yes, therapy helps!
Areas of the brain specialized in language: its location and functions

Areas of the brain specialized in language: its location and functions

May 19, 2024

Brain processes play a very important role in the regulation of our daily activities. Specifically, there several areas of the brain that are responsible for organizing language abilities and activities that are necessary to communicate.

Three of the areas most studied in relation to language are the Broca Area, the Wernicke Area and the angular gyrus. Below we explain what each one consists of and how the brain and language are related.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

The brain and the language

One of the topics that has attracted the most specialists and non-specialists from neurosciences and cognitive sciences, has been how the human brain regulates linguistic and communicative activity .


Obviously, as it happens in all the activities we do, so that language and communication happen the participation of the brain is necessary . But this participation does not happen without a specific order, it follows a series of patterns depending on the action.

That is to say that, at brain level, language is a process that follows a series of patterns whose regulation has been located in different areas. The neurologist Antonio Damasio (cit by Castaño, 2003) tells us that there are three main systems in charge of this. One of the systems is instrumental (in charge of execution), another is semantic (in charge of coding) and the other is an intermediate system that serves to mediate the previous two.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 stages of language development"

Areas of the brain specialized in language

Each of the brain systems that are responsible for regulating language, act through the activity of different brain areas. Three of the most important areas are the Broca Area, the Wernicke Area and the angular Circumvolution .

1. Broca's area

The Broca area is part of the instrumental language system. The bit area is related to the capacity of order phonemes to create words and then sentences . That is why it is also linked to the use of verbs and other words necessary to interact. When this zone is damaged, there is also a syntactic difficulty (related to the order, the combination and the relationship between the words).

It is called Broca's area by the person who started his study (Paul Broca) in 1861. What he did was to analyze the brain of a person who had had very important difficulties to express himself verbally, while his understanding of language was apparently functional. He found a tumor in a part of the left cerebral hemisphere, and called the clinical picture "afemia." Thereafter, this area of ​​the left cerebral hemisphere is known as Broca's area and It is related to disorders in the expressive faculty of verbal language , for example, "Broca's aphasia".


  • Related article: "Broca's aphasia: symptoms and causes of this disorder"

2. Wernicke area

The Wernicke area is also part of the instrumental language system. It helps to evoke and vocalize concepts, and is also responsible for processing the sounds for combine them creating units capable of having meaning .

It is not directly responsible for regulating semantic activity (to give meaning to linguistic expressions), but to decode phonemes. However, when there is damage in this brain area, when producing difficulties for discrimination and the processing of sounds, the semantic field is affected.

The regions that make up this area are related to two other brain areas, responsible for regulating the motor and premotor activity. The Wernicke area and the areas of motor activity are connected through a direct corticocortical pathway, and a corticosubcortical pathway. The first way is the one that regulates associative learning in a more conscious and voluntary dimension; and the second is linked to automatic behaviors such as habits.

This area is located in the left hemisphere of the brain, around the Sylvian fissure and next to the insula cortex. It has been studied since the mid-nineteenth century (with which there are several proposals on where it is located) and was named after the neurologist Carl Wernicke.

  • Related article: "Wernicke's area: anatomy, functions and disorders"

3. Angular circumcircle

The brain is covered by numerous folds or reliefs that have very important and not yet fully known functions. These folds or reliefs are called convolutions .

One of the convolutions involved in language regulation is the angular gyrus, also known as angular gyrus or Broadmann's area 39 (AB39). In addition to language, this zone participates in the activity of episodic and semantic memory, in mathematical skills, literacy and spatial attention.

Injuries in this area have been linked to semantic aphasia. Because of its relationship to the comprehensive activity of language and communication, many scientists consider this circumvolution to be an extension or a part of Wernicke's Area.

Bibliographic references:

  • Castaño, J. (2003). Neurobiological bases of language and its alterations. Journal of Neurology, 36 (8): 781-785.
  • Rosselli, M., Ardila, A. & Bernal, B. (2015). Connectivity model of the angular gyrus in the language: meta-analysis of functional neuroimaging. Journal of Neurology, 60: 495-503.
  • Trejo-Martinez, D., Jiménez, F., Marcos-Ortega, J., et al. (2007). Anatomical and functional aspects of the Broca area in functional neurosurgery. Medical Journal of the General Hospital of Mexico, 70 (3): 141-149.

Language and the brain: Aphasia and split-brain patients | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Zones du cerveau spécialisées dans le langage: localisation et fonctions

Zones du cerveau spécialisées dans le langage: localisation et fonctions

Juillet 31, 2022

Les processus cérébraux jouent un rôle très important dans la régulation de nos activités quotidiennes. Plus précisément, il plusieurs zones du cerveau responsables de l'organisation des capacités et des activités langagières qui sont nécessaires pour communiquer.

Trois des zones les plus étudiées en ce qui concerne la langue sont la région de Broca, la région de Wernicke et le gyrus angulaire. Nous expliquons ci-dessous en quoi consiste chacun et comment le cerveau et le langage sont liés.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Le cerveau et le langage

L’un des sujets qui a attiré le plus grand nombre de spécialistes et de non spécialistes des neurosciences et des sciences cognitives a été comment le cerveau humain régule l'activité linguistique et communicative .


Évidemment, comme cela se produit dans toutes nos activités, pour que la langue et la communication se produisent la participation du cerveau est nécessaire . Mais cette participation ne se fait pas sans ordre spécifique, elle suit une série de schémas dépendant de l'action.

Autrement dit, au niveau cérébral, le langage est un processus qui suit une série de schémas dont la régulation a été localisée dans différents domaines. Le neurologue Antonio Damasio (cité par Castaño, 2003) nous dit qu'il existe trois systèmes principaux responsables de cela. L'un des systèmes est instrumental (chargé de l'exécution), un autre est sémantique (chargé du codage) et l'autre est un système intermédiaire servant de médiateur aux deux précédents.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 étapes du développement du langage"

Zones du cerveau spécialisées dans le langage

Chacun des systèmes cérébraux responsables de la régulation du langage agit par l’activité de différentes zones du cerveau. Trois des zones les plus importantes sont la région de Broca, la région de Wernicke et la circonvolution angulaire. .

1. La région de Broca

La région de Broca fait partie du système linguistique instrumental. La zone de bit est liée à la capacité de ordonner les phonèmes pour créer des mots puis des phrases . C'est pourquoi il est également lié à l'utilisation de verbes et d'autres mots nécessaires pour interagir. Lorsque cette zone est endommagée, il existe également une difficulté syntaxique (liée à l'ordre, à la combinaison et à la relation entre les mots).

Celui qui a commencé son étude (Paul Broca) en 1861 a appelé cela le domaine de Broca. Ce qu'il a fait, c'est analyser le cerveau d'une personne ayant eu de très grandes difficultés à s'exprimer verbalement, alors que sa compréhension du langage était apparemment fonctionnelle. Il a découvert une tumeur dans une partie de l'hémisphère cérébral gauche et a appelé le tableau clinique «afémie». Par la suite, cette région de l’hémisphère cérébral gauche est appelée zone de Broca et Il est lié aux troubles de la faculté d'expression du langage verbal par exemple "l'aphasie de Broca".


  • Article connexe: "L'aphasie de Broca: symptômes et causes de ce trouble"

2. région de Wernicke

La région de Wernicke fait également partie du système de langage instrumental. Il aide à évoquer et à vocaliser des concepts, et est également responsable du traitement des sons pour combinez-les en créant des unités pouvant avoir un sens .

Il n'est pas directement responsable de la régulation de l'activité sémantique (pour donner un sens aux expressions linguistiques), mais du décodage des phonèmes. Cependant, lorsqu'il y a des dommages dans cette zone du cerveau, lorsque des difficultés de discrimination et de traitement des sons sont créées, le champ sémantique est affecté.

Les régions qui composent cette zone sont liées à deux autres zones du cerveau, responsables de la régulation de l'activité motrice et prémotrice. La région de Wernicke et les zones d'activité motrice sont reliées par une voie cortico-corticale directe et une voie cortico-corticale. La première façon est celle qui régit l'apprentissage associatif dans une dimension plus consciente et volontaire; et le second est lié à des comportements automatiques tels que les habitudes.

Cette zone est située dans l'hémisphère gauche du cerveau, autour de la fissure de Sylvian et à côté du cortex de l'insula. Il a été étudié depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle (avec lequel il existe plusieurs propositions sur son emplacement) et porte le nom du neurologue Carl Wernicke.

  • Article connexe: "Domaine de Wernicke: anatomie, fonctions et troubles"

3. cercle circonscrit

Le cerveau est recouvert de nombreux plis ou reliefs qui ont des fonctions très importantes et encore mal connues. Ces plis ou reliefs sont appelés convolutions .

L'une des circonvolutions impliquées dans la régulation du langage est le gyrus angulaire, également connu sous le nom de gyrus angulaire ou zone de Broadmann 39 (AB39). Outre la langue, cette zone participe à l'activité de la mémoire épisodique et sémantique, aux compétences en mathématiques, à l'alphabétisation et à l'attention spatiale.

Les blessures dans ce domaine ont été liées à l'aphasie sémantique. En raison de sa relation avec l'activité globale du langage et de la communication, de nombreux scientifiques considèrent cette circonvolution comme une extension ou une partie de la zone de Wernicke.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Castaño, J. (2003). Bases neurobiologiques du langage et de ses altérations. Journal of Neurology, 36 (8): 781-785.
  • Rosselli, M., Ardila, A. et Bernal, B. (2015). Modèle de connectivité du gyrus angulaire dans le langage: méta-analyse de la neuroimagerie fonctionnelle. Journal of Neurology, 60: 495-503.
  • Trejo-Martinez, D., Jiménez, F., Marcos-Ortega, J., et al. (2007). Aspects anatomiques et fonctionnels de la région de Broca en neurochirurgie fonctionnelle. Journal médical de l'hôpital général du Mexique, 70 (3): 141-149.

Le cerveau en 2 minutes : le langage (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes