yes, therapy helps!
B. F. Skinner: life and work of a radical behaviorist

B. F. Skinner: life and work of a radical behaviorist

May 10, 2021

What we mean by Psychology It can be very broad. It is a field of study and intervention in which a large number of theoretical and practical proposals are framed about issues not so similar to each other, and which has historically given birth to a large number of theories Y proposals about human behavior .

Biography of B. F. Skinner

However, not all of these streams of Psychology have been ascribed to scientific method with the same force: some seem to be essentially related to philosophy, while others only conceive the study of psychological processes as something accessible from the science .


This second tradition of Psychology owes much of its existence to a researcher called Burrhus Frederic Skinner , Manager revolutionize the investigation of human action through its radical behaviorism .

The beginning of his career

B. F. Skinner was born in March 1904 in a small town in Pennsylvania, United States. Encouraged by the creative possibilities of prose, during his youth he set out to create a career as a writer , but he gave up on his intentions when he realized that he did not have the facility for it. He decided, however, that studies in Psychology could give him a broader perspective on how human beings are and how they act, which is why he began to study this discipline at Harvard.


This renewed enthusiasm did not last long. When he arrived at the university, he found himself with an underdeveloped psychology focused on private mental processes, some disconnected ideas about the human mind and very abstract theories about the states of consciousness that were more related to philosophy than to the scientific study of the behavior.

Towards a scientific psychology: the influence of John Watson

Because it was observable human behavior that B. F. Skinner aspired to understand. Influenced by the behavioral psychologist John B. Watson , believed in the importance of developing experimental psychology and leaving behind psychoanalysis and theories about the mind based on simple common sense. However, the use of the scientific method was not usual in the studies in Psychology taught at Harvard.

If she did not give up her academic and professional career, it was thanks to Fred S. Keller, who at the end of the 20s was one of the young promises of behaviorism at Harvard. Fred Keller convinced Skinner that it was possible to make Psychology a science , and soon after they both got their Ph.D. in that discipline. That small meeting, in addition to consolidating a friendship between the two Freds that would last for decades, made it possible for Frederic Skinner to become one of the most important figures in Scientific Psychology.


Psychology according to B. F. Skinner

Skinner developed his studies within the methods and philosophy of behaviorism, a tradition of young psychology at the time that rejected introspective methods as a way of studying and modifying the mind. This same concept, that of "the mind", seemed to Skinner as something too confusing and abstract to be taken into account, and is That is why he placed his object of study in the purely observable behavior .

The fact of maintaining this approach based purely on the empirical evidence it is what made neither the methods nor the object of study of psychology that this researcher studied were the same as those of psychoanalysts, focused on introspection and whose approach to the study of the psyche does not resist the Popperian principle of falsifiability.

In the rivalry established between mentalist psychology and behaviorism, B. F. Skinner strongly opted for the second option in pursuit of making psychology a behavioral science.

The birth of Radical Behaviorism

Skinner did not want psychology to fully embrace the scientific method simply so that his field of studies would be better considered by having the endorsement of science. This researcher he sincerely believed that internal mental processes are not responsible for originating human behavior, but external and measurable factors .

B. F. Skinner believed, in short, that the proposals and hypotheses of psychology should be checked exclusively through objective evidence , and not through abstract speculations. This theoretical principle was shared by behavioral psychologists in general, but B. F. Skinner differed from most of them in a fundamental aspect.

While certain researchers who at the beginning of the 20th century were attached to the current of behaviorism took behavior as an indicator of methodological objectivity to create explanatory models of human psychology that included some non-physical variables, Skinner believed that the behavior itself was in itself the beginning and the end of what should be studied in psychology. In this way, rejected the inclusion of non-physical variables in the investigations of what psychology should be for him.

The term "radical behaviorism," coined by Skinner himself, it served to name this kind of philosophy of behavioral science . In opposition to methodological behaviorism, the radical behaviorism takes to its ultimate consequences the principles of behaviorism that had already developed researchers like John B. Watson or Edward Thorndike. That is why, according to this philosophical position, the concepts that refer to private mental processes (as opposed to observable behavior) are useless in the field of psychology, although their existence is not denied.

Skinner and operant conditioning

B. F. Skinner is, of course, one of the greatest referents of behaviorism, but he was not a pioneer of this psychological approach. Before him, Ivan Pavlov and John B. Watson had described the fundamentals of classical conditioning in animals and humans respectively. This is important, since initially behaviorism was based on learning by associations of stimuli as a method to modify behavior, and classical conditioning allowed to establish relationships between stimuli and responses in a way that could predict and control behavior.

For Skinner, however, the classic conditioning was little representative of the learning potential of the human being , since it could practically only exist in very controlled and artificial environments in which conditioned stimuli could be introduced.

The importance of operant behavior

Contrary to what other behaviorists thought, Burrhus he believed that it is the operative behavior, and not the respondent behavior, the most common, universal and versatile kind of behavior , which means that at the time of modulating the behavior, the consequences matter more than the stimuli that precede it.

The results of the actions are fundamental, says Skinner, since it is from these when the true usefulness or otherwise of the actions is revealed. A behavior on the medium is considered to be operative because it has a series of verifiable consequences , and it is these responses from the environment (including in this category also other living beings) that are altering the frequency with which that behavior or a similar one is reproduced.

So, B. F. Skinner basically uses the form of associative learning known as operant conditioning, based on the increase or decrease of certain behaviors depending on whether their consequences are positive or negative, such as giving incentives to children when they perform their tasks.

The Skinner boxes

Skinner experimented with the behavior of animals based on the principles of operant conditioning. For this he used environments in which he tried to have total control of all variables to be able to observe clearly what was affecting the behavior of the animal.

One of those types of artificial environments was the so-called "Skinner box", a kind of rat cage that had a crowbar and a food dispenser . Each time the rat, by chance or deliberately, activated the lever, a piece of food fell to its side, which was a way to encourage the rodent to repeat that act again. In addition, the frequency with which the rat moved the lever was recorded automatically, which facilitated a statistical analysis of the data obtained.

Skinner's box was used as a means to introduce various variables (including electric shocks) and see how they affected the frequency with which certain behaviors occurred. These experiments they were used to describe certain behavior patterns based on operant conditioning and to test the possibility of predicting and controlling certain actions of animals . Today, many spaces used to experiment with animals are called Skinner boxes

Burrhus Frederic Skinner, the great polemicist

One of the consequences of professing radical behaviorism is having to deny the existence of free will . In the book Beyond freedom and dignitySkinner clearly expressed in writing this logical consequence of the philosophical principles on which it was based: if it is the environment and the consequences of the acts that shape the behavior, the human being can not be free. At least, if by freedom we understand indeterminacy, that is, the capacity to act independently of what happens around us. Freedom is, then, nothing more than an illusion far removed from reality, in which each act is caused by triggers alien to the will of an agent who decides.

Mind you, Skinner believed that human beings have the ability to modify their environment to make it determine it in the desired way. This persecution is just the other side of the coin of determination: the environment is always affecting us in our behaviors, but at the same time everything we do also transforms the environment. Therefore, we can make this loop of causes and effects gain some dynamics that benefit us, giving us more possibilities of action and, at the same time, a greater well-being.

His denial of free will brought harsh criticism

This philosophical position, which today is relatively normal in the scientific community, he felt very badly in a US society in which the principles and values ​​of liberalism were (and are) strongly entrenched .

But this was not the only point of friction between B. F. Skinner and public opinion. This researcher devoted much of his time to inventing all kinds of gadgets based on the use of operant conditioning and he liked to appear in the mainstream media to show his results or proposals. In one of his hits of effect, for example, Skinner came to train two pigeons to play the ping-pon g , and even came up with a system to guide bombs using pigeons that pecked at the mobile target that appeared on a screen.

Public opinion dismissed Skinner as an eccentric scientist

This kind of thing caused B. F. Skinner to gain an image of eccentric character , which was not surprising considering the extremes and away from the common sense of the time that germinated in his conception of what is radical behaviorism. Nor did it help that he invented a kind of crib with adjustable temperature and humidity, which was accompanied by the myth that Skinner experimented with his own daughter of a few months.

For the rest, his opinions on politics and society expressed in his book Walden Two They also did not marry the dominant ideology, although it is true that Skinner did not miss any opportunity to appear in the media to explain and qualify his proposals and ideas.

The legacy of B. F. Skinner

Skinner died of leukemia in August 1990, and he was working until the same week of his death .

The legacy left behind served to consolidate psychology as a scientific discipline to , and also revealed information about certain learning processes based on the association.

Beyond the mediatic aspect of Skinner, it is unquestionable that he became a scientist who took his work very seriously and devoted a lot of time and meticulousness to generate knowledge backed by empirical verification. The importance of his legacy has survived the behaviorism of his time and has come to strongly influence Cognitive Psychology and the emergence of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapies.

Therefore it is not strange that at present, 25 years after his death, B. F. Skinner is one of the most claimed figures from the Scientific Psychology .


Behaviorism: Pavlov, Watson, and Skinner (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
B. F. Skinner: la vie et le travail d'un comportementaliste radical

B. F. Skinner: la vie et le travail d'un comportementaliste radical

Juillet 23, 2019

Ce que nous entendons par Psychologie Cela peut être très large. C’est un domaine d’étude et d’intervention dans lequel un grand nombre de propositions théoriques et pratiques traitent de problèmes qui ne se ressemblent pas autant, et qui a toujours donné naissance à un grand nombre de les théories et des propositions à propos de la comportement humain .

Biographie de B. F. Skinner

Cependant, tous ces courants de psychologie n’ont pas été attribués à méthode scientifique avec la même force: certains semblent être essentiellement liés à la philosophie, d’autres ne conçoivent que l’étude des processus psychologiques comme quelque chose d’accessible depuis le monde. science .


Cette seconde tradition de la psychologie doit en grande partie son existence à un chercheur appelé Burrhus Frédéric Skinner , chargé de révolutionner l'investigation de l'action humaine par son behaviorisme radical .

Le début de sa carrière

B. F. Skinner est né en mars 1904 dans une petite ville de Pennsylvanie, aux États-Unis. Encouragé par les possibilités créatives de la prose, durant sa jeunesse il entreprit de créer une carrière d'écrivain , mais il a renoncé à ses intentions quand il s'est rendu compte qu'il n'en avait pas la possibilité. Il a toutefois décidé que ses études en psychologie pourraient lui donner une vision plus globale de la façon dont les êtres humains sont et de la façon dont ils agissent. C'est pourquoi il a commencé à étudier cette discipline à Harvard.


Cet enthousiasme renouvelé n'a pas duré longtemps. À son arrivée à l'université, il se retrouva avec une psychologie sous-développée centrée sur des processus mentaux privés, des idées déconnectées sur l'esprit humain et des théories très abstraites sur les états de conscience qui étaient davantage liées à la philosophie qu'à l'étude scientifique du cerveau. comportement

Vers une psychologie scientifique: l'influence de John Watson

Parce que c'était un comportement humain observable que B. F. Skinner aspirait à comprendre. Influencé par le psychologue comportemental John B. Watson , croyait en l'importance de développer la psychologie expérimentale et de laisser de côté la psychanalyse et les théories de l'esprit basées sur le simple sens commun. Cependant, l'utilisation de la méthode scientifique n'était pas habituelle dans les études de psychologie enseignées à Harvard.

Si elle n’a pas abandonné sa carrière universitaire et professionnelle, c’est grâce à Fred S. Keller, qui, à la fin des années 20, était l’une des jeunes promesses du behaviorisme à Harvard. Fred Keller a convaincu Skinner qu'il était possible de faire de la psychologie une science et peu de temps après ils ont tous les deux obtenu leur doctorat dans cette discipline. Cette petite réunion, en plus de consolider une amitié qui allait durer des décennies entre les deux Fred, a permis à Frédéric Skinner de devenir l’une des figures les plus importantes de la psychologie scientifique.


Psychologie selon B. F. Skinner

Skinner a développé ses études au sein des méthodes et de la philosophie du behaviorisme, une tradition de la jeune psychologie de l'époque qui rejetait les méthodes introspectives comme moyen d'étudier et de modifier l'esprit. Ce même concept, celui de "l'esprit", apparaissait à Skinner comme quelque chose de trop déroutant et abstrait pour être pris en compte, et C'est pourquoi il a placé son objet d'étude dans un comportement purement observable .

Le fait de maintenir cette approche uniquement sur la base preuves empiriques c'est ce qui n'a fait ni les méthodes ni l'objet d'étude de la psychologie que ce chercheur a étudiés soient ceux des psychanalystes, centrés sur l'introspection et dont l'approche de l'étude de la psyché ne résiste pas au principe popperien de la falsifiabilité.

Dans la rivalité établie entre psychologie mentaliste et comportementalisme, B. F. Skinner a fortement opté pour la deuxième option visant à faire de la psychologie une science du comportement.

La naissance du comportementalisme radical

Skinner ne voulait pas que la psychologie embrasse pleinement la méthode scientifique simplement pour que son domaine d'études soit mieux pris en compte avec l'aval de la science. Ce chercheur il croyait sincèrement que les processus mentaux internes ne sont pas responsables du comportement humain d'origine, mais de facteurs externes et mesurables .

B. F. Skinner pensait en résumé que les propositions et hypothèses de psychologie devaient être vérifiées exclusivement par preuves objectives et non par des spéculations abstraites. Ce principe théorique était partagé par les psychologues du comportement en général, mais B. F. Skinner se distinguait de la plupart d’entre eux par un aspect fondamental.

Alors que certains chercheurs, attachés au courant du behaviorisme au début du XXe siècle, considéraient le comportement comme un indicateur d'objectivité méthodologique pour créer des modèles explicatifs de la psychologie humaine intégrant des variables non physiques, Skinner estimait que le comportement lui-même était en soi. le début et la fin de ce qui devrait être étudié en psychologie. De cette façon, a rejeté l'inclusion de variables non physiques dans les enquêtes de ce que la psychologie devrait être pour lui.

Le terme "comportemental radical", inventé par Skinner lui-même, il a servi à nommer ce genre de philosophie de la science comportementale . En opposition à comportementalisme méthodologique, le comportementalisme radical prend à ses conséquences ultimes les principes de le behaviorisme qui avait déjà développé des chercheurs comme John B. Watson ou Edward Thorndike. C'est pourquoi, selon cette position philosophique, les concepts faisant référence aux processus mentaux privés (par opposition aux comportements observables) sont inutiles dans le domaine de la psychologie, bien que leur existence ne soit pas niée.

Skinner et conditionnement opérant

B. F. Skinner est, bien sûr, l’un des plus grands référents du behaviorisme, mais il n’a pas été un pionnier de cette approche psychologique. Avant lui, Ivan Pavlov et John B. Watson avaient décrit les principes fondamentaux du conditionnement classique chez les animaux et les humains, respectivement. Ceci est important car, à l'origine, le behaviorisme reposait sur l'apprentissage d'associations de stimuli en tant que méthode pour modifier le comportement, et le conditionnement classique permettait d'établir des relations entre stimuli et réponses de manière à pouvoir prédire et contrôler le comportement.

Pour Skinner, cependant, le conditionnement classique était peu représentatif du potentiel d'apprentissage de l'être humain , dans la mesure où il ne pourrait pratiquement exister que dans des environnements très contrôlés et artificiels dans lesquels des stimuli conditionnés pourraient être introduits.

L'importance du comportement opérant

Contrairement à ce que pensaient d’autres comportementalistes, Burrhus il croyait que c'était le comportement opératoire, et non le comportement du répondant, le type de comportement le plus courant, universel et polyvalent , ce qui signifie qu’au moment de la modulation du comportement, les conséquences importent plus que les stimuli qui le précèdent.

Les résultats des actions sont fondamentaux, dit Skinner, puisque c’est à partir de ceux-ci que la véritable utilité ou non des actions est révélée. Un comportement sur le support est considéré comme opérationnel car il comporte une série de conséquences vérifiables , et ce sont ces réponses de l’environnement (y compris d’autres êtres vivants dans cette catégorie) qui modifient la fréquence à laquelle ce comportement ou un comportement similaire est reproduit.

Ainsi, B. F. Skinner utilise essentiellement la forme d'apprentissage associatif connue sous le nom de conditionnement opérant, en fonction de l’augmentation ou de la diminution de certains comportements, selon que leurs conséquences sont positives ou négatives, telles que l’encouragement des enfants dans l’exécution de leurs tâches.

Les boîtes à skinner

Skinner a expérimenté le comportement des animaux en se basant sur les principes du conditionnement opérant. Pour cela, il a utilisé des environnements dans lesquels il essayait de contrôler totalement toutes les variables afin de pouvoir observer clairement ce qui affectait le comportement de l'animal.

L’un de ces types d’environnements artificiels était la "boîte Skinner", une sorte de cage à rat qui avait un pied de biche et un distributeur de nourriture . Chaque fois que le rat actionnait le levier par hasard ou délibérément, un morceau de nourriture lui tombait sur le côté, ce qui incitait le rongeur à répéter cet acte. De plus, la fréquence à laquelle le rat déplaçait le levier était enregistrée automatiquement, ce qui facilitait l'analyse statistique des données obtenues.

La boîte de Skinner a été utilisée pour introduire diverses variables (y compris les chocs électriques) et voir comment elles affectaient la fréquence à laquelle certains comportements se produisaient. Ces expériences ils ont été utilisés pour décrire certains comportements en fonction du conditionnement opérant et pour tester la possibilité de prédire et de contrôler certaines actions d'animaux . Aujourd'hui, de nombreux espaces d'expérimentation animale s'appellent des boîtes Skinner.

Burrhus Frederic Skinner, le grand polémiste

Une des conséquences de la professation de comportement radical consiste à nier l’existence de libre arbitre . Dans le livre Au-delà de la liberté et de la dignitéSkinner a clairement exprimé par écrit cette conséquence logique des principes philosophiques sur lesquels elle reposait: si c'est l'environnement et les conséquences des actes qui façonnent le comportement, l'être humain ne peut être libre. Du moins, si par liberté nous entendons l'indétermination, c'est-à-dire la capacité d'agir indépendamment de ce qui se passe autour de nous. La liberté n'est donc qu'une illusion très éloignée de la réalité, dans laquelle chaque acte est provoqué par des éléments déclencheurs étrangers à la volonté d'un agent qui décide.

Remarquez, Skinner croyait que les êtres humains ont la capacité de modifier leur environnement pour le faire déterminer de la manière souhaitée. Cette persécution n'est que le revers de la médaille de la détermination: l'environnement nous affecte toujours dans nos comportements, mais en même temps, tout ce que nous faisons transforme également l'environnement. Par conséquent, nous pouvons faire en sorte que cette boucle de causes et d’effets acquière une dynamique qui nous profite, nous donnant plus de possibilités d’action et, en même temps, un plus grand bien-être.

Sa négation du libre arbitre a suscité de sévères critiques

Cette position philosophique, qui est aujourd’hui relativement normale dans la communauté scientifique, il se sentait très mal dans une société américaine dans laquelle les principes et les valeurs du libéralisme étaient (et sont) fortement enracinés .

Mais ce n’était pas le seul point de friction entre B. F. Skinner et l’opinion publique. Ce chercheur a consacré une grande partie de son temps à inventer toutes sortes de gadgets basés sur l’utilisation du conditionnement opérant et il aimait apparaître dans les médias grand public pour montrer ses résultats ou ses propositions. Dans l'un de ses coups d'effet, par exemple, Skinner est venu entraîner deux pigeons à jouer du ping-pon g et a même mis au point un système de guidage des bombes à l’aide de pigeons qui picoraient la cible mobile apparue sur un écran.

L'opinion publique a rejeté Skinner en tant que scientifique excentrique

Ce genre de chose a amené B. F. Skinner à acquérir une image de caractère excentrique , ce qui n’était pas surprenant compte tenu des extrêmes et de l’éloignement du sens commun du temps qui a germé dans sa conception du comportementisme radical. Cela n’a pas non plus aidé qu’il ait inventé une sorte de berceau à température et humidité réglables, qui était accompagné du mythe selon lequel Skinner avait expérimenté sa propre fille de quelques mois.

Pour le reste, ses opinions sur la politique et la société exprimées dans son livre Walden Two Ils n’ont pas non plus épousé l’idéologie dominante, même s’il est vrai que Skinner n’a manqué aucune occasion de paraître dans les médias pour expliquer et qualifier ses propositions et ses idées.

L'héritage de B. F. Skinner

Skinner est décédé de leucémie en août 1990 et il travaillait jusqu'à la même semaine de sa mort .

L'héritage laissé servi à consolider la psychologie en tant que discipline scientifique un , et a également révélé des informations sur certains processus d’apprentissage basés sur l’association.

Au-delà de l'aspect médiatique de Skinner, il est indéniable qu'il est devenu un scientifique qui prenait son travail très au sérieux et consacrait beaucoup de temps et de minutie à générer des connaissances étayées par une vérification empirique. L'importance de son héritage a survécu au behaviorisme de son époque et en est venue à influencer fortement la psychologie cognitive et l'émergence de thérapies cognitivo-comportementales.

Par conséquent, il n’est pas étrange qu’à présent, 25 ans après sa mort, B. F. Skinner est l’une des figures les plus revendiquées de la revue Psychologie scientifique. .


How to Train a Brain - Crash Course Psychology #11 (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes