yes, therapy helps!
Alcohol and cocaine: when their effects are mixed

Alcohol and cocaine: when their effects are mixed

September 14, 2022

The link between cocaine and alcohol consumed successively (not simultaneously), where the consumption of a substance is initiated to calm the unpleasant effects that the other substance has left, produces devastating effects.

In this article we will see what happens when the dynamics of consumption of these two addictive substances are mixed.

  • Related article: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction"

Two types of highly addictive stimulants

Alcohol is a toxic substance, capable of producing addiction and even if it produces a disinhibiting effect in the first place , stimulant, is located in the category of depressant psychoactive substances.


This is because after a first moment of producing a disinhibitory action, which stimulates impulses and blocks rational thinking, alcohol begins to produce a general decrease in different functions of the organism that we will describe later.

Cocaine is a stimulating psychoactive substance , which alters the different functions of the organism. It is usually inhaled in the form of powder, but it can also be administered via injection into the bloodstream or smoked in the form of paco (paste base) or crack, which are the ways in which cocaine can be subjected to heat, since otherwise it would burn. In all its forms, cocaine is a substance highly capable of producing addiction.


We can state that the alternate and successive mode of consumption is usually given in the context of a need bond between the consumer and both substances, based on the function that each drug can fulfill according to the person and the use that it gives them. This is: a person may need to use cocaine to avoid the "bajoneadores" effects of alcohol , as well as needing alcohol to get out of the state of alteration produced by cocaine.

  • Related article: "The 5 types of cocaine (and differences in addiction)"

Effects of alcohol and cocaine use

The excessive consumption of alcohol produces:

  • Decreased heart rate and respiratory rate
  • Decrease in body temperature
  • Sensation of exhaustion, fatigue and drowsiness, reluctance
  • Less attention and psychomotor coordination

With a consecutive use of cocaine, the consuming person can seek to re-activate his body, his mind, under the conception that by means of this drug he will recover sleeping functions as a result of his drunken state and thus achieve a state of greater "stability" .


Cocaine use produces:

  • Increased heart rate and the respiratory rate
  • Increase in body temperature
  • Sensation of euphoria, of greater spirit and energy; hyperactivity, physical and mental excitement
  • False sensation of greater performance and success, of greater security and self-confidence

In this way the depressive consequences of the typical "slump" that occurs in the final stage of the drunken episode are counteracted.

At the same time This state of hyperstimulation generated by cocaine can produce tachycardia , muscle rigidity, hallucinations, tremors, dizziness, restlessness, anxiety, panic attacks, aggression, insomnia and the use of alcohol is resorted to "get off" of that feeling of loss of control and excessive hyperactivity.

The appearance of alternate consumption

We investigate the immediate effects of each one of these two substances thought in an episodic use, to understand why many people maintain this type of alternate consumption. We do not stop to expose the various long-term effects of compulsive use that are much more extensive than those mentioned (such as, for example, physical, psychological, bonding, work, legal problems, etc.) because they are beyond the scope of this article.

In this way we describe how one substance counteracts the effect of the other without idealizing either of them or forgetting the harmful nature of both. Both alcohol and cocaine are psychoactive substances that have negative consequences throughout the body, which will depend on how, when and how much is consumed.

The fact that an addiction develops will depend on multiple factors . Not by the simple act of using a substance an addiction is triggered but every addiction begins with a simple use.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baistrocchi, R. and Yaría, J. (2014) Addictions: Brain, subjectivity, behavior, culture. Ricardo Vergara Editions. Bs As, Argentina
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Alcool et cocaïne: quand leurs effets sont mélangés

Alcool et cocaïne: quand leurs effets sont mélangés

Novembre 30, 2022

Le lien entre la cocaïne et l'alcool consommés successivement (pas simultanément), lorsque la consommation d’une substance est initiée pour calmer les effets désagréables que l’autre substance a laissés, produit des effets dévastateurs.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qui se passe lorsque la dynamique de consommation de ces deux substances addictives est mélangée.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 signes de dépendance à l'alcool"

Deux types de stimulants hautement addictifs

L'alcool est une substance toxique, capable de produire une dépendance et même s'il produit un effet désinhibiteur en premier lieu , stimulant, est situé dans la catégorie des substances dépressives psychoactives.


En effet, après un premier moment de production d’une action désinhibitrice, qui stimule les impulsions et bloque la pensée rationnelle, l’alcool commence à produire une diminution générale des différentes fonctions de l’organisme que nous décrirons plus tard.

La cocaïne est une substance psychoactive stimulante , qui modifie les différentes fonctions de l'organisme. Il est généralement inhalé sous forme de poudre, mais il peut également être administré par injection dans le sang ou fumé sous forme de paco (pâte à base) ou de crack, méthodes permettant de soumettre la cocaïne à la chaleur, faute de quoi ça brûlerait. La cocaïne, sous toutes ses formes, est une substance hautement capable de créer une dépendance.


Nous pouvons affirmer que le mode de consommation alternatif et successif est généralement défini dans le contexte d’un lien de nécessité entre le consommateur et les deux substances, en fonction de la fonction que chaque médicament peut remplir en fonction de la personne et de l’utilisation qu’il leur donne. C'est: une personne peut avoir besoin de consommer de la cocaïne pour éviter les effets "bajoneadores" de l'alcool , ainsi que le besoin d’alcool pour sortir de l’altération produite par la cocaïne.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types de cocaïne (et les différences de dépendance)"

Effets de la consommation d'alcool et de cocaïne

La consommation excessive d'alcool produit:

  • Diminution de la fréquence cardiaque et respiratoire
  • Diminution de la température corporelle
  • Sensation d'épuisement, fatigue et somnolence, réticence
  • Moins d'attention et de coordination psychomotrice

En consommant consécutivement de la cocaïne, le consommateur peut chercher à réactiver son corps, son esprit, en pensant que, grâce à cette drogue, il retrouvera des fonctions de sommeil résultant de son état d’ivresse et atteindra ainsi un état de "stabilité" plus grand .


La consommation de cocaïne produit:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque et la fréquence respiratoire
  • Augmentation de la température corporelle
  • Sensation d'euphorie, d'esprit et d'énergie plus grands; hyperactivité, excitation physique et mentale
  • Faux sensation de plus grande performance et de succès, de plus grande sécurité et confiance en soi

De cette façon, les conséquences dépressives de la "dépression" typique qui se produit dans la phase finale de l'épisode d'ivresse sont contrecarrées.

Tourner Cet état d'hyperstimulation généré par la cocaïne peut entraîner une tachycardie , rigidité musculaire, hallucinations, tremblements, vertiges, agitation, anxiété, attaques de panique, agressivité, insomnie et consommation d’alcool est utilisée pour "sortir" de ce sentiment de perte de contrôle et d’hyperactivité excessive.

L'apparition d'une consommation alternative

Nous étudions les effets immédiats de chacune de ces deux substances considérées dans un usage épisodique, afin de comprendre pourquoi de nombreuses personnes maintiennent ce type de consommation alternative. Nous ne cessons pas d’exposer les divers effets à long terme de l’utilisation compulsive, qui sont bien plus étendus que ceux mentionnés (tels que, par exemple, des problèmes physiques, psychologiques, de liaison, de travail, juridiques, etc.), car ils dépassent le cadre de cet article.

De cette façon, nous décrivons comment une substance neutralise l'effet de l'autre sans idéaliser ni l'un ni l'autre ni oublier la nature néfaste des deux. L’alcool et la cocaïne sont des substances psychoactives qui ont des conséquences négatives sur l’ensemble du corps, ce qui dépend du mode, du moment et de la quantité consommé.

Le fait qu'une dépendance se développe dépendra de multiples facteurs . Ce n'est pas par le simple fait d'utiliser une substance qu'une dépendance est déclenchée, mais chaque dépendance commence par un simple usage.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baistrocchi, R. et Yaría, J. (2014) Addictions: cerveau, subjectivité, comportement, culture. Editions Ricardo Vergara. Bs As, Argentine

12 DROGUES FOLLES que tu ne connais pas (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes