yes, therapy helps!
Anosognosia: when we do not perceive our disorders

Anosognosia: when we do not perceive our disorders

May 7, 2021
"Pedro suffered a stroke a month ago. Due to this cardiovascular accident, he suffered a hemiplegia that left the left side of his body paralyzed, unable to move the extremities. During a scheduled visit to his doctor, he performs a complete scan, making it clear that Pedro still can not move his left arm and leg. However, Pedro indicates that he does not have any physical problems and that he moves normally, indicating with total conviction that in fact during the exploration he has been doing all the movements that have been indicated correctly. "

This case reflects Peter's belief that his arm is moving normally, there being a clear difference between what he believes he does and his actual performance. We are facing a case of a phenomenon known as anosognosia .


What is anosognosia?

We understand anosognosia as a special subtype of agnosia, in which the patient is unable to recognize the existence of a deficit in functioning even though this may be evident to others. It is a lack of awareness of disease limited to the recognition of one's own deficit, which may be the same individual capable of detecting the same problem in other people.

Anosognosia is not a disorder by itself, but it is cataloged as a symptom, since only appears associated with the existence of a disorder and informs us of its existence .

Although the study of anosognosia in the field of treatment of hemiplegia is very frequent, anosognosia is not limited to this disorder, but it can come from a large number of brain lesions that do not have to be associated solely with the problem of motor system, but also to the perceptual (it is typical to observe its presence in patients with cortical blindness) or other disorders, including psychiatric ones.


Detect anosognosia

In order to diagnose anosognosia it is necessary, in addition to the presence of lack of knowledge of the deficit, that this is denied by the patient, the fact that the deficit is evident in a neuropsychological evaluation, that it is recognized by relatives and relatives and that it supposes a clinically significant interference in the patient's life.

When evaluating this phenomenon it is necessary to take into account that it is necessary to distinguish when the patient really shows anosognosia and when he is making a denial of his problems as a strategy of coping with his loss. Despite this complication, some specific assessment instruments have been created to evaluate anosognosia in which it is requested that the capacity and difficulty to carry out concrete tasks be assessed.

The anosognosia is not an all-or-nothing phenomenon, being able to observe cases in which the disorder is not recognized at any time but also others in which patients recognize the existence of a problem after they are proven to have deficits.


Why is it produced?

Since this phenomenon was called anosognosia by Babinski in 1914, An attempt has been made to explain why this symptom occurs , having multiple theories about it. The explanatory proposals are varied, focusing on the existence of neurological or neuropsychological problems.

An example of this is the theory called Dissociable Interactions and Conscious Experience by Schachter, according to which there is an interaction between the systems responsible for the conscious experience and those of the systems in charge of the deficit function, which, faced with an injury or malfunction, would stop integrating the information correctly, producing a conscious experience of performance or functionality when it is not given from the affected system.

Despite these generalities, the specific cause of the anosognosia will depend on the type and location of the lesion and the problem that causes it.

Some paintings in which it is produced

As already mentioned, anosognosia is a symptom present in very diverse problems. Some of them are the following:

1. Hemiplegia

One of the disorders where its appearance is more frequent . In these cases, the patient usually believes that he makes movements that he does not actually make, and in fact he has the conscious experience of doing them.

2. Cortical blindness

Many patients who have destroyed the occipital area of ​​the brain or the connections between it and the visual pathways (which prevents visual perception), insist that they are able to see normally, making exhaustive descriptions of what they think they visualize. Also in these cases anosognosia occurs.

3. Lateral Heminegligence

In this disorder, although the subject perceives the totality of the perceptual field, he neglects or does not attend one of the visual hemifields , not attending the opposite party to the hemisphere in which he suffers the injury. It is clearly visible when asked to make copies of drawings: in these cases it only draws one of the halves and "forgets" to fill in the other part located on the other side of an imaginary vertical line. In this context it is frequent that the patient is not aware of his problem, presenting anosognosia

4. Dementia

Although in the initial moments of dementia the patient is usually aware of the presence of their various problems, this knowledge does not occur in all cases or in all dementias . In addition, as the disease progresses and the degenerative process continues its course the individual tends to stop being aware of them.

5. Schizophrenia

In some subtypes of schizophrenia, such as disorganized and catatonic, and especially during the acute phases of the disorder, the patient often does not perceive the presence of their own difficulties, as for example in the case of the use of a disorganized language tangential, derailed or incoherent.

Others

Apart from those exposed here there is a very high number of mental and neurological disorders that present anosognosia, being an important symptom to be taken into account for the treatment of various problems

Effects of this symptom

It must be borne in mind that the presence of this problem can entail serious dangers.

The presence of anosognosia is a difficulty when it comes to following a treatment or performing a rehabilitation of the disorder that causes it. It must be taken into account that for a patient to be involved in their recovery, it is necessary that they be motivated to do so, which is difficult if there is no awareness of the presence of a symptomatology. Thus, patients with anosognosia often underestimate or even deny the need for treatment, making it difficult to adhere to the established prescriptions.

Further, the lack of knowledge of the problem can lead the subject to perform actions that may endanger their integrity and / or that of third parties. An example of this could be an individual with lateral heminegligencia (subjects who only attend a hemifield, being unable to see the left or right side of things for example) or with cortical blindness that truly believes to have their abilities conserved and functional, that they decide Take the car and drive.

Treatment of anosognosia

The treatment of the anosognosia itself is complex . In general, the symptom improves with the treatment of the underlying cause of its onset, be it a mental or neurological disorder. However, at the clinical level, confrontation strategies are used.

In this sense, the confrontation with the existence of deficits must be progressive, introducing little by little the idea of ​​its existence. It is important not only to see the presence of deficits, but also of the difficulties involved in daily life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Babinski, J. (1918). Anosognosie. Rev Neurol (Paris). 31: 365-7.
  • Baños, R. and Perpiña, C. (2002). Psychopathological exploration. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. and Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathology of perception and imagination. In A. Belloch, B. Sandín and F. Ramos (Eds.) Manual of Psychopathology (2nd edition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana
  • Bembibre, J. and Arnedo, M. (2012). Neuropsychology of the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex I. In: M. Arnedo, J. Bembibre and M. Triviño (coord.), Neuropsychology: Through Clinical Cases (pp. 177-188). Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Bisiach E, Vallar G, Perani D, Papagno C, Berti A (1986). Unawareness of disease following lesions of the right hemisphere: anosognosia for hemiplegia and anosognosia for hemianopia. Neuropsychology 1986; 24 (4): 471-82.
  • Orfei, M. D., et al. (2007). Anosognosia for hemiplegia after stroke is a multifaceted phenomenon: A systematic review of the literature. Brain, 130, 3075-3090.
  • Ownsworth, T., and Clare, L. (2006). The association between awareness deficits and rehabilitation outcome after acquired brain injury. Clinical Psychology Review, 26, 783-795.
  • Prigatano, G. P. (2009). Anosognosia: Clinical and ethical considerations. Current Opinion in Neurology, 22, 606-611.
  • Prigatano, G. (2010). The study of anosognosia. Oxford University Press.
  • Schachter, D.L. (1992). Consciousness and awareness in memory and amnesia: critical issues. In The Neuropsychology of Consciousness. Milner and Rugg. Academic Press London
  • Tremont, G. & Alosco, M.L. (2010). Relationship between cognition and awareness of deficit in mild cognitive impairment. Int J Geriatr Psychiatry.

What Is Consciousness? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anosognosie: quand on ne perçoit pas nos troubles

Anosognosie: quand on ne perçoit pas nos troubles

Juillet 9, 2020

"Pedro a subi un accident vasculaire cérébral il y a un mois. En raison de cet accident cardiovasculaire, il a eu une hémiplégie qui a laissé le côté gauche de son corps paralysé, incapable de bouger les extrémités. Lors d'une visite chez son médecin, il effectue une analyse complète, indiquant clairement que Pedro ne peut toujours pas bouger son bras et sa jambe gauche. Cependant, Pedro indique qu'il n'a aucun problème physique et qu'il se déplace normalement, indiquant avec conviction que lors de l'exploration, il a effectué tous les mouvements correctement indiqués. "

Cette affaire reflète la conviction de Peter que son bras bouge normalement, il y a une nette différence entre ce qu'il pense qu'il fait et sa performance réelle. Nous sommes confrontés à un cas de phénomène appelé anosognosie .


Qu'est-ce que l'anosognosie?

Nous comprenons l'anosognosie comme un sous-type particulier d'agnosie, dans laquelle le patient est incapable de reconnaître l'existence d'un déficit de fonctionnement, même si cela peut être évident pour d'autres. C'est un manque de conscience de la maladie limité à la reconnaissance de son propre déficit, qui peut être le même individu capable de détecter le même problème chez d'autres personnes.

L’anosognosie n’est pas un trouble en soi, mais elle est cataloguée à titre de symptôme, car apparaît uniquement associé à l'existence d'un trouble et nous informe de son existence .

Bien que l'étude de l'anosognosie dans le traitement de l'hémiplégie soit très fréquente, l'anosognosie ne se limite pas à ce trouble, mais elle peut provenir d'un grand nombre de lésions cérébrales qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'associer au seul problème de la maladie. système moteur, mais aussi à la perception (il est typique d’observer sa présence chez les patients atteints de cécité corticale) ou d’autres troubles, y compris psychiatriques.


Détecter l'anosognosie

Pour diagnostiquer l'anosognosie, il faut, en plus de la méconnaissance du déficit, que le patient le nie, le fait que le déficit est évident dans une évaluation neuropsychologique, qu'il est reconnu par les proches et qu'il suppose interférence cliniquement significative dans la vie du patient.

Lors de l'évaluation de ce phénomène, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte le fait qu'il est nécessaire de distinguer le moment où le patient présente réellement une anosognosie et le déni de ses problèmes comme stratégie pour faire face à sa perte. Malgré cette complication, des instruments d'évaluation spécifiques ont été créés pour évaluer l'anosognosie dans lequel il est demandé d'évaluer la capacité et la difficulté d'accomplir des tâches concrètes.

L’anosognosie n’est pas un phénomène du tout ou rien: pouvoir observer des cas dans lesquels le trouble n’est jamais reconnu, mais aussi d’autres où les patients reconnaissent l’existence d’un problème après qu’on leur a montré qu’ils présentaient des déficits.


Pourquoi est-il produit?

Depuis que ce phénomène a été appelé anosognosie par Babinski en 1914, Une tentative a été faite pour expliquer pourquoi ce symptôme se produit , ayant plusieurs théories à ce sujet. Les propositions explicatives sont variées et mettent l’accent sur l’existence de problèmes neurologiques ou neuropsychologiques.

Un exemple de ceci est la théorie appelée Interactions dissociables et expérience consciente de Schachter, selon lequel il existe une interaction entre les systèmes responsables de l'expérience consciente et ceux des systèmes chargés de la fonction de déficit qui, face à une blessure ou à un dysfonctionnement, cesserait d'intégrer correctement les informations, produisant une expérience consciente de performance ou de fonctionnalité quand il n'est pas donné par le système affecté.

Malgré ces généralités, la cause spécifique de l'anosognosie dépendra du type et de l'emplacement de la lésion et le problème qui le cause.

Quelques peintures dans lesquelles il est produit

Comme déjà mentionné, l'anosognosie est un symptôme présent dans des problèmes très divers. Certains d'entre eux sont les suivants:

1. hémiplégie

Un des désordres où son apparence est plus fréquente . Dans ces cas, le patient croit généralement qu'il fait des mouvements qu'il ne fait pas réellement et en fait, il en a l'expérience consciente.

2. Cécité corticale

De nombreux patients qui ont détruit la zone occipitale du cerveau ou les connexions entre celle-ci et les voies visuelles (qui empêchent la perception visuelle) insistent sur le fait qu'ils sont capables de voir normalement, en décrivant de manière exhaustive ce qu'ils pensent visualiser. L'anosognosie se produit également dans ces cas.

3. héminégligence latérale

Dans ce désordre, bien que le sujet perçoive la totalité du champ perceptuel, il néglige ou n'assiste pas à l'un des champs visuels , ne pas assister à la partie opposée à l'hémisphère dans lequel il est blessé. Il est clairement visible lorsqu'on demande de faire des copies de dessins: dans ces cas, il ne dessine qu'une des moitiés et "oublie" de remplir l'autre partie située de l'autre côté d'une ligne verticale imaginaire. Dans ce contexte, il est fréquent que le patient ne connaisse pas son problème et présente une anosognosie.

4. démence

Bien que dans les premiers instants de la démence, le patient soit généralement conscient de la présence de ses divers problèmes, cette connaissance ne se produit pas dans tous les cas ni dans toutes les démences . De plus, au fur et à mesure que la maladie progresse et que le processus dégénératif continue, l’individu a tendance à ne plus en avoir conscience.

5. Schizophrénie

Dans certains sous-types de schizophrénie, tels que désorganisé et catatonique, et particulièrement pendant les phases aiguës du trouble, le patient ne perçoit souvent pas la présence de ses propres difficultés, comme par exemple dans le cas de l'utilisation d'un langage désorganisé tangentielle, déraillée ou incohérente.

Autres

Outre les personnes exposées ici, il existe un très grand nombre de troubles mentaux et neurologiques présentant une anosognosie, ce qui est un symptôme important à prendre en compte pour le traitement de divers problèmes.

Effets de ce symptôme

Il ne faut pas oublier que la présence de ce problème peut comporter de graves dangers.

L'anosognosie est une difficulté lorsqu'il s'agit de suivre un traitement ou d'effectuer une rééducation. du désordre qui le cause. Il faut tenir compte du fait que pour qu'un patient soit impliqué dans son rétablissement, il est nécessaire qu'il soit motivé pour le faire, ce qui est difficile sans conscience de la présence d'une symptomatologie. Ainsi, les patients souffrant d'anosognosie sous-estiment souvent, voire nient la nécessité d'un traitement, ce qui rend difficile le respect des prescriptions établies.

En outre, le manque de connaissance du problème peut amener le sujet à effectuer des actions pouvant mettre en danger son intégrité et / ou celle de tiers. Un exemple de ceci pourrait être un individu avec une héminegligencia latérale (les sujets qui ne fréquentent qu’un hémifield, étant incapable de voir le côté gauche ou droit des choses par exemple) ou avec une cécité corticale qui croit vraiment avoir ses capacités conservées et fonctionnelles, qu’il décide Prendre la voiture et conduire.

Traitement de l'anosognosie

Le traitement de l'anosognosie est complexe . En général, le symptôme s'améliore avec le traitement de la cause sous-jacente de son apparition, qu'il s'agisse d'un trouble mental ou neurologique. Cependant, au niveau clinique, des stratégies de confrontation sont utilisées.

En ce sens, la confrontation avec l'existence de déficits doit être progressive, introduisant peu à peu l'idée de son existence. Il est important non seulement de voir la présence de déficits, mais aussi des difficultés inhérentes à la vie quotidienne.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Babinski, J. (1918). Anosognosie. Rev Neurol (Paris). 31: 365-7.
  • Baños, R. et Perpiña, C. (2002). Exploration psychopathologique. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. et Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathologie de la perception et de l'imagination. Dans A. Belloch, B. Sandín et F. Ramos (Eds.) Manuel de psychopathologie (2e édition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana
  • Bembibre, J. et Arnedo, M. (2012). Neuropsychologie du cortex préfrontal dorsolatéral I. Dans: M. Arnedo, J. Bembibre et M. Triviño (coord.), Neuropsychologie: à travers des cas cliniques (pp. 177-188). Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Bisiach E., Vallar G., Perani D., Papagno C. et Berti A. (1986). Ignorance de la maladie suite à des lésions de l'hémisphère droit: anosognosie pour hémiplégie et anosognosie pour hémianopsie. Neuropsychologie 1986; 24 (4): 471-82.
  • Orfei, M.D., et al. (2007). L'anosognosie dans le traitement de l'hémiplégie après un AVC est un phénomène à multiples facettes: une revue systématique de la littérature. Cerveau, 130, 3075-3090.
  • Ownsworth, T. et Clare, L. (2006). L'association entre les déficits de conscience et les résultats de la rééducation après une lésion cérébrale acquise. Clinical Psychology Review, 26, 783-795.
  • Prigatano, G. P. (2009). Anosognosie: considérations cliniques et éthiques. Current Opinion in Neurology, 22, 606-611.
  • Prigatano, G. (2010). L'étude de l'anosognosie. Oxford University Press.
  • Schachter, D.L. (1992). Conscience et conscience en mémoire et amnésie: questions critiques. Dans la neuropsychologie de la conscience. Milner et Rugg. Academic Press London
  • Tremont, G. & Alosco, M.L. (2010). Relation entre la cognition et la prise de conscience du déficit en déficience cognitive légère. Int J Geriatr Psychiatry.

La Schizophrénie (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes