yes, therapy helps!
6 types of psychotherapy with little or no proven efficacy

6 types of psychotherapy with little or no proven efficacy

October 1, 2022

The world of psychotherapies and therapeutic approaches to psychological problems contains a wide variety of proposals. Some of them have proven to be very effective, but others exist more as a tradition or as a way of expressing a philosophy of life than as solutions that will offer guaranteed results.

That is why it is good to know both psychological therapies with more demonstrated efficacy and those whose clinical usefulness is more questioned. Next we will see the second ones: Psychotherapies with little or no proven efficacy .

Psychological therapies with little scientific validity

Keep in mind that the fact that these therapies are not well supported scientifically does not mean that they can not be pleasant or motivating experiences for some people.


This fact is what leads some patients to believe that feeling good in the sessions is indicative of the therapeutic advances that are made, but this is not the case. Psychotherapy has an objective defined by the area of ​​intervention to which it belongs: clinical and health psychology, and therefore its effects must be noted in the way in which disorders and psychological problems in general are expressed.

That said, let's see some types of psychotherapy that they have less empirical validity than they often appear . These therapies do not appear ordered in a certain way.

1. Regression therapy

Regression therapy was born in the 19th century with the theories of the French neurologist Pierre Janet , figure that had much influence in Sigmund Freud. That is why it fits within the forms of therapy linked to psychoanalysis and the psychodynamic current in general.


Like Freudian psychoanalysis, regression therapy strongly emphasizes the importance that past experiences have in the present mental state. However, this is characterized by starting from the idea that those memories that have been stored in memory and that condition what the person is in the here and now are, in reality, false, deformations of what really happened .

The phenomenon of the spontaneous modification of memories is something that both neurosciences and cognitive sciences have been proving for some time, and yet, from the theory on which regression therapy is based, it is assumed that this deformation of memories it is due to the conflicts of the unconscious .

Currently, there is no exhaustive research or meta-analysis that demonstrates the effectiveness of regression therapy.

2. Psychoanalytic Therapy

This type of therapy has its origin in the initial ideas of Sigmund Freud, and is based on the analysis of the unconscious conflicts that originate in childhood according to the ideas of this neurologist. Psychoanalytic therapy focuses on the search for the understanding of instinctive impulses that according to Freudian theory are repressed by consciousness and stored in the subconscious affecting the patient.


The psychoanalyst therapist uses techniques such as free association, which is intended to help the patient express their cognitions (thoughts, ideas, images) and emotions without any type of repression, which would lead the patient to emotional catharsis. At present, this form of psychotherapy is used less and less in Europe, but in some countries, such as Argentina, it continues to have enormous popularity.

It is currently considered that psychoanalysis does not have solid evidence about its effectiveness , among other things for the same reasons that came to the philosopher Karl Popper to criticize this approach: if the sessions do not produce the expected effect, you can always appeal to the deceptions of the client's unconscious.

However, the social impact that psychoanalysis has had has been such that it has been claimed outside the field of health as a tool to interpret stories, artistic forms of expression and social phenomena in general. For example, it has had a great impact on radical feminism.

You can deepen this therapeutic theory in our article: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

3. Psychodynamic Therapy

Psychodynamic therapy derives from psychoanalysis, but leaves behind the classical view. It focuses on a greater therapeutic brevity and puts the focus on the most prominent conflicts of the patient's current condition. With the intention of leaving behind the classic psychoanalytic approach, it picks up aspects of the analytic approach of the self or that of the object relations of the Kleinian current.

Some psychologists such as Alfred Adler or Ackerman have participated in the development of this form of therapy, and despite the changes, the objective remains that of help the patient get "insight" about their conflicts hidden

There are a number of differences between psychodynamic and psychoanalytic therapy. Psychodynamic therapy is characterized by:

  • Have shorter sessions: one or two weekly sessions. In psychoanalytic therapy there are three or four.
  • An active and direct role of the therapist.
  • The therapist gives advice and reinforcement not only in the conflictive aspects, but also in those that are not.
  • Use a greater variety of techniques: interpretive, supportive, educational ...

As is the case with therapy based on traditional psychoanalysis, this approach neither does it have sufficient empirical evidence that indicates its clinical usefulness.

4. Humanistic therapy

Humanistic therapy emerged in the mid-twentieth century and is influenced by phenomenology and existentialism. Its main exponents are Abraham Maslow and Carl Rogers, and adopts a holistic approach to human existence and pays special attention to phenomena such as creativity, free will and human potential. It is presented as a tool that encourages self-exploration and visualization of oneself as a whole person.

While Abraham Maslow emphasizes a hierarchy of needs and motivations, Carl Rogers was the one who created the person-centered approach , more focused towards psychotherapy. In humanistic therapy the therapist takes an active role and tries to facilitate the patient (called client) becoming aware of the real experience and restructuring of their self, through the establishment of a solid therapeutic alliance.

The humanistic therapy It has been used to treat a wide range of mental health problems , including depression, anxiety, relationship problems, personality disorders and various addictions. However, there is no firm evidence about its effectiveness. However the wishful thinking and the application of "common sense" to therapy leads many people to believe that to be guided by positive vital principles and intuitively relate to the idea of ​​happiness is to follow a really effective therapy.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Maslow's Pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

5. Gestalt therapy

Gestalt therapy develops under the influence of humanistic philosophy, but unlike the Carl Rogers therapy, its focus is on the thoughts and feelings of the here and now, on self-awareness. The creators of this therapeutic model are Fritz Perls and Laura Perls.

Gestalt therapy is a type of holistic therapy that understands that the mind is a self-regulating unit. Gestalt therapists use experiential and experiential techniques to try to improve the self-awareness, freedom and self-direction of the patient. But nevertheless, it has nothing to do with the psychology of Gestalt , emerged before the proposals of the Perls and focused on the scientific study of perception and cognition.

Unfortunately, this approach is based more on ethical principles and abstract ideas about what is "the mind" of a happy person that in a scientifically formulated model about how mental processes and behavior work. His proposals are based on intuitive ideas about what it means to "live in the present" and gain awareness about what is happening, so it escapes any attempt to check its effectiveness in a relatively objective way.

  • Related article: "Gestalt therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

6. Transactional Analysis

Transactional analysis is a type of humanistic psychotherapy that, despite originating between the 50s and 60s, still applies today. It was baptized as a model of social psychiatry, in which the unit of social relation is the transaction. It is a form of therapy that is presented as a very versatile tool, and can be proposed in many contexts .

In the transactional analysis we try to work directly in the here and now, while proposing initiatives to try to help patients to develop day-to-day tools to find creative and constructive solutions to their problems. In theory, the ultimate goal is to ensure that patients regain absolute autonomy over their lives, thanks to the development of spontaneity, awareness and intimacy.

However, part of the theory on which this therapy is based uses extremely abstract or directly esoteric concepts , so it is not surprising that its scientific validity and effectiveness has proven to be very poor or practically non-existent.


Homeopathy Explained – Gentle Healing or Reckless Fraud? (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 types de psychothérapie avec peu ou pas d'efficacité prouvée

6 types de psychothérapie avec peu ou pas d'efficacité prouvée

Novembre 23, 2022

Le monde des psychothérapies et des approches thérapeutiques des problèmes psychologiques contient une grande variété de propositions. Certaines d’entre elles se sont révélées très efficaces, mais d’autres existent plus comme une tradition ou un moyen d’exprimer une philosophie de la vie que comme des solutions offrant des résultats garantis.

C'est pourquoi il est bon de connaître à la fois les thérapies psychologiques ayant une efficacité plus démontrée et celles dont l'utilité clinique est plus remise en question. Ensuite nous verrons les deuxièmes: Psychothérapies avec peu ou pas d'efficacité prouvée .

Thérapies psychologiques peu valables scientifiquement

Gardez à l'esprit que le fait que ces thérapies ne sont pas bien soutenues scientifiquement ne signifie pas qu'ils ne peuvent pas être des expériences agréables ou motivantes pour certaines personnes.


C’est ce qui fait croire à certains patients que se sentir bien au cours des séances est révélateur des progrès thérapeutiques réalisés, mais ce n’est pas le cas. La psychothérapie a un objectif défini par le domaine d’intervention auquel elle appartient: la psychologie clinique et de la santé, et ses effets doivent donc être notés dans la manière dont les troubles et les problèmes psychologiques en général sont exprimés.

Cela dit, voyons quelques types de psychothérapie qui ils ont une validité empirique moindre qu'ils apparaissent souvent . Ces thérapies ne semblent pas ordonnées d'une certaine manière.

1. Thérapie de régression

La thérapie de régression est née au 19ème siècle avec les théories du neurologue français Pierre Janet , figure qui a beaucoup influencé Sigmund Freud. C'est pourquoi il s'inscrit dans les formes de thérapie liées à la psychanalyse et au courant psychodynamique en général.


A l'instar de la psychanalyse freudienne, la thérapie de régression souligne fortement l'importance des expériences passées dans l'état mental présent. Cependant, ceci est caractérisé en partant de l’idée que ces souvenirs qui ont été stockés dans la mémoire et qui conditionnent ce que la personne est dans l’ici et maintenant sont, en réalité, de fausses déformations de ce qui s’est réellement passé. .

Le phénomène de la modification spontanée de la mémoire est une chose que les neurosciences et les sciences cognitives prouvent depuis quelque temps déjà, et pourtant, d'après la théorie sur laquelle est basée la thérapie de régression, on suppose que cette déformation de la mémoire c'est dû aux conflits de l'inconscient .

Actuellement, il n’existe pas de recherche exhaustive ni de méta-analyse démontrant l’efficacité du traitement de régression.

2. Thérapie psychanalytique

Ce type de thérapie trouve son origine dans les idées initiales de Sigmund Freud et repose sur l’analyse de les conflits inconscients issus de l'enfance selon les idées de ce neurologue. La thérapie psychanalytique se concentre sur la recherche de la compréhension des impulsions instinctives qui, selon la théorie freudienne, sont réprimées par la conscience et stockées dans le subconscient du patient.


Le psychanalyste utilise des techniques telles que la libre association, qui vise à aider le patient à exprimer ses cognitions (pensées, idées, images) et ses émotions sans aucun type de refoulement, ce qui le conduirait à une catharsis émotionnelle. À l'heure actuelle, cette forme de psychothérapie est de moins en moins utilisée en Europe, mais dans certains pays, tels que l'Argentine, elle continue d'avoir une énorme popularité.

On considère actuellement que la psychanalyse n'a pas de preuves solides de son efficacité entre autres pour les mêmes raisons que le philosophe Karl Popper a critiqué cette approche: si les séances ne produisent pas l’effet escompté, vous pouvez toujours faire appel aux tromperies de l’inconscient du client.

Cependant, l'impact social de la psychanalyse a été tel qu'elle a été revendiquée en dehors du domaine de la santé en tant qu'outil pour interpréter des histoires, des formes d'expression artistiques et des phénomènes sociaux en général. Par exemple, cela a eu un impact considérable sur le féminisme radical.

Vous pouvez approfondir cette théorie thérapeutique dans notre article: "Sigmund Freud: vie et travail du célèbre psychanalyste"

3. Thérapie psychodynamique

La thérapie psychodynamique dérive de la psychanalyse, mais laisse derrière elle la vision classique. Il met l'accent sur une plus grande brièveté thérapeutique et met l'accent sur les conflits les plus importants de l'état actuel du patient. Dans l’intention de laisser derrière elle l’approche psychanalytique classique, elle reprend des aspects de l’approche analytique du soi ou des relations d’objet du courant kleinien.

Certains psychologues, comme Alfred Adler ou Ackerman, ont participé au développement de cette forme de thérapie et, malgré les changements, l'objectif reste celui de: aider le patient à "comprendre" ses conflits caché

Il existe un certain nombre de différences entre la thérapie psychodynamique et psychanalytique. La thérapie psychodynamique est caractérisée par:

  • Avoir des sessions plus courtes: une ou deux sessions hebdomadaires. En thérapie psychanalytique, il y en a trois ou quatre.
  • Un rôle actif et direct du thérapeute.
  • Le thérapeute conseille et renforce non seulement les aspects conflictuels, mais aussi ceux qui ne le sont pas.
  • Utiliser une plus grande variété de techniques: d'interprétation, de soutien, d'éducation ...

Comme dans le cas des thérapies basées sur la psychanalyse traditionnelle, cette approche il n'a pas non plus de preuves empiriques suffisantes cela indique son utilité clinique.

4. Thérapie humaniste

La thérapie humaniste est apparue au milieu du XXe siècle et est influencée par la phénoménologie et l’existentialisme. Ses principaux représentants sont Abraham Maslow et Carl Rogers, et adopte une approche holistique de l'existence humaine et accorde une attention particulière aux phénomènes tels que la créativité, le libre arbitre et le potentiel humain. Il est présenté comme un outil qui encourage l'exploration de soi et la visualisation de soi en tant que personne entière.

Alors qu'Abraham Maslow met l'accent sur une hiérarchie de besoins et de motivations, c'est Carl Rogers qui a créé l'approche centrée sur la personne , plus orienté vers la psychothérapie. En thérapie humaniste, le thérapeute joue un rôle actif et essaie de faciliter la prise de conscience du patient (appelé client) de la véritable expérience et la restructuration de lui-même, en établissant une solide alliance thérapeutique.

La thérapie humaniste Il a été utilisé pour traiter un large éventail de problèmes de santé mentale , y compris la dépression, l’anxiété, les problèmes relationnels, les troubles de la personnalité et diverses dépendances. Cependant, il n’existe aucune preuve tangible de son efficacité. Cependant, le un voeu pieux et l'application du "bon sens" à la thérapie amène de nombreuses personnes à croire que suivre une thérapie réellement efficace repose sur des principes vitaux positifs et se rapporte intuitivement à l'idée de bonheur.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

5. Thérapie Gestalt

La Gestalt-thérapie se développe sous l’influence de la philosophie humaniste, mais contrairement à la thérapie Carl Rogers, elle met l’accent sur les pensées et les sentiments de l’ici et maintenant, sur la conscience de soi. Les créateurs de ce modèle thérapeutique sont Fritz Perls et Laura Perls.

La Gestalt-thérapie est un type de thérapie holistique qui comprend que l'esprit est une unité autorégulatrice. Les thérapeutes Gestalt utilisent des techniques expérientielles et expérientielles pour tenter d'améliorer la conscience de soi, la liberté et l'autodétermination du patient. Cependant, cela n'a rien à voir avec la psychologie de la Gestalt , est apparu avant les propositions des Perls et s’est concentré sur l’étude scientifique de la perception et de la cognition.

Malheureusement, cette approche se base davantage sur des principes éthiques et des idées abstraites sur ce qu'est "l'esprit" d'une personne heureuse dans un modèle formulé scientifiquement sur le fonctionnement des processus mentaux et du comportement. Ses propositions sont basées sur des idées intuitives sur ce que signifie "vivre dans le présent" et sur la prise de conscience de ce qui se passe, ce qui échappe à toute tentative de contrôle de son efficacité de manière relativement objective.

  • Article connexe: "La Gestalt-thérapie: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes se base-t-elle?"

6. Analyse transactionnelle

L'analyse transactionnelle est un type de psychothérapie humaniste qui, malgré son origine entre les années 50 et 60, s'applique toujours aujourd'hui. Il a été baptisé comme modèle de psychiatrie sociale, dans lequel l'unité de relation sociale est la transaction. C’est une forme de thérapie qui est présentée comme un outil très polyvalent et peut être proposé dans de nombreux contextes .

Dans l'analyse transactionnelle, nous essayons de travailler directement ici et maintenant, tout en proposant des initiatives pour aider les patients à développer des outils quotidiens pour trouver des solutions créatives et constructives à leurs problèmes. En théorie, l'objectif ultime est de faire en sorte que les patients retrouvent une autonomie absolue sur leur vie, grâce au développement de la spontanéité, de la prise de conscience et de l'intimité.

Cependant, une partie de la théorie sur laquelle cette thérapie est basée utilise des concepts extrêmement abstraits ou directement ésotériques Il n’est donc pas surprenant que sa validité scientifique et son efficacité se soient avérées très médiocres ou pratiquement inexistantes.


Pourquoi j’ai créé une école où les enfants font ce qu’ils veulent. | Ramïn Farhangi | TEDxSaclay (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes