yes, therapy helps!
What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?

What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?

July 25, 2022

Systematic desensitization (DS) is a technique developed by Joseph Wolpe in 1958, which aims to finish both the anxiety responses and avoidance behaviors typical of anxious disorders.

Since these behaviors are especially important in the maintenance of phobic disorders, it is a technique widely used in their treatment.

The DS, as proposed by Joseph Wolpe, is based on classical conditioning. The principle is that the intensity of a response such as anxiety can be reduced through the emission of an incompatible response, such as relaxation. The appearance of certain phobic stimuli produces anxiety responses. Certain stimuli automatically produce anxiety responses. Together, it is intended to provoke an automatic relaxation response that interferes with the discomfort of the aversive stimulus .


How does systematic desensitization work?

The standardized procedure of systematic desensitization includes four steps . Training in relaxation, a construction of hierarchies, evaluation and practice in imagination and the systematic desensitization itself. Before going on to training in relaxation, it is necessary to explain the technique to the client, to motivate him and make him understand the basic strategy and the principles of technical efficiency.

You have to explain what incompatible answers are and why if one appears, the other can not appear (like relaxation and tension), what is a hierarchy of stimuli, what is counterconditioning and generalization in terms you can understand.


Relaxation training

The relaxation response that the patient will use to combat anxiety will preferably be one that he or she already knows . It is possible to use any procedure, but if possible it is better to use some kind of relaxation that the patient can put into practice quickly and effectively.

Otherwise, techniques such as progressive relaxation or control of breathing, which are easy techniques to learn, can be taught. The fundamental thing is that in the anxious situation, these incompatible responses of relaxation can be applied easily, quickly, and reduce anxiety effectively.

Anxiety hierarchy

When we want to apply desensitization we have to make an order of the feared situations . This is what we call a hierarchy of anxiety, where we list all the potentially anxious situations related to the topic to be treated and order them according to the degree of anxiety they generate. To quantify the anxiety generated, a scale of 0 to 100 is used, where the situation with a score of 0 does not generate anxiety at all, and the situation with a score of 100 is the one that generates the most anxiety.


To develop the hierarchy we do it through a storm of ideas (brainstorming) where the patient generates situations that cause anxiety. These situations are recorded, specified and given a number on the scale from 0 to 100. It can often be difficult to start assigning numbers. A good way to start is to use anchors. Generate first the items that generate less and more anxiety, which will be 0 and 100 respectively, and an intermediate item that will be 50. From here the items are easier to sort.

Practice in imagination

As we will use the exhibition in imagination, we must evaluate the patient's ability to imagine scenes . The patient will be asked to imagine a scene and then ask the details of it to see how vivid the visualization is in imagination.

Desensitization properly

Once this is assured, the situation that causes anxiety will be presented . This presentation can be in imagination or live. It will begin with the situation that causes zero anxiety and will gradually go up the hierarchy of anxiety. The first presentations are made briefly, but the time of exposure will increase more and more. At the same time that the anxiogenic item is presented, the relaxation strategies that have been previously learned to interfere with anxiety and unlearn the anxious response are set in motion.

Naturally, the longer the patient is on exposure, the greater desensitization. In addition, when it is possible to reduce the anxiety produced by a situation, it is generalized to situations that are above it. Items are considered outdated when they produce zero anxiety.That is, until a situation generates absolutely no anxiety, you can not move on to the next one.

Applications of systematic desensitization

Systematic desensitization is an appropriate treatment when the therapist directs his efforts to the elimination of phobias and anxieties whenever a series of conditions are met. For a conditioned response to be susceptible to modification through systematic desensitization, it must be a response to a specific situation or stimulus, not due to irrational beliefs or overvalued ideas, that is an irrational fear and that there is an adequate response incompatible with anxiety.

In addition to its use in phobias and anxiety disorders, it may also be adequate to treat anxiety to specific stimuli without being phobic. For example in sexual dysfunctions, alcoholism, other addictions, paraphilias or insomnia.


What is SYSTEMATIC DESENSITIZATION? What does SYSTEMATIC DESENSITIZATION mean? (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et comment fonctionne-t-elle?

Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et comment fonctionne-t-elle?

Avril 28, 2024

La désensibilisation systématique (DS) est une technique développée par Joseph Wolpe en 1958, qui vise à achever les réactions d’anxiété et les comportements d’évitement typiques des troubles anxieux.

Étant donné que ces comportements sont particulièrement importants dans le maintien des troubles phobiques, il s'agit d'une technique largement utilisée dans le traitement de ceux-ci.

La DS, proposée par Joseph Wolpe, est basée sur le conditionnement classique. Le principe est que l'intensité d'une réponse telle que l'anxiété peut être réduite par l'émission d'une réponse incompatible, telle que la relaxation. L'apparition de certains stimuli phobiques produit des réponses anxieuses. Certains stimuli produisent automatiquement des réponses anxieuses. Ensemble il est destiné à provoquer une réponse de relaxation automatique qui interfère avec l'inconfort du stimulus aversif .


Comment fonctionne la désensibilisation systématique?

La procédure standard de désensibilisation systématique comprend quatre étapes. . Formation à la relaxation, construction de hiérarchies, évaluation et pratique de l'imagination et désensibilisation systématique elle-même. Avant de commencer à s'entraîner à la relaxation, il est nécessaire d'expliquer la technique au client, de le motiver et de lui faire comprendre la stratégie de base et les principes d'efficacité technique.

Vous devez expliquer ce que sont des réponses incompatibles et pourquoi, si l'une apparaît, l'autre ne peut pas apparaître (comme la relaxation et la tension), ce qu'est une hiérarchie de stimuli, ce qui est un contre-conditionnement et une généralisation dans des termes que vous pouvez comprendre.


Entraînement de relaxation

La réponse de relaxation que le patient utilisera pour lutter contre l’anxiété sera de préférence celle qu’il connaît déjà. . Il est possible d'utiliser n'importe quelle procédure, mais si possible, il est préférable d'utiliser un type de relaxation que le patient peut mettre en pratique rapidement et efficacement.

Sinon, des techniques telles que la relaxation progressive ou le contrôle de la respiration, techniques faciles à apprendre, peuvent être enseignées. L’essentiel est que, dans la situation anxieuse, ces réponses de relaxation incompatibles puissent s’appliquer facilement, rapidement et réduire efficacement l’anxiété.

Hiérarchie d'anxiété

Lorsque nous voulons appliquer la désensibilisation, nous devons ordonner les situations redoutées . C’est ce que nous appelons une hiérarchie de l’anxiété, où nous énumérons toutes les situations potentiellement anxieuses liées au sujet à traiter et les ordonnancions en fonction du degré d’anxiété qu’elles génèrent. Pour quantifier l'anxiété générée, une échelle de 0 à 100 est utilisée, où la situation avec un score de 0 ne génère pas d'anxiété, et la situation avec un score de 100 est celle qui génère le plus d'anxiété.


Pour développer la hiérarchie, nous le faisons à travers une tempête d'idées (brainstorming) où le patient génère des situations qui causent de l'anxiété. Ces situations sont enregistrées, spécifiées et se voient attribuer un numéro sur une échelle allant de 0 à 100. Il peut souvent être difficile de commencer à attribuer des numéros. Une bonne façon de commencer est d'utiliser des ancres. Générez d’abord les éléments qui génèrent de moins en moins d’anxiété, soit 0 et 100 respectivement, et un élément intermédiaire, 50. De là, les articles sont plus faciles à trier.

Pratique en imagination

Comme nous allons utiliser l’exposition en imagination, nous devons évaluer la capacité du patient à imaginer des scènes . On demandera au patient d’imaginer une scène, puis d’en demander les détails pour voir à quel point la visualisation est vivante dans l’imagination.

Désensibilisation correctement

Une fois que cela est assuré, la situation qui cause l'anxiété sera présentée . Cette présentation peut être en imagination ou en direct. Cela commencera par la situation qui ne cause aucune anxiété et montera progressivement dans la hiérarchie de l'anxiété. Les premières présentations sont faites brièvement, mais le temps d'exposition augmentera de plus en plus. En même temps que l’élément anxiogène est présenté, les stratégies de relaxation précédemment apprises pour interférer avec l’anxiété et désapprendre la réponse anxieuse sont mises en oeuvre.

Naturellement, plus le patient est exposé longtemps, plus la désensibilisation est grande. De plus, quand il est possible de réduire l’anxiété produite par une situation, elle est généralisée aux situations qui la dépassent. Les articles sont considérés obsolètes quand ils produisent zéro anxiété.Autrement dit, tant qu'une situation ne génère absolument aucune anxiété, vous ne pouvez pas passer à la suivante.

Applications de la désensibilisation systématique

La désensibilisation systématique est un traitement approprié lorsque le thérapeute concentre ses efforts sur l'élimination des phobies et des angoisses chaque fois qu'une série de conditions sont remplies. Pour qu’une réponse conditionnée puisse être modifiée par une désensibilisation systématique, elle doit être une réponse à une situation ou à un stimulus spécifique, et non pas due à des croyances irrationnelles ou à des idées surévaluées, c’est une peur irrationnelle et qu’il existe réponse incompatible avec anxiété.

En plus de son utilisation dans les phobies et les troubles anxieux, il peut également convenir de traiter l'anxiété liée à des stimuli spécifiques sans être phobique. Par exemple, dans les dysfonctionnements sexuels, l'alcoolisme, d'autres dépendances, les paraphilias ou l'insomnie.


Pourquoi #BoycottLesPetitesVictoires ? (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes