yes, therapy helps!
Amitriptyline: uses, side effects and precautions

Amitriptyline: uses, side effects and precautions

March 15, 2023

Although the current trend is towards the majority use of serotonin reuptake inhibitor antidepressants (SSRIs) to the detriment of tricyclic antidepressants, there are still some of the latter that are very popular.

One of these drugs is amitriptyline , an antidepressant widely used in cases of major depression, and with a wide variety of uses both in the treatment and in the prevention of certain physical and psychological alterations.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is amitriptyline?

Amitriptyline, commercially known under some names such as Elavil, Sarotex or Tryptizole, it is an antidepressant action drug . Specifically, amitriptyline is categorized into tricyclic antidepressants. This type of antidepressant medication is distinguished by inhibiting, in the same amounts, the reuptake of serotonin and norepinephrine.


Therefore, by inhibiting the reuptake of these neurotransmitters, the levels of these increase. In this way, amitriptyline facilitates the maintenance of an emotional balance , which is diminished in depressive disorders, among many others.

Unlike other tricyclic antidepressants, amitriptyline has practically the same efficacy as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, making it one of the most widely used antidepressants in its category.

  • Related article: "Tricyclic antidepressants: uses and side effects"

In what conditions is it used?

Like other of its many antidepressant equivalents, amitriptyline is given for the treatment of a wide variety of mental disorders .


One of the main focuses of administration is the treatment of the symptoms of major depressive disorder. This emotional disorder is characterized by deep feelings of anguish and sadness, coupled with low self-esteem and long-term, causing great interference in the daily life of the person.

In addition, it also has a proven efficacy in the treatment of some anxiety disorders such as specific phobias or panic disorders and in the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or bipolar disorder in those patients who do not show improvements with traditional treatments for these conditions.

To a much lesser extent, this tricyclic antidepressant is administered in some cases of eating disorders and postherpetic neuralgia , a disease caused by certain types of herpes and that causes great sensations of pain in those who suffer from it.


Many researches have shown that amitriptyline can be particularly useful in the prevention of certain ailments or conditions. Some of them include:

  • Migraines
  • Headaches by tension.
  • Neuropathic pain for fibromyalgia.
  • Diabetic neuropathy.
  • Nocturnal enuresis .
  • Insomnia.
  • Some symptoms of psychosis such as schizophrenia or psychotic depression.

How is it administered?

At the moment, amitriptyline only It is available in tablets for oral use . Although it is usually recommended to administer it in four daily doses and approximately always at the same time, the pertinent doctor can indicate the way of consumption that is most convenient for each specific patient.

Next, we describe a series of generic indications that although they can be used as a guide for their consumption, it is always more convenient to follow the doctor's instructions or, failing that, to go to him when there is any doubt about the treatment.

As a general rule, and as with most psychiatric medication, it is advisable to start treatment with amitriptyline progressively, starting with smaller and more distant doses that increase with the progress of the treatment.

It is necessary to emphasize that, although initially the patient does not experience the expected effects, this should never alter or modify the recommended doses, neither by excess nor by defect. This means that in no case can the patient take the liberty of taking more or less medication of the recommended.

In those cases in which the patient decides to alter the dose or stop taking amitriptyline, this may experience symptoms typical of withdrawal syndrome, as well as severe and sudden changes in mood or sleep problems among many others.

What side effects can this drug cause?

Due to its effects as a tricyclic antidepressant inhibitor of the reuptake of serotonin and norepinephrine, amitriptyline can cause a great variety of side effects in the patient. Despite this, this should not stop consuming it on its own, but it is recommended that, before the frequent or prolonged appearance of these reports to the doctor who prescribed them, in order to adjust or change the treatment.

In the list of most frequent but less serious side effects are:

  • Feeling weak lack of energy or fatigue.
  • Drowsiness.
  • Sickness.
  • Vomiting .
  • Headaches
  • Alterations of the dream and / or nightmares.
  • Feeling confused .
  • Dry mouth.
  • Vision problems or blurred vision.
  • Gastric alterations with or without constipation
  • Urination problems
  • Feeling of pain or numbness of hands or feet.
  • Hyperhidrosis or increased sweating.
  • Alterations in desire and / or sexual performance.
  • Alterations in appetite and changes in weight.

Although it is not usual, amitriptyline also can cause a series of serious side effects , which can compromise the health status of the person. If any of them appears, the patient should contact the doctor immediately. These include:

  • Dizziness and fainting .
  • Talk slow or speech difficulties.
  • Weakness or numbness of a full arm or leg.
  • Pain or strong chest pressure.
  • Alterations or instability of the heart rhythm .
  • Skin disorders such as rashes or hives.
  • Coloring of the skin with a yellowish tone.
  • Uncontrollable tremors .
  • Spasms in jaw, neck or back.
  • Spills or cardinals without apparent cause.
  • Convulsions
  • Hallucinations .

What precautions should be taken with their consumption?

Before starting treatment with amitriptyline, the patient must report any special health condition where you are, especially if it is related to any type of heart condition.

In addition, you must also communicate if the patient has any type of allergy, as well as the consumption of any other type of medication, dietary supplement or vitamin. Finally, there are some compounds made with natural herbs, such as St. John's wort, which can also interfere with the treatment.

In those pregnant patients with anticipation of pregnancy or in breastfeeding period, they should also inform the doctor of their state, since amitriptyline can cause fetal alterations or once the baby is born.

Regarding the precautions that should be taken due to the sedative effects of amitriptyline, those patients whose daily routine involves driving or handling heavy machinery should pay special attention to the effects of this and even avoid this type of tasks or activities.


Amixide H Tablet - Uses, Side-effects, Reviews, and Precautions (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amitriptyline: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Amitriptyline: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Septembre 8, 2022

Bien que la tendance actuelle soit à l'utilisation majoritaire d'antidépresseurs inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) au détriment des antidépresseurs tricycliques, certains de ces derniers sont toujours très populaires.

L’un de ces médicaments est l’amitriptyline , antidépresseur largement utilisé dans les cas de dépression majeure et avec une grande variété d'utilisations à la fois dans le traitement et dans la prévention de certaines altérations physiques et psychologiques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que l'amitriptyline?

L’amitriptyline, connue dans le commerce sous certains noms tels que Elavil, Sarotex ou Tryptizole, c'est un antidépresseur . Plus précisément, l'amitriptyline est classée dans les antidépresseurs tricycliques. Ce type d'antidépresseur se distingue en inhibant, dans les mêmes quantités, la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline.


Par conséquent, en inhibant la recapture de ces neurotransmetteurs, les niveaux de ceux-ci augmentent. De cette façon, l'amitriptyline facilite le maintien d'un équilibre émotionnel , qui est diminué dans les troubles dépressifs, parmi beaucoup d’autres.

Contrairement aux autres antidépresseurs tricycliques, l'amitriptyline a pratiquement la même efficacité que les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine, ce qui en fait l'un des antidépresseurs les plus utilisés dans sa catégorie.

  • Article connexe: "Antidépresseurs tricycliques: utilisations et effets secondaires"

Dans quelles conditions est-il utilisé?

Comme d'autres de ses nombreux équivalents antidépresseurs, l'amitriptyline est donné pour le traitement d'une grande variété de troubles mentaux .


L'un des principaux objectifs de l'administration est le traitement des symptômes du trouble dépressif majeur. Ce trouble émotionnel est caractérisé par des sentiments profonds d'angoisse et de tristesse, associés à une faible estime de soi et à long terme, provoquant une grande interférence dans la vie quotidienne de la personne.

En outre, il a également fait la preuve de son efficacité dans le traitement de certains troubles anxieux, tels que des phobies spécifiques ou des troubles paniques, et dans le traitement du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention ou du trouble bipolaire chez les patients ne présentant pas d'amélioration par rapport aux traitements traditionnels. ces conditions.

Dans une bien moindre mesure, cet antidépresseur tricyclique est administré dans certains cas de troubles de l'alimentation et de névralgie post-herpétique , une maladie causée par certains types d'herpès et qui provoque de grandes sensations de douleur chez ceux qui en souffrent.


De nombreuses recherches ont montré que l’amitriptyline peut être particulièrement utile dans la prévention de certains maux ou affections. Certains d'entre eux comprennent:

  • Migraines
  • Maux de tête par tension.
  • Douleur neuropathique pour la fibromyalgie.
  • Neuropathie diabétique.
  • Énurésie nocturne .
  • L'insomnie
  • Certains symptômes de psychose tels que la schizophrénie ou la dépression psychotique.

Comment est-il administré?

Pour le moment, amitriptyline seulement Il est disponible en comprimés pour usage oral . Bien qu'il soit généralement recommandé de l'administrer en quatre doses quotidiennes et à peu près toujours en même temps, le médecin compétent peut indiquer le mode de consommation le plus pratique pour chaque patient spécifique.

Nous décrivons ensuite une série d’indications génériques selon lesquelles, bien qu’elles puissent servir de guide pour leur consommation, il est toujours plus pratique de suivre les instructions du médecin ou, à défaut, de le consulter en cas de doute sur le traitement.

En règle générale, et comme avec la plupart des médicaments psychiatriques, il est conseillé de commencer le traitement par amitriptyline progressivement, en commençant par des doses plus petites et plus distantes augmentant avec l’évolution du traitement.

Il est nécessaire de souligner que, même si au départ le patient ne ressent pas les effets attendus, cela ne devrait jamais altérer ni modifier les doses recommandées, ni par excès ni par défaut. Ceci signifie que en aucun cas le patient ne peut prendre la liberté de prendre plus ou moins de médicaments du recommandé.

Dans les cas où le patient décide de modifier la dose ou d'arrêter de prendre de l'amitriptyline, des symptômes typiques du syndrome de sevrage peuvent apparaître, de même que des troubles de l'humeur ou des troubles du sommeil graves et soudains, entre autres.

Quels effets secondaires ce médicament peut-il provoquer?

En raison de ses effets en tant qu'inhibiteur antidépresseur tricyclique de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, l'amitriptyline peut provoquer une grande variété d'effets secondaires chez le patient. Malgré cela, cela ne devrait pas cesser de le consommer seul, mais il est recommandé, avant l’apparition fréquente ou prolongée de ces rapports au médecin qui l’a prescrit, afin d’ajuster ou de modifier le traitement.

Dans la liste des effets secondaires les plus fréquents mais les moins graves figurent:

  • Se sentir faible manque d'énergie ou fatigue.
  • Somnolence
  • La nausée
  • Vomissements .
  • Maux de tête
  • Altérations du rêve et / ou des cauchemars.
  • Se sentir confus .
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Problèmes de vision ou vision floue.
  • Altérations gastriques avec ou sans constipation
  • Problèmes de miction
  • Sensation de douleur ou d'engourdissement des mains ou des pieds.
  • Hyperhidrose ou transpiration accrue.
  • Altérations du désir et / ou de la performance sexuelle.
  • Modifications de l'appétit et changements de poids.

Bien que ce ne soit pas habituel, l'amitriptyline peut causer une série d'effets secondaires graves , ce qui peut compromettre l'état de santé de la personne. Si l'un d'entre eux apparaît, le patient doit contacter le médecin immédiatement. Ceux-ci incluent:

  • Vertiges et évanouissements .
  • Parlez lentement ou avez des difficultés d'élocution.
  • Faiblesse ou engourdissement du bras ou de la jambe.
  • Douleur ou forte pression thoracique.
  • Altérations ou instabilité du rythme cardiaque .
  • Troubles cutanés tels que des éruptions cutanées ou de l'urticaire.
  • Coloration de la peau avec un ton jaunâtre.
  • Tremblements incontrôlables .
  • Spasmes à la mâchoire, au cou ou au dos.
  • Déversements ou cardinaux sans cause apparente.
  • Convulsions
  • Hallucinations .

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre avec leur consommation?

Avant de commencer un traitement à l'amitriptyline, le patient doit signaler tout problème de santé particulier où vous vous trouvez, surtout s’il est lié à n’importe quel type de problème cardiaque.

En outre, vous devez également indiquer si le patient est allergique, quel que soit son type de médicament, de complément alimentaire ou de vitamine. Enfin, certains composés à base d'herbes naturelles, tels que le millepertuis, peuvent également interférer avec le traitement.

Chez les patientes enceintes avec anticipation de grossesse ou en période d'allaitement, ils doivent également informer le médecin de leur état, car l'amitriptyline peut provoquer des altérations du fœtus ou une fois que le bébé est né.

En ce qui concerne les précautions à prendre en raison des effets sédatifs de l'amitriptyline, les patients dont le quotidien implique de conduire ou de manipuler des machines lourdes doivent accorder une attention particulière aux effets ainsi évités et même éviter ce type de tâches ou d'activités.


3 médicaments dangereux pour votre santé (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes