yes, therapy helps!
Drug abstinence syndrome: its types and symptoms

Drug abstinence syndrome: its types and symptoms

June 21, 2024

It is common to hear the expression "be with the monkey" when talking about drug addicts who are experiencing tremors, nervousness or outbursts of anger at a time when they do not have drugs. These are situations in which these people are suffering to a great extent and experience a variable symptomatology. It is a colloquial way of talking about Withdrawal syndrome, problem that we are going to talk about in this article .

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What is Abstinence Syndrome?

Abstinence syndrome is understood as the set of symptoms triggered in the body physically and mentally dependent on a substance before the abrupt withdrawal of this one. Said withdrawal may refer to a complete cessation of consumption or to a reduction of this in quantity and / or frequency, and the symptoms are not due to other medical or mental illnesses (although it may exacerbate symptoms of some disease).


Generally the withdrawal of consumption is caused intentionally by the subject with dependence, in order to eliminate the aversive consequences that addiction is causing in his life. They can also occur due to involuntary circumstances in which it is not possible to access the substance in question, such as a hospitalization, a trip or incarceration. A third option is that the subject can not acquire it despite not having the will to stop using it, due to lack of suppliers or the economic capacity to acquire it.

Withdrawal syndrome generates a high level of suffering and discomfort . The specific symptoms of this type of syndrome will depend on the type of substance that is being consumed, being generally the opposite to those that would appear with an intoxication of said substances. Craving or craving and intense cravings for consumption usually appear as a response to the discomfort generated by the absence of substance. Other common symptoms are tremors and spasms, headaches, muscle pain, digestive problems such as nausea and vomiting, dizziness, agitation or hallucinations.


The evolution of the symptomatology and its intensity depend not only on the type of drug but on the type, quantity and frequency of previous consumption, being linked to the level of dependency and addiction presented by the subject. In addition to the drug itself, the problems associated with the withdrawal syndrome will intensify if the cessation of consumption occurs in an environment where it is easy to acquire. Also the way of seeing the world or of perceiving and facing problems will have an effect, having greater discomfort for example inhibited people who do not express their feelings (especially the negative ones).

  • Related article: "Delirium tremens: a severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome"

Why is it produced?

The reason for the withdrawal syndrome is something that many people, especially those who suffer from it, wonder. The direct reason is the cessation or sudden reduction of consumption , which has been made in such a way that the body of the subject. The organism has become accustomed to the substance, generating a tolerance to it (which in turn is what causes consumption to increase in quantity and frequency) and the body is accustomed to working with the substance.


The body, balanced before the acquisition of dependence, learns to maintain a new equilibrium in which the drug or substance in question comes into play. The substance, which served as a reinforcer initially, eventually loses some of this role and becomes necessary to avoid the discomfort associated with its lack.

A sudden withdrawal causes the body, which depended on this substance, suddenly to find that it lacks something that made it work. The balance or internal homeostasis that the body had learned to maintain With the drug, he suddenly becomes unbalanced, generating the withdrawal syndrome until he can keep himself balanced. But it depends on how the withdrawal is made, the imbalance can generate very severe repercussions.

  • You may be interested: "The reward system of the brain: how does it work?"

The need for a gradual withdrawal

It is important to keep in mind that the withdrawal of the substance should not be done suddenly. And is that although the cessation of consumption in drug addicts is essential and something that can save their lives (both figuratively and literally), suddenly cut the supply of a substance of which our body has dependence can have fatal consequences . The abstinence syndrome is not something to be taken for a joke: it is a dangerous reality that in many cases can have permanent consequences, lead to coma and even lead to death .

In this sense we must take into account the type of drug: it is not the same to disengage from coffee than from cocaine or heroin . Also of the existing dependency level. Withdrawal is necessary, but should be done in a controlled manner (often different drugs are used, for example), patterned and gradual to avoid severe physiological effects and reduce the risk of a withdrawal syndrome dangerous to life.

It is necessary to let the body get used to go running without so much substance to get to work completely without it. Sometimes the use of substitute substances may be necessary , such as methadone, as long as there is no substance consumption but dangerous symptoms are kept in check, hospitalization in detoxification centers or hospitalization of the subject to keep it stable. In some cases, a person has been induced to enter an induced coma to have better control of the situation.

Alcohol, benzodiazepines and opiates are some of the main substances with withdrawal syndromes that could become life threatening, mostly by cardiorespiratory failure . It is therefore necessary to schedule its withdrawal.

Different types of withdrawal syndrome

As we have seen, the type of symptoms will depend to a large extent on the substance, the degree of dependence on it and even the biological characteristics of the dependent person. The following are some of the best-known withdrawal syndromes from those collected by the DSM-5.

1. Tobacco

The withdrawal syndrome caused by tobacco is probably one of the most known and experienced worldwide, being the cessation of consumption something that many consumers have raised. Irritability, insomnia, anxiety, concentration problems, depression and alterations in diet are its main symptoms. It is annoying, but it is one of the least harmful withdrawal syndromes and usually does not present any danger.

  • Related article: "The two faces of tobacco dependency (chemical and psychological)"

2. Alcohol

Chronic alcohol users who stop drinking this substance may experience different types of withdrawal syndromes of varying severity. Frequent symptoms are tachycardia and sweating, insomnia, hand tremor s, agitation and anxiety, hallucinations and seizures. In extreme cases it is possible that the subject develops delirium tremens, which can lead the patient to death.

3. Of stimulants

Within this category we include amphetamines, cocaine and other stimulants. Abstinence from these substances generates dysphoric mood, increased appetite, fatigue, nightmares and sleep problems as some of the most well-known symptoms.

4. Sedatives, hypnotics and anxiolytics

The use and dosage and the follow-up of the recommended consumption and withdrawal guidelines avoid this type of withdrawal syndrome, which can be both in those people who use them therapeutically and in those who do it recreationally and / or without control when the consumption of blow is removed. Tremors, autonomic nervous system hyperactivity, tachycardia, nausea and vomiting, hallucinations, agitation and anxiety are some of the most typical symptoms.

5. Of opiates

The sudden withdrawal of opium and its derivatives (such as heroin) generate a withdrawal syndrome with the potential to be fatal. Dysphoria, nausea, pains, diarrhea, fever, insomnia or popular procrastination are some of the usual symptoms in subjects with abstinence from opium derivatives.

6. Cannabis

Cannabis is a substance whose consumption is very popular, especially among young people, and which is perceived as generally innocuous. However, recently there has been described the existence of a withdrawal syndrome that It can occur in subjects who consume daily or almost daily . This syndrome is characterized by restlessness, depression, loss of appetite, nervousness and restlessness and sometimes alterations such as fever, spasms, abdominal pain or headache may arise.

  • You may be interested: "Marijuana withdrawal syndrome: symptoms and causes"

7. Caffeine

Although many people can discuss it, the frequent consumption of caffeine in a prolonged way and on a daily basis can generate a certain level of dependence to this substance, as well as abstinence syndrome with its abrupt cessation. Fatigue and sleep, headache, flu symptoms, irritability or dysphoria are typical symptoms of this syndrome.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.

Born Addicted NAS (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'abstinence de drogue: ses types et symptômes

Syndrome d'abstinence de drogue: ses types et symptômes

Janvier 17, 2022

Il est courant d'entendre l'expression «sois avec le singe» lorsqu'on parle de toxicomanes en proie à des tremblements, à de la nervosité ou à des accès de colère à un moment où ils ne consomment pas de drogue. Ce sont des situations dans lesquelles ces personnes souffrent dans une grande mesure et connaissent une symptomatologie variable. C’est une façon familière de parler de Syndrome de sevrage, problème dont nous allons parler dans cet article .

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de sevrage?

On entend par syndrome d’abstinence l’ensemble des symptômes déclenchés dans le corps par une dépendance physique et mentale à une substance avant le retrait brusque de celui-ci. Ce retrait peut faire référence à une cessation complète de la consommation ou à une réduction de celle-ci en quantité et / ou en fréquence, et les symptômes ne sont pas dus à une autre maladie médicale ou mentale (bien que cela puisse exacerber les symptômes d'une maladie).


Généralement, le retrait de la consommation est provoqué intentionnellement par le sujet souffrant de dépendance, afin d'éliminer les conséquences négatives que la dépendance entraîne dans sa vie. Ils peuvent également survenir en raison de circonstances involontaires dans lesquelles il est impossible d'accéder à la substance en question, telles qu'une hospitalisation, un voyage ou une incarcération. Une troisième option est que le sujet ne peut pas l’acquérir alors qu’il n’a pas la volonté de cesser de l’utiliser, en raison du manque de fournisseurs ou de la capacité économique de l’acquérir.

Le syndrome de sevrage génère un niveau élevé de souffrance et de gêne . Les symptômes spécifiques de ce type de syndrome dépendront du type de substance consommée, qui sera généralement le contraire de ceux qui se manifesteraient avec une intoxication de ces substances. Les fringales intenses et les fringales intenses de consommation apparaissent généralement comme une réponse à la gêne générée par l’absence de substance. Les autres symptômes communs sont les tremblements et les spasmes, les maux de tête, les douleurs musculaires, les problèmes digestifs tels que les nausées et les vomissements, les vertiges, l'agitation ou les hallucinations.


L’évolution de la symptomatologie et son intensité dépendent non seulement du type de drogue, mais aussi du type, de la quantité et de la fréquence de la consommation précédente, en fonction du niveau de dépendance et de dépendance présenté par le sujet. Outre le médicament en lui-même, les problèmes liés au syndrome de sevrage s’intensifieront si la cessation de la consommation a lieu dans un environnement où il est facile de l’acquérir. La manière de voir le monde ou de percevoir les problèmes et d'y faire face aura également un effet, en provoquant un plus grand inconfort, par exemple en empêchant les personnes qui n'expriment pas leurs sentiments (surtout ceux qui sont négatifs).

  • Article connexe: "Delirium tremens: un syndrome de sevrage alcoolique sévère"

Pourquoi est-il produit?

La raison du syndrome de sevrage est quelque chose que beaucoup de gens, surtout ceux qui en souffrent, se demandent. La raison directe est la cessation ou la réduction soudaine de la consommation , qui a été faite de telle manière que le corps du sujet. L'organisme s'est habitué à la substance, y générant une tolérance (ce qui à son tour fait augmenter la consommation en quantité et en fréquence) et le corps est habitué à travailler avec la substance.


Le corps, équilibré avant l'acquisition de la dépendance, apprend à maintenir un nouvel équilibre dans lequel le médicament ou la substance en question entre en jeu. La substance, qui servait initialement de renforçateur, finit par perdre une partie de ce rôle et devient nécessaire pour éviter l'inconfort associé à son absence.

Un retrait soudain amène le corps, qui dépend de cette substance, à constater qu'il manque quelque chose pour le faire fonctionner. L'homéostasie interne ou l'équilibre que le corps avait appris à maintenir Avec la drogue, il devient soudainement déséquilibré, générant le syndrome de sevrage jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse rester équilibré. Mais cela dépend de la façon dont le retrait est effectué, le déséquilibre peut générer des répercussions très graves.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le système de récompense du cerveau: comment ça marche?"

La nécessité d'un retrait progressif

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que le retrait de la substance ne doit pas être fait soudainement. Et est-ce que bien que la cessation de la consommation chez les toxicomanes soit essentielle et que quelque chose qui puisse leur sauver la vie (aussi bien au sens figuré qu'au sens littéral), couper soudainement l'offre d'une substance dont notre corps est dépendant peut avoir des conséquences fatales . Le syndrome de l’abstinence n’est pas une blague, c’est une réalité dangereuse qui peut dans de nombreux cas avoir des conséquences permanentes, conduire au coma et même conduire à la mort .

En ce sens, nous devons prendre en compte le type de drogue: se dégager du café n'est pas la même chose que de la cocaïne ou de l'héroïne . Également du niveau de dépendance existant. Le sevrage est nécessaire, mais doit être effectué de manière contrôlée (par exemple, des médicaments différents sont souvent utilisés), structuré et progressif pour éviter des effets physiologiques graves et réduire le risque de syndrome de sevrage dangereux pour la vie.

Il est nécessaire de laisser le corps s'habituer à courir sans trop de substance pour se mettre au travail complètement sans elle. Parfois l'utilisation de substances de substitution peut être nécessaire , comme la méthadone, tant qu’il n’ya pas de consommation de substance mais que des symptômes dangereux sont contrôlés, une hospitalisation dans des centres de désintoxication ou une hospitalisation du sujet pour le maintenir stable. Dans certains cas, une personne a été amenée à entrer dans un coma induit pour mieux contrôler la situation.

L’alcool, les benzodiazépines et les opiacés sont parmi les principales substances présentant un syndrome de sevrage qui pourrait mettre la vie en danger, principalement par échec cardiorespiratoire . Il est donc nécessaire de planifier son retrait.

Différents types de syndrome de sevrage

Comme nous l'avons vu, le type de symptômes dépendra dans une large mesure de la substance, du degré de dépendance à cette substance et même des caractéristiques biologiques de la personne dépendante. Voici quelques-uns des syndromes de sevrage les plus connus parmi ceux recueillis par le DSM-5.

1. tabac

Le syndrome de sevrage causé par le tabac est probablement l’un des plus connus et des plus expérimentés au monde, c’est la cessation de la consommation qui a été évoquée par de nombreux consommateurs. Irritabilité, insomnie, anxiété, problèmes de concentration, dépression et les modifications dans le régime alimentaire sont ses principaux symptômes. C'est agaçant, mais c'est l'un des syndromes de sevrage les moins nocifs et ne présente généralement aucun danger.

  • Article connexe: "Les deux facettes de la dépendance au tabac (chimique et psychologique)"

2. l'alcool

Les consommateurs d'alcool chroniques qui arrêtent de boire cette substance peuvent présenter différents types de syndromes de sevrage de gravité variable. Les symptômes fréquents sont la tachycardie et la transpiration, l'insomnie, le tremblement de la main s, agitation et anxiété, hallucinations et convulsions. Dans les cas extrêmes, il est possible que le sujet développe un delirium tremens pouvant entraîner la mort du patient.

3. Des stimulants

Dans cette catégorie, nous incluons les amphétamines, la cocaïne et d'autres stimulants. Abstinence de ces substances génère une humeur dysphorique, une augmentation de l'appétit, de la fatigue, des cauchemars et des problèmes de sommeil comme certains des symptômes les plus connus.

4. Sédatifs, hypnotiques et anxiolytiques

L'utilisation, la posologie et le suivi des recommandations de consommation et de sevrage évitent ce type de syndrome de sevrage, qui peut être à la fois chez les personnes qui les utilisent à des fins thérapeutiques et chez ceux qui le font à des fins récréatives et / ou sans contrôle lorsque la consommation de coup est supprimée. Les tremblements, l'hyperactivité du système nerveux autonome, la tachycardie, les nausées et les vomissements, les hallucinations, l'agitation et l'anxiété font partie des symptômes les plus courants.

5. Des opiacés

Le retrait soudain de l'opium et de ses dérivés (tels que l'héroïne) génère un syndrome de sevrage potentiellement fatal. La dysphorie, les nausées, les douleurs, la diarrhée, la fièvre, l’insomnie ou la procrastination populaire font partie des symptômes habituels chez les sujets qui s’abstiennent de prendre des dérivés de l’opium.

6. Cannabis

Le cannabis est une substance dont la consommation est très populaire, en particulier chez les jeunes, et qui est perçue comme étant généralement inoffensive. Cependant, on a récemment décrit l’existence d’un syndrome de sevrage qui Il peut survenir chez des sujets qui consomment quotidiennement ou presque quotidiennement . Ce syndrome se caractérise par de l’agitation, une dépression, une perte d’appétit, une nervosité et une agitation. Des altérations telles que fièvre, spasmes, douleurs abdominales ou maux de tête peuvent parfois survenir.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Syndrome de sevrage de la marijuana: symptômes et causes"

7. la caféine

Bien que de nombreuses personnes puissent en discuter, la consommation fréquente de caféine de manière prolongée et quotidienne peut générer un certain degré de dépendance à cette substance, ainsi que le syndrome d’abstinence et son arrêt brutal. La fatigue et le sommeil, les maux de tête, les symptômes de la grippe, l'irritabilité ou la dysphorie sont les symptômes typiques de ce syndrome.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.

Huit questions sur l'addiction sexuelle (Dr KARILA) - PSYCHE #11 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes