n’a pas pour objet la fonction de reproduction.


4. Les relations homosexuelles sont légères et de courte durée

L'un des clichés les plus répétés à propos des homosexuels est celui qui affirme que leurs relations sentimentales sont plus superficielles, moins durables ou moins "romantiques" que les relations hétérosexuelles. Cette idée ne semble pas avoir beaucoup de sens non plus. Plusieurs enquêtes développées par l'Université de Washington ont renversé le stéréotype avec des données contrastées.

Ils ont recueilli des données pendant 12 ans sur le développement, les relations et l'activité des couples homosexuels, et ont découvert que 20% d'entre eux avaient mis fin à la relation au cours de cette période. En revanche, la progression de ce pourcentage de ruptures était inférieure à celle des couples hétérosexuels . Plusieurs chercheurs ont souligné que les conclusions devraient commencer à consolider un plus grand respect des couples de même sexe, loin des sujets et des phobies.


3. Beaucoup de pédophiles sont homosexuels

Beaucoup de gens s'accordent pour dire que la pédophilie est l'un des crimes les plus macabres et les plus répréhensibles et soulignent que ce sont les hommes homosexuels qui tendent à être les protagonistes de ces actes infâmes. Bien entendu, cette généralisation laisse les homosexuels dans un endroit terrible.

Pour cette raison, de nombreux chercheurs ont étudié ce sujet pour voir dans quelle mesure ce cliché était vrai, et les résultats ont conclu qu'une telle relation est inexistante. Par exemple, une enquête menée par l’Institute of Psychiatry de Clark, Canada, a montré des photographies d’enfants et d’adolescents des deux sexes à des hommes homosexuels et hétérosexuels, tout en enregistrant des données sur l’excitation sexuelle des sujets. Les résultats ont montré que les hommes hétérosexuels avaient tendance à être plus excités que les homosexuels, en particulier lorsqu'ils visionnaient des photos de filles. .

Des années plus tard, à l'Université de Denver, au Colorado, 265 enfants victimes d'abus sexuels par des adultes ont été étudiés. Chez 82% des participants, l'agresseur était une personne hétérosexuelle et proche de l'enfant. Seuls deux cas (sur un total de 265) ont été enregistrés dans lesquels le criminel était une personne homosexuelle. En conséquence, les chercheurs ont conclu que le lien entre l'homosexualité et la pédophilie manquait non seulement de soutien empirique, mais aussi d'une relation beaucoup plus faible que chez l'homme. hétéro.

2. Les homosexuels ne peuvent pas bien élever leurs enfants

Les opposants au mariage homosexuel s'opposent souvent à l'adoption d'enfants par des couples homosexuels. Ils prétendent que les parents homosexuels peuvent influencer négativement l'enfant, car "l'enfant a besoin d'une mère et d'un père pour pouvoir grandir correctement". Cependant, les données révèlent à nouveau que ces affirmations n’ont aucun fondement dans la réalité.

En 2011, une étude a été menée auprès de 90 adolescents. La moitié d'entre eux, 45 ans, vivaient avec des parents du même sexe, tandis que les 45 autres étaient des enfants de familles traditionnelles. Certains facteurs de sa vie quotidienne et de ses performances scolaires et sociales ont été analysés, et il a été rapporté que les deux groupes ont obtenu des résultats symétriques , au point que les enfants de parents homosexuels avaient des qualifications académiques légèrement supérieures.

D'autres études ont conclu que Les enfants élevés dans des familles homoparentales étaient moins susceptibles de participer au vandalisme ou des criminels que les enfants de parents hétérosexuels. "Les données suggèrent que les enfants élevés avec des parents du même sexe sont également valables et égaux (voire même supérieurs) aux enfants élevés avec des parents hétérosexuels", a déclaré Tim Biblarz, sociologue à l'Université de Californie.

1. L'homosexualité est une pathologie qui peut être guérie

Dans les environnements quelque peu rétrogrades, l'homosexualité est souvent appelée «maladie». Cette idée vient de personnes qui affirment que l'homosexualité est une tendance qui peut être "guérie si un chemin approprié est suivi". Cependant, les sciences humaines, biologiques et surtout génétiques ont indiqué que l'attirance du même sexe partie d'une caractéristique génétique, et donc a un fondement biologique .

Pour vérifier si le matériel génétique était lié à l'homosexualité, les scientifiques ont observé et comparé des jumeaux identiques (qui partagent tous les gènes) et des jumeaux fraternels (qui partagent environ 50%). Les résultats ont montré que presque tous les jumeaux identiques partageaient la même inclination sexuelle, mais qu'il n'en était pas de même pour les jumeaux fraternels. Ceci suggère qu'il existe un facteur génétique responsable de la détermination de l'orientation sexuelle de l'individu.

D’autres enquêtes ont fourni des données indiquant que Certains facteurs biologiques, tels que l'exposition de certaines hormones dans l'utérus, peuvent également influer sur l'orientation sexuelle du sujet. . Il semble que certaines différences physiologiques, telles que certaines formes de l'oreille interne entre hétérosexuelles et lesbiennes, contribuent à renforcer cette idée. "Les données soutiennent la théorie selon laquelle des asymétries dans le système nerveux central existent entre des individus ayant des orientations sexuelles différentes et que ces différences peuvent être liées à des facteurs précoces du développement du cerveau", explique Sandra Witelson, professeur de neurosciences à l'Université de Californie. McMaster, Canada.


Ep12 Les Arguments Fallacieux (Mai 2024).


Articles Connexes