yes, therapy helps!
Blue Brain Project: rebuilding the brain to understand it better

Blue Brain Project: rebuilding the brain to understand it better

October 21, 2020

The human brain has been described as the most complex system that exists, but that does not stop neuroscientists and engineers from dreaming of getting to fully understand its operation. In fact, some of them have been proposed to create a digital reproduction of the human encephalon to be able to carry out with him investigations that would be impossible to carry out from the observation and experimentation with a real nervous system in operation.

This is exactly the objective of the Blue Brain Project, an incredibly ambitious initiative that was launched in 2005, promoted by IBM and a Swiss university (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, or EPFL).


What has been done so far at IBM

For more than ten years, the Blue Brain Project He has been building a computer model that contains information about the structure and functioning of a small part of the brain of a rat. This digital reconstruction, which today corresponds to little more than a third of a cubic millimeter of tissue, aims to faithfully reproduce the way in which nerve cells connect and activate each other, and even how the fact that these activation patterns cause the brain to change physically over time because of brain plasticity.


In addition to covering many other areas of the brain, the Blue Brain Project has to take the qualitative leap that involves going from digitally reconstructing the brain of a rat to do the same with the human brain , much bigger and more complex.

What could this digital brain be used for?

The goal of the Blue Brain Project is, in short, create a computer model with which you can predict to some degree the way in which an area of ​​neuronal tissue will be activated if it is stimulated in a certain way . That is to say, what is intended is to create a tool that allows to test hypothesis and try to repeat multiple times all kinds of experiments performed with real brains to see if the results that were obtained are solid and not the result of chance.

The potential of this project could be enormous, according to its promoters, since the existence of a digital reconstruction of large extensions of neurons would allow to obtain a "test manikin" in which to experiment with all kinds of situations and different variables that would affect the way in which the nerve cells of a human brain are activated.


With this model we could, for example, study how all kinds of cognitive processes work, such as our way of evoking memories or imagining action plans, and we could also predict which type of symptoms would produce an injury in certain areas of the cerebral cortex. But, in addition, it could serve to solve one of the great mysteries of the human brain: how consciousness arises, the subjective experience of what we live.

Studying consciousness

The idea that consciousness arises from the coordinated work of large networks of neurons distributed throughout the brain, instead of depending on a well-defined structure and hidden by some part of the central nervous system, is in very good health. This makes many neuroscientists believe that To understand what the nature of consciousness is, the important thing is to look at the patterns of synchronized activation of many thousands of neurons at once , and not so much studying anatomical structures of the brain separately.

The Blue Brain Project would allow us to observe and intervene in real time about the activation patterns of many neural networks , which can only be done in a very limited way with real brains, and see, for example, what changes occur when someone goes from being awake to sleeping without dreaming, and what happens when consciousness returns in the form of dreams during the REM phase.

The drawbacks of the Blue Brain Project

It is estimated that a human brain contains about one hundred billion neurons. To this we must add that the functioning of the nervous system is explained more by how neurons interact with each other than by their quantity, which can vary greatly without affecting the overall functioning of the brain, and therefore the relevant are the thousands of synaptic connections that each neuron can establish with the others. In each synaptic connection between two neurons, in addition, there are millions of neurotransmitters that are released continuously . This means that faithfully recreate a human brain is an impossible task, regardless of the number of years that is dedicated to this company.

The creators of the Blue Brain Project have to make up for these shortcomings by simplifying the functioning of their digital brain.What they do, fundamentally, is to study the functioning of a small part of the brain of several rats (information collected over twenty years) and to "condense" this information to develop an algorithm made to predict the activation patterns of these nerve cells. Once this was done with a group of 1,000 neurons, the researchers re-used this algorithm to recreate 31,000 neurons activating in the same way.

The fact that it has been simplified so much in the construction of this provisional model and that it is going to do the same with the human brain that wants to recreate has made many voices have risen against this project so expensive and slow development. Some neuroscientists believe that the idea of ​​recreating a brain digitally is absurd , since the nervous system does not work with a binary language or with a predefined programming language. Others simply say that the costs are too high for the performance that can be drawn to the project. Time will tell if the initiative of the Blue Brain Project gives the fruits that were expected of it.


You can grow new brain cells. Here's how | Sandrine Thuret (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Blue Brain Project: reconstruire le cerveau pour mieux le comprendre

Blue Brain Project: reconstruire le cerveau pour mieux le comprendre

Février 18, 2019

Le cerveau humain a été décrit comme le système le plus complexe qui existe, mais cela n'empêche pas les neuroscientifiques et les ingénieurs de rêver de bien comprendre son fonctionnement. En fait certains d'entre eux ont été proposés pour créer une reproduction numérique de l'encéphale humain pouvoir mener avec lui des investigations qu'il serait impossible de mener par l'observation et l'expérimentation d'un système nerveux réel en fonctionnement.

Tel est précisément l'objectif du Blue Brain Project, une initiative incroyablement ambitieuse lancée en 2005, promue par IBM et une université suisse (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne ou EPFL).


Ce qui a été fait jusqu'à présent chez IBM

Depuis plus de dix ans, le Blue Brain Project Il a construit un modèle informatique contenant des informations sur la structure et le fonctionnement d'une petite partie du cerveau d'un rat. Cette reconstruction numérique, qui correspond aujourd’hui à un peu plus d’un tiers de millimètre cube de tissu, vise à reproduire fidèlement la manière dont les cellules nerveuses se connectent et s’activent, et même comment le fait que ces schémas d'activation entraînent une modification physique du cerveau au fil du temps en raison de la plasticité cérébrale.


En plus de couvrir de nombreuses autres régions du cerveau, le Blue Brain Project doit faire le saut qualitatif qui consiste à passer de la reconstruction numérique du cerveau d'un rat à la même chose avec le cerveau humain , beaucoup plus grand et plus complexe.

A quoi pourrait servir ce cerveau numérique?

L’objectif du Blue Brain Project est, en bref, créer un modèle informatique avec lequel vous pouvez prédire dans une certaine mesure la manière dont une zone de tissu neuronal sera activée si elle est stimulée d'une certaine manière . C’est-à-dire que l’objectif est de créer un outil permettant de tester des hypothèses et d’essayer de répéter plusieurs fois toutes sortes d’expériences effectuées avec de vrais cerveaux pour voir si les résultats obtenus sont solides et non le fruit du hasard.

Le potentiel de ce projet pourrait être énorme, selon ses promoteurs, car l’existence d’une reconstruction numérique de grandes extensions de neurones permettrait d’obtenir un "mannequin de test" dans lequel expérimenter toutes sortes de situations et différentes variables qui influenceraient le chemin parcouru. dans lequel les cellules nerveuses d'un cerveau humain sont activées.


Avec ce modèle, nous pourrions, par exemple, étudier le fonctionnement de toutes sortes de processus cognitifs, tels que notre manière d’évoquer des souvenirs ou d’imaginer des plans d’action, et nous pourrions également prédire quel type de symptômes produirait une blessure dans certaines zones de la planète. cortex cérébral Mais, en plus, cela pourrait servir à résoudre l'un des grands mystères du cerveau humain: comment naît la conscience, l'expérience subjective de ce que nous vivons.

Étudier la conscience

L'idée que la conscience découle du travail coordonné de grands réseaux de neurones répartis dans tout le cerveau, au lieu de dépendre d'une structure bien définie et cachée par une partie du système nerveux central, est en très bonne santé. Cela fait croire à de nombreux neuroscientifiques que Pour comprendre ce qu'est la nature de la conscience, l'important est d'examiner les schémas d'activation synchronisée de plusieurs milliers de neurones à la fois. , et pas tellement étudier les structures anatomiques du cerveau séparément.

Le projet Blue Brain nous permettrait d’observer et d’intervenir en temps réel sur les schémas d’activation de nombreux réseaux de neurones , ce qui ne peut se faire que de manière très limitée avec de vrais cerveaux, et voir, par exemple, quels changements se produisent lorsque quelqu'un passe de veille à dormir sans rêver, et ce qui se produit lorsque la conscience revient sous forme de rêves pendant la phase de REM.

Les inconvénients du projet Blue Brain

On estime qu'un cerveau humain contient environ cent milliards de neurones. Il faut ajouter à cela que le fonctionnement du système nerveux s'explique davantage par la manière dont les neurones interagissent les uns avec les autres que par leur quantité, qui peut varier considérablement sans affecter le fonctionnement général du cerveau. Les milliers de connexions synaptiques sont donc importantes. que chaque neurone peut établir avec les autres. De plus, dans chaque connexion synaptique entre deux neurones, des millions de neurotransmetteurs sont libérés de manière continue. . Cela signifie que recréer fidèlement un cerveau humain est une tâche impossible, quel que soit le nombre d'années consacrées à cette entreprise.

Les créateurs du Blue Brain Project doivent pallier ces inconvénients en simplifiant le fonctionnement de leur cerveau numérique.Fondamentalement, ils étudient le fonctionnement d'une petite partie du cerveau de plusieurs rats (informations recueillies sur vingt ans) et "condensent" ces informations afin de développer un algorithme permettant de prédire les schémas d'activation de ces cellules nerveuses. Une fois que cela a été fait avec un groupe de 1 000 neurones, les chercheurs ont réutilisé cet algorithme pour recréer 31 000 neurones activant de la même manière.

Le fait qu’il ait été tellement simplifié dans la construction de ce modèle provisoire et qu’il fasse de même avec le cerveau humain qui veut recréer a fait que beaucoup de voix se sont élevées contre ce projet si coûteux et si lent à se développer. Certains neuroscientifiques pensent que l’idée de recréer un cerveau numériquement est absurde , puisque le système nerveux ne fonctionne pas avec un langage binaire ou avec un langage de programmation prédéfini. D'autres disent simplement que les coûts sont trop élevés pour la performance qui peut être tirée du projet. Le temps nous dira si l’initiative du Blue Brain Project donne les fruits que l’on attendait de lui.


Daniel Wolpert: The real reason for brains (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes