yes, therapy helps!
An emotional short film about children with different abilities

An emotional short film about children with different abilities

May 4, 2024

"La cazo de Lorenzo" is an emotional short story by Isabelle Carrier . The author recreates the day to day of a different child through tender illustrations. His difficulties, his qualities, as well as the obstacles he has to face, are metaphorically represented in a clear and intelligent way.

Below you can see this story in audiovisual format:

  • Related article: "Advice to help children cope with their schooling"

What does this story teach us?

This week, Alejandra Escura, collaborating child psychologist of the Mensalus Psychological and Psychological Assistance Institute, rescues an animated short film that tells the original story of Isabelle Carrier in order to offer some practical guidelines for parents.


Are these types of stories worked from the Psychology consultation?

The stories that especially use a metaphorical language to transform seemingly complicated processes (due to the emotional burden involved) in simple concepts are fantastic psychoeducational tools that are very helpful in individual and family therapies.

Its power lies in the ability to speak clearly of what we fear so much and present it as a natural process that can be approached from a constructive perspective. With stories like the one we present today, we understand that accepting the conflict, the situation, the difficulty, etc. always adds up

What do we "add" to "Lorenzo's saucepan"?


All right. We particularly emphasize the importance of following Lorenzo's path precisely because of the richness of this very functional view of the saucepan. He ends up carrying his red saucepan in a bag, which allows him to overcome the difficulties that previously hampered him. All this is achieved thanks to the security offered by an adult reference, a person who, with love and dedication, marks the road while offering independence to experience it.

How do parents usually react to the presence of the "bucket"?

Parents fear that the child will suffer and react to this alert. In fact, your anticipatory anxiety is one of the elements that can generate more emotional tension. For this reason, we work together with families to increase self-awareness about the effects generated by the anxiety that is breathed at home.


When this anxiety is very high, parents only see "the bucket". If this occurs, the overprotectiveness of the warning can seriously impede the child's ability to acquire resources in a healthy way.

What examples of attitudes related to overprotection can limit a child's personal growth?

For example, a continuous system of awards. On occasion, parents reward excessively (physically or verbally) in order to motivate the child. The result is a disconnection with positive reinforcement because it loses meaning. If the child does not feel that he has made an effort and receives a prize, what is the point? For this reason it is important to recognize the achievement but also to normalize it so that, in this way, the child believes in his capacity to pursue goals in a natural way. Seeing that the elders trust him is the best way.

In this sense, speeches that enhance ingenuity (eg, "I liked how you have done" X "," I see that you have achieved "Y" without having to do "Z", etc.) offer extra information to the child that does not reveal the «cazo» and, on the other hand, evidences a particular strategy characteristic of its modus operandi.

There is a moment when Lorenzo hides under his bucket. What guidelines can help parents in these cases?

At first it is important to encourage the child to express how he feels and show understanding. Putting words to the emotions opens a channel of communication that increases the insight capacity of the child and helps him connect with others. On the other hand, enhancing their abilities again through the facts will be our objective. The action is what will show the child how to carry the hung saucepan instead of continuously looking through it.

That said, we would encourage parents to go out there with their children in order to enjoy a sports practice, a walk, an excursion, a dinner, a family visit, an educational outing, etc., reducing the role of the bucket and granting it the child and the activity itself.

Living and feeling with the saucepan turns the person into a free being that finds the resource in itself. On the contrary, keeping your eyes permanently in the pot causes an increase in your size (this is when thoughts related to limitation break out).

What would you say to all those parents who are reading this interview?

The saucepan is natural, is part of that person, so it is important not to see it as an obstacle but as an opportunity to acquire essential resources that make it the protagonist of their own life story.

As parents, being there to listen, understand and accompany is the best way to offer the child the opportunity to experiment, learn and grow by the dipper.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect"

**Award Winning** CGI Animated Short Film: "Ian" by Fundacion Ian | CGMeetup (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un court métrage émotionnel sur des enfants ayant des capacités différentes

Un court métrage émotionnel sur des enfants ayant des capacités différentes

Janvier 22, 2021

"La cazo de Lorenzo" est une nouvelle émouvante d'Isabelle Carrier . L'auteur recrée le quotidien d'un enfant différent au moyen d'illustrations tendres. Ses difficultés, ses qualités, ainsi que les obstacles auxquels il doit faire face, sont métaphoriquement représentés de manière claire et intelligente.

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir cette histoire au format audiovisuel:

  • Article connexe: "Conseils pour aider les enfants à faire face à leur scolarité"

Que nous apprend cette histoire?

Cette semaine, Alejandra Escura, collaboratrice psychologue pour enfants de l'Institut d'aide psychologique et psychologique Mensalus, sauve un court métrage d'animation qui raconte l'histoire originale d'Isabelle Carrier afin de proposer des directives pratiques aux parents.


Ces types d'histoires ont-ils fonctionné à partir de la consultation de psychologie?

Les histoires qui utilisent particulièrement un langage métaphorique pour transformer des processus apparemment complexes (en raison du fardeau émotionnel impliqué) en concepts simples sont de fantastiques outils psychoéducatifs qui sont très utiles pour les thérapies individuelles et familiales.

Son pouvoir réside dans la capacité de parler clairement de ce que nous craignons tant et de le présenter comme un processus naturel pouvant être abordé de manière constructive. Avec des histoires comme celle que nous présentons aujourd'hui, nous comprenons qu'accepter le conflit, la situation, la difficulté, etc. ajoute toujours

Qu'ajoutons-nous à la "casserole de Lorenzo"?


Bien. Nous soulignons en particulier l’importance de suivre le chemin de Lorenzo précisément à cause de la richesse de cette vision très fonctionnelle de la casserole. Il finit par porter sa casserole rouge dans un sac, ce qui lui permet de surmonter les difficultés qui le gênaient auparavant. Tout cela est réalisé grâce à la sécurité offerte par une référence adulte, une personne qui, avec amour et dévouement, marque le chemin tout en offrant son indépendance pour en faire l'expérience.

Comment les parents réagissent-ils généralement à la présence du "seau"?

Les parents craignent que l'enfant souffre et réagisse à cette alerte. En fait, votre anxiété d'anticipation est l'un des éléments pouvant générer plus de tension émotionnelle. Pour cette raison, nous travaillons avec les familles pour accroître la conscience de soi quant aux effets générés par l’anxiété respirée à la maison.


Lorsque cette anxiété est très forte, les parents ne voient que "le seau". Si cela se produit, la surprotection de l'avertissement peut sérieusement entraver la capacité de l'enfant à acquérir des ressources de manière saine.

Quels exemples d'attitudes liées à la surprotection peuvent limiter le développement personnel d'un enfant?

Par exemple, un système continu de récompenses. À l'occasion, les parents récompensent excessivement (physiquement ou verbalement) afin de motiver l'enfant. Il en résulte une déconnexion avec le renforcement positif car il perd du sens. Si l'enfant ne sent pas qu'il a fait un effort et reçoit un prix, à quoi ça sert? Pour cette raison, il est important de reconnaître le succès, mais aussi de le normaliser afin que l'enfant puisse ainsi croire en sa capacité à poursuivre des objectifs de façon naturelle. Voir que les aînés ont confiance en lui est la meilleure solution.

En ce sens, les discours qui valorisent l'ingéniosité (par exemple, "J'ai bien aimé comment vous avez fait" X "," Je vois que vous avez atteint "Y" sans avoir à faire "Z", etc.) offrent des informations supplémentaires à l'enfant. cela ne révèle pas le «cazo» et, au contraire, met en évidence une stratégie particulière caractéristique de son modus operandi.

Il y a un moment où Lorenzo se cache sous son seau. Quelles lignes directrices peuvent aider les parents dans ces cas?

Au début, il est important d'encourager l'enfant à exprimer ce qu'il ressent et à faire preuve de compréhension. Mettre des mots sur les émotions ouvre un canal de communication qui augmente la capacité de compréhension de l'enfant et l'aide à se connecter avec les autres. D'un autre côté, notre objectif sera de renforcer leurs capacités grâce aux faits. L'action est ce qui va montrer à l'enfant comment porter la casserole suspendue au lieu de regarder en permanence à travers elle.

Cela dit, nous encouragerions les parents à sortir avec leurs enfants pour profiter d'une pratique sportive, d'une promenade, d'une excursion, d'un dîner, d'une visite familiale, d'une sortie éducative, etc., réduisant ainsi le rôle du seau l'enfant et l'activité elle-même.

Vivre et ressentir avec la casserole fait de la personne un être libre qui trouve la ressource en soi. Au contraire, garder les yeux dans le pot en permanence provoque une augmentation de votre taille (c’est le moment où les pensées liées à la limitation se manifestent).

Que diriez-vous à tous les parents qui lisent cette interview?

La casserole est naturelle, fait partie de cette personne, il est donc important de ne pas la voir comme un obstacle, mais comme une opportunité d’acquérir des ressources essentielles qui en font le protagoniste de leur propre vie.

En tant que parents, être là pour écouter, comprendre et accompagner est le meilleur moyen d'offrir à l'enfant l'occasion d'expérimenter, d'apprendre et de grandir à l'aide de la louche.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Discipline positive: éduquer dans le respect mutuel"

Le cerveau dans la main, une animation pour aider les enfants à gérer leurs émotions (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes