yes, therapy helps!
Research reveals why marijuana can cause schizophrenia

Research reveals why marijuana can cause schizophrenia

September 29, 2022

A recent study carried out by the CSIC, in Spain, in collaboration with the Cajal Institute, has found evidence about how cannabinoids regulate the activation of certain nerve regions of the brain .

Similarly, the disorganized consumption of cannabis can deactivate a mechanism more intensely than is necessary, causing some mental disorders, such as psychosis or schizophrenia.

Marijuana and schizophrenia: new evidences of their relationship, according to a new study by the CSIC

If certain alterations in the functioning of neurotransmitters (such as dopamine or glutamate) occur in certain brain regions, they give rise to the manifestation of different pathological behaviors such as schizophrenia . There are several genetic factors that increase the vulnerability of some individuals to this pathology. However, environmental factors and pernicious habits such as the use of marijuana or other substances can trigger an acceleration of the symptoms, or increase their intensity.


An investigation on the possible genetic and epigenetic characteristics discovered that the alteration of the nervous system would not be the main risk factor in the appearance of schizophrenia, but that the cause would be in a poor function of the NMDAr receptor , responsible for neuronal plasticity and memory. For this reason, lacking sufficient glutamate to counteract the effects of the drug, dopamine increases its effect, resulting in a greater predisposition to psychosis and schizophrenia.

The role of cannabis in schizophrenia

Primarily, the cannabionoid system proper to our neuronal chemistry is positive, because it regulates the binding of glutamate with its NMDAr receptor and allows certain neurological processes such as learning or memory. The cannabinoids deactivate this receptor, and in this way a physiological stability is maintained throughout the neuronal system.


However, the system is weak and stability is easily compromised. The exogenous cannabinoids , that is, those produced by the use and abuse of marijuana, significantly increases the inhibition of the NMDAr receptor of the neurotransmitter glutamate, allowing a much more effect, exacerbating the effect of dopamine, and being able to cause psychosis.

The brain, in this situation, tries to prevent that effect from occurring, and some NMDAr receptor release mechanisms are enabled , but this reaction can deactivate the neuronal system, causing a vulnerability that could trigger schizophrenia.

The experts speak

Javier Garzón Niño , one of the researchers, explains:

"Abuse in marijuana consumption produces an imbalance between excitation (NMDAr) and inhibition (own or endogenous cannabinoids). This ends up breaking the balance in favor of inhibition, and consequently generates greater activity in systems regulated negatively by NMDAr, such as the dopaminergic system "

Several CSIC scientists pointed out that abuse in the inhaled use of marijuana can produce transient psychosis. But in the case that the bad habit was not eliminated, the deterioration of the central nervous system could be permanent . If we add to these bad habits a genetic predisposition, the chances of developing schizophrenia increase.



The Health Effects of Marijuana - Expert Q&A (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La recherche révèle pourquoi la marijuana peut causer la schizophrénie

La recherche révèle pourquoi la marijuana peut causer la schizophrénie

Juillet 30, 2021

Une étude récente réalisée par la SCCI en Espagne, en collaboration avec l’Institut Cajal, a mis au jour des preuves de la comment les cannabinoïdes régulent l'activation de certaines régions nerveuses du cerveau .

De même, la consommation désorganisée de cannabis peut désactiver un mécanisme plus intensément que nécessaire, provoquant certains troubles mentaux, tels que psychose ou la schizophrénie.

Marijuana et schizophrénie: nouvelles preuves de leur relation, selon une nouvelle étude de la CSIC

Si certaines altérations du fonctionnement des neurotransmetteurs (telles que la dopamine ou le glutamate) se produisent dans certaines régions du cerveau, ils donnent lieu à la manifestation de différents comportements pathologiques tels que la schizophrénie . Plusieurs facteurs génétiques augmentent la vulnérabilité de certains individus à cette pathologie. Cependant, des facteurs environnementaux et des habitudes pernicieuses telles que la consommation de marijuana ou d'autres substances peuvent déclencher une accélération des symptômes ou en augmenter l'intensité.


Une enquête sur les caractéristiques génétiques et épigénétiques possibles a révélé que l'altération du système nerveux ne constituerait pas le principal facteur de risque de l'apparition de la schizophrénie, mais la cause serait dans une mauvaise fonction du récepteur NMDAr , responsable de la plasticité neuronale et de la mémoire. Pour cette raison, faute de suffisamment de glutamate pour contrecarrer les effets du médicament, la dopamine augmente ses effets, ce qui entraîne une plus grande prédisposition à la psychose et à la schizophrénie.

Le rôle du cannabis dans la schizophrénie

Principalement, le système cannabionoïde propre à notre chimie neuronale est positif, car il régule la liaison du glutamate avec son récepteur NMDAr et permet certains processus neurologiques tels que l'apprentissage ou la mémoire. Les cannabinoïdes désactivent ce récepteur, ce qui permet de maintenir une stabilité physiologique dans l'ensemble du système neuronal.


Cependant, le système est faible et la stabilité est facilement compromise. Le cannabinoïdes exogènes c’est-à-dire ceux qui résultent de l’usage et de l’abus de marijuana, augmentent considérablement l’inhibition du récepteur NMDAr du glutamate, un neurotransmetteur, permettant un effet beaucoup plus important, exacerbant l’effet de la dopamine et pouvant provoquer une psychose.

Le cerveau, dans cette situation, tente d'empêcher cet effet, et certains mécanismes de libération du récepteur NMDAr sont activés , mais cette réaction peut désactiver le système neuronal, entraînant une vulnérabilité pouvant déclencher la schizophrénie.

Les experts parlent

Javier Garzón Niño , l'un des chercheurs, explique:

"L'abus dans la consommation de marijuana produit un déséquilibre entre l'excitation (NMDAr) et l'inhibition (cannabinoïdes propres ou endogènes). Cela finit par rompre la balance en faveur de l'inhibition et par conséquent génère une plus grande activité dans les systèmes régulés négativement par NMDAr, tels que le système dopaminergique "

Plusieurs scientifiques de la SCCI ont souligné que la consommation abusive de marijuana par inhalation peut entraîner une psychose transitoire. Mais dans le cas où la mauvaise habitude n'a pas été éliminée, la détérioration du système nerveux central pourrait être permanente . Si l'on ajoute à ces mauvaises habitudes une prédisposition génétique, les risques de développer une schizophrénie augmentent.



3 Arguments Why Marijuana Should Stay Illegal Reviewed (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes