yes, therapy helps!
Alcoholism: these are the effects of drinking dependence

Alcoholism: these are the effects of drinking dependence

July 18, 2024

Alcoholism is a health problem caused by compulsive use of alcohol, which is capable of generating physical and psychological dependence. It is an excessive intake, problematic, difficult to control by your own will. In turn, this behavior is caused by multiple and varied factors: physical predisposition, psychological vulnerabilities and social factors that facilitate consumption.

But one of the most striking aspects of alcoholism is that many times, in its early stages, it is socially accepted.

  • Related article: "The 5 types of alcoholism (and associated disorders)"

Alcoholism and its naturalization

Alcohol consumption is often naturalized and accepted socially and in the social imaginary is considered alcoholic who is seen drunk during the day, in a street situation, starting their consumption in the morning or drinking every day of the week. In this way other forms of alcoholism are rendered invisible. This is not determined by the amount of alcohol a person consumes per day but by how that person relates to alcohol: with dependence, need, compulsion and difficulties to be without consumption.


That is, a person is an alcoholic because of how he drinks, regardless of whether he does it every day, one day a week or more sporadically. However, any person who consumes alcohol is not alcoholic, since there may be consumption without establishing a dependency and addiction link with him . But ... what happens in the human body where there is dependency?

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction"

The effects of alcoholism

Once ingested in the body, alcohol produces two opposing actions, a disinhibiting effect and a depressant effect . The first blocks parts of the brain responsible for thought, the ability to reflect, moral conscience, ethical values; and overstimulates impulses and emotions. This allows us to understand that an alcoholic can be different from when he is sober and even commit crimes without the possibility of control, which, without consumption, would not take place.


The depressant effect inhibits the central nervous system causing a decrease in its functions: less attention, less psychomotor coordination, drowsiness, feeling of exhaustion, among others, reaching extreme cases of respiratory arrest and death.

The emergence of tolerance to drinking

Why are the quantities consumed of alcoholic beverages increasing? Why the body generates tolerance to the substance It is as if you get used to it and, as it does not produce the expected effect, then it becomes necessary to take more alcohol or stronger alcoholic beverages to achieve the desired effects.

Why can not the alcoholic stop drinking?

Another conception to be denaturalized refers to the reasons for the difficulty, in some cases, and the impossibility, in others, to stop drinking. It is not because of taste, caprice or vice, it is because of the strong compulsion to take that the alcoholic person feels, that it becomes irrepressible and beyond its voluntary control , because he is in a situation of physical and psychological dependence.


The body asks for alcohol and the head needs it to continue. Besides without consumption the symptoms of abstinence develop, which is presented with unpleasant sensations, physical manifestations, anxiety, irritability, anguish and strong desire (need) to consume.

How to act with the suspicion that someone close is addicted?

A first step involves denaturing the problematic use of alcohol. In doing so, doubts begin to arise and need to ask for help .

Here we can locate a second step: look for a space of listening, questioning, guidance on alcoholism, to learn to observe how the person's relationship with consumption and alcohol: can control the intake without depending of alcohol? Do you find it hard to stop drinking? Are you looking for excuses to take?

It is important to be aware of problematic alcohol consumption in time, because of the risks it can cause, since alcoholism causes greater probability of suffering accidents, illness and death , in addition to having behavioral, emotional, linking, social, labor, legal effects.

The orientation and containment to families is fundamental to understand that alcoholism is a disease that has recovery and for which a specialized treatment is indispensable for both the alcoholic relative and the rest of the family. This will allow families to resignify consumption and its consequences, generate changes in attitude and build spaces for dialogue and family communication.

It is also important that the family can work in spaces specialized in alcoholism those difficult and traumatic situations caused by the effect of alcoholism that affects the whole family, such as anguish, impotence, fears, anger, psychosomatic symptoms, feelings of guilt ... start having new healthy habits, strengthening self-esteem, developing new personal fulfillment projects to learn how to live better and build a healthier life.

  • Related article: "The 7 effective psychological treatments for alcoholism"

Drug Addiction : How to Do an Alcohol Intervention (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'alcoolisme: ce sont les effets de la dépendance à l'alcool

L'alcoolisme: ce sont les effets de la dépendance à l'alcool

Avril 30, 2024

L'alcoolisme est un problème de santé causé par une consommation compulsive d’alcool, capable de générer une dépendance physique et psychologique. C'est un apport excessif, problématique, difficile à contrôler par votre propre volonté. À son tour, ce comportement est causé par des facteurs multiples et variés: prédisposition physique, vulnérabilités psychologiques et facteurs sociaux facilitant la consommation.

Mais l’un des aspects les plus frappants de l’alcoolisme est qu’il est souvent accepté socialement à ses débuts.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types d'alcoolisme (et troubles associés)"

L'alcoolisme et sa naturalisation

La consommation d'alcool est souvent naturalisée et acceptée socialement et dans l'imaginaire social, on considère l'alcoolique qui se voit ivre pendant la journée, dans une rue, commençant sa consommation le matin ou buvant tous les jours de la semaine. De cette manière, d'autres formes d'alcoolisme sont rendues invisibles. Ceci n'est pas déterminé par la quantité d'alcool qu'une personne consomme par jour, mais par son rapport à l'alcool: dépendance, besoin, contrainte et difficultés pour être sans consommation.


C'est-à-dire qu'une personne est alcoolique à cause de la façon dont elle boit, qu'il le fasse tous les jours, un jour par semaine ou plus sporadiquement. Cependant, toute personne qui consomme de l'alcool n'est pas alcoolique, car il peut y avoir consommation sans établir un lien de dépendance et de dépendance avec lui . Mais ... que se passe-t-il dans le corps humain où il y a dépendance?

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 signes de dépendance à l'alcool"

Les effets de l'alcoolisme

Une fois ingéré dans le corps, l’alcool produit deux actions opposées: un effet désinhibant et un effet dépresseur . Le premier bloque les parties du cerveau responsables de la pensée, la capacité de réflexion, la conscience morale, les valeurs éthiques; et sur-stimule les impulsions et les émotions. Cela nous permet de comprendre qu'un alcoolique peut être différent de celui où il est sobre et même commettre des crimes sans possibilité de contrôle, ce qui, sans consommation, n'aurait pas lieu.


L'effet dépresseur inhibe le système nerveux central entraînant une diminution de ses fonctions: moins d’attention, moins de coordination psychomotrice, somnolence, sensation d’épuisement, entre autres, atteignant des cas extrêmes d’arrêt respiratoire et de mort.

L'émergence de la tolérance à boire

Pourquoi les quantités consommées de boissons alcoolisées augmentent-elles? Parce que le corps génère une tolérance à la substance C'est comme si vous vous y habituiez et, comme cela ne produit pas l'effet escompté, il devient alors nécessaire de prendre plus d'alcool ou de boissons alcoolisées plus fortes pour obtenir les effets souhaités.

Pourquoi l'alcoolique ne peut-il pas arrêter de boire?

Une autre conception à dénaturaliser concerne les raisons de la difficulté, dans certains cas, et de l'impossibilité, dans d'autres, de cesser de boire. Ce n’est pas à cause du goût, du caprice ou du vice, c’est à cause de la forte contrainte de prendre que ressent l’alcoolique, que il devient irrépressible et hors de son contrôle volontaire , car il est en situation de dépendance physique et psychologique.


Le corps demande de l'alcool et la tête en a besoin pour continuer. Outre la consommation, les symptômes de l’abstinence se développent et se manifestent avec des sensations désagréables, des manifestations physiques, de l’anxiété, de l’irritabilité, de l’angoisse et un fort désir de consommer.

Comment agir avec la suspicion que quelqu'un proche est accro?

Une première étape consiste à dénaturer la consommation problématique d'alcool. Ce faisant, des doutes commencent à surgir et doivent demander de l'aide .

Ici nous pouvons localiser une seconde étape: chercher un espace d’écoute, de questions, de conseils sur l’alcoolisme, apprendre à observer comment le rapport de la personne à la consommation et à l’alcool d'alcool? Trouvez-vous difficile d'arrêter de boire? Vous cherchez des excuses à prendre?

Il est important de prendre conscience à temps de la consommation problématique d'alcool, en raison des risques qu'elle peut entraîner, car l'alcoolisme cause une plus grande probabilité d'accidents, de maladie et de décès , en plus d’avoir des effets comportementaux, émotionnels, de liens, sociaux, de travail et juridiques.

L'orientation et l'endiguement des familles sont fondamentaux comprendre que l’alcoolisme est une maladie qui a guéri et pour laquelle un traitement spécialisé est indispensable à la fois pour le parent alcoolique et le reste de la famille. Cela permettra aux familles de resignifier la consommation et ses conséquences, de générer des changements d'attitude et de créer des espaces de dialogue et de communication familiale.

Il est également important que la famille puisse travailler dans des espaces spécialisés dans l'alcoolisme dans les situations difficiles et traumatisantes causées par l'effet de l'alcoolisme sur toute la famille, telles que l'angoisse, l'impuissance, la peur, la colère, les symptômes psychosomatiques, le sentiment de culpabilité ... commencer à avoir de nouvelles habitudes saines, renforcer l'estime de soi, développer de nouveaux projets d'épanouissement personnel pour apprendre à mieux vivre et à vivre plus sainement.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 traitements psychologiques efficaces contre l'alcoolisme"

L'alcool et notre corps (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes