yes, therapy helps!
Children are made to live, not to be competitive

Children are made to live, not to be competitive

May 6, 2021

Parents who point their children to a huge amount of school activities, hours dedicated to the duties that are swallowed mid afternoon, the need to make children stand out in any of the hobbies that we push ... Childhood has its own crises and complications, but it seems that from adult life are also being placed granites of sand to make that way of life, so carefree and apparently unproductive, come to an end soon.

The objective seems to be to form a generation of "elite children" , competent and equipped with a lot of skills and competencies that are supposed to make your life easier.

But this trend has very negative psychological consequences.


Putting child in check

Some people, when they go through existential crises, look back at the way in which children live their lives. It is not surprising; the creativity, the spontaneity with which they discover the simplest and most honest ways to act in each moment, the clean look of prejudices ... they seem to be a characteristic that we enjoy during the first years.

What happens with this childish spirit is, to a certain extent, a mystery. It can not be assured with firmness and total security what it is that makes little by little the infantile flame that once was in us go away. But nevertheless, In certain aspects, it is not difficult to imagine possible reasons that explain what kills children's childhood , or that this abandonment of our lifestyle forced marches. It is not a biological process, but learned and cultural: the competitive spirit and the stress it generates.


Recommended article: "How to improve the emotional education of your child, in 15 keys"

We are creating children with curriculums

It is clear that the taking of responsibilities and the fact of starting very long term makes the lifestyle (and behavior) of children can not remain unchanged during the passage to adulthood. However, recently something that previously did not happen is happening and that makes children fewer and fewer children at a younger and younger age: the competitive spirit has entered the lives of the little ones .

It has its logic, although it is a perverse logic. In an increasingly individualistic society where social problems are disguised as individual problems, the same kind of messages are always repeated: "get your life", "be the best" or even "if you were born poor it's not your fault, but if you died poor it is. " There is a paradox that, in a world in which the place and family in which one is born are the variables that best predict the health and economic status that one is going to have in adulthood, all the pressure falls on individual people . Also about the little ones.


And individuals are forced to compete. How can happiness be achieved? Being competitive, as if we were companies, to reach middle age with a certain socioeconomic status. When should you start competing? Sooner.

The way to create children with curriculums, prepared for the law of the jungle that will rule your adult life, has already been leveled. And, if it is not stopped, it can mean the death of the possibility of enjoying childhood fully.

Parents who overreach

Children who end up adapting to the lifestyle imposed by their parents are beginning to show signs of stress, and even anxiety crises occur. Obligations related to homework and extracurricular activities introduce endemic tensions in the adult world into the lives of children, which, in many cases, are difficult to justify without imagining what might happen in the future.

It is relatively new and not always easy to detect, since some parents and tutors confuse the fact that children seem to reach the demanding goals that are set with an indicator of their health and well-being. Thus, school children between 5 and 12 years old may be doing reasonably well in tasks such as learning to play an instrument or master a second language, but in the long term they will suffer stress if the pressure is too high .

The symptoms of this stress, since they are not always very evident and do not seem serious, can be confused as a normal part of the process of forming competitive children. But the truth is that their quality of life will be compromised, and the same will happen with their tendency not to judge every experience that lives according to its usefulness.

His way of enjoying childhood will be eclipsed by aspirations imposed by parents and that, in reality, are only sustained in what adults interpret as "a sign of a successful life."They do not dedicate themselves as much to the welfare of their children as to impose on them an image of the ideal person, before which all doors will be opened.

Fear of failing

But the pressure and the fact of pushing children towards what is understood as success is only part of the story. The other is the rejection of what seems to be useless , which does not provide a clear benefit, regardless of whether it is enjoyable or not. Investing time in being children seems to be valued only as time to rest, relax and get strength to return to what really matters: the preparation to enter the competitive world, the market of people.

Similarly, not being the best at something is perceived as a failure that should be hidden by dedicating time and effort to other things that stand out more, at best, or blaming the child in question " not wanting to win. " The consequences of this are clearly negative: the activity is belittled as a goal in itself and only the result is valued compared to the others .

Showing "weakness" in sports or school performance is considered a source of shame, because it is interpreted as a symptom of the possible failures that could be experienced in adulthood. This causes that the self-esteem resents, that the levels of stress are triggered, and that the boy or girl feels responsible for not reaching some objectives that other people have fixed him.

Conquering childhood again

Even adults can be able to rescue for themselves many values ​​and habits of childhood, so children have it even easier to enjoy it.

To help make this possible, parents and caregivers only have to adopt another attitude and embrace a type of priorities that do not have competitiveness as a reference . This process goes through admitting that, although adults seem more prepared than anyone at the time of living life, children are the true specialists in their way of experiencing childhood. Forgive the redundancy.


Self-Driven 12 Year Old Is A Maths Genius | Child Genius (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les enfants sont faits pour vivre et non pour être compétitifs

Les enfants sont faits pour vivre et non pour être compétitifs

Mai 22, 2019

Les parents qui dirigent leurs enfants vers une quantité énorme d’activités scolaires, des heures consacrées aux tâches avalées en milieu d’après-midi, la nécessité de faire en sorte que les enfants se distinguent dans les passe-temps que nous encourageons… propres crises et complications, mais il semble que, dès l’âge adulte, des granites de sable soient également placés pour que ce mode de vie, si insouciant et apparemment non productif, prenne fin bientôt.

L'objectif semble être de former une génération d '"enfants d'élite" , compétent et doté de nombreuses aptitudes et compétences censées vous faciliter la vie.

Mais cette tendance a des conséquences psychologiques très négatives.


Mettre l'enfant en échec

Certaines personnes, lorsqu’elles traversent des crises existentielles, se penchent sur la façon dont les enfants vivent leur vie. Pas étonnant. la créativité, la spontanéité avec laquelle ils découvrent les manières les plus simples et les plus honnêtes d’agir à chaque instant, le regard pur des préjugés ... ils semblent être une caractéristique dont nous jouissons au cours des premières années.

Ce qui se passe avec cet esprit enfantin est, dans une certaine mesure, un mystère. Il ne peut être assuré avec fermeté et sécurité totale que ce qui fait petit à petit disparaître la flamme infantile qui était autrefois en nous. Cependant, Sous certains aspects, il n’est pas difficile d’imaginer les raisons pouvant expliquer ce qui tue l’enfance des enfants , ou que cet abandon de notre style de vie nous obligeait à marcher. Ce n'est pas un processus biologique, mais une culture apprise: l'esprit de compétition et le stress qu'il génère.


Article recommandé: "Comment améliorer l'éducation émotionnelle de votre enfant, en 15 touches"

Nous créons des enfants avec des curriculums

Il est clair que la prise de responsabilités et le fait de commencer à très long terme font que le mode de vie (et le comportement) des enfants ne peuvent pas rester inchangés lors du passage à l'âge adulte. Cependant, récemment, quelque chose qui ne se produisait pas auparavant se produit et rend les enfants de moins en moins d'enfants de moins en moins jeunes: l'esprit de compétition est entré dans la vie des plus petits .

Il a sa logique, bien que ce soit une logique perverse. Dans une société de plus en plus individualiste où les problèmes sociaux sont déguisés en problèmes individuels, le même type de message est toujours répété: "gagne ta vie", "sois le meilleur" ou même "si tu es né pauvre, ce n'est pas ta faute, mais si tu es mort pauvre, il l'est. " Il existe un paradoxe selon lequel, dans un monde où le lieu et la famille dans lesquels on est né sont les variables qui permettent le mieux de prédire l'état de santé et le statut économique qu'on va avoir à l'âge adulte, toute la pression tombe sur des personnes individuelles . Aussi à propos des plus petits.


Et les individus sont obligés de rivaliser. Comment atteindre le bonheur? Être compétitifs, comme si nous étions des entreprises, pour atteindre un âge moyen avec un certain statut socio-économique. Quand devriez-vous commencer à concourir? Dès que possible.

La façon de créer enfants avec curriculums, préparé pour la loi de la jungle qui régira votre vie adulte, a déjà été nivelé. Et, si on ne l'arrête pas, cela peut signifier la mort de la possibilité de profiter pleinement de l'enfance.

Parents qui vont trop loin

Les enfants qui finissent par s'adapter au mode de vie imposé par leurs parents commencent à montrer des signes de stress, et même des crises d'anxiété se produisent. Les obligations liées aux devoirs et aux activités parascolaires introduisent des tensions endémiques dans le monde des adultes dans la vie des enfants, qu'il est souvent difficile de justifier, sans imaginer ce qui pourrait arriver à l'avenir.

Il est relativement nouveau et pas toujours facile à détecter, car certains parents et tuteurs confondent le fait que les enfants semblent atteindre les objectifs ambitieux fixés avec un indicateur de leur santé et de leur bien-être. Ainsi, les écoliers âgés de 5 à 12 ans peuvent se débrouiller raisonnablement bien, par exemple apprendre à jouer d’un instrument ou maîtriser une deuxième langue. à long terme, ils subiront un stress si la pression est trop élevée .

Les symptômes de ce stress, dans la mesure où ils ne sont pas toujours très évidents et ne semblent pas sérieux, peuvent être confondus avec le processus normal de formation d’enfants compétitifs. Mais la vérité est que leur qualité de vie sera compromise et qu'il en ira de même avec leur tendance à ne pas juger chaque expérience vécue en fonction de son utilité.

Sa façon de jouir de son enfance sera éclipsée par les aspirations imposées par les parents et, en réalité, ne se maintiendra que dans ce que les adultes interprètent comme "un signe d'une vie réussie".Ils ne se consacrent pas autant au bien-être de leurs enfants qu'à leur imposer une image de la personne idéale, devant laquelle toutes les portes seront ouvertes.

Peur d'échouer

Mais la pression et le fait de pousser les enfants vers ce que l’on entend par succès n’est qu’une partie de l’histoire. L'autre est le rejet de ce qui semble être inutile , ce qui ne procure pas un avantage clair, qu’il soit agréable ou non. Investir du temps dans l’enfance ne semble être valorisé que comme un temps de repos, de détente et de force pour revenir à ce qui compte vraiment: la préparation à l’entrée dans le monde concurrentiel, le marché des hommes.

De même, ne pas être le meilleur dans quelque chose est perçu comme un échec qui devrait être dissimulé en consacrant du temps et des efforts à d’autres choses qui se démarquent plus, au mieux, ou en blâmant l’enfant en question " ne pas vouloir gagner. " Les conséquences sont clairement négatives: l'activité est rabaissée comme un objectif en soi et seul le résultat est valorisé par rapport aux autres .

Montrer une «faiblesse» dans les performances sportives ou scolaires est considéré comme une source de honte, car il est interprété comme un symptôme des échecs possibles pouvant être vécus à l’âge adulte. Cela fait en sorte que l'estime de soi est ressentie, que le niveau de stress est déclenché et que le garçon ou la fille se sent responsable de ne pas atteindre certains objectifs que d'autres personnes lui ont fixés.

Retrouver l'enfance

Même les adultes peuvent être en mesure de sauver de nombreuses valeurs et habitudes de l'enfance afin que les enfants puissent en profiter encore plus facilement.

Pour aider à rendre cela possible, les parents et les gardiens doivent seulement adopter une autre attitude et adopter un type de priorités qui n’a pas de compétitivité. . Ce processus implique d'admettre que, bien que les adultes semblent plus préparés que quiconque au moment de la vie, les enfants sont les véritables spécialistes de la manière dont ils ont vécu l'enfance. Vaut la redondance.


Mieux-être, SANTÉ et joie de vivre ! - Line Bolduc (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes