yes, therapy helps!
Bipolar neurons: morphology, location and functions

Bipolar neurons: morphology, location and functions

May 1, 2024

Neurons are the cells that allow the transmission of electrical impulses through the nervous system. They can specialize in the reception of sensory stimuli or in the contraction of muscles, among other functions, and they are divided into several classes depending on the number of dendrites and axons that form them.

In this article we will talk about the morphology, location and functions of bipolar neurons , which are characterized by the presence of an axon and a dendrite. We will also describe the main aspects of the rest of cell types: the unipolar, the pseudounipolar, the multipolar and the anaxonic.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Morphology of bipolar neurons

The soma of bipolar neurons has two cytoplasmic extensions, which in turn are also branched. One of these extensions acts like a dendrite , which allows receiving electrochemical impulses sent by presynaptic neurons, and the other as an axon, transmitting stimulation generated by the neuronal body to other cells.


Bipolar neurons are more frequent in the central nervous system of human beings than unipolar neurons, although much less than multipolar neurons. Unlike the latter, which act as motor neurons and as interneurons, the bipolar they mainly fulfill the function of sensory neurons .

In addition to being characterized by the separation between its two extensions, as a consequence of this fact the bipolar neurons have a particularly elongated form in comparison with that of the unipolar ones, which are more rounded, and that of the multipolar ones, which in many cases have been compared with stars.

In addition to being relatively common in some regions of the body of humans, particularly sensory pathways, bipolar neurons they are very numerous in the spinal ganglia of fish . People also have bipolar neurons in this section of the spinal cord during embryonic development.


Locations and main functions

Bipolar neurons specialize in the transmission of sensory stimulation; this means that they are sensory neurons. Regardless of whether they are located in the visual system, in the auditory-vestibular or in the olfactory, their function is always related to this task.

1. In the retinas

The middle layer of the retina is formed by bipolar neurons , which modulate the impulses received by the photoreceptors (rods and cones), before they reach the ganglion cells; These in turn connect the retina with the optic nerve, which sends the signals to the brain. Therefore, the action of bipolar neurons is fundamental for the eyesight.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

2. In the vestibulocochlear nerve

The vestibular and cochlear branches of the eighth cranial nerve They are composed of bipolar cells. While the vestibular branch transmits information about balance to the brain, the cochlear is related to the sense of hearing. The bipolar neurons are located in the vestibular ganglion and their axons extend to the semicircular canals.


3. In the olfactory epithelium

Bipolar neurons fulfill the function of Smell receptors in the olfactory epithelium , located on the roof of the nasal cavity. The dendrites of these neurons present cilia, which retain odor molecules in the mucosa. By joining these, the neuron transmits electrical impulses to the olfactory bulb through the cribriform plate of the skull.

4. In the spinal ganglia

During embryonic development it is possible to find bipolar neurons in the spinal ganglia, located in the dorsal roots of the medulla . In some cases the dendrite and the axon are located in opposite poles of the cell body, while in others both extensions are very close.

Other types of neurons

The classification of some neurons as "bipolar" is framed in the structural division of these cells according to the number of poles (constituted by axons and dendrites) that they present. From this point of view we can distinguish bipolar neurons from unipolar neurons, from pseudounipolar neurons, from multipolar neurons and from anaxonic neurons.

1. Unipolar

In unipolar neurons the axon and the dendrites start from the same extension of the soma or cellular body; This structure is known as "neurite". It is a type of neuron that is not found in humans.

2. Pseudounipolar

In some bipolar neurons we find an axon divided into two branches; one of them goes to the spinal cord and the other to the peripheral nervous system.These neurons are known as "pseudounipolar" because they seem to have a single polypore because the axons and dendrites are joined, although in reality they have two.

3. Multipolar

Multipolar neurons have two or more dendrites located at a point separate from the axon. They make up a good part of the central nervous system and they mainly have a motor function, although many multipolar neurons allow communication between the peripheral and central nervous systems; therefore, this category also includes interneurons.

4. Anaxonic

In the anaxonic neurons, which are found in the brain and in the retina, there is no true axon or it is indistinguishable from the dendrites. These cells act as interneurons.


Types of Neurons by Structure - Neuroanatomy Basics - Anatomy Tutorial (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones bipolaires: morphologie, localisation et fonctions

Neurones bipolaires: morphologie, localisation et fonctions

Juillet 9, 2020

Les neurones sont les cellules qui permettent la transmission des impulsions électriques à travers le système nerveux. Ils peuvent se spécialiser dans la réception de stimuli sensoriels ou dans la contraction de muscles, entre autres fonctions, et sont divisés en plusieurs classes en fonction du nombre de dendrites et d'axones qui les composent.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de la morphologie, la localisation et les fonctions des neurones bipolaires , qui se caractérisent par la présence d’un axone et d’une dendrite. Nous allons également décrire les principaux aspects du reste des types de cellules: les unipolaires, les pseudounipolaires, les multipolaires et les anaxoniques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Morphologie des neurones bipolaires

Le soma des neurones bipolaires possède deux extensions cytoplasmiques, elles-mêmes ramifiées. Une de ces extensions agit comme une dendrite , qui permet de recevoir des impulsions électrochimiques envoyées par des neurones présynaptiques, l’autre comme un axone, transmettant la stimulation générée par le corps neuronal à d’autres cellules.


Les neurones bipolaires sont plus fréquents dans le système nerveux central des êtres humains que les neurones unipolaires, bien que beaucoup moins que les neurones multipolaires. Contrairement à ces derniers, qui agissent en tant que motoneurones et interneurones, le système bipolaire ils remplissent principalement la fonction de neurones sensoriels .

En plus de se caractériser par la séparation de ses deux extensions, les neurones bipolaires ont ainsi une forme particulièrement allongée par rapport à celle des neurones unipolaires, qui sont plus arrondis, et de celle des neurones multipolaires, qui ont souvent été comparés. avec des étoiles.

En plus d’être relativement fréquents dans certaines régions du corps humain, en particulier les voies sensorielles, les neurones bipolaires ils sont très nombreux dans les ganglions spinaux des poissons . Les personnes ont également des neurones bipolaires dans cette section de la moelle épinière au cours du développement embryonnaire.


Lieux et fonctions principales

Les neurones bipolaires sont spécialisés dans la transmission de la stimulation sensorielle; cela signifie qu'ils sont des neurones sensoriels. Qu'ils soient situés dans le système visuel, dans le système auditif-vestibulaire ou dans le système olfactif, leur fonction est toujours liée à cette tâche.

1. Dans les rétines

La couche médiane de la rétine est formée de neurones bipolaires , qui modulent les impulsions reçues par les photorécepteurs (bâtonnets et cônes) avant d’atteindre les cellules ganglionnaires; Ceux-ci relient la rétine au nerf optique, ce qui envoie les signaux au cerveau. Par conséquent, l'action des neurones bipolaires est fondamentale pour la vue.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

2. Dans le nerf vestibulocochlear

Les branches vestibulaires et cochléaires du huitième nerf crânien Ils sont composés de cellules bipolaires. Alors que la branche vestibulaire transmet des informations sur l'équilibre au cerveau, la cochléaire est liée au sens de l'ouïe. Les neurones bipolaires sont situés dans le ganglion vestibulaire et leurs axones s'étendent jusqu'aux canaux semi-circulaires.


3. Dans l'épithélium olfactif

Les neurones bipolaires remplissent la fonction de Récepteurs d'odeurs dans l'épithélium olfactif , situé sur le toit de la cavité nasale. Les dendrites de ces neurones présentent des cils qui retiennent les molécules odorantes dans la muqueuse. En les rejoignant, le neurone transmet des impulsions électriques au bulbe olfactif à travers la plaque criblée du crâne.

4. Dans les ganglions spinaux

Au cours du développement embryonnaire, il est possible de trouver des neurones bipolaires dans les ganglions spinaux, situé dans les racines dorsales de la moelle . Dans certains cas, la dendrite et l'axone sont situés dans des pôles opposés du corps cellulaire, alors que dans d'autres, les extensions sont très proches.

Autres types de neurones

La classification de certains neurones comme "bipolaires" est encadrée dans la division structurelle de ces cellules en fonction du nombre de pôles (constitués d'axones et de dendrites) qu'ils présentent. De ce point de vue, nous pouvons distinguer les neurones bipolaires des neurones unipolaires, des neurones pseudounipolaires, des neurones multipolaires et des neurones anaxoniques.

1. unipolaire

Dans les neurones unipolaires l'axone et les dendrites partent de la même extension du soma ou du corps cellulaire; Cette structure est appelée "neurite". C'est un type de neurone que l'on ne trouve pas chez l'homme.

2. pseudounipolaire

Dans certains neurones bipolaires, nous trouvons un axone divisé en deux branches; l'un d'eux va à la moelle épinière et l'autre au système nerveux périphérique.Ces neurones sont appelés "pseudounipolaires" car ils semblent avoir un seul polypore car les axones et les dendrites sont reliés, bien qu'en réalité ils en aient deux.

3. Multipolaire

Les neurones multipolaires ont deux ou plusieurs dendrites situées en un point séparé de l'axone. Ils constituent une bonne partie du système nerveux central et ils ont principalement une fonction motrice, bien que de nombreux neurones multipolaires permettent la communication entre les systèmes nerveux périphérique et central; par conséquent, cette catégorie comprend également les interneurones.

4. Anaxonic

Dans les neurones anaxoniques, qui se trouvent dans le cerveau et dans la rétine, il n’existe pas d’axone véritable ou on ne peut pas le distinguer des dendrites. Ces cellules agissent comme des interneurones.


Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes