yes, therapy helps!
5 typical negative thoughts of depression

5 typical negative thoughts of depression

June 21, 2024

The symptoms of depression can be expressed in many ways, but in all cases negative thoughts appear. These are ideas related to a pessimistic perception of reality, usually exaggerated to the extreme, and which contribute to the person experiencing them remaining stagnant.

In this article we will see a series of negative thoughts very typical in people with depression .

  • Related article: "Types of depression: its symptoms and characteristics"

The most frequent negative thoughts

Negative thoughts do not only appear in people with depression, but they are part of the most typical symptoms of this kind of psychological alteration.


On the other hand, it is important to be clear that depression does not arise because of having these thoughts persistently in mind. They are another of the clinical manifestations of depression, a consequence of a phenomenon so complex that involves many mental and neurological processes and that can not be reduced to what we can express through language and concepts in general.

Thus, negative thoughts are one of the superficial facets of depression; but not superficial, they are no longer relevant, given that the attention Wears away people's quality of life very much . Therefore, it is good to recognize this kind of ideations and be aware that they do not offer a realistic image of what is really happening around us. In the next lines there are several examples of negative thoughts.


1. It does not make sense to get out of bed

This is one of the negative thoughts that denote apathy, that is, lack of motivation and initiative, very typical of those who experience symptoms associated with depression.

The characteristic of this thought is that not only do you believe in it intellectually, but you also feel that it is true. In fact, it responds much more to a state of mind, or to the general lack of energy and illusion for life , that to a rational analysis about what life is and if it is worth living it or not.

Therefore, those who feel this way do not even have to make efforts to improve unless someone helps them, since they can not afford to invest work in practically nothing.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Abulia: what is it and what symptoms warn of your arrival?"

2. Nothing that happens is authentic

Those who hold this belief adopt a completely passive attitude about what happens to them, and interpret reality in a way similar to who is watching an uninteresting movie.


It is one of the negative thoughts related to the de-realization, that is, the feeling that what is experienced is not real , or it belongs to a plane of reality that does not interest or is not that of oneself.

3. I will never do anything useful with my life

Despair in terms of one's life project is also expressed through low expectations in oneself and in what the future will bring. Therefore, this negative thought is one of the most frequent among those who present depressive symptoms.

However, in many cases this belief is not lived in a tragic way. Some people experience depression with deep sadness, but others do not even feel that, and their psychological state has more to do with indifference.

Because, the idea that you are not going to progress in life may not cause discomfort , and be just another evidence that the future is not relevant because the present is not.

4. The fault is mine

People who tend to manifest negative thoughts sustain a style of attributing causes to the facts in which they are the main harmed. The discomfort associated with this pessimism means that in any situation where there is the possibility of blaming oneself, it is done.

So, many times you fall into the trap of believing that the guilt of practically everything bad that happens is of oneself. The explanation is that low self-esteem and lack of motivation to seek more elaborate explanations it leads to fix oneself, even in situations in which one is the victim.

5. No one loves me or respects me

This is the definitive negative thought that damages the social relations of those who hold it in mind during the day to day. It is a belief that cuts out potential affective bonds we may have with people from our close social circle, and weakens those that were consolidated (such as those with other family members).

Do not forget that negative thoughts are not only directed against oneself, but also have consequences in the way we relate to others .

What to do to get out of pessimism?

Negative thoughts that have deep roots in oneself, such as those that appear with depression, can not be dissipated only through rationality and reflection . Professional help from psychologists or psychiatrists is needed.

To learn more about how to contact mental health professionals, see this article: How to find a psychologist to attend therapy: 7 tips "

Bibliographic references:

  • Beck, J. (1995). Cognitive therapy: basic concepts and deepening. Edited Gedisa.
  • Bellino, S .; Patria, L .; Ziero, S .; Rocca, G .; Bogetto, F. (2001). "Clinical Features of Dysthymia and Age: a Clinical Investigation". Psychiatry Review. 103 (2-3): 219-228.

5 common thinking errors you can change and cure depression! (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 pensées négatives typiques de la dépression

5 pensées négatives typiques de la dépression

Novembre 25, 2022

Les symptômes de la dépression peuvent être exprimés de nombreuses manières, mais dans tous les cas, des pensées négatives apparaissent. Ce sont des idées liées à une perception pessimiste de la réalité, généralement exagérée à l'extrême, et qui contribuent à ce que la personne qui les éprouve reste stagnante.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une série de pensées négatives très typiques chez les personnes souffrant de dépression .

  • Article connexe: "Types de dépression: ses symptômes et ses caractéristiques"

Les pensées négatives les plus fréquentes

Les pensées négatives n'apparaissent pas seulement chez les personnes déprimées, mais font partie des symptômes les plus typiques de ce type d'altération psychologique.


D'autre part, il est important de préciser que la dépression ne survient pas du fait de la persistance de ces pensées. Ils sont une autre des manifestations cliniques de la dépression, conséquence d’un phénomène si complexe que implique de nombreux processus mentaux et neurologiques et cela ne peut pas être réduit à ce que nous pouvons exprimer à travers le langage et les concepts en général.

Ainsi, les pensées négatives sont l’une des facettes superficielles de la dépression; mais non superficiels, ils ne sont plus pertinents, étant donné que l'attention Déteste beaucoup la qualité de vie des gens . Par conséquent, il est bon de reconnaître ce type d'idées et de prendre conscience qu'elles n'offrent pas une image réaliste de ce qui se passe réellement autour de nous. Les lignes suivantes contiennent plusieurs exemples de pensées négatives.


1. Cela n'a pas de sens de se lever du lit

C’est l’une des pensées négatives qui dénotent l’apathie, c’est-à-dire le manque de motivation et d’initiative, caractéristique des personnes présentant des symptômes associés à la dépression.

La caractéristique de cette pensée est que non seulement vous y croyez intellectuellement, mais vous sentez aussi que c'est vrai. En fait, cela répond beaucoup plus à un état d'esprit, ou au manque général d'énergie et d'illusion pour la vie , cela à une analyse rationnelle de ce qu'est la vie et si cela vaut la peine de la vivre ou non.

Par conséquent, ceux qui se sentent de cette manière n'ont même pas à faire d'efforts pour s'améliorer à moins que quelqu'un les aide, car ils ne peuvent pas se permettre d'investir du travail dans pratiquement rien.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Abulia: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont les symptômes qui vous préviennent de votre arrivée?"

2. Rien de ce qui se passe n'est authentique

Ceux qui partagent cette conviction adoptent une attitude totalement passive à l'égard de ce qui leur arrive et interprètent la réalité d'une manière similaire à celle qui regarde un film sans intérêt.


C’est l’une des pensées négatives liées à la dé-réalisation, c’est-à-dire le sentiment que ce qui est vécu n'est pas réel , ou il appartient à un plan de la réalité qui ne s'intéresse pas ou n'est pas celui de soi.

3. Je ne ferai jamais rien d'utile de ma vie

Le désespoir en termes de projet de vie s’exprime également par de faibles attentes en soi et par ce que l’avenir nous apportera. Par conséquent, cette pensée négative est l’une des plus fréquentes parmi celles qui présentent des symptômes dépressifs.

Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, cette croyance n’est pas vécue de manière tragique. Certaines personnes souffrent de dépression avec une profonde tristesse, mais d’autres ne le ressentent même pas, et leur état psychologique est davantage lié à l’indifférence.

Pour cela, l'idée que vous n'allez pas progresser dans la vie ne peut pas causer de gêne , et soyez juste une autre preuve que l’avenir n’est pas pertinent parce que le présent ne l’est pas.

4. La faute est à moi

Les personnes qui ont tendance à manifester des pensées négatives maintiennent un style d'attribution des causes aux faits dans lesquels elles ont été le plus maltraitées. Le malaise associé à ce pessimisme signifie que dans toutes les situations où il est possible de se reprocher, c'est chose faite.

Ainsi, vous tombez souvent dans le piège de croire que la culpabilité de pratiquement tout ce qui se passe mal appartient à soi-même. L'explication est que faible estime de soi et manque de motivation pour rechercher des explications plus élaborées cela conduit à se réparer soi-même, même dans les situations où l'on est victime.

5. Personne ne m'aime ni ne me respecte

C’est la pensée négative définitive qui nuit aux relations sociales de ceux qui la gardent à l’esprit au jour le jour. C'est une conviction qui supprime les liens affectifs que nous pourrions avoir avec des personnes de notre cercle social proche et affaiblit ceux qui ont été consolidés (comme ceux avec d'autres membres de la famille).

N'oubliez pas que les pensées négatives ne sont pas seulement dirigées contre soi-même, mais aussi avoir des conséquences sur nos relations avec les autres .

Que faire pour sortir du pessimisme?

Les pensées négatives qui ont des racines profondes en soi, telles que celles qui apparaissent avec la dépression, ne peut être dissipé que par la rationalité et la réflexion . L'aide professionnelle de psychologues ou de psychiatres est nécessaire.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de contacter des professionnels de la santé mentale, consultez cet article: Comment trouver un psychologue pour suivre une thérapie: 7 conseils "

Références bibliographiques:

  • Beck, J. (1995). Thérapie cognitive: concepts de base et approfondissement. Edité Gedisa.
  • Bellino, S.; Patria, L .; Ziero, S .; Rocca, G .; Bogetto, F. (2001). "Caractéristiques cliniques de la dysthymie et de l'âge: une enquête clinique". Examen psychiatrique. 103 (2-3): 219-228.

Someone With Depression VS Someone Without Depression, ft. BetterHelp (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes